7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

My new KEF Q300, The Undressing of the new princess!

htkaki
post Jan 1 2012, 09:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Hope it ain't 10'. Else kepala pusing.
hoss
post Jan 1 2012, 10:06 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Jan 1 2012, 07:39 PM)
Your room is a perfect square, nightmare for standing waves!
Even XT32 will have problems.
What is the height of the ceiling?
height should be 25 ft.
btw what u mean nightmare for standing waves ?
scsoo
post Jan 1 2012, 10:43 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 11:06 PM)
height should be 25 ft.
That is a mighty high ceiling....
So dimension is 15 Wide x 15 long x 25 high (all in feet)
This will be interesting...

Added on January 1, 2012, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 06:55 PM)
i had a dream on my HT set. i went to HiWayLaser during new year eve. they are so friendly!!

KEF Q300, KEF Q200C, B&W 686, B&W 610 subwoofer, and amp ONKYO 609. hopefully i'm able to get it this year.

btw, pro there told me that MK subwoofer is perform more accurate than B&W and KEF. What do you guys think ?

** as in my room size 15 x 15
Would advise you to go with one Brand if you buying a complete set as the bookshelf from both KEF and B&W that you looking at are similar price range....
Subwoofer also, to go for same brand ie KEF speaker to pair with KEF subwoofer or B&W with B&W subwoofer.... nicer blend of sound as same brand...
If you looking at MK Subwoofer... might as well consider their speaker package and take complete set.....

This post has been edited by scsoo: Jan 1 2012, 10:54 PM
mikapoh
post Jan 1 2012, 11:15 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 10:06 PM)
height should be 25 ft.
You got be kidding me! ohmy.gif

hoss
post Jan 1 2012, 11:17 PM

304 posts

yaya mistake. only 10ft

Added on January 1, 2012, 11:22 pm
QUOTE(scsoo @ Jan 1 2012, 10:43 PM)
That is a mighty high ceiling....
So dimension is 15 Wide x 15 long x 10 high (all in feet)
This will be interesting...

Added on January 1, 2012, 10:54 pm
Would advise you to go with one Brand if you buying a complete set as the bookshelf from both KEF and B&W that you looking at are similar price range....
Subwoofer also, to go for same brand ie KEF speaker to pair with KEF subwoofer or B&W with B&W subwoofer.... nicer blend of sound as same brand...
If you looking at MK Subwoofer... might as well consider their speaker package and take complete set.....
cannot mix and match ?

bcos B&W base more stronger while KEF more clearer.

Technician told me that B&W more suitable for movie while KEF more suit for music.

For subwoofer, he said MK give more accurate pitch. hmm...

This post has been edited by hoss: Jan 1 2012, 11:22 PM
TSlightning69
post Jan 2 2012, 08:39 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 11:17 PM)
yaya mistake. only 10ft

cannot mix and match ?

Technician told me that B&W more suitable for movie while KEF more suit for music.

Hahaha...my KEF Q300 sound so good for movies too. My belief is that if it sound good for music, it will sound good for movies.
asherteoh
post Jan 2 2012, 11:44 AM

Validating
159 posts

i heard from a topic in whathifi's forum, an owner of Q500 took more than 1 month to run in the speakers. he mentioned initially the treble sounded harsh and midrange was blurry. after run in, everything was perfect! i'm curious to get Q500 but looks rather small for a floorstander. i wonder who's the bass like... deep enough?
TSlightning69
post Jan 3 2012, 10:31 AM

2,298 posts

I go with the Stars lol
terranova
post Jan 3 2012, 01:02 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 05:55 PM)
KEF Q300, KEF Q200C, B&W 686, B&W 610 subwoofer, and amp ONKYO 609. hopefully i'm able to get it this year.

btw, pro there told me that MK subwoofer is perform more accurate than B&W and KEF. What do you guys think ?
QUOTE(scsoo @ Jan 1 2012, 10:43 PM)
with due respect to bro scsoo, i beg to differ. the subwoofer can be brand-indifferent imho .... low frequencies tend to be tone-deaf. i would go for dedicated (specialised) makers of subwoofers e.g. low-mid end SVS, Velodyne, etc. for a starter setup.

anyway, this is OT. sorry lightning.
scsoo
post Jan 3 2012, 02:28 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Jan 3 2012, 02:02 PM)
with due respect to bro scsoo, i beg to differ. the subwoofer can be brand-indifferent imho .... low frequencies tend to be tone-deaf. i would go for dedicated (specialised) makers of subwoofers e.g. low-mid end SVS, Velodyne, etc. for a starter setup.

anyway, this is OT. sorry lightning.
I would agree if we are going with dedicated subwoofer from velo, sunfire, svs or rymik. I am just giving the opinion to match brand for simplicity as bringing too much brand into the mix can be confusing.... prefer to keep it simple unless to all the sifu here that have "years" of experience.. (that this with a hint of humour) this would not be an issue but to a newbie this could be too much...
Anyway, OT again... let get back to KEF and speakers....
Happy listeining to my XQ bookshelf.... superb mid, with nice treble extention and bass... oklah.. bookshelf bass cannot compare to floorstand so need subwoofer to support... also KEF subwoofer.. me being brand specific again....

jimmyteng18
post Feb 6 2012, 03:34 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 21 2011, 08:50 AM)
The lowest price so far is from penang @rm1950
Where can audition this KEF in Penang?
Hope to hook up my Arcam 7 with it.
lussen
post Feb 6 2012, 05:46 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Feb 6 2012, 03:34 PM)
Where can audition this KEF in Penang?
Hope to hook up my Arcam 7 with it.
hi-fi choice midlands park
jimmyteng18
post Feb 7 2012, 09:34 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(lussen @ Feb 6 2012, 05:46 PM)
hi-fi choice midlands park
Thks lussen.

Added on February 7, 2012, 10:17 pm
Anyone compare this KEF Q300 with Monitor Audio Bronze BX2?
How much is BX2 selling?

Can these speaker be used as home theatre main Front/Left?

This post has been edited by jimmyteng18: Feb 7 2012, 10:17 PM
asherteoh
post Feb 9 2012, 05:55 PM

Validating
159 posts

KEF Q300 should win over BX2 BUT i think would loose to RX2 smile.gif
wongkmc
post Feb 16 2012, 12:35 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Dec 24 2011, 10:05 PM)
waiting my new q700 & q600c to come.. arhh few more weeks
here my KEF speakers

Got the speakers couple days ago. Plug into LX75 and play a wonderful sound. Those speaker are clear, solid sounds and wide stages. No matter where you stand you can hear the sound almost the same every spot. The speaker can hear for whole day without feeling fatigue and sound can be heard like from far deep stages. At night when quite you can play Yanni music in low vol and it feel so nice and relax. You can almost can hear all instrument they used. Watched few movies Real Steel, Rise of planet of Apes etc.. sound feel good especially the voice are very clear. Play radio also wonderful...

wkang
post Feb 16 2012, 03:18 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(wongkmc @ Feb 16 2012, 12:35 PM)
here my KEF speakers
Got the speakers couple days ago. Plug into LX75 and play a wonderful sound. Those speaker are clear, solid sounds and wide stages. No matter where you stand you can hear the sound almost the same every spot. The speaker can hear for whole day without feeling fatigue and sound can be heard like from far deep stages.  At night when quite you can play Yanni music in low vol and it feel so nice and relax. You can almost can hear all instrument they used. Watched few movies Real Steel, Rise of planet of Apes etc.. sound feel good especially the voice are very clear. Play radio also wonderful...
Nice setup, bet they sound as good as they look. smile.gif
Mikeyz
post Feb 16 2012, 03:28 PM

586 posts

here my KEF speakers
Got the speakers couple days ago. Plug into LX75 and play a wonderful sound. Those speaker are clear, solid sounds and wide stages. No matter where you stand you can hear the sound almost the same every spot. The speaker can hear for whole day without feeling fatigue and sound can be heard like from far deep stages.  At night when quite you can play Yanni music in low vol and it feel so nice and relax. You can almost can hear all instrument they used. Watched few movies Real Steel, Rise of planet of Apes etc.. sound feel good especially the voice are very clear. Play radio also wonderful...
Very nice, next what u need is a 100 inch screen and a projector to suite up with your Q700 wide soundstage efforts. Then your HT experience will be on another level.
Auditioned the Q700 and pair with Q200c on a 86' projection display, love the feel man. No regrets on the KEF Q series

JSpec2
post Feb 16 2012, 03:32 PM

126 posts

here my KEF speakers
WOW...How much it cost?
tbcheese
post Feb 16 2012, 03:50 PM

313 posts

here my KEF speakers
Niceeeeeeee thumbup.gif How'd you conceal the TV cables?
Will.i.am.Smith
post Feb 16 2012, 03:56 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(hoss @ Jan 1 2012, 11:17 PM)
yaya mistake. only 10ft

cannot mix and match ?

MK Sub does have flatter response all up to the 100hz+ zone because they're supposedly to be integrated into their satellite speakers series.

Many claimed the clean punch line of the sub itself hence you may consider one but be warned of its pricing is more premium than others.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:10 AM