insurance for baby, any recommendation

TSKasumie
post Dec 15 2011, 10:06 PM, updated 13y ago

613 posts

Welcoming my baby boy next few months time. So would like to check out n research any kind of good recommendations insurance coverage from parents here? Not too expensive please, max 500 is it possible?

Edited: looking for basic medical card

This post has been edited by Kasumie: Dec 16 2011, 12:31 AM
SUSVincentChen
post Dec 15 2011, 10:21 PM

271 posts

my mom is ING insurance agent, need her number? pm me smile.gif
raph
post Dec 15 2011, 10:29 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Dec 15 2011, 10:06 PM)
Welcoming my baby boy next few months time. So would like to check out n research any kind of good recommendations insurance coverage from parents here? Not too expensive please, max 500 is it possible?
RM500 per month or per year?

TSKasumie
post Dec 15 2011, 11:31 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(raph @ Dec 15 2011, 10:29 PM)
RM500 per month or per year?

I mean per year. I do not want too expensive .at least something for those minimum coverage
gkl83
post Dec 16 2011, 12:10 AM

8,377 posts

baby insurance will be higher than normal kids insurance bcos of the higher risk and expensive medical fees...
i having baby insurance with ING about RM700 per year... but unsure whether after 3/5th years will reduce to RM500 per year...
raph
post Dec 16 2011, 12:22 AM

190 posts

minimum coverage available from AIA also RM640. for baby girl might be higher
TSKasumie
post Dec 16 2011, 12:29 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(raph @ Dec 16 2011, 12:22 AM)
Wow.. I forgotten to mention actually I'm looking for medical card. Is it gonna be the same ?

Added on December 16, 2011, 12:33 am
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 16 2011, 12:10 AM)
baby insurance will be higher than normal kids insurance bcos of the higher risk and expensive medical fees...
i having baby insurance with ING about RM700 per year... but unsure whether after 3/5th years will reduce to RM500 per year...
Wow.. actually the most important is medical coverage.

If is medical card for kids will it be cheaper? I thought 400 could easily get a medical card for baby

This post has been edited by Kasumie: Dec 16 2011, 12:33 AM
raph
post Dec 16 2011, 12:36 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Dec 16 2011, 12:29 AM)
Wow.. I forgotten to mention actually I'm looking for medical card. Is it gonna be the same ?

Added on December 16, 2011, 12:33 am

If is medical card for kids will it be cheaper? I thought 400 could easily get a medical card for baby
yup for cashless medical card the cheapest is RM640 for boy, for below RM400 u have to wait your son reach 16 yo.
baby is more riskier according to underwriter tongue.gif
katijar
post Dec 16 2011, 08:49 AM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(raph @ Dec 16 2011, 12:22 AM)
why girl cost more?
raph
post Dec 16 2011, 08:57 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Dec 16 2011, 08:49 AM)
why girl cost more?
seriously i dont have good reason to answer this. but only medical insurance cost girl more than boy comparing to life insurance or critical illness insurance.
phythia79
post Dec 16 2011, 10:11 AM

398 posts

I bought the ING medical plan (Cashless) for about RM700plus for my son. It's good to have the medical plan as hospital bills aren't cheap anymore.

They have recently upgraded their plan but i chose to just stay with my existing as I don't need to fork out the 10%..just in case one of those days..i'm broke and my son pulak admit.
gkl83
post Dec 17 2011, 01:02 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Dec 16 2011, 12:29 AM)

yup... ING offering RM700 per year for medical card only for new born baby...
RM700 for 1st 3 years and RM500 for the rest of the life if no mistaken...
TSKasumie
post Dec 17 2011, 06:20 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Dec 17 2011, 01:02 PM)
yup... ING offering RM700 per year for medical card only for new born baby...
RM700 for 1st 3 years and RM500 for the rest of the life if no mistaken...
I have just check out.. for great eastern. From 1 to 5 yrs old boy cost 800 plus. Then after 5yrs old bout 5 to 6 hundred. This is the medical card.
Benny-T
post Dec 17 2011, 09:58 PM

450 posts

HLA offering insurance for babies starting from 13th week while still in womb
more details just gimme a call at 016 548 2282
call me during office hour

This post has been edited by Benny-T: Dec 17 2011, 09:58 PM
raph
post Dec 18 2011, 11:18 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Dec 17 2011, 06:20 PM)
I have just check out.. for great eastern. From 1 to 5 yrs old boy cost 800 plus. Then after 5yrs old bout 5 to 6 hundred. This is the medical card.
For AIA (Boy):

4 weeks - RM640
1 year - RM618
2 year - RM597
3 year - RM555
4 year - RM490
5 year - RM470
6 to 10 year - RM444

this is medical card
minimart8
post Dec 18 2011, 12:31 PM

How about for all? Some sort like investment link. I was told the total will be few thousand? And start from 1 month after delivered right? Because my baby boy coming out next month
raph
post Dec 18 2011, 12:51 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(minimart8 @ Dec 18 2011, 12:31 PM)
How about for all? Some sort like investment link. I was told the total will be few thousand? And start from 1 month after delivered right? Because my baby boy coming out next month
usually min for investment linked is RM1200 per year. but it also depend on payor info such as age, smoking or not and occpation..
TSKasumie
post Dec 18 2011, 01:26 PM

613 posts

[quote=raph,Dec 18 2011, 11:18 AM]
For AIA (Boy):

4 weeks - RM640
1 year - RM618
2 year - RM597
3 year - RM555
4 year - RM490
5 year - RM470
6 to 10 year - RM444

this is medical card

[/quote

does this same as great eastern that the first 4 mths after purchase the policy have no coverage?
raph
post Dec 18 2011, 01:32 PM

190 posts

[quote=Kasumie,Dec 18 2011, 01:26 PM]
[quote=raph,Dec 18 2011, 11:18 AM]
For AIA (Boy):

4 weeks - RM640
1 year - RM618
2 year - RM597
3 year - RM555
4 year - RM490
5 year - RM470
6 to 10 year - RM444

this is medical card

[/quote

does this same as great eastern that the first 4 mths after purchase the policy have no coverage?

[/quote]

i dont get you but for AIA, you only can apply 4 weeks after delivered.
TSKasumie
post Dec 18 2011, 01:45 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(raph @ Dec 18 2011, 01:32 PM)
i dont get you but for AIA, you only can apply 4 weeks after delivered.
what i meant was, when i buy this AIA medical card, does it cover the first 4 months starting from the date i bought the policy?

coz great eastern does not cover the first 4 mths for the first time i buy the medical card, meaning for the 1st year, i pay for one year premium but the coverage starts only at the 5th month. its called 'waiving period' (not sure is it how it is spelled)
raph
post Dec 18 2011, 02:11 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Dec 18 2011, 01:45 PM)
what i meant was, when i buy this AIA medical card, does it cover the first 4 months starting from the date i bought the policy?

coz great eastern does not cover the first 4 mths for the first time i buy the medical card, meaning for the 1st year, i pay for one year premium but the coverage starts only at the 5th month. its called 'waiving period' (not sure is it how it is spelled)
oh you mean waiting period.
ok for waiting period:
- 30 days for hospitalization or surgery due to all other illnesses
- 30 days for Out-patient Kidney Dialysis Treatment
- 60 days for Out-patient Cancer Treatment
- 120 days for treatment of surgery due to tonsils, adenoids, hernia or a disease related to
the female generative organs
- no waiting period for accident caused.

transit
post Dec 18 2011, 10:55 PM

360 posts

Waiting Period of 120 days for Specified Illnesses is standard exclusions for Life insurers(players) in Malaysia. It is applicable to AIA, ING, PRU, GE, Allianz, HLA. U may check it out in their product's brochure.

ING Medical IMPlus Premium Table per age group.

TSKasumie
post Dec 19 2011, 12:10 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Dec 18 2011, 10:55 PM)
Waiting Period of 120 days for Specified Illnesses is standard exclusions for Life insurers(players) in Malaysia. It is applicable to AIA, ING, PRU, GE, Allianz, HLA. U may check it out in their product's brochure.

ING Medical IMPlus Premium Table per age group.
What differs the cashless n non cashless ?
transit
post Dec 19 2011, 12:16 AM

360 posts

CASHLESS - It is a kind of health insurance policy, which allows you to get treatment at a hospital (hospitalization, surgery, or both depending on the kind of policy) without having to pay for it at the hospital. Subject to Co-Insurance of different plan.

NON CASHLESS: Policyholder pay the total H & S bill to the hospital first during discharging and reimburse back from insurers with all claim documents/receipts/medical reports submission. Policyholder may need to wait for 30days for claim approval and cheque payment from the company.
transit
post Dec 19 2011, 11:47 AM

360 posts

Example of Specified Illnesses exclusion in first 120 days.

AXA Life Insurers - Specified Illnesses as stated below occurring during the first 120 days of continuous cover:

a) Hypertension, diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease
b) All tumours, cancers, cysts, nodules, polyps, stones of the urinary system and biliary system
c) All ear, nose (including sinuses) and throat conditions
d) Hernias, haemorrhoids, fistulae, hydrocele, varicocele
e) Endometriosis including disease of the reproduction system
f) Vertebro-spinal disorders (including disc) and knee conditions

PRU Life Insurers - Specified Illnesses occurring during the first 120 days of continuous cover for:
a. Hypertension, diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease
b. All tumours, cancers, cysts, nodules, polyps, stones of the urinary system and
biliary system
c. All ear, nose (including sinuses) and throat conditions
d. Hernias, haemorrhoids, fistulae, hydrocele, varicocele
e. Endometriosis including disease of the reproduction system
f. Vertebro-spinal disorders (including disc) and knee conditions

ING MediPlus imposes 120 days exclusion on the following conditions:-
. Hypertension, diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease
. Hernias, haemorrhoids, fistulae, hydrocele, varicocele
. All tumours, cancers, cysts, nodules, polyps, stones of the urinary system and
biliary system
. Endometriosis including disease of the reproduction system
. All ear, nose (including sinuses) and throat conditions
. Vertebro-spinal disorders (including disc) and knee conditions

That is example...more or alike the same specified illnesses.
mamaraye
post Jan 13 2012, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(raph @ Dec 18 2011, 12:51 PM)
usually min for investment linked is RM1200 per year. but it also depend on payor info such as age, smoking or not and occpation..
i just signed for Prudential - PRU early start, cost 2400/year, you can sign for unborn baby as 18 weeks until 35 weeks, it cover medical card & insurance for 25 years.
transit
post Jan 13 2012, 10:37 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(mamaraye @ Jan 13 2012, 09:57 PM)
i just signed for Prudential - PRU early start, cost 2400/year, you can sign for unborn baby as 18 weeks until 35 weeks, it cover medical card & insurance for 25 years.
Prumychild plan Basic Life/TPD should cover up to age of 100 already. (instead of 25 years). Once your child achieve age of 25, the policyholder's ownership will be transferred to his/her own name. The medical card age coverage is having 3 options (70, 80 or 100 years old), no longer cover up to age of 25 years old.

Currently Policyholder is under mother's name; life assured is your child. (for prenatal case) If new born baby after 30 days get insured, then life assured will be his/her name as per registered in Malaysian IC.

raph
post Jan 17 2012, 01:37 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(mamaraye @ Jan 13 2012, 09:57 PM)
medical card for unborn baby? how is that possible?
transit
post Jan 17 2012, 08:05 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(raph @ Jan 17 2012, 01:37 AM)
medical card for unborn baby? how is that possible?
Why not? I have several Prumychild case whom mommy still in pregnancy in between week 18 to 35. I have once case rushing at last minute in week 34 get approved in week 35.

TSKasumie
post Jan 17 2012, 01:28 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Jan 13 2012, 10:37 PM)
Prumychild plan Basic Life/TPD should cover up to age of 100 already. (instead of 25 years). Once your child achieve age of 25, the policyholder's ownership will be transferred to his/her own name. The medical card age coverage is having 3 options (70, 80 or 100 years old), no longer cover up to age of 25 years old.

Currently Policyholder is under mother's name; life assured is your child. (for prenatal case) If new born baby after 30 days get insured, then life assured will be his/her name as per registered in Malaysian IC.
Wondering how much is this plan? Then when baby is born, the coverage continues? What does it cover during pregnancy time?
raph
post Jan 17 2012, 03:34 PM

190 posts

i mean, how unborn child using medical card?

how to save a life
post Jan 17 2012, 04:44 PM

nayeon ♥♥♥♥♥
830 posts

have u tried allianz?
transit
post Jan 17 2012, 05:36 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Jan 17 2012, 01:28 PM)
Wondering how much is this plan? Then when baby is born, the coverage continues? What does it cover during pregnancy time?
Please find out more details from ur PRU servicing agent on the quotation.
For the coverage, please refer to the link

Prumychildhttp://www2.prudential.com.my/corp/prudential_en_my/solutions/child/PMCPESPBS.html

Added on January 17, 2012, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(raph @ Jan 17 2012, 03:34 PM)
i mean, how unborn child using medical card?
You may find out more description from http://www2.prudential.com.my/export/sites...lystart_eng.pdf

This post has been edited by transit: Jan 17 2012, 05:39 PM
blogger_sk
post Jan 18 2012, 10:54 AM

For your information, there is a good way to save more on babies (1-6 years old).
As you know, the insured (1-6 years old) is expensive if purchased medical card from any insurance company.
You can always try to subscribe a non-cashless medical card during (1-6 years) and attached to a 3 generation plan
as a basic for your child education fund. Once after 6, switch back to cashless mode.
(remarks : you can always have credit card solution for medical fees on prepaid, and claim from insurance company
is very efficiency -- of course you need a good service agent)

QUOTE(transit @ Jan 17 2012, 05:36 PM)
Please find out more details from ur PRU servicing agent on the quotation.
For the coverage, please refer to the link

Prumychildhttp://www2.prudential.com.my/corp/prudential_en_my/solutions/child/PMCPESPBS.html

Added on January 17, 2012, 5:39 pm

You may find out more description from http://www2.prudential.com.my/export/sites...lystart_eng.pdf
Mackiddo
post Feb 3 2012, 12:58 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

i'm just curious. Non of your company provide or at least sponsor medical insurance for your spouse and kids ? Mine sponsor almost 70% of the hospitalization plan premium (AIA) for my kids till 18 years old.
premier123
post Jan 15 2013, 03:50 PM

56 posts

Just to bring back this topic again...I'm currently looking for pre-birth insurance for my baby-coming-soon and have found out both Prudential and Allianz have it. I have yet to hear about the Prudential plan from an agent

Any parents bought before? Any thoughts to share?
roystevenung
post Jan 16 2013, 07:24 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(premier123 @ Jan 15 2013, 03:50 PM)
Just to bring back this topic again...I'm currently looking for pre-birth insurance for my baby-coming-soon and have found out both Prudential and Allianz have it. I have yet to hear about the Prudential plan from an agent

Any parents bought before? Any thoughts to share?
Hi there, as you may already know, insurance is all about protection.

When it comes to getting medical insurance for newborn babies previously we need to wait until the baby is 2 weeks old. After 2 weeks, we can get the baby insured, provided that the baby is born healthy, with sufficient height and weight, full term (not premature) and without any complications.

However, if the baby is born with complications, for example hole in the heart and requires to be ICUed at such tender age, the hospital bill will be eating into our budget because most parents only plan to have healthy babies, not otherwise.

Should the baby is born with complications, sadly the medical insurance will be declined.

Secondly, do remember that even if your wife has medical insurance, it is for her own coverage and not the baby. Almost all basic insurance plans does not cover pregnancy complications.

This is where Prudential aims to bridge the gap, during pregnancy till child birth. The plan is called PRUearly start and PRUbest start.

See below

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Jan 16 2013, 08:03 PM
roystevenung
post Jan 16 2013, 08:02 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Jan 17 2012, 01:28 PM)
Kasumie, while we are not medical doctors, for PRUbest start the plan covers 10 congenital illness while PRUearly start covers Anal Atresia, Congenital Cataract and Congenital Deafness.

For PRUearly start it is in the range of RM 250, while PRUbest start range from RM 450~RM 500 per month. For both plans you need to maintain the premium for at least 2 years. After the 2 years, you are free to utilize the premium or just leave it there to generate the cash value faster.

A normal plan without PRUbest/early start ranges from RM 100~RM 150. However if the baby is born with medical condition, the medical insurance will be decline.

The brochure for PRUearly & PRUbest start can be found Here

The congenital conditions is best explained with pictures and reading material. Do click on the photos on the links to understand the medical conditions for babies.

1. Anal Atresia
2. Atrial Septal Defect
3. Congenital Cataract (blindness)
4. Congenital Deafness
5. Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia
6. Infantile Hydrocephalus
7. Tetralogy of Fallot
8. Transposition of Great Vessels
9. Truncus Arteriosus
10. Ventricular Septal Defect

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Jan 16 2013, 08:02 PM
cattylove
post Jan 17 2013, 12:00 AM

52 posts

I need a cashless medical card for my 2 months old son.. What is the best offer for him
cybersim2
post Jan 17 2013, 10:13 AM

503 posts

Anyone know with RM150/month premium, what is the maximum protection a baby can get ? Inclusive of medical card, critical illness for kid, education, life + investment link ?
roystevenung
post Jan 17 2013, 10:50 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Jan 17 2013, 10:13 AM)
Anyone know with RM150/month premium, what is the maximum protection a baby can get ? Inclusive of medical card, critical illness for kid, education, life + investment link ?
It depends how you would want the cover to be but for a child policy I would concentrate more on medical rather than giving the baby high life/CI. Reason being babies do not have responsibilities and I am sure no sane parents want to earn from our own flesh and blood.

Please for Rm150, lets not even think of it as education if you want max cover for medical/life insurance as insurance charges on these will eat up on the cash values. If you look at the projections for 20 years, i am sure you would agree that having Rm20k-Rm25k 20 years later would be tough even for a local degree.

Of course 20 years later you would be able to withdraw some cash values from the policy but my point is that do not only rely on this for the education. You need to find out where and how much the education needs versus what you have save.

For education purpose you may need to put in more towards a saver (where 95% of the premium will be used to generate cash values). Also there are other alternatives investments other than insurance.

If you need a quote, please Pm to me the following info.

1. Date of birth (yourself and baby)
2. Gender (yourself and baby)
3. Your occupation
4. Your smoking status
5. Your email address for me to email the quotes.
TSKasumie
post Jan 17 2013, 11:27 AM

613 posts

How much for a lowest education plan cost per month for a baby now at months? At what age they can withdraw for their education purposes in their future? Usually how much they will get based on the lowest plan.
roystevenung
post Jan 17 2013, 11:44 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Jan 17 2013, 11:27 AM)
How much for a lowest education plan cost per month for a baby now at months?  At what age they can withdraw for their education purposes in their future? Usually how much they will get based on the lowest plan.
Kasumie, this may sound very odd coming from an insurance guy, but if you are purely looking at the returns based on what you had invested, then you better put that hard earn money elsewhere. If you are looking for protection mainly medical card for baby, then yes, talk to Insurance guy.

It is sad to see insurance being sold as an investment.
KohSin
post Jan 17 2013, 11:49 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jan 17 2013, 11:44 AM)
Kasumie, this may sound very odd coming from an insurance guy, but if you are purely looking at the returns based on what you had invested, then you better put that hard earn money elsewhere. If you are looking for protection mainly medical card for baby, then yes, talk to Insurance guy.

It is sad to see insurance being sold as an investment.
Hi, can quote me on insurance for infant? I only want medical coverage n if possible, education or saving....my gal is 2weeks old
roystevenung
post Jan 17 2013, 11:54 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(KohSin @ Jan 17 2013, 11:49 AM)
Hi, can quote me on insurance for infant?  I only want medical coverage n if possible,  education or saving....my gal is 2weeks old
Hi there, in order for me to quote, could you please help to pm to me the following info?

2. Gender (yourself)
3. Your occupation
4. Your smoking status
roystevenung
post Jan 17 2013, 12:55 PM

2,173 posts

When it comes to insurance mainly medical card, do note that since 2006 the following are not covered.

Take home drugs, long term medication and consultation charges. This applies to industry wide. This is why if you have an older medical card that covers these, do not cancel the plan even if your spouse becomes an insurance agent with another insurance company.

Hence there may be times that you are required to pay for the take home drugs when the private hospital gives you medication for precautionary measures. In short, do note that not everything will be covered in your medical card.

For a list of exclusions do refer to the policy document.

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Jan 17 2013, 12:57 PM
cybersim2
post Jan 17 2013, 04:50 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jan 17 2013, 10:50 AM)
It depends how you would want the cover to be but for a child policy I would concentrate more on medical rather than giving the baby high life/CI. Reason being babies do not have responsibilities and I am sure no sane parents want to earn from our own flesh and blood.

Please for Rm150, lets not even think of it as education if you want max cover for medical/life insurance as insurance charges on these will eat up on the cash values. If you look at the projections for 20 years, i am sure you would agree that having Rm20k-Rm25k 20 years later would be tough even for a local degree.

Of course 20 years later you would be able to withdraw some cash values from the policy but my point is that do not only rely on this for the education. You need to find out where and how much the education needs versus what you have save.

For education purpose you may need to put in more towards a saver (where 95% of the premium will be used to generate cash values). Also there are other alternatives investments other than insurance.

If you need a quote, please Pm to me the following info.

2. Gender (yourself and baby)
3. Your occupation
4. Your smoking status
Thanks for your explanation. PM you already
roystevenung
post Jan 18 2013, 08:01 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(khairyepl @ Jan 18 2013, 06:03 AM)
take lifetime insurance
Okay bro, tapi boleh tumpang tanya ke bro? Hang dah ambik ke belum? Klu belum boleh roger kat Roy brows.gif

Apapun insuran ni utk perlindungan bukan pelaburan. Kenalah sediakan payung sebelum taufan huhu
samuraikacang
post Apr 7 2013, 04:58 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

Looking for insurance for my nephew who is going to be born on July 2013. Can the insurance be under my name means the father mother can't cash in any money but can use the medical card for my nephew.
ChrisGood
post Mar 22 2014, 04:58 PM

47 posts

Prudential is offering pre-natal 'PruMyChild' Plan. The first insurance plan in Malaysia that covers your child even before they are born. It has a cashless Medical Card (for the child), covers selected congenital illnesses and certain pregnancy complications. This is because once a child is diagnosed with any congenital conditions or born prematurely, insurers will decline issuing medical card or even any form of insurance- so PruMyChild actually covers these risks if you were to purchase it anytime within 18-35 weeks of pregnancy.

It's better to buy during pregnancy stage because as parents, surely we will buy medical insurance for our kids sooner or later.

And yes, it comes with savings too (PruMyChild is an investment-linked plan). Further terms and conditions are contained in the full quotation and policy, it's the duty of your agent to explain it before signing and during the delivery of policy, in person.

Like Roy above, I have sold many policies of PMC and I am glad this plan really helped some of my clients.

You may contact me by email or call me at 018-397 8421 for further details.
Michelle Tay
post Mar 26 2014, 09:50 AM

67 posts

Prudential, can apply even when baby inside your womb.
lemon_girl
post Apr 23 2014, 03:20 PM

38 posts

Hong Leong Assurance hav the same plans too.
Jv8888
post May 17 2014, 10:33 PM

82 posts

Currently considering in between prudential and hong leong for my infant. Any idea which one is better?
ChrisGood
post May 17 2014, 11:06 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Jv8888 @ May 17 2014, 10:33 PM)
Currently considering in between prudential and hong leong for my infant. Any idea which one is better?
Congrats on being a parent very soon!

I am not sure of hong leong's. As far as I know of, Prudential is the only company offering this plan.

The other plans are for the ladies, not for infant. Do not be mislead.

In prudential, we call it PruLady, covers pregnancy complications and the baby. But PruMyChild is a different plan, this plan is for expecting mothers from 18 weeks onwards to buy for the baby in the womb, once born, the same plan becomes an education/ medical insurance plan. No need to buy a new ins plan.

Call up any large private hospitals and generally ask this question, say this:

" I have 2 med cards. Prudential and Hong Leong. Which med card do you think is best for me to use if I need to be admitted? Any preference? Any special discount if I use Prudential card?" You will find your answer here.

Buy from the pioneer. Prudential is the first to offer medical card more than 15 years ago, then ladies plan (PruLady), and now PruMyChild launched abt 3-4 years back.

Regards,
Chris

wai1460
post May 19 2014, 09:30 AM

267 posts

Im looking to buy insurance (life + medical card) for my daughter 1 years.
But due to my daughter is born premature ( 32 weeks ), i have been rejected for the application.
Is there anyone willing to help/explain on this matter?
ChrisGood
post May 20 2014, 01:37 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(wai1460 @ May 19 2014, 09:30 AM)
But due to my daughter is born premature ( 32 weeks ), i have been rejected for the application.
QUOTE(wai1460 @ May 19 2014, 09:30 AM)
Dear Wai,

All insurance companies will decline medical insurance for prematurely born l, for the first 2-3 years depending. After the 2nd-3rd year, try re-applying again. Strict underwriting is required on this type of cases, as you my know babies born prematurely may be severely underweight, etc etc. But how premature is premature? if you have the attending OG Dr's report etc on the condition of the baby may help your application.

Which companies have you tried?, did your agent fill in correctly the number of weeks born in the application form supported by any reports from your Dr? Your daughter born 32 weeks- may still be considered actually. nod.gif I had similar case years ago and thankfully it was ok after getting some reports etc from Dr.

This is the reason why PruMyChild insurance designed for mother's to be to buy for their baby anytime between 18-32 weeks of pregnancy.

Regards.

ChrisGood
post May 20 2014, 01:42 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(lemon_girl @ Apr 23 2014, 03:20 PM)
Hong Leong Assurance hav the same plans too.
Lemon Girl,

Are you sure? Pregnant mother can buy for the baby?

Or are you referring to your ladies plan, buy before pregnancy and for herself. Not for the baby. When the baby is born, still need to buy a new medical insurance plan subject to new underwriting.

I checked through your HLA website and there is nothing abt this plan?
wai1460
post May 20 2014, 01:48 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(ChrisGood @ May 20 2014, 01:37 PM)
Dear Wai,

All insurance companies will decline medical insurance for prematurely born l, for the first 2-3 years depending. After the 2nd-3rd year, try re-applying again. Strict underwriting is required on this type of cases, as you my know babies born prematurely may be severely underweight, etc etc. But how premature is premature? if you have the attending OG Dr's report etc on the condition of the baby may help your application.

Which companies have you tried?, did your agent fill in correctly the number of weeks born in the application form supported by any reports from your Dr? Your daughter born 32 weeks- may still be considered actually.  nod.gif I had similar case years ago and thankfully it was ok after getting some reports etc from Dr.

This is the reason why PruMyChild insurance designed for mother's to be to buy for their baby anytime between 18-32 weeks of pregnancy.

Regards.
I've try GEL and my baby was born on 32 weeks and weight only 1.5kg at that time. They reject me because my baby is underweight. I dont have any supporting document from OG doctor to clarify that my current baby is healthy. Maybe i try to get the supporting document and reapply again.
ChrisGood
post May 20 2014, 01:54 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(wai1460 @ May 20 2014, 01:48 PM)
I've try GEL and my baby was born on 32 weeks and weight only 1.5kg at that time. They reject me because my baby is underweight. I dont have any supporting document from OG doctor to clarify that my current baby is healthy. Maybe i try to get the supporting document and reapply again.
Good, try getting the report from the pediatrician/ OG and current health, weight etc. After all your daughter is now 1 year old and surely bubbly, sweet and pretty smile.gif . Current weight is also important as we insurers have a BMI table.

Didn't the company or agent ask for further details above for underwriting assessment..

I would be happy to assist too should you decide to try with us.

Good lucks.

wai1460
post May 20 2014, 02:21 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(ChrisGood @ May 20 2014, 01:54 PM)
Good, try getting the report from the pediatrician/ OG and current health, weight etc. After all your daughter is now 1 year old and surely bubbly, sweet and pretty smile.gif . Current weight is also important as we insurers have a BMI table.

Didn't the company or agent ask for further details above for underwriting assessment..

I would be happy to assist too should you decide to try with us.

Good lucks.
Her growth chart is normal at the current status. Everything is healthy.
The agent just reply me is rejected only...no other assessment like request letter from OG/do health screen report.

Btw which company are u from? can PM me
jack208
post Dec 18 2014, 03:21 PM

335 posts

I und PruInfantCare is a rider that needs to be attached to PruMyChild which is an ILP. Is there a stand-alone medical plan for infant (or pre-born) from Prudential that's not linked to any life plan?
SUSsupersound
post Dec 18 2014, 04:10 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(jack208 @ Dec 18 2014, 03:21 PM)
I und PruInfantCare is a rider that needs to be attached to PruMyChild which is an ILP. Is there a stand-alone medical plan for infant (or pre-born) from Prudential that's not linked to any life plan?
Basically if you take good care of your child and avoiding chemical milks, baby will be healthy. Just follow the general hospital's guide and you are good to go.
Rather than wasting moeny on insurance, why not spend more effort on making baby and mother healthy?
Once baby able to eat meat, always let him to eat fish, way better than all those expensive chemical milks.
lifebalance
post Dec 18 2014, 10:54 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

For babies i would normally recommend to get a basic medical card. More protection for the parents.
mephyll
post Jul 10 2018, 11:36 AM

428 posts

Hi, any insurance advise can be given here?

Newborn coming soon, heard that AIA have only medical card for baby, hows this plan works? whats the premium & coverage?

is it better to look for 3 in 1 package instead of solely medical card for baby?
if i am not wrong 3 in 1 vs medical card only different is RM100 per month.
Lynn-AIA
post Jul 10 2018, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(mephyll @ Jul 10 2018, 11:36 AM)
Hi, any insurance advise can be given here?

Newborn coming soon, heard that AIA have only medical card for baby, hows this plan works? whats the premium & coverage?

is it better to look for 3 in 1 package instead of solely medical card for baby?
if i am not wrong 3 in 1 vs medical card only different is RM100 per month.
Hi, i have PM-ed you.
yes AIA has both investment link plan (A-LIFE JOY) and standalone medical plan for babies/kids.

would be better for you to see a life planner for her/him to explain to you the differences and to see which best suits you.

GameSky
post Jul 14 2018, 11:10 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

bump this thread up.. looking for medical cards for my kids as well.

infant around 6 months, and a kid around 4 yo... was looking on AXA and prudential..which one better?
SUSSitiNorhaliza1970
post Jul 16 2018, 09:12 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Dec 15 2011, 10:06 PM)

Edited: looking for basic medical card
medical bill very expensive now..if 500 per year may not be able to cover especially for kids since these days influenza etc very active..
mine was 300 per mth with unlimited coverage for life..
touch wood if given a choice would not want to use it
xswatch
post Jul 16 2018, 09:23 AM

592 posts

QUOTE(SitiNorhaliza1970 @ Jul 16 2018, 09:12 AM)
medical bill very expensive now..if 500 per year may not be able to cover especially for kids since these days influenza etc very active..
mine was 300 per mth with unlimited coverage for life..
touch wood if given a choice would not want to use it
unlimited coverage? which insurance package u getting?
SUSSitiNorhaliza1970
post Jul 16 2018, 10:04 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Jul 16 2018, 09:23 AM)
unlimited coverage? which insurance package u getting?
great eastern if not mistaken coz hubby buy one
Lynn-AIA
post Jul 16 2018, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(GameSky @ Jul 14 2018, 11:10 AM)
bump this thread up.. looking for medical cards for my kids as well.

infant around 6 months, and a kid around 4 yo... was looking on AXA and prudential..which one better?
best if you can get the details of the plans and make a comparison to see which suits your kids and your own needs and ur budget.
and would be good to see a life planner to review what ur needs are and which is suits u.

cc980024
post Jul 16 2018, 03:40 PM

492 posts

It all depends on budget. If monthly premium payment is not an issue, I would say Investment-link with medical card better, as medical card will raise price from time to time. I got fed up with it after few years of med card price raised, that make me get an investment-link plan for my boy.

Actually you can get the agents/financial planner to work out the plan for you. Reduce the sum assured to the minimal, max the coverage for medical, so that your monthly commitment won't be too huge if budget is a concern.
lowlowc
post Jul 17 2018, 12:08 AM

918 posts

PruMyChild covers what type of complications? Does it include premature birth where bb has to be in incubator for days/weeks?
Ewa Wa
post May 5 2019, 04:35 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jul 17 2018, 12:08 AM)
PruMyChild covers what type of complications? Does it include premature birth where bb has to be in incubator for days/weeks?
Should have incubator allowance every day only, not the medical bill for the incubator.
Afdhal92
post Dec 31 2019, 10:18 AM

75 posts

is that possible insurance baby not more than Rm 200 ? Agent please PM me more details
Ewa Wa
post Jan 14 2020, 04:40 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Afdhal92 @ Dec 31 2019, 10:18 AM)
is that possible insurance baby not more than Rm 200 ? Agent please PM me more details
Yes,
ch_kee83
post Jun 13 2020, 01:55 PM

139 posts

Looking for a medical card for my 2mth plus baby.
Any good insurance plan recommendation?
kumiko_91
post Jun 14 2020, 07:52 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

I went with AIA, RM300/month. Investment linked medical insurance. Has a couple of plans inside, including A-Life Joy 2, A Plus scholar saver, A Plus Disability Care and a couple of riders including A Plus Health (which is the medical card), A Plus Critical Care, A Plus Baby Care, A Plus Junior Critical Care.

Ask an agent and have them plan the whole insurance plan according to your budget. My agent drafted a 200, 250 and 300 per month plan, along with the benefits for us. Very hard to research it on your own.

This post has been edited by kumiko_91: Jun 14 2020, 07:55 AM
sj0217
post Jun 14 2020, 01:11 PM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(kumiko_91 @ Jun 14 2020, 07:52 AM)
I went with AIA, RM300/month. Investment linked medical insurance. Has a couple of plans inside, including A-Life Joy 2, A Plus scholar saver, A Plus Disability Care and a couple of riders including A Plus Health (which is the medical card), A Plus Critical Care, A Plus Baby Care,  A Plus Junior Critical Care.

Ask an agent and have them plan the whole insurance plan according to your budget. My agent drafted a 200, 250 and 300 per month plan, along with the benefits for us. Very hard to research it on your own.
You're right, fairly hard to research by your own.
However, I will rather do my own research first to know more about the insurance that you keen on it.
For example, since you taking AIA insurance, there have plenty of brochures for your reference with 3 languages. smile.gif

As least you have basic knowledge when asking questions or explanation from service agent.
That's what I usually practice, not only for this topic, but for other too tongue.gif
Ewa Wa
post Jun 15 2020, 02:34 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(ch_kee83 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:55 PM)
Much depend on ur budget and needs for the new born baby.

I would recommend for package plan bcoz it has the payer benefits: when death, total permanent disability and 45 Critical ilness, premium is waived for baby. which standalone medical card doesnt have this feature. baby medical plan ranging from RM200-300/m.

If budget is real tight then a standalone medical card is good too.

Leewah

popopi
post Jun 15 2020, 02:38 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Jun 15 2020, 02:34 PM)
Leewah
I having insurance the GE for my 2 kids when they are born... now they are 4 & 6... since the MCO. the budget is tight..
u think it is worth to cancel and change to medical only? both my kids' insurance is Rm200, Rm204....

Ur advice much appreciated..
Additional info, my company does provide medical card for me, wife and kids as of now.

Thanks notworthy.gif
Ewa Wa
post Jun 15 2020, 02:46 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jun 15 2020, 02:38 PM)
I having insurance the GE for my 2 kids when they are born... now they are 4 & 6... since the MCO. the budget is tight..
u think it is worth to cancel and change to medical only? both my kids' insurance is Rm200, Rm204....

Ur advice much appreciated..
Additional info, my company does provide medical card for me, wife and kids as of now.

Thanks  notworthy.gif
Understand the difficult situation now. Talk to ur agent or login to e-connect to check on the current cash value. if the cash value is sufficient to tahan for at least 6 months then go for premium holiday 1st.
Cyclopes
post Jun 16 2020, 07:35 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(ch_kee83 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:55 PM)
Yes, there are medical card plus other life insurance specific to young child/babies. You could ask the agents to quote for you.
drbone
post Jul 19 2020, 05:28 PM

1,757 posts

Guys , will be expecting baby no 2 in December. Been looking at medical card coverage for the newborn , and most are coming to about rm250-300/month.

Coverage for medical , critical illness and life up till age 100. So far been looking at great eastern and AIA coverage.

Anyone here can give me your opinion ?

My first born has medical coverage till age 100 also with rm1million without lifetime limit but no life or critical illness coverage. Paying around
Rm160 for this. But will need to increase the coverage for this too in the coming weeks.
Ewa Wa
post Jul 20 2020, 02:10 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jul 19 2020, 05:28 PM)
Guys , will be expecting baby no 2 in December. Been looking at medical card coverage for the newborn , and most are coming to about rm250-300/month.

Coverage for medical , critical illness and life up till age 100. So far been looking at great eastern and AIA coverage.

Anyone here can give me your opinion ?

My first born has medical coverage till age 100 also with rm1million without lifetime limit but no life or critical illness coverage. Paying around
Rm160 for this. But will need to increase the coverage for this too in the coming weeks.
Since both companies have prenatal plan which i think you can sign up now as ur wife still expecting. Prenatal plan covers jaundice and some congenital illness.

Before baby is delivered , this plan is covered for unborn child and expecting mommy. Once baby is delivered then this plan is auto to baby medical plan and covering till age 99.
drbone
post Jul 20 2020, 03:12 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Jul 20 2020, 02:10 PM)
Since both companies have prenatal plan which i think you can sign up now as ur wife still expecting. Prenatal plan covers jaundice and some congenital illness.

Before baby is delivered , this plan is covered for unborn child and expecting mommy. Once baby is delivered then this plan is auto to baby medical plan and covering till age 99.
What is the price range?
Ewa Wa
post Jul 21 2020, 01:13 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jul 20 2020, 03:12 PM)
What is the price range?
Ranging from Rm220/m onwards. Depend on ur needs and coverage in the plan.

0.0465sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:38 PM