LYN DJing Thread, Spin, Twist and Turn !!!!
redbustop
Jan 25 2007, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jan 19 2007, 03:06 PM) wanna ask u all DJ ppl, what do u all think of m-audio's torq thats just released(from what i know). saw some vids on youtube. Looks nice, its bringing technology into another level but the thing is anything can go wrong when you are using a pc to dj. Thats what I think
redbustop
Jan 25 2007, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(Ryo @ Jan 20 2007, 04:27 AM) i don't think starter kits are good man, what's the point of buying gears if somewhere in the middle you're gonna quit coz your hardware sucks. if the budget is super tight, getting used standard stuff is better than those starter kits. Agree, might as well save up for technics. Be patient and get a pair of good decks, trust me its worth getting technics. This post has been edited by redbustop: Jan 25 2007, 09:43 PM
redbustop
Jan 28 2007, 11:20 AM

Its expensive and hard to get vinyls in Malaysia, sad but true eh..
redbustop
Jan 28 2007, 08:02 PM

QUOTE(tomzy @ Jan 28 2007, 03:07 PM) too bad nothing beats the feels of a vinyls... sad but true lol.. we can always embrace other technology oh well.. True, but even a 320kbps quality tracks cant beat vinyls quality and you cant feel the vinlys if you are using cds. Unless youre using serato then its diff case but for scratchers, I dont think they want to use serato to scratch eh? I have nothing against the technology, just that if we can get vinyls like in UK, then it would be nice.. This post has been edited by redbustop: Jan 28 2007, 08:03 PM
redbustop
Nov 30 2007, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Nov 22 2007, 11:26 AM) Hi all Let say i would want to buy a mixer for just EDM music, can we just use any mixer in the market that can suit the purpose? Recently i have bought a used Vestax dj mixer to started out my true gear collection & later i found out it is most suitable for hip-hop/battle usage only. I was like WTF??? and most of the search result on the net says the same. Please, can I use that mixer for EDM purpose? Yes, you can. No worries. Added on November 30, 2007, 1:33 pmQUOTE([PIMPIN] @ Nov 30 2007, 11:15 AM) IMHO, if you already have it then just use it cause no reason why you can't use different genres of music (especially at my very beginner level). Granted its not feature packed like more higher end mixers but basically you're just essentially mixing the sound from one channel with another with your crossfaders and up/down channel faders and you have your 3 band EQs. I admit the layout is more for battle/scratch DJs but nothing you won't get used to after awhile. If you have it, use it. That's just what I think - I'm still extremely new to this so I'm giving you a truly truly layman's point of view. =) What kind of music do you play? This post has been edited by redbustop: Nov 30 2007, 01:33 PM
redbustop
Dec 8 2007, 06:13 PM

Is the cdj400 available in Malaysia?
redbustop
Dec 13 2007, 09:41 PM

Wow, its RM2,299 per piece is it? If per pair its really cheap..haha
redbustop
Dec 14 2007, 10:12 PM

If for that price, maybe I'll go for cdj 800mk2..hehe. Industry standard =D
redbustop
Dec 15 2007, 12:18 AM

Ahh..the pricelist, by any chances do you know whats the cheapest price you can get for the Pioneer HDJ1000 headphone?
CDJ 1000mk3 is really out of budget lar..mahal gila, cant afford..hehe
redbustop
Dec 16 2007, 06:19 PM

QUOTE([PIMPIN] @ Dec 16 2007, 10:02 AM) Speed - I'd get the 400s if I were you. Seems to have lots of features, is newer and cheaper too than the 1000s. For some reason the 800s never looked good to me either, and they're probably only industry standard in Malaysia - elsewhere its either 1000Mk3 or DVJ1000s soon to take over as the industry standard. Any idea when those are available locally or are they already available in KL (usual 2 month wait I suppose). Redbustop - under RM1k IIRC. Have you considered other brands? AKG, Beyer,etc? Whatever it is, won't be mpre than RM2k anyways. If you can, keep a spare in case. Nah, Im looking at either pioneer or senns..hmm, still considering
redbustop
Dec 17 2007, 08:59 AM

Alright, really thanks for the help man =)
redbustop
Dec 17 2007, 11:32 AM

Is it cheaper to order directly from pioneer or getting it from reseller?
redbustop
Dec 18 2007, 08:35 AM

Uh, thats what I thought too. Neway, pimpin are you from KL? nice gears you have man
redbustop
Dec 18 2007, 10:33 AM

Yea, Im from KL too..thanks man
redbustop
Dec 18 2007, 05:55 PM

Uh huh..for 400, which reseller you getting it from? Is it from KL?
redbustop
Dec 18 2007, 06:48 PM

Yea, very cheap wei. Not bad, can buy from the reseller next time.
redbustop
Dec 19 2007, 08:32 AM

Maybe in the future, when I need the cans I'll call you up. Thanks a lot.
redbustop
Dec 21 2007, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(boringz @ Dec 21 2007, 03:12 AM) Hi all! I am new to DJing, really wish to learn. Was looking around the web for stuff about DJing but nothing from malaysia hmmm.... what should I do how should I start? Read somewhere saying stanton stuff are good? tips please  and how should I start Djing hehe. Researched alot recently, then there are direct drive turntables n mixers, dj packages, those with mp3 cds, vinyl, what should i look for and get?  sry for my post if it sounds rushed/wierd... Save up and get a decent gear to start off with. Yea, you can refer to www.djforums.com
redbustop
Dec 21 2007, 02:47 PM

QUOTE(boringz @ Dec 21 2007, 01:00 PM) what should i buy for the gears? and, should i start off with learning to dj with softwares, and then after that start to get some gears? most importantly, what gears to buy, and where.  i mean like, ppl say about CDJs, ppl talk abt those that can connect to computers, and ppl talk abt vinyls. what should i look for? in my mind i have this thinking of, getting 1 set, virtual DJ with TotalControl (Numark), since I am pretty used to VDJ already(been playing around for a year). And then there are those FinalScratch 2.0 n stuff. AND, there are those CDJs, which from what I heard Pioneer is only mediocre... so.. where should I go? thanks a billion! Depending on your budget, if you are already familiar with softwares, just assume that you already know how to mix. Maybe you can buy cdjs or turntables to start off with.
redbustop
Dec 21 2007, 08:40 PM

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Dec 21 2007, 07:45 PM) oi pimpin, i was asking you which shop in kl did you buy your gears from? care to answer, thanks in advance...  Yea. Im waiting as well