Short Review on the Exora Bold

mat79
post Mar 4 2012, 12:00 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Mar 3 2012, 07:19 AM)
my old gen2 gets me 350 km for 50 bucks.
but then again, i dont floor the gas pedal like mad. lah. and as soon as i can settle the car into a cruise i'll do it.
but i still think it can be better. but its much much much better than  my old kia carnival...
wow, if old gen2 auto get this fc, in mix driving, i believe it really goooooood :-), beating vios summore, but i think it is manual n it is cruising fc rite.

Try to practice as i mentioned above, but dun worry, it gonna be better when svc 5k, n get even better @ 10k km service when all internal part matured enough. I think maybe can get around 8-9L / 100km per town driving, if really2 light foot, single driver, dont let engine idle too long when not driving like waiting ur wife buying groceries in supermarket and u saty inside the car while waiting n engine is on, i think 7-8L/100km can be maintain, but below that, pretty hard coz u need to turn the ac on, and the vvt below 2k rpm is too advance coz design to put more torque for below 2k rpm which really impressive for 1.6 with vvt. No question on after 2k coz turbo takes over, but below that, really rely on vvt.
mat79
post Mar 4 2012, 07:18 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Mar 4 2012, 12:19 PM)
not cruising fc, mix fc and its auto.  

when i first got the car,  my fc was better, much better.  .

anyhow, not really minding the exoras fc at the moment. its an mpv. i can still manage it.  biggrin.gif
oic, if mix then its ok, but still think its good. For fully town, really hard to achieve that. Mine a bit less aero as gen2, waja campro,fully town just around 300km+-. But mix,just around yours, but driving sedately, avoiding the death valley. If vroom, u knowla, fuel also from, he..he..

Added on March 4, 2012, 7:20 pm

anyhow, not really minding the exoras fc at the moment. its an mpv. i can still manage it.  biggrin.gif
oic, if mix then its ok, but still think its good. For fully town, really hard to achieve that. Mine a bit less aero as gen2, waja campro,fully town just around 300km+-. But mix,just around yours, but driving sedately, avoiding the death valley. If vroom, u knowla, fuel also from, he..he..

By the way, what is the rpm@speed 140-150kmh? I believe just around 3k++ rpm.

Added on March 4, 2012, 7:21 pm

By the way, what is the rpm@speed 140-150kmh? I believe just around 3k++ rpm.

This post has been edited by mat79: Mar 4 2012, 07:21 PM
mat79
post Mar 5 2012, 10:04 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Mar 5 2012, 08:58 AM)
rpm speed for which car ? the exora or gen2 ?
gen2 , about 4k rpm .
exora , about 3k  .. i remember thinking i had another k before i lose the torque... was wondering how fast the car can really go , if i floored the pedal.
:-),sorry,miss that out. Exora bold. How fast, erm, based on journo that i met during testing it, more than top speed mentioned in the brochure, n some saying manage to hit beyond 200kmh++and they said it feel secure even in that speed, it just they cant mentioned it in the report coz u know, they shudnt speeding off speed limits even during testing unless on the race track :-).

But i think, no need to test out the top speed rite,since it is a family cruiser, unless u r in unavoidable circumtances n urgency. Drive safely.

By the way, for fc@140-150kmh, i think its still commendable coz the engine still new(not surpass 10k yet), n for that small engine with weight nearly 300kg more than gen2, it still ok. But participate that p321a which having lower weight,maybe around 200kg less than exo, better aerodynamic,i believe cfe is at its best fc. Not the best in segment, but best for prtn i must say.

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:11 amby the way, even torque is lesser than max torque after 4krpm, but its still have healthy dosage of torque at max hp rpm@5k, it is around 195nm torque@5k rpm, which equivalent most max torque 2.0 na cars even at 5k rpm n even at 5.5k,it has more than any 1.6na engine max torque. And the best part is,even overevving it @6k rpm,still have around 160nm of torque,that is 10nm more than cps max torque@4.5krpm.

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:22 amthats why i said earlier,pheonix engine project for cfe n iafm+ is focusing more on wider torque band rather than max hp n max torque coz they learn that, figure is one thing, but drivability is another. No need to shout which one has bigger hp, which one has bigger torque for comparison coz for common user, the most important part is drivability in town n highways and fc. If they can balance out both,it shud be good. Not like before offering.

This post has been edited by mat79: Mar 5 2012, 10:22 AM
mat79
post Mar 6 2012, 08:04 PM

1,011 posts

erm, not saying the louder sound is good, but maybe they can do a little better engine bay sound insulation. Just something to ponder, have u ever drive pug 308 vti,pug 308thp or 407? When u r inside the car,it is really serene, quiet n comfortable, but when u open the door, go to the front, the sound coming from under the hood become an attraction,but never mind coz its pug with psa bmw prince engine. People around u also dont bother coz its pug by the way. But if in prtn car, sometimes we scared that people around will say, itulah kete prtn, bunyi cam kapal g ke laut,bunyi cam lori kind of a word.

For me,its ok coz hear many contis having loud engine sound, as long as inside is not loud, but still insist they make it quietier.
mat79
post Mar 7 2012, 11:14 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(diablos @ Mar 7 2012, 10:59 AM)
what sound do you all mention about....? Yesterday my car suddenly engine stop when idle. do you guys got such issue?
is check engine light is on? Then can troubleshoot using padt.
Check battery connector too.
mat79
post Mar 7 2012, 11:55 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(tadwinks @ Mar 7 2012, 11:45 AM)
what is padt?
proton's advance diagnostic tool.
mat79
post Mar 7 2012, 01:49 PM

1,011 posts

yup, it can stall coz current car using ecu n cfe also using dbw. It needs some power to get it run. U can disconnect,but temporarily only. Same case happened to my friend 1.8 wish, the culprit is the loose connector. But the real culprit is the sa which selling u the car coz he@she shud make sure it is connected properly before hand in the car, coz earlier unplug it in the stockyard.

Added on March 7, 2012, 1:53 pm
QUOTE(tadwinks @ Mar 7 2012, 12:25 PM)
ohh...can we access the padt? how ?  notworthy.gif
the original padt only available at prtn branch sc. The authorised dealer sometimes used the immitation one coz cheaper, n even some mentioned can change the cam n ingnition timing :-). But actually cannot coz password protected. It is due to reliability concern.

They only show u the fake one, n charge u for it. But still can use piggyback to bypass or by reflashing it. But increase performance through padt, cannot, only for checking n clearing trouble codes n minor2 adjustment such rpm timing n etc.

This post has been edited by mat79: Mar 7 2012, 01:53 PM
mat79
post Mar 7 2012, 10:18 PM

1,011 posts

wow,thats good,my 7 years old savvy did 550km hway driving. By the way,its 1.2 :-). Exora bold is fl for exora, not totally new by the way. But if waiting, maybe for exora r,if drb permit that.

Added on March 7, 2012, 10:22 pmis the fuel light blinking? If yes, dont always do that coz can cause fuel pump being damage. If not, better get it checked. About gear feel slipery, i think its common,just the feel coz it using belting by the way, not gear.

This post has been edited by mat79: Mar 7 2012, 10:22 PM
mat79
post Apr 9 2012, 05:18 PM

1,011 posts

i think its related to dbw when connector of the batery is loose, thats why its die. On idling, even swap battery, it can survive for a while until u shift on gear, n press the gas pedal. Ecu, tcu n dbw need enough electricity to run properly,or it goes nut causing the engine to stall. Same case if ur batery dont supply sufficient energy, weak battery,but not kong one lah, U still can hear the horn, signal,even using alarm, but cannot start. Just my take only.
mat79
post May 8 2012, 12:43 PM

1,011 posts

wow, even someone used merc coolant, luckily dont void warranty coz can void actually. Dont ever think using merc coolant means better cooling coz merc used it coz merc coolant is oem, not produced by merc n tested in merc engine, not in malaysia climate. But since being tested in merc engine, not a problem.

Engine if too cool also can cause problem coz pulley is working hard so that u loose power, bad fc n worst case, damage the engine. Too cool or too hot is not good for engine.

Thats why when people said 100% coolant for campro based engine means 100% coolant from the prtn weston based coolant premix with correct concentration, made by oem, tested by prtn, using prtn engine n tested in malaysia climate.

If 4l is needed then need to prepare 4 bottles. This coolant from prtn for campro based engined already tested to maintain the engine at its optimum temperature point, not too cool n not too hot.

Haishhh, if something happened then claim for warranty. But like i said, luckily being entertain, if not, totally void for life on engine. So, becareful next time ok. now i know the culprit of the engine problem case coz previously never mentioned used merc coolant.
mat79
post May 9 2012, 12:03 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ May 8 2012, 05:38 PM)
aih.. korang tak kena lagi..u can kutuk me all..nanti exora korang kena, berjage jagela..kipas yang slalu on (i mean moooost of the time, lame jugaklah on.. almost 3 minit. can cook meggi, when my car is standard gaban without any MB coolant or whatsoever) lepas enjin berhenti tu pon tanda tanda enjin akn overheat, but just cross your fingers that will not happen. i own a gen2 and saga blm, i tot its normal when the fan is on, but for exora bold, its a sign..just like more than 17 eB owners at proton COSE and 2 person from exora club.. if that happens, welcome to the club of changing cylinder head.. babai allz
bkn diorg kutuk, tp nasihat coz concern nanti u hilang u punya warranty. Tp xnak ikut, xperlah. Isilah aper2pun, kereta memasing, hak memasing. Xda org lain ader kuasa. Yg pasal kipas pusing tuh, mmg ada feature tuh, tp xdala setiap kali, ikut keadaan. Klu bleh nyebab overheat, sbb coolat x flow ngan betul@coolant terlebih@kurang dlm reserve. Tujuan fan tuh nak prevent overheating.

Tp xpelah, jgn cpt melenting. Org syg ke dia bg nasihat supaya warranti xvoid. Klu disalah tafsir,ikutlah. K, chow.
mat79
post May 9 2012, 01:08 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(diablos @ May 9 2012, 12:10 PM)
Mat my car also very frequent the fan will on after I turn off the engine... coolant is proton recommend one. does this mean my car cylinder head also need to be replaced?
1st, need to take note if ur car already reach high mileage, when flushing the coolant, need to top up the coolant using premix that already available in prtn, n please, dont add any additional water@tap water coz its already premix in the bottle. And it supposed to be 4 bottles.

About the fan always spinning, ask sc to check the coolant level at the reserve(hopefully never add any water before), check the boiling point n coolant flow. If everything ok, then its not a problem. Many things its normal to have fan spinning frequently, but the miss understand it. When it still new, of course since the engine is still tight n new. But when achieve maybe around 5k-10km, it not supposed to have frequent fan spinning for campro based engine coz its already matured n all cooling already been efficiently distributed, only once a while(which means rarely) u have the fan spinning,like driving at high speed in the afternoon or driving up to genting. In the afternoon, or keep idling too long in the afternoon.

The features is available to all campro based engined and renault based engined, for prevention, not features that always on. When people said its normal to habe frequent fan spinning on their campros means that there is something wrong with their cooling systems, and normally due to adding water to reserve@main radiator, coolant below minimum level, leakage, coolant above minimum level also dangerous coz not enaugh air to circulate the coolant, n using wrong type of coolant n wrong concentration of coolant.

Like i said before, coolant for each car is unique coz its not too cool the engine, but maintaining the engine boiling point to optimum level so that wont be too cool or too hot.

It also has anti rust component to keep ur radiator in healthy condition.

If there is prob, need to solve the cooling part n then go to the engine part if worst case come in.
mat79
post May 14 2012, 04:19 PM

1,011 posts

yup, coolant temperature shud not be less than 82 degree, n not more than 88 degree during drive. The optimum engine temperature for cfe is around 85 degree, so, coolant shud be +- 3 around that temperature. So taqu n familyman, ur cooling is efficient.

Tyre pressure is also important coz its also will effect ur fc whether over@underinflated. Check the manual at ur doors, the correct one for bold, 205/55 r 16. If just driving 5 persons or less, diff pressure, full load of 7 also diff, front n back tyres also diff. Please take note.

About changing of engine head, just being informed, not many are effected, just some are actually need to open the head to access to one way valve problem, not changing the head coz overheating. Previously, upon vendor inpection, the mentioned the assembly line over tightening the valve, but prtn still checking whether the part supply by vendor(more than acceptable tolerance; do not means all) is the problem. Its not easy though coz they need thorough investigation n evidences to put full blame to vendor. Only matter of time. Dont think prtn want to fulfill their service centre with ocv valve problem cars coz it will interrupt the service operation.

It wont damage ur engine, is that when oil is not retain, it will sound coarse during start, n vvt wont be operating efficiently without oil retain. Thats why it will also effect ur fc when even driving below 2k rpm coz u r depending on vvt to provide low end torque n saving the fuel.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0348sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:54 PM