SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V5, RRP RM2299

joytest
post Dec 26 2011, 03:55 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Hi all,

I bought my SGN on day 2 after much lurking in this forum. Have had it for 6 weeks now and very happy with it. It's my first android after many years with Symbian.

I have a question for gurus like uncle benny. I've dipped into rooting and rom flashing several times. I tried lidroid's rom and it was too much chinese all over the place even after changing language, switched back to CWM backup of stock after 1 hour.

After reading benny888's posts on Rocket and Abyss, I tried it yesterday. Using CWM of the CF-Root KK1 kernel, I flashed Rocket v11 ROM, tested for about 1 hour, then flashed in the AbyssNote v2.4 kernel. After that I flashed in Rocket's mod for 14 toggle notifications. It is a wonderful experience, all toggles available in 2 swipes. That's the only flashed mod I put in.

However, I have some questions, hope someone can help.

1. Overclocking

I read many posts that overclocking on Rocket and Abyss are easy, with terms like Lulz and Smartass. I couldn't find any such items in the app drawer or settings. In the end, I installed SetCPU and managed to clock it to 1600 for starters, but still cant find the "governors" mentioned. I also can't find if there is any built in cpu scaling software, and I've looked at all installed apps. The screenshot on Abyss XDA post shows a "Voltage" option in the drop down bar, but it's not in Rocket's 14 toggle bar.
Appreciate someone can shed light on where to access the overclocking features of Rocket+Abyss.

2. PDA/Phone/CSC.

Currently, *#1234# shows the following
PDA - XXKKA
Phone - XXKK5
CSC OXAKK9

I believe all Malaysia/SEP sets should be KK1 on PDA, I can't recall values for the others. Will this impact anything on network access or cause other problems?
If, according to the Rocket ROM author, he cooks a new version with a different version (eg KL3), will flashing to that new version cause any problems since it will change the Knn values?

3. Languages and Diopen
In the stock KK1 ROM, Diopen is included for Asian handwriting input recognition, but it's not in the KKA ROM of Rocket. Is it possible to extract the apk from the ZSKK1 of the Hong Kong ROM posted on XDA and install it? If not, any other solution?

Those are the burning questions I have so far. Thanks in advance.

joytest
post Dec 26 2011, 12:44 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 26 2011, 07:56 AM)
Joytest: those governors are available in abyss kernel 2.4. You need to scrollup the selection box to see it
I am using smartass2
No need worry about the rom combinations. You can change the modem antime you wish. I would say so far i am happy with the combo setup by rocketrom.you can try kj6 which is more suitable for asian region.  download it from the note thread at xda
Try restore the chinese keyboard from your titaniumbackup if you have done a backup of the hk rom. Yes you can install the apk uf you have separately. Use root explorer copy it to /system/app n reset phone
I am now on rocket v11 with abyss 2.5 n is excellent combo. Lastnite with 3g on over 7 hours battery drain only 5%. Will post shots later when i am back home. Now enjoying my morning tt n roti at maamak store

Edited: screenshots

5% drain with 3G always on over 7.5 hours

[attachmentid=2604824][attachmentid=2604825]
joytest: screenshot to show the governors you need on abyss . Mine is 2.5 but you should see it too on 2.4

[attachmentid=2604826]
Benny, thanks for the reply. Pardon me for being a total noob, but, " scrollup selection box " where? thanks much.
joytest
post Dec 27 2011, 01:30 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(dejima @ Dec 26 2011, 11:16 PM)
hi folks, my firmware is N7000DXKK1 so to flash cf-root kernel which one should i flahs? this "CF-Root-SGN_ZS_MUL_KK1-v5.0-CWM5.zip" ?

Yes use the CF-root kernel matching yr firmware.
joytest
post Jan 3 2012, 05:08 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Jan 3 2012, 03:11 PM)
Thanks will try that then =) the email have to be gmail account then? But she don't have gmail >.<
I bought my SGN as a replacement for my Nokia N8. Did not want to let Google get all my info, so I just selected all contacts and bluetooth transferred to my SGN. It gets sent as VCF files, and SGN can accept all.

Should work with all phones with bluetooth, whether smart or not.

joytest
post Jan 9 2012, 11:57 AM

13,188 posts

Bought this Melkco Kios Type 2 case at Tropicana City Mall 2 weeks ago. Very nice, very classy feel.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

It would be PERFECT if the following 2 points were there...
1. lanyard hole
2. bill/credit card slot

I am thinking of going to Pertama complex to one of those leather working shops to add the lanyard hole. Anyone have suggestions? I can live without point no 2.

0.0495sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:24 PM