MGCC - Telesales Exec, How's the work?

TSnonoi1231
post Dec 11 2011, 10:54 AM, updated 15y ago

88 posts

Anyone can share with me anything about the job?

Any inputs are very much appreciated! icon_question.gif

Added on December 12, 2011, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(nonoi1231 @ Dec 11 2011, 10:54 AM)
Anyone can share with me anything about the job?

Any inputs are very much appreciated! icon_question.gif
hye frens/seniors,

anyone working as Telesales in maybank? Pls share with me bout the working environment, facilities, medical, etc? Ur sharing is highly appreciated. Tq

This post has been edited by nonoi1231: Dec 12 2011, 02:57 PM
max_cavalera
post Mar 15 2013, 12:51 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Lousiest job ever offer by Maybank. I been there and still stuck here the past 4 and half years...lemme list down all the cons:

1) Used to be the darling department in MGCC. If you work hard(selling insurance or credit cards) your commission easily 4k-10k++. That is not inclusive of your basic. their basic used to be rm1200+150 mgcc premium). Even back then i dont mind for my basic to be that low because your commission will easily multiply that amount. Sadly that fairy tale rewarding commission was back before 2009.

2) In 2009 they appoint a new manager called mr Z.. or we nicknamed him Ironman. Within months in office he slash our commission payment direct from Card Business Group Menara Maybank and only pay us 20-30% of the commission the dept receive from menara. the rest 70%-75% of our commission went to the Ironman/Mr Z 'telesales pool fund'...where he'll abuse it by organizing expensive trips for him and the team leader, staff team building, open house, bla2...where theres very possibility of marking up those tender and profit sharing between him and the event organizer even though no proof.

3) He gives bullshit excuses that this is to cover our workstation, benefits and salary cost. But in reality our working cost is not borned by his department. Our salary, bills and everything monthly claimed by kak N*k at 4th floor admin to menara maybank for them to fully settle our working cost.

4) So you could imagine in this 3 1/2 years how many hundred thousand(probably millions?) is there in the telesales pool fund forcifully contributed by all our telesales unwilling staff...and easily available to be abused by our Ironman...(he sets the insentif scheme, he dictates how much he wants to pay us, he sets how much minimum target for us to achieve our commission*which is absurdly high, he controls the XXXK- 1mil telesales pool fund on how it is to be used)- pretty frightening for a manager in a bank to hold this much power ain't it? you thought pecah amanah or mismanagement wouldn't happen anymore in a bank but the reality is it did....and hes been getting away with this for the past 3 1/2 years....ASTONISHING!

5) Imagine selling credit cards where your minimum threshold to achieve insentive/commission is 51 cards. Thats among the highest minimum set by any banks to start earning your commission... after reaching those 51 cards approve guess how much commission/insentif you get paid? freaking RM1200!! if you pass your QA you will get additional 120-150 and if all your team member achieve 100% sales target additional 120-150 which is a very rare case... average Ironman and his management pay us approval per credit card?? rm23++ per card...doesn't matter if you had platinum customer card or gold card approve. Guess how much our Ironman pocketed into his pool fund? Menara pay per gold card approval rm130, platinum card approval rm300.....and this mr Z pay us rm23 ringgit per card? wow talk about draconian age management style of which sucking and fully utilized your lower worker dry and make sure just left them with enough money to survive and eat...

6) You will stuck in a dead end job with little to learn skills, exposure to other departments and you will be in contract renew every 2 years with very little 5-10% chances of being converted into permanent. Your contract renew yearly with 0 salary incremental at all. You work hard to earn through the peanuts commision to make up for your low basic salary....but will be greatly demotivated when you found out new staff intake basic salary with same qualification as you is rm400-600 more than you...

7) They say that dont worry, you will have career growth and progress inside Maybank...but the reality is if you are forever under contract in telesales, just open any internal vacancy at the branch, head office, dataran maybank and all and the 1st requirement to fulfill those internal vacancy is you must be permanent staff!!! O.o"

8) I mean its okay if you want to contract us forever in this dead end job with no benefits(no yearly bonus, no yearly increment, no union covered for arrears)...but thats why we are here we sacrifice all those career growth missed opportunity to earn big.....unluckily under our beloved mr Z aka Ironman we are in a lose/lose situation = peanuts commission + no career growth and almost 0 benefits. You'll be suprised if I tell you if I hit sales target of 90% on a paticular month, my commission+ my basic salary is equal our permanent full benefit customer service staff thats been working merely 2 1/2 years (while me almost 5 years!) TOTAL JOKE!

9)Yet our beloved mr Z aka Ironman is weird why all our telesales staff a lot of tardiness issue, very high MC emergency leave, late coming, just laying and loitering around in the office there doing nothing prefer to only eat basic salary than aiming for the commission because most of them know, the effort it takes to get those peanut commission is incredible and it is not worth it!

10) Imagine 50-70 telesales staff selling credit cards, only 3-5 people able to earn a minimum commission....all the rest that have 1-50 credit cards approval per month will get ZERO, ZILCH commission, eat basic only....while wether our TSE hit their threshold target or not, our beloved mr Z will still claim all those approved cards amount from Menara maybank for full payment. = 100% profit.

11) When this kind of draconian age management applies, of course our telesales floor headcount is never enough, people keep resigning once they start smelling the hiding skeletal in the closet....either that or the management will keep so many bad TSE who just be happy there to eat their basic and not bothered to really do sales and earn commission....Business&Management101.....when you pay peanuts...people will put in peanuts effort and sh*th*le work attitude as well....even our Top performers also would downgrade to a rotten staff with this kind of joke management.

12) Then when our beloved managers got grilled by higher management why approval for cards, personal loans and insurance is so little....they ask us to stayback until 7.30pm-8pm daily without any overtime allowance....

13) Recently after being in power as little napoleon in our telesales floor, finally got caught big time by our internal audit finding, mostly critical issue is about this discrepancy payment of telesales insentif....that is after a freaking 3 1/2 years torturing us with this injustice....but so far seen him at call floor still happily walking around....guess if even audit can let him go, this place is utter hopeles!!

I recommend you to work in this place if you dont have any qualification and you unable to find a better job out there....but if you dont have any skills or qualification, you can always come here....at least with a basic salary you could still able to eat meals and survive smile.gif

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Mar 16 2013, 02:10 PM
sub_noob
post Mar 15 2013, 01:32 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 15 2013, 12:51 AM)
Lousiest job ever offer by Maybank. I been there and still stuck here the past 4 and half years...lemme list down all the cons:

1) Used to be the darling department in MGCC. If you work hard(selling insurance or credit cards) your commission easily 4k-10k++. That is not inclusive of your basic. their basic used to be rm1200+150 mgcc premium). Even back then i dont mind for my basic to be that low because your commission will easily multiply that amount. Sadly that fairy tale rewarding commission was back before 2010.

2) In 2010 they appoint a new manager called mr Z.. or we nicknamed him Ironman. Within months in office he slash our commission payment direct from Card Business Group Menara Maybank and only pay us 20-30% of the commission the dept receive from menara. the rest 70% of our commission when to the dudes 'telesales pool fund'...where he'll abuse it by organizing expensive trips for him and the team leader, staff team building, open house, bla2...where theres very possibility of marking up those tender and profit sharing between him and the event organizer even though no proof.

3) He gives bullshit excuses that this is to cover our workstation, benefits and salary cost. But in reality our working cost is not borned by his department. Our salary, bills and everything monthly claimed by kak N*k at 4th floor admin to menara maybank for them to fully settle our working cost.

4) So you could imagine in this 3 1/2 years how many hundred thousand(probably millions?) is there in the telesales pool fund forcifully contributed by all our telesales unwilling staff...and easily available to be abused by our Ironman...(he sets the insentif scheme, he dictates how much he wants to pay us, he sets how much minimum target for us to achieve our commission*which is absurdly high, he controls the XXXK- 1mil telesales pool fund on how it is to be used)- pretty frightening for a manager in a bank to hold this much power ain't it? you thought pecah amanah or mismanagement wouldn't happen anymore in a bank but the reality is it did....and hes been getting away with this for the past 3 1/2 years....ASTONISHING!

5) Imagine selling credit cards where your minimum threshold to achieve insentive/commission is 51 cards. Thats among the highest minimum set by any banks to start earning your commission... after reaching those 51 cards approve guess how much commission/insentif you get paid? freaking RM1200!! if you pass your QA you will get additional 120-150 and if all your team member achieve 100% sales target additional 120-150 which is a very rare case... average Ironman and his management pay us approval per credit card?? rm23++ per card...doesn't matter if you had platinum customer card or gold card approve. Guess how much our Ironman pocketed into his pool fund? Menara pay per gold card approval rm130, platinum card approval rm300.....and this mr Z pay us rm23 ringgit per card? wow talk about draconian age management style of which sucking and fully utilized your lower worker dry and make sure just left them with enough money to survive and eat...

6) You will stuck in a dead end job with little to learn skills, exposure to other departments and you will be in contract renew every 2 years with very little 5-10% chances of being converted into permanent. Your contract renew yearly with 0 salary incremental at all. You work hard to earn through the peanuts commision to make up for your low basic salary....but will be greatly demotivated when you found out new staff intake basic salary with same qualification as you is rm400-600 more than you...

7) They say that dont worry, you will have career growth and progress inside Maybank...but the reality is if you are forever under contract in telesales, just open any internal vacancy at the branch, head office, dataran maybank and all and the 1st requirement to fulfill those internal vacancy is you must be permanent staff!!! O.o"

8) I mean its okay if you want to contract us forever in this dead end job with no benefits(no yearly bonus, no yearly increment, no union covered for arrears)...but thats why we are here we sacrifice all those career growth missed opportunity to earn big.....unluckily under our beloved mr Z aka Ironman we are in a lose/lose situation = peanuts commission + no career growth and almost 0 benefits. You'll be suprised if I tell you if I hit sales target of 90% on a paticular month, my commission+ my basic salary is equal our permanent full benefit customer service staff thats been working merely 2 1/2 years (while me almost 5 years!) TOTAL JOKE!

9)Yet our beloved mr Z aka Ironman is weird why all our telesales staff a lot of tardiness issue, very high MC emergency leave, late coming, just laying and loitering around in the office there doing nothing prefer to only eat basic salary than aiming for the commission because most of them know, the effort it takes to get those peanut commission is incredible and it is not worth it!

10) Imagine 50-70 telesales staff selling credit cards, only 3-5 people able to earn a minimum commission....all the rest that have 1-50 credit cards approval per month will get ZERO, ZILCH commission, eat basic only....while wether our TSE hit their threshold target or not, our beloved mr Z will still claim all those approved cards amount from Menara maybank for full payment. = 100% profit.

11) When this kind of draconian age management applies, of course our telesales floor headcount is never enough, people keep resigning once they start smelling the hiding skeletal in the closet....either that or the management will keep so many bad TSE who just be happy there to eat their basic and not bothered to really do sales and earn commission....Business&Management101.....when you pay peanuts...people will put in peanuts effort and sh*th*le work attitude as well....even our Top performers also would downgrade to a rotten staff with this kind of joke management.

12) Then when our beloved managers got grilled by higher management why approval for cards, personal loans and insurance is so little....they ask us to stayback until 7.30pm-8pm daily without any overtime allowance....

13) Recently after being in power as little napoleon in our telesales floor, finally got caught big time by our internal audit finding, mostly critical issue is about this discrepancy payment of telesales insentif....that is after a freaking 3 1/2 years torturing us with this injustice....but so far seen him at call floor still happily walking around....guess if even audit can let him go, this place is utter hopeles!!

I recommend you to work in this place if you dont have any qualification and you unable to find a better job out there....but if you dont have any skills or qualification, you can always come here....at least with a basic salary you could still able to eat meals and survive  smile.gif
Wow. That bad huh. I bet the TMO does not know about this. I got offered last time but due to its location, I reject it.
max_cavalera
post Mar 15 2013, 01:43 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(sub_noob @ Mar 15 2013, 02:32 AM)
Wow. That bad huh. I bet the TMO does not know about this. I got offered last time but due to its location, I reject it.
good for you. I just want to inform and share knowledge of this rotten place as I don't want any stupid ignorant fresh grad, diploma, stpm, spm holders to get stuck and jeopardize their future her. I learn big real life lesson here is that;

WHEN YOUR FUTURE EMPLOYER TELLS YOU THEY CAN'T PAY YOUR BASIC SALARY AS HIGH AS YOU EXPECTED(PROLLY ANYTHING 2K AND LESS)...BUT THEY SAY YOU WILL EARN MORE THAN YOUR EXPECTED SALARY WITH INSENTIF/COMMISSION PAYMENT...... DONT EVER BELIEVE THIS B*LLSHIT....

BCOZ IN A COMPANY THIS BIG.....ANY OF YOUR SUPERIOR WILL BE JEALOUS OF YOU EARNING A BIT MORE EVEN FOR A FEW HUNDRED BUCKS EXTRA, REST ASSURED THEY'LL EVENTUALLY F*CK*D UP YOUR COMMISSION PAYMENT, LOWERED IT, INCREASE YOUR TARGET SKY HIGH, INCREASE YOUR MINIMUM TARGET FOR COMMISSION ABSURD HIGH.....THE SAME THING WITH OT/OVERTIME......THE ONLY THING THOSE B*ST*RD CANT TOUCH YOUR PERIUK NASI IS ONLY YOUR BASIC SALARY....SO THIS IS MY ADVICE TO YOU GUYS OUT THERE......
yuen1985
post Mar 15 2013, 04:40 AM

I'm A Freelancer
702 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 15 2013, 01:43 AM)
good for you. I just want to inform and share knowledge of this rotten place as I don't want any stupid ignorant fresh grad, diploma, stpm, spm holders to get stuck and jeopardize their future her. I learn big real life lesson here is that;

WHEN YOUR FUTURE EMPLOYER TELLS YOU THEY CAN'T PAY YOUR BASIC SALARY AS HIGH AS YOU EXPECTED(PROLLY ANYTHING 2K AND LESS)...BUT THEY SAY YOU WILL EARN MORE THAN YOUR EXPECTED SALARY WITH INSENTIF/COMMISSION PAYMENT...... DONT EVER BELIEVE THIS B*LLSHIT....

BCOZ IN A COMPANY THIS BIG.....ANY OF YOUR SUPERIOR WILL BE JEALOUS OF YOU EARNING A BIT MORE EVEN FOR A FEW HUNDRED BUCKS EXTRA, REST ASSURED THEY'LL EVENTUALLY F*CK*D UP YOUR COMMISSION PAYMENT, LOWERED IT, INCREASE YOUR TARGET SKY HIGH, INCREASE YOUR MINIMUM TARGET FOR COMMISSION ABSURD HIGH.....THE SAME THING WITH OT/OVERTIME......THE ONLY THING THOSE B*ST*RD CANT TOUCH YOUR PERIUK NASI IS ONLY YOUR BASIC SALARY....SO THIS IS MY ADVICE TO YOU GUYS OUT THERE......
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif this so so so so true!
sense75
post Mar 15 2013, 08:57 AM

Life must go on...
659 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 15 2013, 01:43 AM)

+1... this world is full of jealousy..
max_cavalera
post Mar 15 2013, 12:18 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

If you notice they are currently hiring. any tom d*** n harry applying would mostly get accepted here....good job usually doesnt come easy. but this job is...so remember that smile.gif.

so many of our staff is planning to resign right now...but some of us cant since we r interviewing at other place n still havent got any job offers yet.
jounin
post Mar 18 2013, 12:50 AM

66 posts

went the interview at Bukit Jelutong but ended up did not get the offer...interviewed by a guy (his age maybe around 27-33 year old) and an old malay lady (not sure the department manager or from HR)...i think that i did well during the interview, they ask few question but at the end i know that i didnt get the job once that guy told me to wait for the result in 2 weeks...i dont need to wait 2 weeks because the next day i rang up the Recruit Agency and know that i'm not selected for the position...

applied the position because it's quite convenient for me to go there + want to reckon the environment there... maybe will try it again if there is another opening...btw, thanks for sharing the info, at least i know the environment there...well if you want to help me get the job, very much appreciate it

This post has been edited by jounin: Mar 18 2013, 12:57 AM
max_cavalera
post Mar 23 2013, 02:41 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

After seeing my review on this place u still interested to work under this dept? Lol....

Roughly let me tell u this is the place to go if u just want to eat basic salary and doing menial job.

If u r really 1-5% of top sales material, u can make decent income here (2.9-4k) basic+insentif. But i mention to u already u will only get 20-30% at most the sales commission value since the rest percentage paid by higher mgmt will get eaten up aka songlap by mr z dept into his 'telesales pool fund'.

If u make the same sales in other bank ur commission rate is easily double to triple. Also im telling u telemarketing n telesales is a slowly sinking ship. The industry is fully utilize by other bank telemarketer, insurance co,outsourcing co, small co n scam co that keep calling the same cust pool.

Apart frm that bank is known to keep tightening the regulation for approval n making higher requirement for cust loan or credit cards to approve.

Good luck to survive here if u still interested to apply this job.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Mar 23 2013, 02:45 PM
max_cavalera
post Mar 29 2013, 09:32 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Mass exodus recently in this dept. Insurance telesales staf this mth only more than 10 ppl resigning...i wonder how badly they been treated by the mgmt. Maybank telesales in bukit jelutong is utter hopeless...many that get in here with good qualification just want reputation to put working with maybank in their cv and move on when they receive a better career offer....reminder. U wont have a career here. U only have a job here with uncertain future. Medical benefit: 1k p.a coverage for forever contract staff status. Joke benefits

max_cavalera
post Apr 27 2014, 01:40 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

I have resigned and bid farewell to this company....wish all my colleague thats still in comfort zone and paranoid to venture outside this department tough luck....

its a free world out there....you dont deserve to get treated like a slave in a draconian age management setup...even smaller sales company can give twice to triple benefits better than mgcc telesales

adios
doombanan
post Sep 22 2014, 01:34 PM

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Apr 27 2014, 01:40 PM)
I have resigned and bid farewell to this company....wish all my colleague thats still in comfort zone and paranoid to venture outside this department tough luck....

its a free world out there....you dont deserve to get treated like a slave in a draconian age management setup...even smaller sales company can give twice to triple benefits better than mgcc telesales

adios
Hello,

I resigned from this company today, 22/9 . And i was looking for a reason to comfort myself for quitting, until i found this thread. I really want to say that all that you are saying about MGCC is true. I work here for 4 minths and i gave up on this place.

At first i thought that this would really be a great oppurtunity for a carreer in the banking industry, turn out we work like a cow where the TL is the guy whom squeeze us and of course the higher management who get all the milk.

We work like crazy every single day, squeezed like a pig staying back up to 6.30 to 7.30 pm just to chase the commision and even came in on saturday. Even is it worth it to get the commision if you had to work like that? It is a shi*ty job where we are taken advantage off and abused.

Dont get me started on the job requirement. You will have to compete with everyone for sales, the leads are all fu*k'd up and you will have to figure out how what you are going to do to get the commision while being pressured by your TL every single day.

Let me tell about the statistic : 100+ telesales, 2 permanent staff. Period.
That is below 10% of perm staff and yet how do you think you can have a carreer here? Getting permenent staff and switch into other department? Dont get your hopes too much, my college has worked here for 5 years, top performer in our team and still not a permanent staff yet.

And also look at the job rotation, a lot of perople are signing in and a lot are quitting. Its not a good job if the company cant retain their own employee.

My advice for other people is if you ever think about joining Mgcc, try to make it your last choice.
max_cavalera
post Sep 22 2014, 04:17 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(doombanan @ Sep 22 2014, 02:34 PM)
Hello,

I resigned from this company today, 22/9 . And i was looking for a reason to comfort myself for quitting, until i found this thread. I really want to say that all that you are saying about MGCC is true. I work here for 4 minths and i gave up on this place.

At first i thought that this would really be a great oppurtunity for a carreer in the banking industry, turn out we work like a cow where the TL is the guy whom squeeze us and of course the higher management who get all the milk.

We work like crazy every single day, squeezed like a pig staying back up to 6.30 to 7.30 pm just to chase the commision and even came in on saturday. Even is it worth it to get the commision if you had to work like that? It is a shi*ty job where we are taken advantage off and abused.

Dont get me started on the job requirement. You will have to compete with everyone for sales, the leads are all fu*k'd up and you will have to figure out how what you are going to do to get the commision while being pressured by your TL every single day.

That is below 10% of perm staff and yet how do you think you can have a carreer here? Getting permenent staff and switch into other department? Dont get your hopes too much, my college has worked here for 5 years, top performer in our team and still not a permanent staff yet.

And also look at the job rotation, a lot of perople are signing in and a lot are quitting. Its not a good job if the company cant retain their own employee.

My advice for other people is if you ever think about joining Mgcc, try to make it your last choice.
+100. been there and done that bro...and i committed 5 andhalf years of my life to this Maybank. Just a waste of my time here...destroy mr potential career enhancement as well...i have move on. you should too...
max_cavalera
post Oct 20 2014, 08:37 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(doombanan @ Sep 22 2014, 02:34 PM)
Hello,

Last i heard from my friend there they have a new floor manager called BxxxxxD....ask all telesales staff to increase talktime to 5 hours a day...LOL....goodluck with such task...really a wXnking job...
max_cavalera
post Jul 24 2015, 04:13 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Latest update:achiever people that use their connection and network to close higher sales , not using provided leads by the bank gets suspended, forced to resignation...
max_cavalera
post Aug 13 2015, 04:19 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Update: almost all my junior colleague, top sales performer have resigned.

Even offering a permanent status under telesales job grade with fixed no incremental basic, they choose to resign and look for other employment.

0.0228sec    1.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:34 AM