6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN DJing Thread, Spin, Twist and Turn !!!!

procontavia
post May 6 2008, 09:06 PM

398 posts

hi i am new here. hope the sifu's can ajar me.
Recently just tried meddling in the mixing kinda dj which does a proper sets and beatmatch songs.
previously i have been doing live sound for concerts and events.

i am using a pioneer cmx-3000 dual deck cd player, behringer vmx-200 mixer and an effect processor by behringer called the dfx69 and a sennheiser hd205 as my headphone.

i like to mix jazz house, vocal house, progressive house, hard house, tech house, electro house. basically anything house.

i realise that alot of you guys here are using software via timecoded cd's and vinyls to play mp3 from com right? and using midi controllers right?
procontavia
post May 7 2008, 12:27 AM

398 posts

no the cmx is horrible at the scracthes...
dont use it..
so is my effector...

i think
for scratching use vinyls with sl1200 or sl1210 with m44-7 carts for almost skipless vinyl manipulation.

cdj800 and 1000mk2 & 3 is okay with scratches but i think vinyls is better.

i realise you all here so rich... got cdj800 and 1000 the new 400 and all the fancy gear... not like me.. no $$

anyway any1 here familliar with the usage of sequencer with midi controller more like mixing and tweaking preset tracks using ableton live and does anyone uses the trigger finger or a midi controller cum mixer like the korg zero series or the djm800 or a&h zone 3d?

btw, do you guys have mixes uploaded to the internet which i can listen to? be it turntablism or edm mixes? or be it in youtube form or downloaded form...

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 7 2008, 12:29 AM
procontavia
post May 7 2008, 02:13 PM

398 posts

i have been saving for a few donkie years oni can buy the cmx3000.
same here i took 3 yrs to complete my gear...
procontavia
post May 7 2008, 07:32 PM

398 posts

ive tried this dual cd player like ur cmx last time, but those old denons i think. if u only play house, it shouldnt be a problem..

like everyone else said, we're not rich, just passionate enough to get our hands on ze gears, my setup is below 2k btw.

ive f*cked around with Reason before, but not to the extend of using midi controllers with it. trigger finger is more for drum machine purposes or sampler, as a friend of mine is using it as one. u might wanna look into evolution's uc-33e for mixing, im looking for one myself hehe.. i think u can get it from the states for about 500 including shipping.
choongster, my cmx-3000 is abt 2.5k i think...
westokan, why the cmx-3000 can only play house meh? i think its a pretty good all rounder, hip-hop, to jungle also can what...

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 7 2008, 07:34 PM
procontavia
post May 7 2008, 11:53 PM

398 posts

u all meeting up? where when? can join ar? teh tarik session?
procontavia
post May 8 2008, 12:36 AM

398 posts

jamming? mana? cyber cafe?

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 8 2008, 12:36 AM
procontavia
post May 8 2008, 07:48 PM

398 posts

ss2.. pj...

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:48 pmneed bring decks ar?

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:52 pmi know la steven's corner @ oug...
roughly how to get there lar...

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 8 2008, 07:52 PM
procontavia
post May 10 2008, 02:46 PM

398 posts

sorry ya guys cant make it... very tired today.
cause on fri night i had a gig and this morning till now another gig...
back to back... didn't sleep well...
running around like monkey...
procontavia
post May 11 2008, 12:54 AM

398 posts

ahhh.. turns green with envy... new hd-25...

initially i wanted to get a new pair of cans.. not that my senn hd205 aren't good enough but.. i want the 280pro from senn. but now no money cause i have to repair my speakers.

but during my last gig, i blew two speaker cones...
quite a funny story actually. the bass/ mid cab cone's foam ring oxidised and hardened because i never used it for a long time. so yesterday when i was djing, the part breaked and so, we had crappy sound, so i had to put the volume to quite low so that the punters wouldn't notice the bad sound...
(pool side party at night)
man the cones had to give way when i was shiok in my mix... sheesh..
procontavia
post May 12 2008, 10:54 PM

398 posts

ok the next 1 i must go
procontavia
post May 13 2008, 08:24 PM

398 posts

kingz.. try searching for materials to learn over the internet if you are serious about learning djing. there are plenty. google them up. or search it on youtube.
read read and read..

depending on the type of djing you want to enter, go find out more. again read materials over the net.

1)turntablist (hip hop kind which does beat juggles, scratching, drumming n etc etc)

2)mobile dj. (those whom set up equipment for rental and dj for events)

3)club dj. those which plays 'electronic dance music' (most of them do, but you will find a very diversed range of genres) and does fancy beatmatching and beatmixing and mixing in general.
(eg. those house and trance dj like tiesto)

4)producer/ remixer. (those that work in studio to produce new songs as their own. they will need a synth, some midi controller, sequencing softwares, and softwares to sample and synth new samples)

go and buy some decent gear for your suited kind of djing, can be a combination of dj types.
but before buying find out more on the pros and cons about what you wanna buy.

for turntables,
stick to direct drive turntable with a good pitch with quartz lock and some low wow & flutter readings.
i.e technics sl1200mk2 (2nd hand also ok, be sure to check the pitch dots)

for cdjs,
go for reputable brands like pioneer, vestax, denon.
idealy a cd deck must have a cue button, a pitch control, pitch bend and the basic functions you would expect to find on a normal cd player.

headphones,
get a pair which is a closed backed type to isolate ambience noise so that you can monitor your track that is being cued.

mixers,
get a mixer which has 3 kill eq's parameter per channel. high, mids, and low.
for turntalism, get a mixer which has a clean layout of its faders, has adjustable crossfader curves, and the input selector switch.

did i miss anything out?
yup layman definition. if dont understand ask me...

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 13 2008, 08:29 PM
procontavia
post May 14 2008, 01:28 PM

398 posts

kingz...
i also agree to send your daughter to learn some piano..
cause i believe that piano is the fundemental common instrument.
later on when she is old enough to lean what she wants its up to her.
you know with piano, it would be easy to do producing, arrangements n etc. cause most midi-controller would be in a keyboard like form. also by learning piano, you can learn other insturments easier.

Added on May 14, 2008, 1:31 pmaiyah next meeting i want to play with vinyls la...
got try before but for short while only...
and also must try the cdj-400. the beat divider like very interesting.

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 14 2008, 01:31 PM
procontavia
post May 15 2008, 11:19 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(westokan @ May 15 2008, 05:46 PM)
same goes with 'keys', alot of top djs talks about 'key mixing', they dont actually analyse each and every tracks before mixing, with experience u can 'feel' which track suits better with the other.. as i said before, mixing is all about practice..

just my 2 cents worth which will be rounded up to 0 cent supaya jimat dan senang kira hehe
yes some people do analyse keys before they mix. what you have to do is use 'mixed in key' or if you have a good theory in music and have an ear you can know what key suits what other key, i dont doubt it. people can listen to a song just for a while and can tell you that a song is in i.e d-maj and so there are 3 other keys which will suit d-maj which are d-maj itself (obviously) g-maj and a-maj. i have friends which are pro musicians which can tell right away the key of the song the moment they hear it (good music background, thats why i envy them)

you see what this harmonic mixing thing does is to add another parameter on top of bpm to your crate. so for example when you are playing a set, you're in c-minor (track on air) so you can take another song which are f-min or g-min or c-min and depending on the crowd which you will have to read, pick a song based on bpm and keys which are compatible. (of course you can skip the part if you can utilise the djm-800's color effects which does the harmonics for you) and yes i can say that there are alot of djs big names ones whom uses this technique. i cant list them down for you if you want.

Ali 'Dubfire' from Deep Dish
Pete Tong from BBC Radio 1
Hernan Cattaneo
DJ Prince
Kaskade, from Hed Kandi
Kuffdam
Blank & Jones
bla-bla-bla

MixedInKey also reports that DJ Mag has posted results of their Top 100 DJ poll, and nine of the top 20 DJs now use harmonic mixing. http://www.djmag.com/index.php?op=top_100&story=home

in my own opinion. having techniques in mixing accounts up to only 30% of your whole performance but picking the right songs or a good song selection will amount up to 70% of the performance.
i am sure you wouldn't want to hear a fantastic beatmixing dj whom plays rubbish songs aren't you? and most non-dj people dont give a nuts if you have great skills in beatmixing or not, if you realise they care more about the music that is being played. i have heard plenty of djs whom just slam songs in all night long but still get good crowd response. its because the music that dj chosed was good. thumbup.gif

a good dj comes prepared into a club with his library sorted out nicely. so yes they do have analyse every track. as a professional dj, people are paying you, so they have some professional ethics in them to be diciplined enough to deliver the best sets you can night after night, so if harmonic mixing improves your sets why not use it?

but the 'feel' you are saying is another consideration you have to look at on top of the ones mentioned earlier. but yes i also do agree that to a certain extend it might be difficult to incorperate harmonics mixing in to live sets mainly because the song you know that is going to rock the house is not key-compatible (this is where the djm-800 comes in handy. somebody sponsor me one!!! biggrin.gif )
i also agree that the feel of a song is really important into deciding on what song to play next.
also i will have explain that harmonics will not dictate your song selection but instead it only will serve as a tool to help you decide a compatible song.
but in a studio environment, harmonic mixing is a preference especially when you can preprogramme your mixes.

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 16 2008, 02:13 AM
procontavia
post May 17 2008, 03:30 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ May 17 2008, 10:40 AM)
cool! it's been months since i recorded my last series...anyway now too buzy & little malas.
so guys outside there have fun  smile.gif

thanks for the info.
i do not have a proper mixtape, too lazy to record 1 but anyhow this is a section of my mixes on youtube. a trial mix to test my camera..
oh i was using the sony handycam dcr-sr62. good camera but no line ins...
i must find some time to record a one hour set.

for some wierd reason the video doesn't show. this is the link anyway. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlAeDOYUijM

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 17 2008, 04:51 PM
procontavia
post May 18 2008, 02:21 PM

398 posts

suscribed to you.. damn my internet is too slow...

Added on May 18, 2008, 2:26 pmdirect from camera microphone.. no line ins..
the round thing very bling with manyak manyak lighting punya is my effector called the behringer dfx069..
i put all the details in my description of the video.. the sound of your mix sounds choppy...

Added on May 18, 2008, 2:30 pmthe first song.. the mic of the camera cannot capture the sound properly is it?
nice tracks...

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 18 2008, 02:30 PM
procontavia
post May 18 2008, 03:25 PM

398 posts

how is the effector? how do i put it...
you will have a sampler, flanger, filter, bpm meter, delay and scratch...

the sampler is rather useless, just good for sampling dj drops. the bpm meter might be accurate depending on what music it likes and how is it mood. the delay is more of a trial and error delay.. you will never know what type of delay you would get until you put it on air, sounds like a jack in a box. the SCRATCH wow... it mind blowing.. it litteraly blows your mind away with frustration.

with all that is bad how could you possibly find any good in it?
well its not that bad the flanger and filter. works decently as i expect it to be.

but for two working effects for rm600+? nah save up for the korg kaoss pad or the pioneer efector or the alesis.

procontavia
post May 18 2008, 05:50 PM

398 posts

wah.. spinning at republic... just behind my uni...
i like their setup.. very nice...
one umbrella with the dj on the 'batang'.

hehe i also got that type of experience...
no i never play at a club before.. i played at a poolside party...
all the cun chicks become my groupie.. hehehehe...
taking pictures wif me la... first time feeling the perks of being a dj...

whoa...for that. but why in the 1st place you still want to get them?
btw the effect you are using in the video is cool, i believe that is the only 2 left working up to your liking...

yes.. cause last time i noob ma.. din have money and dun noe what to get...
but with that 2 effects i can do nicely can ooo..
my intro i use my filter.. ahh that 1 nice nice 1...
not that now i have money but i tell you... the 2 working effects is good...

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 18 2008, 05:52 PM
procontavia
post May 18 2008, 09:43 PM

398 posts

sorry to burst ur bubble, but not everyone is spinning prog  and with diff genre comes diff styles/methods

aren't all songs are played in key?
is it possible to compose a song without any key?
as far as i know even kick drums of different skin tension would produce different pitch/ key.
if all songs have keys so doesn't that qualify to be matched harmonically?
in regards the genre i guess any genre would at least have a synth bass or melody or in that case any instrument which might so happen to have a key? what do you think? i might be wrong...

i believe that in any genre they would have to adhere to certain rules of music when composing is being done. and i suppose that means instruments are sequenced in such a way that chords are supposed to match within their own range. and with that you can conclude that the whole song is played in maybe d maj or something hence we would have something known as canon in d by pachabell (that is actually what the d stands for)? what do you think? this is my own opinion after all? do you disagree?

yes i do agree that different genre come with different styles of mixing. i acknowledge that. and i didn't specify prog. maybe i did but i dont recall it...
the harmonics mixing is to help you pick your next song, its not a mixing technique or method by it self.
it does not dictate the next track that is going to be played. well you could use it and maybe you need not use it. it depends. but if you feel it enhances your performance why not use it?

not trying to argue here.i better say first nanti you marah i... just have different opinion.

wei takde org nak explain 'batang' ke procontavia?

the umbrella has a stalk right? that is the batang la...
in republic there is this giant umbrella and there is a platform above the ground attached to the stalk (think kl tower with a umbrella. the part where people go and see the scenery is where the dj mixes la.) icon_rolleyes.gif

procontavia
post May 19 2008, 02:14 AM

398 posts

all this is true when considering the genre ur playing is prog/house, meaning it emphasize of seamless mixing.. yes all songs/tracks have keys, so if ur saying harmonic mixing is a tool to choose the next track to play, basically u wanna have a nice transition from one track to another yeah? techno djs on the other hand tend to have an abrupt/rough style of mixing, playing with the energy of the dancefloor to make it as a 'roller coaster' feeling to the entire set, this is where i would say harmonics mixing it not being used, they'll scratch, cut and 'effectize' their way out/in to a mix just like that, and i wouldnt say its not effective cause the dancefloor still goes mad hehe..

is it possible that a paticular techno dj does not drop songs but in fact rely on smooth transitions?

because on the matter of style of mixing i think it is really up to an individial on which styles to use...

i believe if some1 would to just copy styles then it would not be good one must obtain his own style so punters can identify it as his/her signature style... like carl cox i know he likes to use the method which you said just now.

maybe i dont really know techno/ hardstyle that much maybe cause i dont enjoy it... but i think not all techno dj has to conform with the particular style you mentioned.. what do you think?
is it possible for a techno dj to use harmonics to help sort his/her playlist?
procontavia
post May 19 2008, 03:37 AM

398 posts

you should play what the crowd wants..
if you are not familiar with hardstyle then i suggest you deline the gig. because a dj should have a good understanding of his/her music in order to work the crowd.. the music is your tool and by reading the crowd then you need adequate knowledge on your music to pick the song which is required.
but well that is if they only want hard style... if they are okay with other genre's then play the genre's which they are okay with la.

my 2 cents...

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0439sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:42 AM