My new KEF Q300, The Undressing of the new princess!

TSlightning69
post Dec 14 2011, 06:54 PM, updated 14y ago

2,298 posts

Before the arrival of the Q300...on the front is a picture of my old and trusty B&W DM602, and my brother-in-law's Paradigm Monitor 9.

The arrival of the new princess...

The undressing...

Introducing the Q300..

She is a beauty

Up close and personal...

This post has been edited by lightning69: Dec 14 2011, 09:56 PM
geforce1999
post Dec 14 2011, 07:24 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Congrat, looks good!
BOTBOTCHAI.
post Dec 14 2011, 09:41 PM

499 posts

Wow ! Bro ur Q300 look so sexy ( better than my IQ30 )
TSlightning69
post Dec 14 2011, 09:53 PM

2,298 posts

Thanks...it sound really good too.
scsoo
post Dec 14 2011, 10:22 PM

427 posts

Welcome to the KEF Speaker owner family..... Looking forward to your next upgrade... maybe....
KEF R series Floorstand and moving these beauties to do surround beauty when the R series poison hit you....

lussen
post Dec 14 2011, 10:43 PM

77 posts

nice bro lightning69. my q300 running almost 2 month to get the best sound rclxms.gif
TSlightning69
post Dec 14 2011, 10:54 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(lussen @ Dec 14 2011, 10:43 PM)
nice bro lightning69. my q300 running almost 2 month to get the best sound rclxms.gif
Wow...need 2 months! It already sound great now....can't wait to hear it in its full glory.

Added on December 14, 2011, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(scsoo @ Dec 14 2011, 10:22 PM)
Welcome to the KEF Speaker owner family..... Looking forward to your next upgrade... maybe....
KEF R series Floorstand and moving these beauties to do surround beauty when the R series poison hit you....
My B&W that I retired is with me 15 years. tongue.gif

Btw, I am not into floorstander. Somehow I prefer bookshelves on stand.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Dec 14 2011, 10:58 PM
lussen
post Dec 14 2011, 11:15 PM

77 posts

might to share my rumah kampung set up

Added on December 14, 2011, 11:18 pmsorry for bad picture only using my 'cap ayam' phone

This post has been edited by lussen: Dec 14 2011, 11:18 PM

anchovies93
post Dec 14 2011, 11:35 PM

902 posts

QUOTE(lussen @ Dec 14 2011, 11:15 PM)

Added on December 14, 2011, 11:18 pmsorry for bad picture only using my 'cap ayam' phone
wow great kampung. i'm in kampung too hehehe
scsoo
post Dec 14 2011, 11:37 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 14 2011, 11:54 PM)
Wow...need 2 months!  It already sound great now....can't wait to hear it in its full glory.

Added on December 14, 2011, 10:58 pm

My B&W that I retired is with me 15 years.  tongue.gif

Btw, I am not into floorstander.  Somehow I prefer bookshelves on stand.
Another fellow supporter of bookshelf.. Sometime Smaller package sound more refine......
R series also got Bookshelf..... Hahaha....
Don't know why.. But that seem the run in time of KEF stuff... 2 Month....
TSlightning69
post Dec 14 2011, 11:41 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(lussen @ Dec 14 2011, 11:15 PM)

I see you have your Q300 toe in quite a bit. Sound better toe in?
anchovies93
post Dec 14 2011, 11:43 PM

902 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Dec 14 2011, 11:37 PM)
Another fellow supporter of bookshelf.. Sometime Smaller package sound more refine......
R series also got Bookshelf..... Hahaha....
Don't know why.. But that seem the run in time of KEF stuff... 2 Month....
yeah i dump my floorstander for current bookshelf.maybe higher end floorstanders would be different but just cant afford it atm
chiakwang
post Dec 15 2011, 07:48 AM

59 posts

I am wondering if this Q300 is a bright or warm speaker?

I assume it is on the bright side. Pls correct if I am wrong.
mikapoh
post Dec 15 2011, 09:32 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(chiakwang @ Dec 15 2011, 07:48 AM)
I am wondering if this Q300 is a bright or warm speaker?

I assume it is on the bright side. Pls correct if I am wrong.
You are wrong tongue.gif KEF speakers are generally warm sounding.

Q300 is even warmer than Mordaunt Short Mezzo series.

Lightning 69, I see some photos frames on top of PC12plus, are they able to hold their ground when the sub kick-in??

scsoo
post Dec 15 2011, 09:47 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 12:41 AM)
I see you have your Q300 toe in quite a bit.  Sound better toe in?
Maybe its due to the placement? Its at the corner of the room and if facing forward will have bad first point reflection maybe?
To me Bookshelf have flexibility of placement and not that space consuming... It can be tuck in everywhere and not so bulky.... Only issue is Bass but nowadays with Sub-woofer this seem to be a matter of the past.
Floorstand visually is arresting.. but sometime in our small kampung house where got place to put big big floorstand speaker....
TSlightning69
post Dec 15 2011, 10:18 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Dec 15 2011, 09:32 AM)
You are wrong  tongue.gif KEF speakers are generally warm sounding.

Q300 is even warmer than Mordaunt Short Mezzo series.
Lightning 69, I see some photos frames on top of PC12plus, are they able to hold their ground when the sub kick-in??
Its a little bright in my opinion as expected from a metal tweeters. Soft dome tweeter generally sounds warmer.

Yes, its a photo frame on top of the PC-12Plus. Its paper type and it does fall off all the time.

chiakwang
post Dec 15 2011, 11:09 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 10:18 AM)
Its a little bright in my opinion as expected from a metal tweeters.  Soft dome tweeter generally sounds warmer.

Yes, its a photo frame on top of the PC-12Plus.  Its paper type and it does fall off all the time.
I am looking for one to complement my pioneer lx53, mainly for HIFI stereo. Any good speaker to recommend? Is Q300 a good match?
DannyOP
post Dec 15 2011, 11:35 AM

5,220 posts

Av amp not really suited for hifi stereo, get both a dedicated stereo amp and speakers. It is a world of difference.
terranova
post Dec 15 2011, 11:37 AM

1,161 posts

Congrats and welcome to the KEF family. Hope you're leaving the Q300 naked only for the photoshoot .... last thing we'd want is for dust accumulation on the Uni-Q drivers. smile.gif

Curious about the matching with the centre speaker.
WereWolf84
post Dec 15 2011, 01:14 PM

984 posts

Hi, lightning69 & lussen, how does the KEF Q series sounds for movies?

This post has been edited by WereWolf84: Dec 15 2011, 01:25 PM
mikapoh
post Dec 15 2011, 02:13 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 10:18 AM)
Its a little bright in my opinion as expected from a metal tweeters.  Soft dome tweeter generally sounds warmer.

Yes, its a photo frame on top of the PC-12Plus.  Its paper type and it does fall off all the time.
It depends on the amp to drive them too. Generally speakers will sound a little harsh when using AVR to listen.

My dealer using proper 2-channel stereo amp and to our surprise they sound quite warm than we thought. The midrange is very open with good body too.

lussen
post Dec 15 2011, 06:07 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Dec 15 2011, 01:14 PM)
q300 are good with music n movie thumbup.gif very smooth n detail bass are tight vocalsl very clear

Added on December 15, 2011, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 14 2011, 11:41 PM)
I see you have your Q300 toe in quite a bit.  Sound better toe in?
Due to the UniQ and Waveguide, your KEF's have the widest dispersion of any speaker in their price range, making them the best hi-fi speakers for movies. Their sealed cabinet also makes them ideal for near wall placement, although a little space will improve their already excellent three dimensional image. KEF are on a roll at the moment, which looks set to continue for some time. Enjoy Smile

This post has been edited by lussen: Dec 15 2011, 06:11 PM
TSlightning69
post Dec 15 2011, 06:19 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 15 2011, 11:37 AM)
Congrats and welcome to the KEF family. Hope you're leaving the Q300 naked only for the photoshoot .... last thing we'd want is for dust accumulation on the Uni-Q drivers. smile.gif

Curious about the matching with the centre speaker.
Its naked only for photo shoot. Got kids around so need to cover it up.

I really wanted another Q300 for centre speaker but the shop only sell in pair. I don't want the Q600c as its more expensive and I don't think its any better too.

Added on December 15, 2011, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Dec 15 2011, 02:13 PM)
It depends on the amp to drive them too. Generally speakers will sound a little harsh when using AVR to listen.

My dealer using proper 2-channel stereo amp and to our surprise they sound quite warm than we thought. The midrange is very open with good body too.
I fully agreed that a dedicated stereo amp is the best way to go, but I am very happy the pairing with my new Pioneer SC-LX75. Its sounds really awesome....very big sound staging and crytal clears. With the right source, this speakers really can sing.

Added on December 15, 2011, 6:26 pm
QUOTE(lussen @ Dec 15 2011, 06:07 PM)
q300 are good with music n movie  thumbup.gif very smooth n detail bass are tight vocalsl very clear

Added on December 15, 2011, 6:11 pm
Due to the UniQ and Waveguide, your KEF's have the widest dispersion of any speaker in their price range, making them the best hi-fi speakers for movies. Their sealed cabinet also makes them ideal for near wall placement, although a little space will improve their already excellent three dimensional image. KEF are on a roll at the moment, which looks set to continue for some time. Enjoy Smile

This post has been edited by lightning69: Dec 15 2011, 06:26 PM
terranova
post Dec 15 2011, 06:34 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 06:19 PM)
I really wanted another Q300 for centre speaker but the shop only sell in pair.  I don't want the Q600c as its more expensive and I don't think its any better too.
Well, I would go with the Q600c as the centre's role is quite prominent for movie (vs. music). I guess a middle-ground compromise would be the Q200c.
sonyman
post Dec 15 2011, 06:41 PM

1,043 posts

haha, im using a coda 70 as well, not bad, only when come to impact it sounds not as nice as my friends definitive tech
chiakwang
post Dec 15 2011, 09:51 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 06:19 PM)
Its naked only for photo shoot.  Got kids around so need to cover it up.

I really wanted another Q300 for centre speaker but the shop only sell in pair.  I don't want the Q600c as its more expensive and I don't think its any better too.

Added on December 15, 2011, 6:24 pm

I fully agreed that a dedicated stereo amp is the best way to go, but I am very happy the pairing with my new Pioneer SC-LX75.  Its sounds really awesome....very big sound staging and crytal clears.  With the right source, this speakers really can sing.

Added on December 15, 2011, 6:26 pm

Yep, KEF Uni-Q drivers are indeed impressive.  Very wide sound stage and impressive imaging.
Hi Bro,

Mind sharing what speaker you use for center and subwoofer at the moment?

I tested Q500 and Q300 in combination with onkyo and I feel it is bright, as bright as the jbl that i eventually took in combo with pioneer avr. At shop the combination performed very well as the details were extremely clear. However, over the long run playing exciting scene, the brightness may cause fatigue. The brightness is also not good for music as compared to warmer speakers like Castle and B&W (as what I have tested). Do you experience this with KEF Q series?

I have also tested B&W 684. For music, it performed very well. But, for movies it is too laid back due to the warmness. No excitement in scenes where you should feel your adrenaline rushing.

For the current setup, maybe I should avoid skipping to playing exciting scene only to avoid fatigue or I should take another pair of warm speakers just for music.

This post has been edited by chiakwang: Dec 15 2011, 09:56 PM
TSlightning69
post Dec 15 2011, 10:21 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(chiakwang @ Dec 15 2011, 09:51 PM)
Hi Bro,

I tested Q500 and Q300 in combination with onkyo and I feel it is bright, as bright as the jbl that i eventually took in combo with pioneer avr. At shop the combination performed very well as the details were extremely clear. However, over the long run playing exciting scene, the brightness may cause fatigue. The brightness is also not good for music as compared to warmer speakers like Castle and B&W (as what I have tested). Do you experience this with KEF Q series?

I have also tested B&W 684. For music, it performed very well. But, for movies it is too laid back due to the warmness. No excitement in scenes where you should feel your adrenaline rushing.

For the current setup, maybe I should avoid skipping to playing exciting scene only to avoid fatigue or I should take another pair of warm speakers just for music.
I use a Wharfadale Diamond 9 Centre speakers and a SVS PC-12Plus subwoofer.

I don't think the Q300 is very bright. It might be slightly bright but it is very subjective. It depends very much on the equipment pairing and the source. The Q300 need bi-amp to really shine and I heard it sounds warmer with cooper cables and sound bright with silver cables.

mikapoh
post Dec 15 2011, 10:34 PM

1,263 posts

Just to stir some toxic to you guys.

Here comes the beauty rclxms.gif . Center speaker is exclusively tuned and voiced for the vocals so I believe she can handles the dialogue well.

Introducing Q600C

Added on December 15, 2011, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(chiakwang @ Dec 15 2011, 09:51 PM)
Hi Bro,

The brightness you perceived with Q500 & Q300 is manly due to Onkyo characteristic. Denon & Marantz have a warmer presentation.

KEF speakers including the latest Q are generally warm sounding. The amp and the sources will contribute to its brightness to only certain extent. I do not think latest Q series sound fatigue as I have heard it at dealer shop.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Dec 15 2011, 10:44 PM
TSlightning69
post Dec 15 2011, 10:52 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 15 2011, 06:34 PM)
Well, I would go with the Q600c as the centre's role is quite prominent for movie (vs. music). I guess a middle-ground compromise would be the Q200c.
I personally don't think that we need to use a centre speaker for centre. Any speakers can be centre speaker. If a speaker is good enough for the main, it sure is good enough for centre duty. Just my opinion.
Mikeyz
post Dec 15 2011, 11:01 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 10:52 PM)
I personally don't think that we need to use a centre speaker for centre.  Any speakers can be centre speaker. If a speaker is good enough for the main, it sure is good enough for centre duty.  Just my opinion.
I do agree with u on some point, all LCR must at least have the same signature to produce the best sound output but i am sure a center itself has it's own characteristics and are made for certain dedicated purposes compare to speakers, i am no pro to point them out but i am sure they are build for it's reason.
mikapoh
post Dec 15 2011, 11:15 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 10:52 PM)
I personally don't think that we need to use a centre speaker for centre.  Any speakers can be centre speaker. If a speaker is good enough for the main, it sure is good enough for centre duty.  Just my opinion.
IMO, it definitely makes sense and I've seen some in AVS forum using the same type of floorstander for LCR.

The main problems are space constraints and the availability of just 1 unit speaker. I believe many Center speakers are designed horizontally so that it is practical in its placement under a TV. Take example at your case, it is almost impossible to place a bookshelf on the cabinet. You need to find a proper height one unit speaker stand for it.

TSlightning69
post Dec 15 2011, 11:27 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Dec 15 2011, 11:01 PM)
I do agree with u on some point, all LCR must at least have the same signature to produce the best sound output but i am sure a center itself has it's own characteristics and are made for certain dedicated purposes compare to speakers, i am no pro to point them out but i am sure they are build for it's reason.
I think the reason there is a dedicated centre speakers is because most speakers have a separate tweeter and woofer configurations and if the speakers were to be place horizontally, its array becomes off. That is why most centre have 2 woofers sandwitching a tweeter in the centre to balance the sound.

The KEF speaker that utilize the Uni-Q drivers don't have such problems as the sound from both the tweeter and the woofers are coming from the same point. Therefore i personally believe that the Q300 is perfect for use as a centre speaker. I would even prefer the Q300 as centre speakers as it have exactly the same sound signature as the 2 front speakers.

Again this is purely my preference. smile.gif
paskal
post Dec 16 2011, 12:13 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Dec 15 2011, 10:34 PM)
Just to stir some toxic to you guys.

Here comes the beauty  rclxms.gif . Center speaker is exclusively tuned and voiced for the vocals so I believe she can handles the dialogue well.

Introducing Q600C

Added on December 15, 2011, 10:44 pm
The brightness you perceived with Q500 & Q300 is manly due to Onkyo characteristic. Denon & Marantz have a warmer presentation.

KEF speakers including the latest Q are generally warm sounding. The amp and the sources will contribute to its brightness to only certain extent. I do not think latest Q series sound fatigue as I have heard it at dealer shop.
just to get an idea on the KEF sound signature, i audited the iQ10 for quite a while at a dealer place paired to a marantz cd player and marantz integrated amp (pm6003 i think). it still sounded a bit on the bright side.
might be because the unit have too little playing time on them, but the monitor audio bx2 sounded awesome out of the box.

was considering the kef new q series or the monitor audio bx series because of the good review, but in the end upgraded to the monitor audio as i preferred their sound more.

the dealer didn't have the new q series to audit but i heard the iq60 (IINM) before and it still strike me as a bit bright to my ears.

preference i guess.

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 15 2011, 11:27 PM)
I think the reason there is a dedicated centre speakers is because most speakers have a separate tweeter and woofer configurations and if the speakers were to be place horizontally, its array becomes off.  That is why most centre have 2 woofers sandwitching a tweeter in the centre to balance the sound. 

The KEF speaker that utilize the Uni-Q drivers don't have such problems as the sound from both the tweeter and the woofers are coming from the same point.  Therefore i personally believe that the Q300 is perfect for use as a centre speaker.  I would even prefer the Q300 as centre speakers as it have exactly the same sound signature as the 2 front speakers.

Again this is purely my preference. smile.gif
again, purely preference but i (we) did tried putting a bookshelf of similar series as a center channel flanked with floorstanders of the same series vs the dedicated center speaker and the dedicated center speaker sounded better.

and turning on and off the center speaker (while sitting dead center), i still think a dedicated center speaker sounded better.
TSlightning69
post Dec 16 2011, 07:28 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 16 2011, 12:13 AM)
just to get an idea on the KEF sound signature, i audited the iQ10 for quite a while at a dealer place paired to a marantz cd player and marantz integrated amp (pm6003 i think). it still sounded a bit on the bright side.
might be because the unit have too little playing time on them, but the monitor audio bx2 sounded awesome out of the box.

was considering the kef new q series or the monitor audio bx series because of the good review, but in the end upgraded to the monitor audio as i preferred their sound more.

the dealer didn't have the new q series to audit but i heard the iq60 (IINM) before and it still strike me as a bit bright to my ears.

preference i guess.
again, purely preference but i (we) did tried putting a bookshelf of similar series as a center channel flanked with floorstanders of the same series vs the dedicated center speaker and the dedicated center speaker sounded better.

and turning on and off the center speaker (while sitting dead center), i still think a dedicated center speaker sounded better.
That is very good info. Thanks. I am incline towards using the Q300 as centre because its a lot cheaper(half the price as compared to the Q600c) so for the savings, I think the Q300 is a good value centre speakers.

Added on December 16, 2011, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Dec 15 2011, 01:14 PM)
I watched Rise of the Planet of the Apes last night and I can say that the Q300 is great for movies too as expected. Very clear and detail sound.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Dec 16 2011, 07:30 PM
jimmyteng18
post Dec 17 2011, 09:49 PM

669 posts

How much is this Q300?
I'm using Arcam 7 for stereo.
TSlightning69
post Dec 21 2011, 08:50 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Dec 17 2011, 09:49 PM)
How much is this Q300?
I'm using Arcam 7 for stereo.
The lowest price so far is from penang @rm1950
scsoo
post Dec 21 2011, 02:26 PM

427 posts

I do agree that you can use KEF Standmount as centre as the Uni-Q arrangement do benefit as everything came from one source....
Just to add some consideration into the pot. The KEF centre are normally supported by some mid-drivers that give support to the Centre Uni-Q and this add into more mid-bass impact to the sound.
To me this pull the imaging focus better and give more frontal impact for movie experience.
I wouldn't mind using the smaller Centre in the Q series as I believe its would support the Q300 sufficient. The bigger sibling tends to work better with its taller brother that stand on the floor.
Sometime front integration matter if you have speaker of unique make (Uni-Q) and for me I even could consider having the same make for the rear and keeping the Uni-Q sound character....
Of course.. for Subwoofer its a different story as incorporating a Uni-Q tweeter into the 12 inch driver would be an interesting thing and in fact form no such requirement in reality... who want one there anyway...
nders
post Dec 21 2011, 03:47 PM

Age of lost direction
1,070 posts

donno much about this speaker, but man, she sure looked HOT! gratz TS
TSlightning69
post Dec 22 2011, 11:11 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Dec 21 2011, 02:26 PM)
I do agree that you can use KEF Standmount as centre as the Uni-Q arrangement do benefit as everything came from one source....
Just to add some consideration into the pot. The KEF centre are normally supported by some mid-drivers that give support to the Centre Uni-Q and this add into more mid-bass impact to the sound.
To me this pull the imaging focus better and give more frontal impact for movie experience.
I wouldn't mind using the smaller Centre in the Q series as I believe its would support the Q300 sufficient. The bigger sibling tends to work better with its taller brother that stand on the floor.
Sometime front integration matter if you have speaker of unique make (Uni-Q) and for me I even could consider having the same make for the rear and keeping the Uni-Q sound character....
Of course.. for Subwoofer its a different story as incorporating a Uni-Q tweeter into the 12 inch driver would be an interesting thing and in fact form no such requirement in reality... who want one there anyway...
Very good info. Thanks. My problem now is that I could not get hold of just 1 Q300 for the centre as they are sold in pairs.

I do incorporate a sub into my setup for HT use and music too cos I like bass. Problem is I am not that good to tell if it integrate well to my Q300 lol.
fit
post Dec 24 2011, 09:56 PM

451 posts

OO... What Hifi Speaker of the year for 2011... Q300....
I am using the Q300 and Q200c for few months now.. no regret! Highly recommended..
wongkmc
post Dec 24 2011, 10:05 PM

29 posts

waiting my new q700 & q600c to come.. arhh few more weeks
computerrentals
post Dec 25 2011, 12:57 AM

80 posts

TS, cant wait for hearing session, if there's one!
TSlightning69
post Dec 25 2011, 07:38 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Dec 24 2011, 10:05 PM)
Be patient my friend. Time flies.

Anyone here would like to use the Q300 for centre speakers? Maybe we can purchase 1 set and get one each. Please pm me if you're interested.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Dec 26 2011, 02:01 PM
asherteoh
post Dec 26 2011, 07:34 PM

Validating
159 posts

do share your experience with us after u have run in the speakers. also can u share with me the price u got for your q700? i got quoted around 4.5k which i find is a bit overpriced. IQ70 looks a look nicer physical. IQ70 vs. Q700.... hmm...

beetle_larvae
post Dec 26 2011, 07:52 PM

1,000 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 25 2011, 07:38 AM)
Be patient my friend.  Time flies.

Anyone here would like to use the Q300 for centre speakers?  Maybe we can purchase 1 set and get one each.  Please pm me if you're interested.
how much 1 pair q300? below 2k can get icon_idea.gif ??
DannyOP
post Dec 26 2011, 07:57 PM

5,220 posts

Singapore prices are cheaper.. Some more new year clearance at Adelphi
TSlightning69
post Dec 27 2011, 08:24 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(beetle_larvae @ Dec 26 2011, 07:52 PM)
how much 1 pair q300? below 2k can get  icon_idea.gif ??
I paid Rm2100 for a pair. Maybe can nego till Rm2000. So RM1000 for each as centre speakers.
wongkmc
post Dec 27 2011, 08:40 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Dec 26 2011, 07:34 PM)
do share your experience with us after u have run in the speakers. also can u share with me the price u got for your q700? i got quoted around 4.5k which i find is a bit overpriced. IQ70 looks a look nicer physical. IQ70 vs. Q700.... hmm...
I got that price too, I think you are slightly cheaper than mine one.. maybe because I'm a bit far
hoss
post Dec 29 2011, 03:29 PM

304 posts

KEF and B&W which 1 sound more nicer if pair with amp ONKYO 609 ?
htkaki
post Dec 29 2011, 05:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Dec 29 2011, 03:29 PM)
KEF and B&W which 1 sound more nicer if pair with amp ONKYO 609 ?
Both have their very own house sound. To me, the B&W sounded warmer and a bit more laid back than the KEF. So, it is pretty much on your preference.
hoss
post Dec 29 2011, 06:00 PM

304 posts

the warmer that u mention was?
paskal
post Dec 29 2011, 10:00 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Dec 29 2011, 06:00 PM)
the warmer that u mention was?
the last few days i spent a few hours auditing the q300, q500 and q700 with a q600c center speaker plugged to a marantz sr7005 for movies and then run the setup through a marantz cd6004 + pm6004 integrated amp for stereo.

played the same transformers dark of the moon scene which i am familiar with, then run tracks from norah jones, michael buble and best audiophile voices 2. and just for fun after spending the few hours listening to the 5 star whathifi awarded setup we run a pair of b&w 705 through the same cd6004 and pm6004.

i'm a freak for midrange. so i'm biased towards the sweet midrange of the b&w. the kef q series have better sense of space and more emphasis on treble. which is a good thing for movies. but not so for music. playing music they still sounded a bit thin and dry sounding to me.
TSlightning69
post Dec 30 2011, 10:04 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 29 2011, 10:00 PM)
the last few days i spent a few hours auditing the q300, q500 and q700 with a q600c center speaker plugged to a marantz sr7005 for movies and then run the setup through a marantz cd6004 + pm6004 integrated amp for stereo.

played the same transformers dark of the moon scene which i am familiar with, then run tracks from norah jones, michael buble and best audiophile voices 2. and just for fun after spending the few hours listening to the 5 star whathifi  awarded setup we run a pair of b&w 705 through the same cd6004 and pm6004.

i'm a freak for midrange. so i'm biased towards the sweet midrange of the b&w. the kef q series have better sense of space and more emphasis on treble. which is a good thing for movies. but not so for music. playing music they still sounded a bit thin and dry sounding to me.
Bro, you are not doing a fair comparison here. KEF Q series is not the same class as the B&W 7 series speakers. You should compare it with the B&W 600 series speakers.

mikapoh
post Dec 30 2011, 11:24 AM

1,263 posts

Hahaha.....I am about to say that.

Leolabs
post Dec 30 2011, 11:29 AM

600 posts

A fellow iQ3 user checking in at your thread rclxms.gif
hoss
post Dec 30 2011, 02:02 PM

304 posts

lightning69 : comparing KEF Q and B&W 6 series how do they perform is pairing with onkyo 609?

Added on December 30, 2011, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(Leolabs @ Dec 30 2011, 11:29 AM)
A fellow iQ3 user checking in at your thread rclxms.gif
how to see checking in ???

Added on December 30, 2011, 5:12 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 30 2011, 10:04 AM)
Bro, you are not doing a fair comparison here.  KEF Q series is not the same class as the B&W 7 series speakers.  You should compare it with the B&W 600 series speakers.
hi bro, KEF Q series and B&W 6 series, which 1 more for suitable movie and music both together?

This post has been edited by hoss: Dec 30 2011, 05:12 PM
paskal
post Dec 31 2011, 06:02 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 30 2011, 10:04 AM)
Bro, you are not doing a fair comparison here.  KEF Q series is not the same class as the B&W 7 series speakers.  You should compare it with the B&W 600 series speakers.
the 705 is a used set, selling cheaper then the q700, at the same range as the q500. not in the same class i'm sure, but since it's cheaper than the q700 might as well try it out.
too bad already booked by someone and awaiting pickup.

QUOTE(hoss @ Dec 30 2011, 02:02 PM)
lightning69 : comparing KEF Q and B&W 6 series how do they perform is pairing with onkyo 609?

hi bro, KEF Q series and B&W 6 series, which 1 more for suitable movie and music both together?
if i were you i'd bring the 609 to a place that have the speakers to test it out.
polite speakers (laid back) which sounds really good for music don't have that extra zing that a brighter/more aggressive speakers have especially for movies. tho that extra zing could probably sound harsh and fatiguing when playing music.

so there's a compromise that you have to make. as to how much compromise you could live with is a question that only you can answer.
TSlightning69
post Jan 1 2012, 11:39 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Dec 30 2011, 02:02 PM)

I never tried the KEF Q300 on Onkyo 609 so I can't say how it sound but I beleive it should be amazing too.

As for the KEF Q300 vs B&W DM602, I find that the KEF Q300 is so much clearer and details with very wide soundstage. I think KEF nail this one right @ this price range.
hoss
post Jan 1 2012, 05:55 PM

304 posts

i had a dream on my HT set. i went to HiWayLaser during new year eve. they are so friendly!!

KEF Q300, KEF Q200C, B&W 686, B&W 610 subwoofer, and amp ONKYO 609. hopefully i'm able to get it this year.

btw, pro there told me that MK subwoofer is perform more accurate than B&W and KEF. What do you guys think ?

** as in my room size 15 x 15
klimal
post Jan 1 2012, 07:39 PM

1,136 posts

Your room is a perfect square, nightmare for standing waves!
Even XT32 will have problems.
What is the height of the ceiling?
htkaki
post Jan 1 2012, 09:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Hope it ain't 10'. Else kepala pusing.
hoss
post Jan 1 2012, 10:06 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Jan 1 2012, 07:39 PM)
Your room is a perfect square, nightmare for standing waves!
Even XT32 will have problems.
What is the height of the ceiling?
height should be 25 ft.
btw what u mean nightmare for standing waves ?
scsoo
post Jan 1 2012, 10:43 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 11:06 PM)
height should be 25 ft.
That is a mighty high ceiling....
So dimension is 15 Wide x 15 long x 25 high (all in feet)
This will be interesting...

Added on January 1, 2012, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 06:55 PM)
i had a dream on my HT set. i went to HiWayLaser during new year eve. they are so friendly!!

KEF Q300, KEF Q200C, B&W 686, B&W 610 subwoofer, and amp ONKYO 609. hopefully i'm able to get it this year.

btw, pro there told me that MK subwoofer is perform more accurate than B&W and KEF. What do you guys think ?

** as in my room size 15 x 15
Would advise you to go with one Brand if you buying a complete set as the bookshelf from both KEF and B&W that you looking at are similar price range....
Subwoofer also, to go for same brand ie KEF speaker to pair with KEF subwoofer or B&W with B&W subwoofer.... nicer blend of sound as same brand...
If you looking at MK Subwoofer... might as well consider their speaker package and take complete set.....

This post has been edited by scsoo: Jan 1 2012, 10:54 PM
mikapoh
post Jan 1 2012, 11:15 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 10:06 PM)
height should be 25 ft.
You got be kidding me! ohmy.gif

hoss
post Jan 1 2012, 11:17 PM

304 posts

yaya mistake. only 10ft

Added on January 1, 2012, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(scsoo @ Jan 1 2012, 10:43 PM)
That is a mighty high ceiling....
So dimension is 15 Wide x 15 long x 10 high (all in feet)
This will be interesting...

Added on January 1, 2012, 10:54 pm
Would advise you to go with one Brand if you buying a complete set as the bookshelf from both KEF and B&W that you looking at are similar price range....
Subwoofer also, to go for same brand ie KEF speaker to pair with KEF subwoofer or B&W with B&W subwoofer.... nicer blend of sound as same brand...
If you looking at MK Subwoofer... might as well consider their speaker package and take complete set.....
cannot mix and match ?

bcos B&W base more stronger while KEF more clearer.

Technician told me that B&W more suitable for movie while KEF more suit for music.

For subwoofer, he said MK give more accurate pitch. hmm...

This post has been edited by hoss: Jan 1 2012, 11:22 PM
TSlightning69
post Jan 2 2012, 08:39 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 11:17 PM)
yaya mistake. only 10ft

cannot mix and match ?

Technician told me that B&W more suitable for movie while KEF more suit for music.

Hahaha...my KEF Q300 sound so good for movies too. My belief is that if it sound good for music, it will sound good for movies.
asherteoh
post Jan 2 2012, 11:44 AM

Validating
159 posts

i heard from a topic in whathifi's forum, an owner of Q500 took more than 1 month to run in the speakers. he mentioned initially the treble sounded harsh and midrange was blurry. after run in, everything was perfect! i'm curious to get Q500 but looks rather small for a floorstander. i wonder who's the bass like... deep enough?
TSlightning69
post Jan 3 2012, 10:31 AM

2,298 posts

I go with the Stars lol
terranova
post Jan 3 2012, 01:02 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 05:55 PM)

QUOTE(scsoo @ Jan 1 2012, 10:43 PM)
with due respect to bro scsoo, i beg to differ. the subwoofer can be brand-indifferent imho .... low frequencies tend to be tone-deaf. i would go for dedicated (specialised) makers of subwoofers e.g. low-mid end SVS, Velodyne, etc. for a starter setup.

anyway, this is OT. sorry lightning.
scsoo
post Jan 3 2012, 02:28 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Jan 3 2012, 02:02 PM)
with due respect to bro scsoo, i beg to differ. the subwoofer can be brand-indifferent imho .... low frequencies tend to be tone-deaf. i would go for dedicated (specialised) makers of subwoofers e.g. low-mid end SVS, Velodyne, etc. for a starter setup.

anyway, this is OT. sorry lightning.
I would agree if we are going with dedicated subwoofer from velo, sunfire, svs or rymik. I am just giving the opinion to match brand for simplicity as bringing too much brand into the mix can be confusing.... prefer to keep it simple unless to all the sifu here that have "years" of experience.. (that this with a hint of humour) this would not be an issue but to a newbie this could be too much...
Anyway, OT again... let get back to KEF and speakers....
Happy listeining to my XQ bookshelf.... superb mid, with nice treble extention and bass... oklah.. bookshelf bass cannot compare to floorstand so need subwoofer to support... also KEF subwoofer.. me being brand specific again....

jimmyteng18
post Feb 6 2012, 03:34 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 21 2011, 08:50 AM)
The lowest price so far is from penang @rm1950
Where can audition this KEF in Penang?
Hope to hook up my Arcam 7 with it.
lussen
post Feb 6 2012, 05:46 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Feb 6 2012, 03:34 PM)
Where can audition this KEF in Penang?
Hope to hook up my Arcam 7 with it.
hi-fi choice midlands park
jimmyteng18
post Feb 7 2012, 09:34 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(lussen @ Feb 6 2012, 05:46 PM)
hi-fi choice midlands park
Thks lussen.

Added on February 7, 2012, 10:17 pm
Anyone compare this KEF Q300 with Monitor Audio Bronze BX2?
How much is BX2 selling?

Can these speaker be used as home theatre main Front/Left?

This post has been edited by jimmyteng18: Feb 7 2012, 10:17 PM
asherteoh
post Feb 9 2012, 05:55 PM

Validating
159 posts

KEF Q300 should win over BX2 BUT i think would loose to RX2 smile.gif
wongkmc
post Feb 16 2012, 12:35 PM

29 posts

here my KEF speakers

Got the speakers couple days ago. Plug into LX75 and play a wonderful sound. Those speaker are clear, solid sounds and wide stages. No matter where you stand you can hear the sound almost the same every spot. The speaker can hear for whole day without feeling fatigue and sound can be heard like from far deep stages. At night when quite you can play Yanni music in low vol and it feel so nice and relax. You can almost can hear all instrument they used. Watched few movies Real Steel, Rise of planet of Apes etc.. sound feel good especially the voice are very clear. Play radio also wonderful...

wkang
post Feb 16 2012, 03:18 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Feb 16 2012, 12:35 PM)
here my KEF speakers
Got the speakers couple days ago. Plug into LX75 and play a wonderful sound. Those speaker are clear, solid sounds and wide stages. No matter where you stand you can hear the sound almost the same every spot. The speaker can hear for whole day without feeling fatigue and sound can be heard like from far deep stages.  At night when quite you can play Yanni music in low vol and it feel so nice and relax. You can almost can hear all instrument they used. Watched few movies Real Steel, Rise of planet of Apes etc.. sound feel good especially the voice are very clear. Play radio also wonderful...
Nice setup, bet they sound as good as they look. smile.gif
Mikeyz
post Feb 16 2012, 03:28 PM

586 posts

here my KEF speakers
Got the speakers couple days ago. Plug into LX75 and play a wonderful sound. Those speaker are clear, solid sounds and wide stages. No matter where you stand you can hear the sound almost the same every spot. The speaker can hear for whole day without feeling fatigue and sound can be heard like from far deep stages.  At night when quite you can play Yanni music in low vol and it feel so nice and relax. You can almost can hear all instrument they used. Watched few movies Real Steel, Rise of planet of Apes etc.. sound feel good especially the voice are very clear. Play radio also wonderful...
Very nice, next what u need is a 100 inch screen and a projector to suite up with your Q700 wide soundstage efforts. Then your HT experience will be on another level.
Auditioned the Q700 and pair with Q200c on a 86' projection display, love the feel man. No regrets on the KEF Q series

JSpec2
post Feb 16 2012, 03:32 PM

126 posts

here my KEF speakers
WOW...How much it cost?
tbcheese
post Feb 16 2012, 03:50 PM

313 posts

here my KEF speakers
Niceeeeeeee thumbup.gif How'd you conceal the TV cables?
Will.i.am.Smith
post Feb 16 2012, 03:56 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 11:17 PM)
yaya mistake. only 10ft

cannot mix and match ?

MK Sub does have flatter response all up to the 100hz+ zone because they're supposedly to be integrated into their satellite speakers series.

Many claimed the clean punch line of the sub itself hence you may consider one but be warned of its pricing is more premium than others.
wongkmc
post Feb 16 2012, 07:39 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Feb 16 2012, 03:50 PM)
Niceeeeeeee  thumbup.gif How'd you conceal the TV cables?
Cut into wall and put a PVC pipe inside.. DIY.. I just finished concealed Sub cable as well use existing pipe..

QUOTE(JSpec2 @ Feb 16 2012, 03:32 PM)
WOW...How much it cost?
Cost Q700+Q600C around RM6.8k, Rythmik F15HP 5.3k..

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Feb 16 2012, 03:28 PM)
Very nice, next what u need is a 100 inch screen and a projector to suite up with your Q700 wide soundstage efforts. Then your HT experience will be on another level.
Auditioned the Q700 and pair with Q200c on a 86' projection display, love the feel man. No regrets on the KEF Q series
Yes.. in my plan already and 4 more speakers for surround effect..

QUOTE(wkang @ Feb 16 2012, 03:18 PM)
Nice setup, bet they sound as good as they look.  smile.gif
Cheers.. Indeed biggrin.gif

Tried those speakers without subwoofer. Listen to Linkin Park New Divide song, vol. -20dB and the bass was pretty good to me and didn't hear anything call "muddy" bass. If play together with Rythmik sub F15Hp that really powerful, strong, tight bass which both blended in perfectly. Anyway is depend on what kind of music/song, some need strong bass to feel it.

Those speaker need time to break in, some say 3 days some need a month, wait until I get there and hear the different. Obviously my sub need time to break in too, not sure when but only know when it brand new, the bass response wasn't good and it a bit hard (hard to blend in with music, like HF/LF totally fall apart). Now it play very well.....

tbcheese
post Feb 16 2012, 09:55 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Feb 16 2012, 07:39 PM)
Cut into wall and put a PVC pipe inside.. DIY.. I just finished concealed Sub cable as well use existing pipe..

Nice workmanship. Can't see signs of hacking from the photos.
TSlightning69
post Feb 20 2012, 08:54 AM

2,298 posts

here my KEF speakers
Nice one my friend. rclxms.gif

Its time to got to work biggrin.gif
mikapoh
post Feb 20 2012, 09:21 AM

1,263 posts

here my KEF speakers
Wow very nice & lovely speakers, blend in well in your living hall too. 3 suggestions though:-

1. Get your center speaker decouple from the cabinet (put something at bottom to tilt it slightly upwards), or place the center to the front edge of cabinet. I bet you will hear dialogues even clearer. The aim is to mitigate the reflection sound from cabinet surface.

2. Time to invest a BIGGER screen.

3. Enjoy!

lussen
post Feb 21 2012, 12:02 AM

77 posts

here my KEF speakers
bi-am this speaker will make much more clear n detail rclxm9.gif
TSlightning69
post Feb 21 2012, 03:49 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(lussen @ Feb 21 2012, 12:02 AM)
bi-am this speaker will make much more clear n detail rclxm9.gif
Yah...he has got the front bi-amp just like mine. In fact we bought the speaker cables together. smile.gif

otnuus
post Feb 21 2012, 02:05 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Feb 20 2012, 09:21 AM)
Wow very nice & lovely speakers, blend in well in your living hall too. 3 suggestions though:-

1. Get your center speaker decouple from the cabinet (put something at bottom to tilt it slightly upwards), or place the center to the front edge of cabinet. I bet you will hear dialogues even clearer. The aim is to mitigate the reflection sound from cabinet surface.

3. Enjoy!
Totally agree with point 1.
I have a similar setup without concealing the wire to TV. I adjust the screw position of the TV mounting so that the bottom of the TV are level with the center speaker to "hide" the wires. I have now move the center speaker forward nearer to the front edge of the cabinet and also add footing to tilt the center to aim at my ear level. Really makes a lot of difference. I suggest you try this out.
JSpec2
post Feb 21 2012, 02:17 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(otnuus @ Feb 21 2012, 02:05 PM)
Totally agree with point 1.
I have a similar setup without concealing the wire to TV. I adjust the screw position of the TV mounting so that the bottom of the TV are level with the center speaker to "hide" the wires. I have now move the center speaker forward nearer to the front edge of the cabinet and also add footing to tilt the center to aim at my ear level. Really makes a lot of difference. I suggest you try this out.
Pls show us ur HT setup... brows.gif
wongkmc
post Feb 23 2012, 11:54 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Feb 20 2012, 09:21 AM)

3. Enjoy!
Great, thanks for the tip #1. Sure will try and I bet you are right. biggrin.gif
negayem
post Feb 24 2012, 10:32 AM

225 posts

Hi wongkmc, congrats on your wonderful setup!

May I know where and how much you purchased the LX 75?
I intend to get one for my new setup next month. Thanks
wongkmc
post Feb 24 2012, 01:46 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ Feb 24 2012, 10:32 AM)
Hi wongkmc, congrats on your wonderful setup!

May I know where and how much you purchased the LX 75?
I intend to get one for my new setup next month. Thanks
Around 4.6K from South country thru my dealer here, 1/2 price compare to msia. Warranty in that country too...
mikapoh
post Feb 25 2012, 12:36 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Feb 23 2012, 11:54 AM)
Great, thanks for the tip #1. Sure will try and I bet you are right. biggrin.gif
U r welcome. Most important the tweak is FREE and effective.

Sometimes there are many ways to improve a system without keep splurging.

Mikeyz
post Feb 25 2012, 12:15 PM

586 posts

Can anyone P'M me the latest mArket price for the Q300? Or any good offers in PJ or KL? Thanks
TSlightning69
post Feb 29 2012, 02:04 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Feb 25 2012, 12:15 PM)
Can anyone P'M me the latest mArket price for the Q300? Or any good offers in PJ or KL? Thanks
The last time I check, KL is more expensive than Penang. Good luck finding your Q300.

Btw, anyone want to share a Q300 for centre?
JSpec2
post Feb 29 2012, 02:33 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Feb 25 2012, 12:15 PM)
I got a best price (RM1890) at pg.
Mikeyz
post Mar 1 2012, 05:55 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Feb 29 2012, 02:04 PM)
The last time I check, KL is more expensive than Penang.  Good luck finding your Q300.

Btw, anyone want to share a Q300 for centre?
You plan to get a Q300 for your center?

Added on March 1, 2012, 5:57 am
QUOTE(JSpec2 @ Feb 29 2012, 02:33 PM)
Do PM me the shop name and address , i will ask someone go there help me check it out.

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Mar 1 2012, 05:57 AM
yew599
post Mar 22 2012, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(JSpec2 @ Feb 29 2012, 02:33 PM)
may i know which shop in penang ?

This post has been edited by yew599: Nov 21 2013, 11:17 PM
DarthMaus
post Mar 23 2012, 11:49 AM

Now u see me... now u don't... really...
1,238 posts

hi guys...

may i know where to get kef speakers in KL? authorised dealers preferably.

thanks.
ravemaster
post Mar 28 2012, 02:06 PM

139 posts

hi, am planning to get a replacement for my old speakers set that i gave away. am still thinking of either getting the

KEF KHT3005SE
OR
combo of KEF Q300 and Q600C. this option will add Q400B the following month as budget is a bit constrain.

between these two options, which one do u guys think i should grab? speaker system will be used for 40% gaming, 30% movies and 30% musics (mostly classical and trance). currently own onkyo 608 entry level avr. any input is greatly appreciated. thanks
squall_12
post Apr 3 2012, 02:50 PM

1,779 posts

hi guy,

want to ask is it ok if i can mix the kef q300 front speaker with my psb c1 center speaker which later on i plan to change to Kef q200 center speaker.

This post has been edited by squall_12: Apr 3 2012, 02:51 PM
Mikeyz
post Apr 3 2012, 03:36 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 3 2012, 02:50 PM)
hi guy,

want to ask is it ok if i can mix the kef q300 front speaker with my psb c1 center speaker which later on i plan to change to Kef q200 center speaker.

Yea you may mix both but u might not get the best outcome cause if you ask everyone here, they will tell u to go for same brand and signature for front LCR.
Just go ahead and use what u have. Perhaps some minor tweaks may help and enjoy them. Cheers

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Apr 3 2012, 07:25 PM
JSpec2
post Apr 3 2012, 03:42 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 3 2012, 02:50 PM)
hi guy,

Y not?

Added on April 3, 2012, 3:51 pmAny effect if same brand & signature but diff size?like Q300 + Q200c compare wif Q300 + Q600c?

This post has been edited by JSpec2: Apr 3 2012, 03:51 PM
squall_12
post Apr 3 2012, 05:51 PM

1,779 posts

i mean if i dont use kef as my center and will my kef front speaker which is different brand and signature match with my current psb center speaker that i worry it might be have some kind of side effect during movie playback.

This post has been edited by squall_12: Apr 3 2012, 05:56 PM
Mikeyz
post Apr 3 2012, 07:29 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:51 PM)
i mean if i dont use kef as my center and will my kef front speaker which is different brand and signature match with my current psb center speaker that i worry it might be have some kind of side effect during movie playback.

Perhaps the details and sound quality may be different compare u use all KEFa, side effect wise, won't harm your equipment unless u blast all night at -1/ 0db.
Try it and u will know the outcome.
JSpec2
post Apr 3 2012, 08:35 PM

126 posts

Any1 using Yamaha's avr?
squall_12
post Apr 13 2012, 05:23 PM

1,779 posts

hi guy,

For KEFQ300 Front is the below chord cables best suited for it? Thanks

Chord Carnival SilverScreen Biwire Speaker Cable
- Plugs Banana Only - 2 to 4 (6 Plugs)
JSpec2
post Apr 13 2012, 06:14 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 13 2012, 05:23 PM)
hi guy,

For my experience,Kef Q series if pair wif Chord Carnival SilverScreen Biwire Speaker Cable wil become brighten.
squall_12
post Apr 13 2012, 06:57 PM

1,779 posts

will it be too bright?

JSpec2
post Apr 13 2012, 09:21 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 13 2012, 06:57 PM)
will it be too bright?

Depend which avr u use,but it wil b on bright side.

This post has been edited by JSpec2: Apr 13 2012, 09:21 PM
Mikeyz
post Apr 13 2012, 11:21 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 13 2012, 05:23 PM)
hi guy,

What AVR are you using? If is Onkyo, it's more to the bright side.
You can try cables from Audioquest.
From my setup, i am now using QED Evo XT on my Q300 to a Denon 1912, so far so good for movies but when play music using multi chanel mode, it is bright though.

squall_12
post Apr 13 2012, 11:28 PM

1,779 posts

denon 3311.
JSpec2
post Apr 13 2012, 11:46 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 13 2012, 11:28 PM)
denon 3311.
Bright is better for movie but not music,u can audition b4 buy.
Audioquest is thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
squall_12
post Apr 13 2012, 11:59 PM

1,779 posts

so with denon 3311 and Chord Carnival SilverScreen Biwire Speaker Cable wii be too bright for music correct?

Mikeyz
post Apr 14 2012, 08:33 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 13 2012, 11:59 PM)
so with denon 3311 and Chord Carnival SilverScreen Biwire Speaker Cable wii be too bright for music correct?

I would strongly advice you go for an audition for cable testing. Denon suppose to execute warm sounds as it is so very hard to give u a solid answer.
Perhaps u can PM DannyOP, he owns a 3311 before and he had some experience on apkrs cables test. Perhaps he can give u some info. Cheers
squall_12
post Apr 14 2012, 10:22 AM

1,779 posts

so is Chord Carnival SilverScreen Biwire Speaker Cable a bright or warm cable?

paskal
post Apr 14 2012, 10:43 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 14 2012, 10:22 AM)
so is Chord Carnival SilverScreen Biwire Speaker Cable a bright or warm cable?

wires made from silver and/or have some sort of silver coating in them generally carries the usual silver sound signature, which is bright. not a bad trait if properly matched as they're also transparent, highly detailed, lots of sparkle, open, wide and the usual characters associated to high frequency emphasis.

having heard the kef q, xq, iq series i associate them as being bright. a silver cable to a bright speaker might not fit some people. though some could tolerate such piercing sound, i definitely could not.

i've seen hifi choice midlands park (seeing that you're in penang) have a few models of the q series. and some chord silver cables the last time i was there. they also have pioneer and marantz avrs on display. try and visit them for an audition to gauge your level of tolerance.
JSpec2
post Apr 14 2012, 11:24 AM

126 posts

squall_12,u from pg?
JSpec2
post Apr 20 2012, 10:36 AM

126 posts

Finally,"Babe" in da house!!!
scsoo
post Apr 20 2012, 11:25 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(JSpec2 @ Apr 20 2012, 11:36 AM)
Finally,"Babe" in da house!!!
Nice looking Uni-Q babe.... What speaker cable used to drive them?
JSpec2
post Apr 20 2012, 11:33 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Apr 20 2012, 11:25 AM)
Nice looking Uni-Q babe.... What speaker cable used to drive them?
Thx.Im using Audioquest CV4.it perform warmer sound than others cable.
scsoo
post Apr 20 2012, 11:37 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(JSpec2 @ Apr 20 2012, 12:33 PM)
Thx.Im using Audioquest CV4.it perform warmer sound than others cable.
Oh, Green colour snake... Banana plug or Spade?
Copper cable normally warm. Is the KEF bright?
squall_12
post Apr 20 2012, 11:41 AM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(JSpec2 @ Apr 14 2012, 11:24 AM)
squall_12,u from pg?
yes i am from penang so which shop in penang can i audit the kef q300 and q200.

thank
JSpec2
post Apr 20 2012, 11:45 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Apr 20 2012, 11:37 AM)
Oh, Green colour snake... Banana plug or Spade?
Copper cable normally warm. Is the KEF bright?
Banana.
If pair with onkyo partnering others cable eg:wireworld,chord... i found abit brighten.

scsoo
post Apr 20 2012, 11:52 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(JSpec2 @ Apr 20 2012, 12:45 PM)
Banana.
If pair with onkyo partnering others cable eg:wireworld,chord... i found abit brighten.
Oh.. Onkyo.. more of a bright AVR... I am using Marantz... warm AVR so using Chord not that bright....
Can give a short review of the KEF.. for us to envy envy a bit?.... Also for reference to those considering these Uni-Q babe...... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

JSpec2
post Apr 20 2012, 12:08 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Apr 20 2012, 11:52 AM)
Oh.. Onkyo.. more of a bright AVR... I am using Marantz... warm AVR so using Chord not that bright....
Can give a short review of the KEF.. for us to envy envy a bit?.... Also for reference to those considering these Uni-Q babe......  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Marantz is gd avr for music.which model u using?

Haha...stil in running stage but wil do soon.
lussen
post Apr 20 2012, 07:24 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Apr 20 2012, 11:41 AM)
yes i am from penang so which shop in penang can i audit the kef q300 and q200.

thank
hifi choice in midland park got kef.

Added on April 20, 2012, 7:28 pm
QUOTE(lussen @ Apr 20 2012, 07:24 PM)
hifi choice in midland park got kef.
im using wireworld luna 16\4.cooper cable is the best for kef q series

This post has been edited by lussen: Apr 20 2012, 07:28 PM
Mikeyz
post Apr 20 2012, 08:14 PM

586 posts

come let us all discuss in this new KEF owners thread HERE
billboo
post Feb 15 2013, 04:10 PM

Hi Sirs,

First sorry to disturb but I'm looking for a second hand set of KEF Q300.
So, if someone of you want to let it go his set .... I'll make an offer.

Let me know.

regards,
dRLurve
post Jun 15 2014, 02:48 PM

357 posts

Can anyone let me know the cheapest market price for kef q500 in kl or penang?
chanhin
post Jun 16 2014, 09:40 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(dRLurve @ Jun 15 2014, 02:48 PM)
Can anyone let me know the cheapest market price for kef q500 in kl or penang?
Just share some experiences. I went to test Q500 and really like it. Then tried Q700, which truly impressed and immediately bought it. The freq response from Q700 is way smoother, deeper and lower, very siok.

After one month and tested the Q900, I regretted getting the Q700 cry.gif laugh.gif

The Q900 low freq very siok... I think no need sub for a long time if have Q900 thumbup.gif
dRLurve
post Jun 17 2014, 04:30 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jun 16 2014, 09:40 PM)
Just share some experiences. I went to test Q500 and really like it. Then tried Q700, which truly impressed and immediately bought it. The freq response from Q700 is way  smoother, deeper and lower, very siok.

After one month and tested the Q900, I regretted getting the Q700  cry.gif  laugh.gif

The Q900 low freq very siok... I think no need sub for a long time if have Q900  thumbup.gif
Small room only. Can PM me lowest price u being offered for Q500 and Q700?
chanhin
post Jun 18 2014, 12:03 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(dRLurve @ Jun 17 2014, 04:30 PM)
Small room only. Can PM me lowest price u being offered for Q500 and Q700?
Price changed already I think.

Last time Q700 is RM4500, Q900 is about 1k more, while Q500 is 1k less.
dRLurve
post Jun 18 2014, 12:59 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jun 18 2014, 12:03 AM)
Price changed already I think.

Last time Q700 is RM4500, Q900 is about 1k more, while Q500 is 1k less.
I see. Mine only a small room. Q500 should be sufficient. Initially tot about Q300 but if included speaker stand then i guess it make no different.

Anyone know if Q500 sound is better or lower then Q300?
chanhin
post Jun 18 2014, 09:37 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(dRLurve @ Jun 18 2014, 12:59 PM)
I see. Mine only a small room. Q500 should be sufficient. Initially tot about Q300 but if included speaker stand then i guess it make no different.

Anyone know if Q500 sound is better or lower then Q300?
to my ears, Q500 way much better than Q300 and ls50 as the bookshelf no bass one.

but... if you willing to add sub like EarthQuake P10 into the bookshelf, then another story...
shawn87
post Jun 16 2019, 09:57 AM

2,154 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 29 2011, 10:00 PM)

played the same transformers dark of the moon scene which i am familiar with, then run tracks from norah jones, michael buble and best audiophile voices 2. and just for fun after spending the few hours listening to the 5 star whathifi  awarded setup we run a pair of b&w 705 through the same cd6004 and pm6004.

Bro can teach how you connect the speakers and stereos amp and av receiver together ?

Or stereo amp and av receiver is independent individual setup?

ktek
post Jun 17 2019, 10:39 PM

小喇叭
13,208 posts

QUOTE(shawn87 @ Jun 16 2019, 09:57 AM)
Bro can teach how you connect the speakers and stereos amp  and av receiver together  ?

Or stereo amp and av receiver is independent individual setup?
sr front pre out rca to pm rca input
use two remote

0.0668sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:07 PM