Opteron 939
seeseng
Jun 4 2006, 01:51 PM
having a weird problem with my Opteron 144 OC. It can do 275HTT 3XLDT default Vcore dual SP2004 stable for over 5 hours. RAM with divider to make it below 200Mhz FSB. Latency 3-4-4-8 2T(Infineon BE5 default 2-3-2-5 PQI Turbo Memory 2GB dual channel kit) . The weird thing is once I use 280HTT it won't even POST to bios screen. No display at all. Even pump up 5% and 10% Vcore and PCIE set to 8up 8down also cannot post. Proc temp always below 50 running Aquagate R120+AS5 full speed fan. 580W true power PSU. Proc tepping CAB2E 0540. Anybody faced this no display prob when OC before?
seeseng
Jun 5 2006, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jun 5 2006, 02:02 AM) Care to tell what mobo and what ram divider did u use? Certain batch of opteron don't mix well with certain ram dividers. Like mine for example, won't work well with 133 ram divider but works perfectly with 100, 166 and 200.  My mobo is Jetway 939GT4-SLI-G OC-CON. The same thing reviewed by Anandtech. This is my screen shot for 275htt. Default Vcore. Tight ram timing also can dual SP2004 over 5 hours(No error. I just stop it at 5hours+) But once set to 280HTT cannot post no display at all. Ram timing set to default or looser than default(3-4-4-12) also same. Pump up Vcore, Vdimm, LDT voltage also same. Does 100 divider mean DDR200? Attached thumbnail(s)
seeseng
Jun 5 2006, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 5 2006, 02:47 PM) hi bro...prob ocing the proc ka??? last time i have no problem hitting >300HTT stable with that proc...but ofcourse we have diff setting thou... that no post screen, i normally have it when ocing my ram e.g. change the DRAM settings...when u got no post, any beeps coming out from the pc? mine last time got some beeps which was referring to the mem, so need to bios reset...and what is the max HTT can ur chipset do with this proc...why dont u put ur ram on auto timing, set the divider to 133 or 100 and try again (probably u done that edi, but just in case...) btw...ur ultra-d is due to reach u anytime now kan...or u already rcv it and not toying with it  Aik how you know I buy Ultra-D? Arrived already but haven't pasang. I set to 100 divider can hit 305htt now running SP2004. 133 divider that cause the problem just like Red_Bull said. 166 divider pulak scare RAM tak leh OC so high FSB. This post has been edited by seeseng: Jun 5 2006, 05:22 PM
seeseng
Jun 5 2006, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(linkeong @ Jun 5 2006, 07:28 PM) May I know what RAM you using for your jetway? I am using same board but my Crucial Ballistix keep BSOD and fail the prime blend test in less than 1 minute. I up voltage to 2.85V then it can pass the test but sometimes will BSOD. Your Crucial Ballistix using what chip? Why don't you try set the ram divider frequency to 1xx. That's the lowest in OC setting. Mine before use 2xxmhz can't even go over 280HTT. Now running 305htt x 9 prime over 6 hours and still running fine. This post has been edited by seeseng: Jun 5 2006, 09:51 PM