Viewsonic Viewpad 10S Official Thread V1, Cheapest Tablet with Tegra 250 Dual Core
stormlcc
Dec 7 2011, 05:51 PM
holy shxt, 600 bucks for a dual core tablet? and it's no china cheapo junk either, it's a freakin' viewsonic!
sooooooo tempted! 600 bucks can't even get a decent phone nowadays........
stormlcc
Dec 7 2011, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Dec 7 2011, 06:41 PM) price is amazing but the ram is abit out only 512mb? after system startup believe nothing much left to use well, at least doing basic tasks like browsing, watching movies or use it as a sat nav can be done easily. u can't find any other device that can do these 3 at the same time with RM600, can u?
stormlcc
Dec 7 2011, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(AmeiN @ Dec 7 2011, 07:36 PM) QUOTE(patdidi @ Dec 7 2011, 08:11 PM) here Directd's Viewsonic StoreI ask the seller but he/she haven't reply me back. Added on December 7, 2011, 8:11 pmaccording to spec, yes. but i see the spec only the 3g version got gps
stormlcc
Dec 7 2011, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(singa89 @ Dec 7 2011, 05:18 PM) oh my!!! dropped till so cheap!!! i feel like buying it again.... i used to have 1 sold it off.. mine was running honeycomb 3.2 custom rom.. i ve been modding my viewpad10s when i had it.. proof of honeycomb in viewpad10s.. for those having doubts hahaha http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2041939&hl=jz buy it.. u wont regret.. which custom rom are u running, there are a few, vegacomb , viewcomb etc. pls confirm there's no gps function in the wifi only version.....
stormlcc
Dec 7 2011, 09:23 PM
i'm so interested in this thing, the only problem is that i can't find any detailed tutorials on how to flash to honeycomb. is this the way:
1) root it using z4root 2) flash moddedstock v2? 3) boot into cwm and flash vegacomb rom?
stormlcc
Dec 7 2011, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(shahruls @ Dec 7 2011, 09:28 PM) if can root,then can move to micro sd. just google, u can find some tutorial,also can search thru youtube, got 9 minute tutorial i watched it before, it's for viewcomb rom, is it the same method as vegacomb? and the viewcomb thread in xda was closed, vegacomb still running. and a lot of ppl said they can't boot into recovery using the exe to install, whereas using moddedstock v2 can go in UPDATE: ok, this is the video that tells us how to install vega honeycomb rom with moddedstock v2, whoever wants to buy this tablet should at least have a look: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPl0r7FIFnEThis post has been edited by stormlcc: Dec 7 2011, 10:25 PM
stormlcc
Dec 7 2011, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 7 2011, 11:03 PM) can use the advent vega tablet rom ? someone can clarify this? since vegacomb is for vega tablet yes, can use, they are the same
stormlcc
Dec 8 2011, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(scoon1972 @ Dec 8 2011, 12:38 AM) Just bought my Viewsonic Viewpad 10s WIFI + 3G Pretty decent except the screen resolution could be better. Yeah jwyong001 flashed mine to honeycomb. Cool dude if u need to root and flash rom he is the guy you wanna talk to :-) I'm not complaining too coz the price is really cheap. Don't compare to those high end ones. I guess the high end ones will hv good resolution. I can live with mine considering the price I paid for. I got myself a digi smartplan and the 3g works out fine. Overall, a decent tablet and only drawback is the screen resolution and lack of accessories or should I say none at the moment that is made for Viewpad 10s. how much did u get it? 699?
stormlcc
Dec 8 2011, 02:45 AM
QUOTE(scoon1972 @ Dec 8 2011, 01:43 AM) Yeah RM699 but reason being this price is because they took out the 16GB microsd card. If u add the sdhc is gonna be ard RM780 assuming the 16GB is abt RM80. Btw I wanna sell my 16gb and upgrade to 32gb. If anyone buying fr u know where and want a 16gb, I sell for RM60 :-) so u can save more. Battery is decent 6-8hrs shd be alright. I'm so used to keep charging my htc phone that this tablet the same I charge whenever I get the chance so hv not really tested the batt yet. what class is your sd card? warranty? PM me the details
stormlcc
Dec 9 2011, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(scoon1972 @ Dec 9 2011, 05:54 PM) Hint hint contact jwyong001 for upgrade. Mine works fine with honeycomb. Yeah I needed to buy a USB to USB to upgrade my Viewpad. As I sad its a decent pad nothing to shout abt. Im using HTC nexus one amoled screen and that is sharp compared to this Viewpad but I can live with it coz I bought it rm699 :-) hope this answers ur question. I alien : I bought titanium backup app to move most of my apps to sd. After having over 160 apps + system apps my rom memory is still abt 120mb :-) what do u mean by need to buy USB to USB? is it the full size USB cable to connect to PC? not provided in the package?
stormlcc
Dec 10 2011, 01:48 AM
QUOTE(patdidi @ Dec 10 2011, 12:51 AM) Guide to upgrade into honeycomb has been added in the first post. viewcomb's thread in XDA was closed therefore no more support for it, u should put vegacomb in the first page, it's still going on. fyi viewcomb actually came from vegacomb with some modifications. and here's the youtube link for anyone who wants to do the update themselves: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPl0r7FIFnEshould also put in FP This post has been edited by stormlcc: Dec 10 2011, 01:49 AM
stormlcc
Dec 10 2011, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(jwyong001 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:03 PM) the android market seem like got probelm yesterday night..both my devices also showing "error creating order" when i tried to purchase..  of course lah, got 10cent promotion mah, the market was flooded Added on December 10, 2011, 3:34 pmQUOTE(patdidi @ Dec 10 2011, 02:56 AM) done, but XDA only support Viewsonic G Tablet and Viewpad 7 rite? I did not find support page for viewpad 10s. Besides, the link that I posted in FP have the latest ViewComb, Build 6.3 and released on 11-26-2011. oh, sorry for the wrong info, i didn't really notice, but is the xda thread still closed? This post has been edited by stormlcc: Dec 10 2011, 03:34 PM
stormlcc
Dec 11 2011, 04:48 AM
just curious and needed to ask the experienced in flashing the custom roms. do we still need to root the device before using the exe file from xda to flash moddedstock v2 and also viewcomb or vegacomb rom?
if still need to root it first we should use z4root right?
stormlcc
Dec 12 2011, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(jwyong001 @ Dec 12 2011, 02:45 PM) this tablet suit ur needs but remember upgrade to honeycomb is a MUST  Added on December 12, 2011, 2:46 pmno..u don't need..just flash the rom via nvflash mode and u get the superuser.. thanks.
stormlcc
Dec 20 2011, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(azranashraf @ Dec 19 2011, 11:48 PM) latest rom ice cream sandwich for this tablet, still in alpha stage http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1397204holy shxt, this tablet still got a lot of fans. been thinking to get it, but i'll also been thinking to get the T. Prime.....and i have budget for only one. if got more budget i'll get both, LOL! get the T. Prime for daily use, and the 10s to put into my car for the ICE + sat nav This post has been edited by stormlcc: Dec 20 2011, 07:56 PM
stormlcc
Dec 27 2011, 04:18 PM
good to see that there are still some buyers for this tablet. lately china crap are flooding the market (Huawei, Lenovo etc.) and ppl are actually saying they are "cheap".......in what sense are they cheap? i say they are totally overpriced, almost similarly priced as those samsung ones + - a couple of hundred bucks. I'd say this viewpad is the bargain of the year in Malaysia.
stormlcc
Dec 31 2011, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Dec 31 2011, 09:28 PM) Ahh, yeah, just read about when plugged in. I removed it, and it was much better. Seriously excellent value for money. Downloading the necessary files needed for flashing to 3.2. I've flashed my Huawei to MIUI 2.3, so I guess this should not pose much of a challenge, right?  it's one of the easiest gadget to flash custom rom