SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V 21, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

erymanthus
post Dec 12 2011, 04:28 PM

1,279 posts

My SGP Neo-Hybrid casing is failing me...the black silicone part is getting loose at the back camera area.

I'm looking for another casing....any recommendations?

Anyone tried Casemate or Otterbox? What other good casing out there for our Galaxy S2?

erymanthus
post Dec 12 2011, 04:52 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Dec 12 2011, 04:46 PM)
i recommend casemate tough case...

so what's it gone thru?

-fell asleep once in a bus and sgs2 was in before i dozed off. when i got up. sgs2 on da floor, facedown
-have fallen many times frm bed without me noticing (sleeping also)
-many many minor abuses
-my sgs2 is without backcover(200mah battery kit wont fit nicely with backcover).  rclxms.gif
Sounds interesting...

Do you mean that you can put in the 2000maH battery and yet the Casemate Tough Case can fit nicely?

Wow...that's cool...where did you buy the 2000maH battery?

erymanthus
post Dec 13 2011, 02:52 PM

1,279 posts

I think he is refering to this 45 degrees dark line across the screen....definitely not normal.

erymanthus
post Dec 13 2011, 06:28 PM

1,279 posts

Hi guys,

Is there any apps that allow me to check different emails account, without logging in and out of each accounts?

Example: I have 2 gmails account and 1 yahoo account.

Edit: Okay, I got it. Basically I have to add the extra accounts under the Accounts and Sync. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Dec 13 2011, 06:34 PM
erymanthus
post Dec 13 2011, 06:35 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Dec 13 2011, 06:29 PM)
social hub. works like a charm. well i dun reli care bout the battery life, n others say dat social hub is juice sucker. your call  brows.gif
Oh, thanks...I forgot about Social Hub...let me try it

Added on December 13, 2011, 6:37 pm
QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Dec 13 2011, 06:31 PM)
K-9 mail available free on market RECOMMENDED by uncle benny xD
Thanks, i will check out K9 as well

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Dec 13 2011, 06:37 PM
erymanthus
post Dec 14 2011, 02:03 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Dec 14 2011, 12:39 PM)
Gingerbread Screen Rotation Animation - Samsung Galaxy S2

How can I get this? My SGS2 doesn't rotate this way.

erymanthus
post Dec 14 2011, 10:12 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Dec 14 2011, 12:39 PM)
Gingerbread Screen Rotation Animation - Samsung Galaxy S2

How to get this rotation effect?

erymanthus
post Dec 16 2011, 01:04 PM

1,279 posts

Has anyone flash the Imparators Fancy Rotation CWM file?

How to undo it if it doesn't work?

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Dec 16 2011, 01:07 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  _CWM_imparators_Fancy_Rotation.zip ( 550.46k ) Number of downloads: 0
erymanthus
post Dec 16 2011, 03:17 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Dec 16 2011, 02:44 PM)
I have. To revert, you copy the original files back to system.

This mod will invert CRT effect, make double rotation on gallery, and also break VPN functionality (my own experience).

Hmm...like that har...don't know whether to flash or not...

rclxub.gif

erymanthus
post Dec 18 2011, 06:57 PM

1,279 posts

Hi, who has tried SPB Shell 3D?
Feedback?

I am considering whether to spend the USD 15 or not?
erymanthus
post Dec 18 2011, 09:44 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Dec 18 2011, 07:11 PM)
It is the best looking launcher out there. Period.

Problem is that it keeps requiring the location, so the GPS can come on randomly throughout the day(if you leave your GPS on). If you deny the app access to the location (by using LBE or Permissions Denied). Then you will have wakelocks that can be up to 2 hours per day. That is how much it is actually trying to get your location.

In standby, it consumes up to 20mAh more than ADW. But the real battery drain comes from the damn wakelocks. You will notice that under your battery usage graph, your phone will be awake every minute or so, and will stay awake for very long periods.

And like I said, the location issue can happen randomly. Sometimes it is OK and you enjoy it, at other times you see your GPS being used for no reason.

Visually=the best,
battery life=the worst if the location issue arises
Thanks for the useful feedback. I didn't know about this wakelocks issue until now...

How do you deal with it from your experience? Do you leave your GPS on whole day?
erymanthus
post Dec 18 2011, 09:45 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Dec 18 2011, 07:22 PM)
thing about its location thingy, its a service, even if you're not using the launcher, it will still run and create wakelocks, have to uninstall/freeze it if you dont wanna use.
How do you freeze the service?

erymanthus
post Dec 18 2011, 09:52 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Dec 18 2011, 09:47 PM)
use titanium backup
Thanks for quick reply.

I guess you are refering to Titanium Backup Paid version right? Okay, will check it out.

So, if I'm using SPB Shell 3D as my default launcher, can I just freeze the "service" thingey? What is the file name or app name to look out for in Titanium to freeze?

Thanks for your help
erymanthus
post Dec 18 2011, 10:29 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Dec 18 2011, 10:09 PM)
My GPS is always left on. The GPS is not running unless and app requires it. From my experience, I just let it use the GPS because it lasts only a few seconds. It becomes a problem when it happens every 30 mins or so.

I stopped using it and have moved on to ADW EX. I would jump back to SPB the moment someone figures out a way to disable the GPS feature for good. Like I said earlier, if you deny it access to your location, it will cause massive wakelocks because it keeps trying but the phone keeps rejecting it.
Thanks bro.

Hmm, maybe I should wait for the TSF Shell 3D Pro instead unless someone has an idea how to solve SPB Shell GPS issue

erymanthus
post Dec 19 2011, 05:03 PM

1,279 posts

Hi guys,

Which apps allow me to have 2 Facebook accounts?

Most of the apps only allow me to have 1 FB account...

erymanthus
post Dec 19 2011, 05:22 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Dec 19 2011, 05:07 PM)
Friendcaster can have more than one; i dont know how much maximum but more than one can lah~
Thanks, I also just discovered Friendcaster can have more than 1 FB accounts.

Others like FaceBook for Android, Social Hub, Seesmic, etc cannot...

Is there an app like SocialHub that I can have 2 Facebook accounts, 2-3 Gmail accounts, 1 Yahoo account and 1 Twitter account...ada tak?

hmm.gif

0.0462sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:52 AM