Endowment or FD is a great saving if you have 50k?

sl2zhx9
post Dec 20 2011, 09:00 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(invisibleccc @ Dec 17 2011, 10:58 PM)
does endowment worth better than FD?
Lots of people are comparing Fd and saving plan, this good that bad whatever.
Either long term or short term, to all forumers, which one you prefer if you have a 50k right now?

Will you diversify or will you just Save ALL IN FD?
In this case, you better ask yourself, an illiquid investment for a potentially better investment return or much more liquid investment but lower return.

get yourself a goal of investment before dumping all in to either one... preparation and knowing why you wanna invest is always the thing to do before placing your money into any form of investment...

after all

Victory Loves Preparation ~ quote from transporter icon_idea.gif
sl2zhx9
post Dec 21 2011, 09:55 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(FastCoder @ Dec 19 2011, 03:01 AM)
The biggest threat to the value of a endowment insurance policy is hyperinflation. A million dollar policy may look big, but a sudden hyperinflationary event may turn it into a piece of worthless paper. I have posed the question of hyperinflation to many insurance agents, but no one can give me any answer.

Many people just cannot understand that it is possible that a cup of coffee may cost RM1,000,000 one day.

That's because many people just can't imagine how such an event can ever happen. Many countries around the world have experienced hyperinflation before, including us. Once a government can't control its deficit and start printing more money, a runaway inflation can start and basically nothing can stop it until the currency is totally replaced.

Only physical wealth such as land, buildings, businesses and jewellery can prevent the erosion of wealth by hyperinflation.
wow... really super inflation~ hmmmm... I wonder if I can live that long until that day happens...

QUOTE(computerrentals @ Dec 21 2011, 04:49 PM)
Previously, I was approached by a friend who is selling endowment plan. When I compare to real estate with the same money invested, real estate will give you 2-3 fold upwards
both have pros and con... real estate is true you might earn 2-3 folds or even 10 folds if you are lucky... but you gotta be able to sell it as well in the future, no forgetting the loan you are repaying overtime, also the maintenance, taxes not forgetting also changes in the surrounding of your properties might also affects its pricing

endowment plan...lower return compare to RE, but still portion of the return will be there as stated in policy, if is fully participating, perhaps market movement might affect it

fundamentally all comes down to risk and reward, different investors have different view and appetite in terms of their risk...

however when it comes to insurance, I often will just go for the traditional, Life, Critical illness, TPD, med card and PA if necessary... investment better shop for other options

This post has been edited by sl2zhx9: Dec 21 2011, 09:58 PM
sl2zhx9
post Dec 22 2011, 08:46 PM

52 posts

Haha.. Lots of comment up there lazy to read tongue.gif

In the nutshell,
I always consider FD = short term saving , place where I park my money when i still does not have any idea what to do with my monies

Insurance = protection, any form of investment witting will affects my protection, I will never touch any form of participating policy with a ten foot pole

Investment = stock, bond, RE, money market all this reacts towards the market conditions

If someone tells me invest in insurance definitely is bullcrap, the name insurance speaks for itself, I am insuring myself just in case anything happens to me at least I know I am cover. Never ever succumb yourself to any market linked unless you are just too lazy to shop around and monitor your own monies

To all agents: I am sure you will get a lot flaming when you speaks about any form of saving plans here that promises better that FD return as the insurance market had been tarnished by all agents before you all,

My parents time, they lost their saving of almost half a million just because their agents told them that there is saving plan that if you save 10 years and balanced 10 more years you don't have to pay single cents but no one told them if the market did not perform as projected they have dig into your saving to ensure you are still protected during he period of saving... Hell.. My dad might be having at least an extra semi dee or maybe a double storey by now if they had know that earlier..

Just stick to traditional, INSURE not INVEST.. Wanna invest go open a CDS account, buy a properties, start a business not the 3 in 1 plan, 5 in 1 plan, 100 in 1 plan

This post has been edited by sl2zhx9: Dec 22 2011, 08:55 PM
sl2zhx9
post Dec 22 2011, 10:27 PM

52 posts

Added on December 22, 2011, 10:21 pm
that why me got no life insurance.
save, save & only cucu get to enjoy it doh.gif

[/quote]

Sure or not bro? Not even a med card or life policy? Kinda risky dont you think? biggrin.gif
sl2zhx9
post Dec 22 2011, 10:40 PM

52 posts

Oo.. I thought u were saying you are not protected in any form at all... Haha

Safety first tongue.gif
sl2zhx9
post Dec 22 2011, 10:46 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Dec 22 2011, 10:44 PM)
mana boleh  whistling.gif
If use correctly, is a very power way to leaverage your wealth brows.gif
No protection no fun ma~ a lot of consequences later biggrin.gif
sl2zhx9
post Dec 22 2011, 10:52 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Dec 22 2011, 10:50 PM)
too bad now cannot add or increase jor cry.gif
Apasal? Overprotected d ka bro? Haha~
sl2zhx9
post Dec 23 2011, 01:10 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Dec 22 2011, 11:17 PM)
only 3 types of ppl, Insurance won't do business. Take you guess lor cry.gif
oo.. okay mega_shok.gif .... I understand bro~

Takpelah... asalkan hidup bahagia biggrin.gif

on the side note~ Just got approached by a HLA newbie agent today, selling also cash builder~

according to him, is so much better than FD invest 6 years only, and after 6 years I get back everything (principal + interest + dividend)... I was like WOW! got such a wonderful thing or not...

by rough calculation 100K/ year = 600K

if everything run smoothly by end of 6th year I should be getting... probably about 732K .... but then after I ask to show the plan... I was looking at 6th year cash value.. it was like 630K+ ... I was like WTF! where is my another 100K gone?

I ask the agent, "is it you gonna give me personally the balance 100K??"

correct me if I am wrong, when comes to pre mature withdrawal of insurance, we should refer to CASH VALUE at that particular year right?

in this case, this policy actually worth if I could hold till 30 years plus I get the bonus if the investment HLA made is performing.

sl2zhx9
post Dec 23 2011, 01:16 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 23 2011, 01:12 PM)
Brother, if that agent ask u to invest 6 years, you got the right to fark him gao gao.
This kind of plan, is not for 6 years, 10 years.. Is for long long term, 20-30 years.

U want 6 years, better come with me and goreng share.. You can do 2hr profit 100k
I know... that's y I already shoot him gao gao + a little bit on behalf of those who had got cheated tongue.gif

p/s: at one point I really blame more on the senior who just telling all this newbies this is how you gonna tackle the client... I mean come on, you had more experience that those new joiner... at least pre-empt them on a simple thing like this... miss selling is definitely one of the biggest crime a financial sales person could commit

share really? recently my kawan made some money out of proton holdings~ haha... ish ish.. should had yum cha with him more then can reap some out myself tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sl2zhx9: Dec 23 2011, 01:51 PM
sl2zhx9
post Dec 23 2011, 03:01 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 23 2011, 02:43 PM)
Yea.. Share very fast win, very fast die.. I know of a friend made tons in protons, and also lose tons in proton.. sad.gif
haha... I guess we can safely said your friend had die with glory biggrin.gif

0.0159sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:47 AM