TSTiger I
post Dec 16 2011, 01:05 AM, updated 14y ago

210 posts

With every issue of The Combat Tanks Collection you will receive:
a. a detailed model of one of history's great tanks and;
b. the accompanying magazine provides all the information on their history and features.

* Please restrict your discussion to the magazine/s and the tank model/s only.
Do contribute on review/s, picture/s, inquire/s, but please don't spam.

The DeAgostini The Combat Tanks Collection thread is for tank junkies who enjoys these 'moving fortress' and collect such magazine. Any detail/s regarding on the magazine will be available in here as well, whenever available. Do chip in and share as well smile.gif

The magazine itself will be priced at MYR 29.90 for all issues except the 1st ones at MYR 9.90 and 2nd issues at MYR 19.90 each. The magazine will be in store every next week, which mean that there are two magazines per month.

Tanks included are of 1/72 scale each that comes with their own base with description and display case and are pre-built and pre-painted. It is a mix of die-cast and plastic parts with movable turret and soft plastic thread. The tank is attached to the base via two screws beneath it.

Some useful links:

Local issues:

* The model included in each issue might be different here compared to other countries.

How-To with binder:

How-To with background card (thanks to aquilaTE for pictures and size)

How-To with Jagdpanther roadwheels (step-by-step guide, thanks to Haruyuki for pictorial explanation)

Subscription via AllScript
Subscription page biggrin.gif

* Do note that by subbing you will get:
Steyr RSO/01 + Pak 40 anti-tank gun 2.Pz.Div Normandie France - 1944
Flakvierling Sd.Kfz. 7/1 with Sd. Ah.51 trailer 24.Pz.Div Don River sector USSR - 1942
instead of
Sd.Kfz 9. FAMO with Sd.Ah.106 transporter 3.Zug Panzer-Werkstatt-Kompanie. SS Pz Regt.2 SS PzGren. Div."Das Reich" Kursk - 1943

AllScript address

Our own local collectors laugh.gif (or anyone posted here, idklol. Do share your name/tank list so I can update if I made any mistake/when I'm bored tongue.gif )

* Major bookstores and convenience shops (7-Eleven, Borders, Kinokuniya, MPH, Popular, Times, etc) do bring in the magazine. But just to be sure, do check your local bookstores as well. Some branches might carry more than others.

This post has been edited by Tiger I: Jul 3 2012, 12:18 AM
TSTiger I
post Dec 16 2011, 02:57 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(mchw08 @ Dec 16 2011, 02:00 PM)
how many total issue for this series? so far only got till issue 2.. cant find the web link shown in the mag... broken link.. wanna know more bout the subscription freebies... to me 29.90 abit too high.. 19.90 still ok .. like last time the plan/copter series the price is nice.. that also cannot complete.
So far, if I'm not mistaken the UK edition is now at around 70th+ edition:
Blog link
I was told that you can try subscribing in allscript.com, but I never tried it before till now. Like you, the freebies are very tempting as well.
As for the price, it justifies well due to it's size, details, case and magazine that you'll get. Usually a 1/72 model tank would start at around MYR 20 and above, moreover you have to assemble and colour, detail and weather by yourself. Furthermore, unlike model kits, the tanks provided are mix of die-cast and plastic, and I personally quite satisfied with it smile.gif
TSTiger I
post Dec 16 2011, 11:29 PM

210 posts

As for now, the current issue would be the 3rd issue that include Polish T-55A with free magazine binder which that would be MYR 29.90 onwards. As for other places, there are also available from Cheras Leisure Mall as well.

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 16 2011, 10:54 PM)
bro Tiger I finally got it?  rclxms.gif

cant wait for issue 2, reli like to have the Challenger  thumbup.gif
Yeah, thanks to you bro smile.gif
Got my two 1st issues from a fellow forumer and bought the second one from Kinokuniya, but here the second issue is M1A1HA Abrams, not the Challenger 1.
TSTiger I
post Dec 17 2011, 03:58 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(TOROBO @ Dec 17 2011, 02:37 AM)
anyone know where can I order one online?
I don't go out often. sad.gif
You ought to try here:
http://allscript.com/partworks_product_det...D0005&stc=75066
TSTiger I
post Dec 17 2011, 05:11 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Dec 17 2011, 01:25 PM)
do note that this magazine still just a soft launch...allscript still testing the market (as always :s)

if not mistaken they only take your subscription after May 2012...so you most probably will see it on newsstand up till issues 5 and then have to wait for the proper launch
That would be quite a long time to wait. I for one am aiming for the display rack and the Famo truck smile.gif

QUOTE(Sauron76 @ Dec 17 2011, 05:04 PM)
If not continue also nothing harm since this is not like McLaren where you must buy every issue to complete the car  rolleyes.gif
Good thing eh? But then I am always looking forward for it not to discontinued.
TSTiger I
post Dec 19 2011, 08:22 AM

210 posts

Manage to grab last 3rd issue yesterday from Wangsa Walk's Popular. The binder is good, and should hold up 15 issues altogether smile.gif
TSTiger I
post Dec 19 2011, 08:49 AM

210 posts

^ the magazine binder is included in the 3rd issue as a freebie smile.gif
TSTiger I
post Dec 19 2011, 03:43 PM

210 posts

So far thank God I got all 3 for now tongue.gif

Just wanna ask, any of you guys have slanted turret barrel? I did realize my T-55A barrel was a bit to the right. The paint apps also was a bit faded for the cross on the turret just above the number '4130'. Minor inconvinience.
TSTiger I
post Dec 19 2011, 04:52 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(FunkyMonkiBaby @ Dec 19 2011, 04:12 PM)
GUys, does the model selection offered to Msian market same as UK? Cuz I dun see their issue 3 offering the T-55 tank. Its another model.
The tank model would the the same, but I reckon different countries will have different tanks for each issue.

Next issue:
Jagdpanther, an awesome tank hunter smile.gif
TSTiger I
post Dec 19 2011, 05:09 PM

210 posts

this should be it for the next issue:
Do note this published in France, so hence the language.
Looks good IMO.

Variance in the same mold:

TSTiger I
post Dec 19 2011, 09:05 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 19 2011, 05:11 PM)
user posted image Y I Cant Find Issue 2???
too late for now man. you might have to wait til the official launch only i guess
TSTiger I
post Dec 20 2011, 09:19 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Dec 20 2011, 09:14 AM)
Huh... official launch? But why places like Kinokuniya is having it? If that is the case, no wonder the other news stands or bookstores dun carry it yet tongue.gif
QUOTE(VincC454 @ Dec 17 2011, 01:25 PM)
do note that this magazine still just a soft launch...allscript still testing the market (as always :s)

if not mistaken they only take your subscription after May 2012...so you most probably will see it on newsstand up till issues 5 and then have to wait for the proper launch
TSTiger I
post Dec 21 2011, 02:57 PM

210 posts

Well, just gonna keep on hunting on the bookshelves of local magazine stalls for now. One can take a gander at the model and magazine and inspect it for flaws before purchasing and the thrills of finding new issues enthralls me smile.gif
Most probably gonna subscribed later on only for the freebies laugh.gif
TSTiger I
post Dec 23 2011, 03:11 PM

210 posts

Well, I guess most Popular branch will bring in the magazine. Went scouting for it and found out that issue 2 and 3 are still aplenty in Popular Sunway Pyramid, but none in IOI Mall Puchong.

So far I found mine in Popular Wangsa Walk and Kinokuniya KLCC.
TSTiger I
post Dec 24 2011, 07:35 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ Dec 23 2011, 06:28 PM)
why cant they bring this in:

http://www.ww2tigertank.com/
say, i wouldn't mind building this if they are bringing this in. regardless of the fact i already got the 1/24 rc version, this 1/16 is supposedly with interior details, awesome laugh.gif
TSTiger I
post Dec 24 2011, 03:38 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ Dec 24 2011, 09:50 AM)
I've been watching this guy's build: http://www.buildatigertank.co.uk/modelframe.htm

he seems to have slacked off a bit, but it clearly shows the level of detail and workmanship required.
well, it seems that it is like a model, just in bigger scale. need to colour by ourselves sweat.gif
TSTiger I
post Dec 29 2011, 09:20 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Dec 29 2011, 04:06 PM)

lovely model
oh i really do hope they continue with the publication :|
TSTiger I
post Dec 30 2011, 10:24 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Dec 30 2011, 11:32 AM)
Ic ok. So, those white plasticky thingy on the top and bottom of the binder spine are not clips, I pressume?
just snip the clips, spread the magazine in the middle, slot the clip into the hole for both top and bottom, and it's done and should secure the magazine just fine smile.gif

just took my 4th issue from popular wangsa walk. i agree with aquilaTE, oh god please allscript don't discontinue this magazine series as it is always sold out in my area. see, that means that people are into it right laugh.gif

Added on December 31, 2011, 1:14 ambtw just a heads up if you're wondering:
yes the wheels on the Jagdpanther were placed wrongly. 1st wheels should be inner instead of outer like the models provided sleep.gif
as for this one is from Altaya:
http://www.mikes-tanks.com/Altaya.htm

and forum discussing this last two years:
http://tanks.deagostini.co.uk/chat/yaf_pos...AGDPANTHER.aspx

as the pic provided:
it can clearly been seen that the 1st road wheel supposedly insde rather than out.

the provided ones:

and the fixed ones:

other than that i don't see anything wrong with the tank hunter itself smile.gif do correct me if i am wrong.

Added on December 31, 2011, 1:33 amoh yeah and also do note the screw is a triangular ones, not the common phillips head for issue 4 rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Tiger I: Dec 31 2011, 01:33 AM
TSTiger I
post Dec 31 2011, 11:53 AM

210 posts

Issue 3 might still be in in bookstores like Popular. As for issue 1 and 2, very slim chance already for now because as far as I know, all are sold out.
judge-the, as for the price after conversion, how much is that, and is the respond over there good towards the magazine?
TSTiger I
post Dec 31 2011, 01:46 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Dec 31 2011, 11:57 AM)
i don't think so these magazines are doing well here. last time when i was asking about the flying scotsman magazine at the bookstore, the lady immediately told me not worth buying, better just go out and buy HO scale model train alone way much cheaper

nz2.50 x 2.5 = rm6.25 for each tank smile.gif
that's a steal. even without discount it still tad cheaper comparative to here thumbup.gif

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:00 AM