> Military Thread V7

SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jan 11 2012, 09:50 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Jan 10 2012, 05:04 PM)
but with 2 variant, I bet the number to be procured maybe small. Could be about 8-10 wheeled SPH, and around 20 tracked SPH..I heard SG's locally build tracked SPH is quite good and light..
It's light, but it suffer from stability problem.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jan 19 2012, 01:05 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 9 2011, 07:43 PM)
they purposely modified the fuel mixture of the jet so the engine will create a lot of smoke,
it is just for show, that's why they are known as Smokey Bandit during show but Taufan Ganas during normal patrol or mission.

Taufan Ganas Check!  flex.gif

btw
the smell of the engine jet fuel when burnout is gooding mang~  brows.gif
ps: Reporting in to the new thread!
I've seen them take off from Kuantan Airbase on Training mission. There's still a lot of smoke.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jan 24 2012, 08:21 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Jan 24 2012, 10:45 AM)
Oman begins Typhoon purchase formalities
Posted 23 January 2012

The Sultanate of Oman has issued a Request for Proposal (RFP) to BAE Systems and the Eurofighter consortium for a number of Typhoon fighters.

It was at Farnborough airshow in 2008 the Omani first expressed an interest in the Eurofighter aircraft and in April 2010 the then UK Prime Minister, Gordon Brown, announced a deal had been done. There is no clear confirmation on numbers although it is believed it could be around 20 aircraft in the requirement. It is not yet clear whether these will be refurbished Tranche 1 aircraft from the RAF or include at least 12 Tranche 3 fighters from the current UK order.

At the Dubai Airshow in November last year there was greater speculation that the formal RFP was to be issued but at the same time there were suggestions that the Omani force could be considering American alternatives.

The Eurofighter industry consortium will allow partner nations Germany, Italy, Spain and the UK to sell on some of their production aircraft to third parties, as long as such transactions do not interfere with its own export campaigns with the Typhoon. The Oman aircraft will come from the UK.

The UAE is also looking at purchasing Eurofighters having dropped the French made Rafale in November.

http://www.arabianaerospace.aero/oman-begi...ormalities.html
Pity France. Their Rafale are actually quite good. Maybe their offsets are lacking.

I suggest we get around 24 single seat version of SU-35BM MRCA, but optimized it for Interceptor and Air-Superiority role.

This post has been edited by MrUbikeledek: Jan 24 2012, 08:31 PM
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jan 25 2012, 01:57 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(WanMB @ Jan 25 2012, 12:58 AM)
Anyone going to the Singapore Airshow? Got any info of the exhibitors? So far I only know F-35 will be there.
which version? A or B?
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jan 31 2012, 03:45 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(Naskah @ Jan 31 2012, 03:40 PM)
trade it all & only get 6 of MKM?
russia probably want the parts for it's own MIGs.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Feb 14 2012, 08:42 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(zaini900 @ Feb 10 2012, 11:35 PM)
tumpang tanya,

tentera and polis yang nak simpan janggut kena buat surat bagi pemerintah masing - masing ka?
only recruits are not allowed beard.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jun 1 2012, 03:49 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(hack3line @ Jun 1 2012, 08:53 AM)
kuat betul eurofighter melobi nampaknya hmm.gif

kali ni kat subang pula... http://www.baesystems.com/MOBILE/news/BAES...x=1&source=news
yep, saw several jets arrive this morning.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Jul 15 2012, 09:09 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(James831 @ Jul 11 2012, 01:36 AM)
Denel inks R3.5 billion deal with Malaysia
i wonder what are the remote control weapons systems???????  hmm.gif
i think they meant it's anunmanned turret like this

or this

SUSMrUbikeledek
post Aug 24 2012, 03:52 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Aug 21 2012, 05:23 PM)
Armed Forces, The Fading Heroes
By Sakini Mohd Said | 20 August 2012 Monday | 11:20 AM

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 20 (Bernama) -- There is a famous saying that old soldiers don't die, they just fade away.

However, in Malaysia the sacrifices and the contribution of the soldiers too are literally fading away from the hearts of its citizens.

And after 55 years of independence, the country's soldiers lament that they are only remembered during Warrior's Day and National Day celebration each year.

Deep in their conscience, Malaysians have to ask themselves just how many among them appreciate and honour the sacrifices of the country's soldiers?

Many in the society remain in the dark over the sacrifices of the armed forces and their role at present.

SOLDIERS GOING INTO OBLIVION

Against the backdrop of declining patriotic values of the younger generation who have no emotional attachment even with the National Day, it is tough to convince them of the armed forces' contribution today.

For most people they can only recall the meaningful role of the armed forces during the pre-Merdeka years, especially during the Emergency, but are unsure of their role after the Communist threat ended.

Today, Malaysia is a harmonious and prosperous nation and therefore most feel the armed forces have no meaningful or compelling role to play.

Malaysians seem not only to have taken for granted the status quo but do not seem to appreciate the crucial role of the men in uniform and their legacy.

As for the average man in the street, the members of the armed forces add colour to the parades, mount guard of honour for foreign dignitaries visiting the country and on-and off participate in operations to help civilians during disasters.

Nonetheless, just how many citizens see that the peace, harmony and prosperity that they are enjoying today are the result of the sacrifices of the soldiers at the frontline?

Even today the soldiers have to leave behind their families, travel far and stay awake day and night, this time to preserve the independence that we have been enjoying over the last 55 years.

DON'T TAKE INDEPENDENCE FOR GRANTED

"We have achieved independence, there has been no internal strive but that does not mean there will not be external threats," noted the Corporate Communication Unit Head for the Armed Forces Ex-servicemen Affairs Corporation (Perhebat) Major Rosli (Rtd) Mohd Yazid.

"We have to realise that the armed forces still serve as the first line of defence against external threats. It is a fallacy to think that the armed forces only have a role during wars.

"It is wrong to think that the armed forces are not important because external threats including re-colonisation can crop up anytime. That is why we have to keep up the pace with other nations in aspects of national defence," he said to Bernama.

The armed forces - air force, navy and the army - are indispensible in maintaining security at our borders and keeping in check smuggling and other criminal activities including human trafficking.

These pre-emptive measures are critical in maintaining peace and public order that in bigger picture contribute to national development and attract foreign investments.

Nevertheless, the subsequent generations after Merdeka have lived in relative peace and comfort and never have been through major security threats. Therefore they could not appreciate the contribution of the armed forces at present.

Added with declining patriotic values, and the lack of knowledge or interest on the sacrifices of the armed forces, the younger generation of today in particular neither recognise nor appreciate the role of the armed forces.

This has demoralised members of the armed forces, especially the veterans involved in defending the country's sovereignty before and after Merdeka.

COMMUNIST BOOBY TRAPS

People like Rosli, who had served with the army's royal ranger division, lives to tell of the deadly encounters with the Communist.

It was 1974, unlike 1957, the Communist were a real threat for Malaysia's sovereignty.

Rosli recalled of the threats faced by his 35 member platoon and the poignant moments when platoon members fall victim to booby traps.

"When I joined the operations to take on the Communist in 1974, it was a tough calling especially when platoon members lost their life or were injured.

"I have seen myself the effect of the booby traps, some were maimed others killed...and, thus when the younger generation fail to appreciate the peace and good life that they are enjoying today, I really feel hurt.

"I feel that, our sacrifices all this while is not only being taken for granted but also being ridiculed," said the major who retired in 1994.

The frustration is shared by Perhebat's Director of Human Resources and Administration, Major (B) Rosdin Mohammad.

He had fought against the Communist from 1983 until they surrendered in 1989, and it was an unforgettable experience that in fact enhanced his patriotic feelings for the country.

His experience serving as a peacekeeper in Bosnia under the United Nations also taught him to appreciate and maintain the peace enjoyed by the country.

"We have to appreciate the struggles of our forefathers who fought for the country's independence. I have seen enough of the sufferings of the war victims.

"Though we have achieved independence, but we still have to preserve the country's sovereignty as threat can appear anytime and from anywhere like the Malaysia-Indonesia Confrontation in 1963," he said.

"This is for those who are still alive. How about the hundreds who fell in valour in preserving the peace that we enjoy today?

"The Confrontation is what prompted Malaysia to develop its military power not only to maintain peace but also its sovereignty," commented Perhebat's Chairman Admiral (Rtd) Tan Sri Datuk Seri Ilyas Din.

MERDEKA CELEBRATION ITINERARIES

However, it is unfair to put the blame solely on the younger generation on the current scenario.

The situation needs to be reversed and one of the effective ways in doing so is by making sure that the Merdeka celebration itineraries evoke patriotic fervour and show appreciation for the members of the armed forces.

"At times I feel that the Merdeka celebration appears more like a fashion show with the armed forces in the full costume taking part in the parades.

"Maybe the organisers want to highlight the deeds and sacrifices of the armed forces, but only people like me are in a better position to appreciate this, how about others? That is why I feel that the Merdeka celebration itineraries should be relooked into," said Rosli.

Echoing Rosli's sentiment, Ilyas and Rosdin, both felt that dramas or historical films on the contribution of the armed forces would be able to enhance the patriotic feeling and help the public appreciate the role of the armed forces.

Nonetheless, it all goes back to what we learn from young. The patriotic feelings should be inculcated constantly apart from appreciating the sacrifices of the armed forces throughout and not just before Merdeka.

Malaysians should never forget that peace and prosperity that they enjoy today is very much due to the sacrifices of the members of the armed forces.

-- BERNAMA

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v6/newsfeatures.php?id=689004
We can declare war on Philipines.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 27 2012, 10:28 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Sep 26 2012, 02:46 PM)
Logistical challenges as you've pointed out, is a major issue. Currently I see nothing in M'sia inventory to be able to hold off a surprise "invasion". Flipping the coin, there's nothing stopping CM Taib from declaring independence and be free to rule as he wishes (MACC + BN tongue.gif ) .

JMF has some of the best weaponry in it's class, nevertheless it's closer to the US Secret Service than a fully fledged armed institution. (Air+Land+Sea).

Looking aborad, Catalan in Spain seems to mull independence from Spain as a method to keep itself from a Euro crash http://goo.gl/n9uYN. Catalan is the richest state in Spain, which echos's S'wak status in M'sia.

Have some free time nowadays, and might start a fiction short story on this tongue.gif An extremely rough idea on S'wak assets include:

1) SAR21 for Armed forces
2) P90 for Special forces
3) Priority on Air Assets (SU30MK(S) laugh.gif  , Super Lynx, Rooivalk)
4) Subs + Marine Assets
5) APC for ground forces, no tanks.

Well, if independence is declared .... you get to print your own money  laugh.gif

Invasion of S'wak imho will only consist of taking of major cities, ie: Kuching, Miri. As long as the ruling power is fair, I don't see the local population rising up.
10 Para was established mainly with this in mind. It'll be used to rapidly secure strategic targets; Oil rigs and refineries, ports, bridges dll, prior to the arrival of a main force.

As for fictional assets, i would rather go for Tavor and UMP. P90 failed US special forces qualification run.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 27 2012, 11:05 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(DeFaeco @ Sep 27 2012, 10:51 AM)
Because the Leo 2, like many other MBTs, is too heavy.

60 ton MBT + wet & muddy rainforest soil = stucked, easy picking targets.
We may have soft soil, but it's hardly muddy. Beside we are no longer in the 60s where gravel road is few and far in between, and Tar road can be count with your finger. We now have better road network. even kampung road nowadays are better then most main road 50 years ago. Even without it's mobility, the tank is a superb fire support platform. The trick is to make the tank and the infantry to work side by side.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 27 2012, 12:39 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(DeFaeco @ Sep 27 2012, 11:41 AM)
Obviously you are not an outdoor person. There's a reason why they call our jungle a rainforest. It's always wet/muddy.

Limiting the use of tanks in a planned road network is just plain silly. This is exactly the problem NATO is having in Afghanistan. They are so dependent on heavy firepower which limits their usage on roads and makes them highly vulnerable to mines and IEDs.

You can never completely secure a vast road network which is why you need a platform that can be effectively used off the roads as well.
You thinking is still constrain in the communist era type of war. We not fighting insurgents like in Afghanistan. We rig our forces for conventional war. Road is a vital elements in the advance of the conventional forces. You'll need reinforcements and you'll need supplies and this all came by road. NATO fight insurgencies in afghanistan, not conventional forces. There's no better alternative to fighting insurgencies then winning heart and mind. A fact that you should know is that the system of highway that we use today was pioneered by the US for mainly military purpose.

http://www.historynet.com/president-dwight...hway-system.htm
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 27 2012, 04:42 PM

580 posts

Thai Soldiers with their brand new Tavor assault rifle. RTA is the biggest foreign user for this rifle.

SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 28 2012, 10:02 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(Naskah @ Sep 28 2012, 08:48 PM)
TAR-21 Thai marine recon use it i think, origin from Israel right?
here's the thing. the price for 1 tavor will get you 4 M-16A3. that's why most countries only equip their elite force with it.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Sep 30 2012, 04:39 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(valeth @ Sep 30 2012, 05:19 AM)
Sabotage by black unit paskal ?. So after this we need 2 man GGK sniper to disable Apache heli  rclxms.gif
Singapore sabotage. It's no secret that Singapore view Malaysia and Indonesia as potential adversary.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Oct 19 2012, 11:39 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(haji_george @ Oct 4 2012, 10:41 AM)
work keliq ckp our Exocet missile tak power berbanding harpoon.. futhermore dia ckp underwater launch exocet from scoprene sama version mcm fast attack craft... malas nak argue sbb abg dia navy.
tat y dia exsyen saja... tp rasa mcm tak betul saja...

anyone here got answer.
TQ TQ
The exocet that we have is block 2 version which still use solid fuel rocket engine. So it won't go very far. publicized range is 70km compared to harpoon's 130km and otomat 180km. but harpoon and otomat use turbojet engine.

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:34 PM)
Is there any missile that lock on the plane without the knowledge of the pilot?
That day 2 F15 indonesia jets were locked on. But on radar they see noting at all. Maybe F22 or F35
Certain fighters like Mig-21 have very small frontal aspect. during cope India, US F-15 found out they couldn't detect India upgraded MIG-21 on approach until they are well within range of the Mig's R-77. yes India MIG-21 can launch the Adder. in fact, in the USAF threat list, India's upgraded MIG-21 rank higher then the MKI.

QUOTE(apisfires @ Oct 19 2012, 11:06 PM)
so we need more powerful radar only right to coop with our fighter jet?
powerful fighter jet i know like B-2 and Super Hornet, my military knowledge not much...
i watch movie, fighter jet can be undetected by radar if flying very low? that myth or truth?
We and singapore already have the most powerful airborne radar in this region. Our MKM can act as a mini-awacs if there's need.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Oct 22 2012, 02:54 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Oct 21 2012, 12:52 AM)
still good enough for airshow and to show the irian who's still the boss...

the issue is not new btw.a couple years back they also got this.claimed it was done by israel summore

btw brunei already move to multicam?
It can still drop dumb bomb and Indonesia have plenty of locally produce Mk 82. Last i heard, they succesfully integrated the Mk 82 into the SU-30.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Oct 23 2012, 07:18 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Oct 23 2012, 01:37 AM)
can American bomb be modified to be use with Russian fighter without any US authorization
or I miss it in DSCA announcement that allowed Indo to do so?

Word from my pal in 18 sqn, for TUDM to dispose bolt also needed a writing acknowledgement from the US congress!
dumb bomb no problem. plus it's made ih indonesia. It's not they modified us made weapons to fit into su-30. they modify su-30 (with russian help) to accept US bomb. it was mostly to modify the aiming computer since russian and us bomb have different aerodynamics.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Nov 19 2012, 08:18 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Nov 19 2012, 07:54 PM)
cakap aje senang, bile ada perang dia lari dulu  smile.gif
It's proven that when war struck an Islamic country, the ulama was always were the pillar of resistance. While the politicians, lawyers, engineers and so on, spend their fortune to secure passage out of the country.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Nov 23 2012, 03:37 PM

580 posts

Near my kampung got one Air Defence Artillery unit.

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0265sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:52 PM