SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V 21, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 17 2011, 01:26 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Dec 17 2011, 01:05 AM)
very good article..worth for me reading (as a noob..huhu)
one question.lets say battery have 50%.before sleep plug in for charging. tomorrow morning unplug.
its good or bad ?.tq for reply..peace !!
Its perfectly fine,dont worry. i always charge my phone before i sleep so that i start off with 100% battery the next morning
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 17 2011, 08:39 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Dec 17 2011, 08:23 AM)
I sign up for 3gb but usage is.. well, lets just say that by thw 3rd week im all used up.. (:
so after that than i'll slow down..
U can also always use the Market Enabler, provided that ur phone is rooted
Thats the part i love about digi,even though overshoot no extra charges,so i dont need to manage data biggrin.gif

Added on December 17, 2011, 8:41 am
QUOTE(kazama82 @ Dec 17 2011, 06:26 AM)
I heard best place to do is on the toilet. Less dust.
I heard from one user here to strip down to underpants and at toilet stick to reduce dust brows.gif

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Dec 17 2011, 08:41 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 17 2011, 11:06 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Dec 17 2011, 11:03 AM)
ah? the market got sell movies wan ah lol.. din know..

i failed to aplly like 3 sps, until i saw a pro in the shop help me apply.. i copy his techniques finally succeeded on the 4th attempt smile.gif nice nice without bubbles...
the key is to have the transparent sticky tape (dunno what it called, neh those a bit sticky only and easy to take off wan) with u... wipe screen with microfabric cloth gao gao till no dust, then use sticky tape to stick any left over.. when applying when see air bubble generating pull back up a bit then use sticky tape again on the screen or sp where the dust is... slowly apply till end and walla!
Same technique the shop help apply my sp when i bought it

Added on December 17, 2011, 11:07 am
QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Dec 17 2011, 09:04 AM)
quick question; what is the best weather apps or widget that you guys use? does the stock widget is ok? since i use the checkROM, i removed it earlier. now felt like i need it.

P/S: people in UK and US more obsess with this weather forecast apps compared to me or other malaysian.
Would also like to know a weather forecast app,cant seem to find a good one from the market

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Dec 17 2011, 11:07 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 17 2011, 07:38 PM

2,583 posts

Hopefully samsung doesnt skin ics too much.
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 07:15 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 19 2011, 05:22 PM)
Yeah. Some say the latest FB official app have improved. Maybe you can try it. But if your not really a FB addict better just use browser to go in. Sure no wakelock
Currently using the official fb app now, and it has improved ALOT. Its WAAAAAAAY more smoother now, and now also no/not much wakelocks. only wakelock i got was cuz i forgot to exit chat in fb, but the drain wasnt that bad too, it only drained 10% one night despite the chat wakelock, so i will say this app has really improved. I like the new interface too, old one was super ugly and laggy

Added on December 20, 2011, 7:21 am
QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Dec 20 2011, 06:34 AM)
guys, when will the SGS2 sky rocket be available in Malaysia market? i mean the ori set.
I'm thinking never, since that phone is made for US only. Like its previous model, samsung captivate, it was only available here with ap warranty, no samsung warranty till now

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Dec 20 2011, 07:21 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 08:12 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 20 2011, 08:03 AM)
When I'm using data, the symbol is 'E' instead of 3G?

Is it because some of my APN settings haven't been set yet?
that means u turned off 3g or that area no 3g signal
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 08:17 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Dec 20 2011, 08:06 AM)
how about trying checkROM mate?  rclxms.gif not bad for me.
why havent u updated to checkrom v4 yet? any issues with it? or u just didnt update ur siggy?
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 09:45 AM

2,583 posts

usually i overnight drain 10% oso, i got over it already, now i dont care about it
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 10:19 AM

2,583 posts

Walao eh, does that really work? If its really from Korea,why so cheap? This type if technology shouldn't be this cheap right?
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 10:34 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Dec 20 2011, 10:25 AM)
yea i bought at least 5 times from there before and no problem. just that i dunno to trust the PRODUCT or not.
I don't think it really works. If it does I don't think it works that effectively.
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 02:33 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Dec 20 2011, 02:32 PM)
where can i get the tweaks??? smile.gif
Theres a link in his siggy. @Pikachu, mind porting it over to sgs2? I would love to try it biggrin.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 03:00 PM

2,583 posts

@Pikachu i cant seem to find the download link at ur xda page sweat.gif help plz
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 03:16 PM

2,583 posts

wow after looking at thunderbolt page, i get so confused about this scripts thing
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 04:26 PM

2,583 posts

after reading through everything, i STILL dont get how to install thunderbolt

edit: so just follow iori's instructions?

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Dec 20 2011, 04:27 PM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 04:34 PM

2,583 posts

hey pikachu, about the init.d scripts, when i install in cwm, does it install it to my init.d folder or should i copy myself?
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 04:37 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 20 2011, 04:36 PM)
It will install itself. No need to copy. Just those files that need to go to /sdcard/ need to be copied.
ok thnks alot
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 04:55 PM

2,583 posts

Alright pikachu, so i flashed the file in cwm, then i copy the boltscripts over to the sd card, in script manager, sqlite file will be selected as the skull icon, while all the files in remount and not the folder itself( i select one by one itself) will select skull and settings icon?

skull and settings as in skull=su settings=boot
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 05:09 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 20 2011, 04:57 PM)
Remount select only for our device --> remounti9100

Added on December 20, 2011, 4:58 pm
What free app?
Im thinking those free apps offered on samsung apps. Just went there and downloaded a bunch of games like trial extreme and riptide full version for free

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Dec 20 2011, 04:58 PM)
No, only use the remounti9100 needs to be skull and settings icon. Each remount is for different devices.
Ok got it guys thanks for the help! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Dec 20 2011, 05:06 PM)
nice script you got there pikachu! rclxms.gif

proud of a penangite tongue.gif
Proud of the fact that got such a prominent figure in the android rooting scene from Malaysia biggrin.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 05:35 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Dec 20 2011, 05:29 PM)
oh okay, so wakelocks causes it to drain a lil more battery isit?
Yes since it prevents the phone from going into deep sleep

Added on December 20, 2011, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Dec 20 2011, 05:21 PM)
Hehe, it's not hard to learn these stuff actually. I posted quite a lot of information about hacking in my "Android Optimization Tips" thread in my sig. Take a look and read if you have the time smile.gif
Optimizes native Linux settings for the phone environment as well as some known tweaks for Android to give better battery life and performance.
If u self taught yourself in these things,then why doesn't Samsung implement it? Sometimes I don't get why developers on xda do a better job at smoothness and battery life than Samsung developers

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Dec 20 2011, 05:40 PM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Dec 20 2011, 05:45 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Dec 20 2011, 05:43 PM)
Some tweaks won't work on multitude of devices due to RAM size and specifications. They have to release ~ 2 devices in a quarter which makes schedules tight. Samsung focuses more on hardware compared to software, hence their software sucks most of the time. Thank God for open source that we can mod it ourselves to perfection tongue.gif
Samsung should hire 3rd party developers like you for specific devices so that it can be better

0.0450sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:21 PM