SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V 21, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

post Dec 8 2011, 08:37 PM

372 posts

Anybody notice that the rotation mod made our CRT OFF the real deal. *drooling...*

But it's upside down. lol

This post has been edited by 11768: Dec 8 2011, 08:39 PM
post Dec 8 2011, 08:39 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(todinidot @ Dec 8 2011, 08:38 PM)
Today's US$0.10 apps: Reckless Getaway, ADW Launcher EX, Talking Tom Cat 2, Homerun Battle 3D, Can Knockdown 2, TETRIS, Blue Skies Donation

ho ho ho nice day 3... nice...
What's the another 3 app?

Edit: The promotion page didn't change yet, but the price of ADW Launcher already went to 10 cent. Hoho rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by 11768: Dec 8 2011, 08:40 PM
post Dec 9 2011, 07:53 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 9 2011, 07:50 PM)
anyone of you experiece that when sometime clear the RAM usage, go back and it will lag awhile then the application list only appear?
Because I think you just cleared your launcher from the RAM. biggrin.gif

Added on December 9, 2011, 7:54 pmYou guys shouldn't worry a single thing about the RAM la. I never kill any app (unless it's a rogue app) or clear the memory. Pointless and in fact waste battery.

This post has been edited by 11768: Dec 9 2011, 07:54 PM
post Dec 10 2011, 01:55 AM

372 posts

What are the highest capacity extended battery for our device?
post Dec 10 2011, 03:16 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Dec 10 2011, 02:13 AM)
3500mah  drool.gif

Double battery life + size. blush.gif

Are you using it? How much is the price? Brand? More info needed. Thanks.
post Dec 10 2011, 02:46 PM

372 posts

Go to latitude and sign out.
post Dec 10 2011, 02:50 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(jwyong001 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:48 PM)
ya..we don't need battery calibration..

btw,how about the performance for siyah 2.4.2??got any big difference compare with 2.3?
Yep. I never calibrate my battery.

The tweak for conservative governor is smoother for me. compare to 2.4 and 2.4.1. I was using ondemand on those version until the smoothness of 2.4.2 arrive. smile.gif

Plus, my USB OTG is working now.
post Dec 10 2011, 02:56 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:54 PM)
International (i9100) Version
International (i9100) Version (sched_mc)

rclxub.gif Which version to use?
Quote from XDA:
SCHED_MC enabled to have less power consumption. It will have a better support in the next version as it needs more changes in the scheduler code.

I am using the normal version (without sched_mc).
post Dec 10 2011, 03:01 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 10 2011, 02:59 PM)
hmm.gif me too...but I facing long boot time (1 minute) else previous version boot time is less than 25 seconds)
Long in the bootanimation part or after you see your homescreen?

My boot time always become very loooong due to the multiple "Media scanning..."
post Dec 10 2011, 03:25 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:10 PM)
the period i mean is from the Galaxy S2 logo > boot animation > key in sim lock password (1 minutes)

nod.gif multiple "Media scanning..." I also have... how to solve it?  hmm.gif
I see. Don't really take note of the boot time during that time.

As for the multiple media scanning thinggy, I had no idea how it happen. sad.gif
post Dec 10 2011, 03:35 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:32 PM)
You can get media scanner root from market and disable media scanning at startup.
I just tried that yesterday and if I remember correctly it would totally kill the media scanning, which result in some app (like Gallery) will not work well.

What we are experiencing multiple media scanning. For example, after finish scanning SD and ext SD, it would start again. No idea why. My guess is some app is modifying/changing/etc some files in SD which trigger the re-scan.

This post has been edited by 11768: Dec 10 2011, 03:35 PM
post Dec 10 2011, 03:39 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:37 PM)
Yeah i have always had double media scanning. Not really and issue for me i mean its only additional few secs.

But i dun use gallery, using quickpic. Last time using that app no issue for quickpic.
So we are not alone after all.

I am using quickpic as well. Both actually. I like the way quickpic organize and display stuff, but Gallery is faster (hardware accelerated, I assume). We can't have both feature at one, can't we? haha
post Dec 10 2011, 03:50 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:48 PM)
Gallery really faster meh. It looks nicer that i admit.  tongue.gif

But Quickpic is more practical and apart from first time running after reboot it seemed just as fast. Remember to allow it to cache.
Already enable cache (with bigger fullscreen thinggy too). Sometime when scrolling it is not that smooth and some pics need to wait for "loading..." for quite sometime.
post Dec 10 2011, 03:53 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:51 PM)
walau.. dude thats a rally crazy wakelock lol
Same thing happen to me when I just got my phone. Lol. biggrin.gif

And I thought the phone battery is that sucks.
post Dec 10 2011, 04:00 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:53 PM)
Wah how big are you pics? My scrolling seems smooth and most i have to wait is 1s and not very frequent.  hmm.gif
Normal 8MP pics captured from the camera.

Gallery has its way to fool the user ma. They show you cached small size pic first (still look nice though) while loading the the actual size. biggrin.gif

post Dec 10 2011, 10:20 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 10 2011, 08:04 PM)
Just got my white non G thumbup.gif

But the scrolling part where you input application into your homescreen is laggy leh? Same problem I face testing those demo units in Samsung store.

Wonder if I have to run my phone longer and see how it goes? Does the 'lag' somehow go away after some time?
Are you using TouchWiz? It wouldn't lag. In fact other launcher will lag, but this wont. Because this is the only launcher that is hardware accelerated for us. Try put on some live wallpaper into those third party launcher and you get what I mean. Some launcher even the app drawer is not smooth.
post Dec 11 2011, 01:40 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 11 2011, 01:28 AM)
I think I'll just let that small lag issue in the shortcuts>apps go away, since I'm already installing stuff into my phone and getting accustomed to it.

Btw, didn't quite like Dolphin Browser HD because it's a little laggy when scrolling/pinch to zoom if compared to stock browser because the latter is hardware accelerated. I want a browser with tabs capability on top of the page like the Dolphin and also a good user experience(no lag,smooth all the way like stock browser) so is there any recommendations? smile.gif
I am using Opera Mobile (hardware accelerated). Want something better than stock, but retaining its smoothness? This would be your choice.
post Dec 11 2011, 01:41 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 11 2011, 01:39 AM)
i tot our phone camera edi got this function?
Yes. Our phone does have panorama mode.

So is the Pano app capturing pics at full 8MP res?
post Dec 11 2011, 12:58 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(yanjinowa @ Dec 11 2011, 04:08 AM)
Hi all,  I would like to get some info from those who are with the micro-USB OTG cable.

I understand that it can enable file to be copy from USB to SGS2. However,  can file be copied to USB via OTG cable?

Thank you...
Yes. It work in two way. It can read FAT32 file system, but cannot read NTFS file system out of the box.
post Dec 11 2011, 07:47 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Dec 11 2011, 07:29 PM)
when viewing youtube using the stock browser, viewing it in desktop version, I cant change the quality to 720p or 1080p, the menu when i click comes out the moment I release it disappears.. its playing hide n seek.
Anyone else ?
I am using Opera Mobile and I am facing the same problem. LOL

No jerk or whatsoever lag playing those high def video though.

0.0467sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:16 AM