100 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

LYN DJing Thread, Spin, Twist and Turn !!!!

XtOtH3D
post May 13 2008, 12:03 AM

I Cue I Pitch I Scratch
683 posts

stanton got 4chn mixers ?
Choongster
post May 13 2008, 09:13 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(XtOtH3D @ May 13 2008, 12:03 AM)
stanton got 4chn mixers ?
he just said it ..

Added on May 13, 2008, 9:50 am
QUOTE(leng2 @ May 12 2008, 11:50 PM)
guys.. i'm looking for a new mdr-v700dj... anyone knows where to get em?
maybe u want to use the garage sales ..

Added on May 13, 2008, 9:51 am
QUOTE(procontavia @ May 12 2008, 10:54 PM)
ok the next 1 i must go
so who else is up for the next "gathering" ?
be warned ... xtothed hooked up 3 PC speakers to his setup .. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Choongster: May 13 2008, 09:51 AM
westokan
post May 13 2008, 01:19 PM

469 posts

haha like u said, im not bring my decks anywhere, it's nicely set up already tongue.gif
K1ngZ
post May 13 2008, 02:13 PM

118 posts

hi there ppl...newbie here..

want to know more bout djing...
XtOtH3D
post May 13 2008, 02:49 PM

I Cue I Pitch I Scratch
683 posts

its for hardbass haha
K1ngZ
post May 13 2008, 03:01 PM

118 posts

what is hardbass??
Choongster
post May 13 2008, 03:02 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(westokan @ May 13 2008, 01:19 PM)
haha like u said, im not bring my decks anywhere, it's nicely set up already tongue.gif
so no turntable at the next meeting? *sigh* .. I'm not coming then tongue.gif
or maybe xtothed can arrange something with DJ school to "rent" their studio for our so called "gathering"

This post has been edited by Choongster: May 13 2008, 03:17 PM
K1ngZ
post May 13 2008, 03:04 PM

118 posts

got meeting??...where???
Choongster
post May 13 2008, 03:28 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(XtOtH3D @ May 13 2008, 02:49 PM)
its for hardbass haha
the bass so hard, u can't hear anything else.. pretty pointless right?

Added on May 13, 2008, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(K1ngZ @ May 13 2008, 03:04 PM)
got meeting??...where???
well most probably xtothed's cybercafe in OUG/Sri Petaling area ...
unless he can arrange studio at his's DJ school ..

This post has been edited by Choongster: May 13 2008, 05:48 PM
procontavia
post May 13 2008, 08:24 PM

398 posts

kingz.. try searching for materials to learn over the internet if you are serious about learning djing. there are plenty. google them up. or search it on youtube.
read read and read..

depending on the type of djing you want to enter, go find out more. again read materials over the net.

1)turntablist (hip hop kind which does beat juggles, scratching, drumming n etc etc)

2)mobile dj. (those whom set up equipment for rental and dj for events)

3)club dj. those which plays 'electronic dance music' (most of them do, but you will find a very diversed range of genres) and does fancy beatmatching and beatmixing and mixing in general.
(eg. those house and trance dj like tiesto)

4)producer/ remixer. (those that work in studio to produce new songs as their own. they will need a synth, some midi controller, sequencing softwares, and softwares to sample and synth new samples)

go and buy some decent gear for your suited kind of djing, can be a combination of dj types.
but before buying find out more on the pros and cons about what you wanna buy.

for turntables,
stick to direct drive turntable with a good pitch with quartz lock and some low wow & flutter readings.
i.e technics sl1200mk2 (2nd hand also ok, be sure to check the pitch dots)

for cdjs,
go for reputable brands like pioneer, vestax, denon.
idealy a cd deck must have a cue button, a pitch control, pitch bend and the basic functions you would expect to find on a normal cd player.

headphones,
get a pair which is a closed backed type to isolate ambience noise so that you can monitor your track that is being cued.

mixers,
get a mixer which has 3 kill eq's parameter per channel. high, mids, and low.
for turntalism, get a mixer which has a clean layout of its faders, has adjustable crossfader curves, and the input selector switch.

did i miss anything out?
yup layman definition. if dont understand ask me...

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 13 2008, 08:29 PM
K1ngZ
post May 13 2008, 09:07 PM

118 posts

procontavia-thanx bro for the long and very informative explaination...looking for turntable and mixer at the moment but my budget is only RM1.5k...so any suggestions???

This post has been edited by K1ngZ: May 13 2008, 09:14 PM
XtOtH3D
post May 13 2008, 11:21 PM

I Cue I Pitch I Scratch
683 posts

1.5k might too low for whole set .... high abit might can
Choongster
post May 13 2008, 11:23 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

Numark Battle Pak ... 1.8K if i not mistaken ... entry level turntables and mixer and headphones
westokan
post May 13 2008, 11:25 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ May 13 2008, 03:02 PM)
so no turntable at the next meeting? *sigh* .. I'm not coming then tongue.gif
or maybe xtothed can arrange something with DJ school to "rent" their studio for our so called "gathering"
i will still wanna come cause wanna try out the cdj400.. but choong anytime this month if u can come to my place it'll be good cause im planning to get the maya early next month.. from speed's feedback wanna make sure its not a wasted effort getting the soundcard..

Added on May 13, 2008, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(K1ngZ @ May 13 2008, 09:07 PM)
procontavia-thanx bro for the long and  very informative explaination...looking for turntable and mixer at the moment but my budget is only RM1.5k...so any suggestions???
might wanna add a couple of hundreds to ur budget to make it possible..

This post has been edited by westokan: May 13 2008, 11:26 PM
K1ngZ
post May 14 2008, 07:40 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(westokan @ May 13 2008, 11:25 PM)
might wanna add a couple of hundreds to ur budget to make it possible..
couple of hundreds should be no problem but not more then RM2k max...actually i wanna get this turntable for my daughter coz i think i'm too old for this but my interest is still there..so u guys out there once i got my turntable maybe can teach me some skills so that i can teach my daughter..hehehe..
Choongster
post May 14 2008, 09:06 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(westokan @ May 13 2008, 11:25 PM)
i will still wanna come cause wanna try out the cdj400.. but choong anytime this month if u can come to my place it'll be good cause im planning to get the maya early next month.. from speed's feedback wanna make sure its not a wasted effort getting the soundcard..
your place no problem la .. dekat jer... not this weekend la.. maybe next weekend or something..

Added on May 14, 2008, 9:22 am
QUOTE(K1ngZ @ May 14 2008, 07:40 AM)
couple of hundreds should be no problem but not more then RM2k max...actually i wanna get this turntable for my daughter coz i think i'm too old for this but my interest is still there..so u guys out there once i got my turntable maybe can teach me some skills so that i can teach my daughter..hehehe..
just the other day some1 started about topic " am i too old to learn ...."
well , if there is a will .. there is a way
if there is passion , nothing should stop you from trying ..
it's all about the MUSIC ...

how old is your daughter? because if she's too young ... it's hard to teach her the difference in bar countings etc ..
but if she is 12 and above .. probably will be easier ..
what songs are you into anyway?

This post has been edited by Choongster: May 14 2008, 09:22 AM
K1ngZ
post May 14 2008, 09:40 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ May 14 2008, 09:06 AM)
just the other day some1 started about topic " am i too old to learn ...."
well , if there is a will .. there is a way
if there is passion , nothing should stop you from trying ..
it's all about the MUSIC ...

how old is your daughter? because if she's too young ... it's hard to teach her the difference in bar countings etc ..
but if she is 12 and above .. probably will be easier ..
what songs are you into anyway?
agree with that..actually i'm into music since school..the passion is still alive and burning..fyi my daughter is only 3 years old..i know she's too young for this..but music isn't about age rite?..it's about passion and interest..i want her to learn music early coz i dun wanna be like my parents...they think music is not good for your future..no point learning music..so i dun wanna make the same mistake...once i got the turntables and stuff i'm definately gonna teach my daughter but first i need to learn it myself...so that's y i need lesson from any gurus here...
Choongster
post May 14 2008, 10:10 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(K1ngZ @ May 14 2008, 09:40 AM)
agree with that..actually i'm into music since school..the passion is still alive and burning..fyi my daughter is only 3 years old..i know she's too young for this..but music isn't about age rite?..it's about passion and interest..i want her to learn music early coz i dun wanna be like my parents...they think music is not good for your future..no point learning music..so i dun wanna make the same mistake...once i got the turntables and stuff i'm definately gonna teach my daughter but first i need to learn it myself...so that's y i need lesson from any gurus here...
u can expose her to piano/guitar etc first.. ..that will teach them about Beats per minute(BPM) .... how fast they should play etc .. that way they can implement the knowledge into mixing .. later in life ..
but to explain mixing etc.. it's harder cuz .. she&you need to know how to count the bars, identify the bars , a bit of physical maneuvers ..and must be able to join two songs together ...

about the turntables.. there is this entry level t urntables for beginners .. Numark DJ Battle PAK ... it cost about 1.8K .. everything provided .. 2x turntables .. mixer .. headphones.... speaker sendiri supply la ..
erm .. if u are really interested, let me know and i can arrange something for you at SMX, Berjaya Times Square .. they are numark dealer ..

K1ngZ
post May 14 2008, 11:47 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ May 14 2008, 10:10 AM)
u can expose her to piano/guitar etc first.. ..that will teach them about Beats per minute(BPM) .... how fast they should play etc .. that way they can implement the knowledge into mixing ..  later in life ..
but to explain mixing etc.. it's harder cuz .. she&you  need to know how to count the bars, identify the bars , a bit of physical maneuvers ..and must be able to join two songs together ...

about the turntables.. there is this entry level t urntables for beginners .. Numark DJ Battle PAK ... it cost about 1.8K .. everything provided .. 2x turntables .. mixer .. headphones.... speaker sendiri supply la ..
erm .. if u are really interested, let me know and i can arrange something for you at SMX, Berjaya Times Square .. they are numark dealer ..
planning to enroll her into a piano class most probably next year. In the mean time just to expose her to this kind of music instrument (turntable). I'm currently as u know looking for turntables..maybe u can re-confirm the price for the Numark DJ Battle Pak. If everything goes well by next week i will get the stuffs. Just 1 question...what is the difference between belt drive & direct drive??...
Choongster
post May 14 2008, 11:54 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(K1ngZ @ May 14 2008, 11:47 AM)
planning to enroll her into a piano class most probably next year. In the mean time just to expose her to this kind of music instrument (turntable). I'm currently as u know looking for turntables..maybe u can re-confirm the price for the Numark DJ Battle Pak. If everything goes well by next week i will get the stuffs. Just 1 question...what is the difference between belt drive & direct drive??...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhfEONUp5n0

this will give you the answer ... maybe you want to look up on youtube ... "DJ TUTOR" .. he has 1000s videos to teach you all about DJ-ing ...

Added on May 14, 2008, 11:59 am
QUOTE(K1ngZ @ May 14 2008, 11:47 AM)
maybe u can re-confirm the price for the Numark DJ Battle Pak.
retailing at RM1900 according to manager .... .. maybe could get cheaper ...
if you are really really interested , please let me know your details. and also when roughly that u will pay the shop a visit
so that I can fwd your details to him and hopefully could get you some good deals.

PM me your details and intention ...

This post has been edited by Choongster: May 14 2008, 11:59 AM

100 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:13 PM