Opteron 939

lichyetan
post Jun 15 2006, 01:15 PM

2,295 posts

noob quest, opteron did generate more heat than athon?? my wc kit temp raised after i switch to opty..
lichyetan
post Jul 6 2006, 01:54 AM

2,295 posts

wat is the recommended temp for opteron, i mean like athlon64 is 55c, wat is opteron temp recommended at max load...
lichyetan
post Jul 26 2006, 07:12 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(satanhead2003 @ Jul 26 2006, 08:05 AM)
Guys, just want to know. There's a software called "CORE TEMP" in xtremesystems forum which can detect your proc temp.  Hv u guys tried this b4 bcoz, i'm getting 10c higher reading than any software (smartguardian, everest, sandra,mbm). Here's my experiment :
My proc TCaseMax is 55c. I always failed prime when my temp reach 44c-46c ( in smartguardian and mbm readout ). Even adding up vcore, using divider for RAM, still doesnt help. When i use CORE TEMP, it's actually 55c when prime start to fail. At my TCaseMax!
tried, 2c lower thn speedfan and biostar temp utility
lichyetan
post Sep 5 2006, 01:25 AM

2,295 posts

i found out even though opteron are same speed with athlon, maybe faster a bit at all application, i found that it's more stable compare to athlon, it wont hang... just my opinion, correct me if i am wrong...
lichyetan
post Sep 6 2006, 02:45 AM

2,295 posts

ya, after i switch frm athlon to opteron, my comp never hang unless i oc it to high such as 3ghz...
lichyetan
post Sep 26 2006, 12:44 PM

2,295 posts

bigwater se not so good for cooling opteron ler, my swiftech custom kit also got some temp prob when oc to 3.0ghz...
lichyetan
post Sep 28 2006, 12:55 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(flatfinger @ Sep 28 2006, 12:45 PM)
depend on the stepping oso..some can go 3.0ghz some can't...i dunt know much for opty 175...maybe u can surf the net...as for my opty 165...only can go 2.7ghz @1.47vcore...nice already....the oc speed side by side with default FX60...
opteron do generate more heat when oc, although it is less power comsumption compare to athlon, i oc my athlon before with same kit, athlon cooler by few celcius... at same clockspeed...
lichyetan
post Nov 18 2006, 04:06 AM

2,295 posts

all going for conroe? i recently juz bough an opty170, not a goos stepping though, 2.6ghz prime stable at 51c and 52c for both core on load, will post screen shots later...
lichyetan
post Jan 2 2007, 05:25 AM

2,295 posts

looks like i have no luck with my opty 170... maxed out at 2.65ghz... tried 1.6vcore... dun dare to up d...
lichyetan
post Jan 3 2007, 12:42 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 2 2007, 09:45 PM)
cud it be ya ram holdin d chip back? i wun dare to try any voltage higher than 1.5v coz duallies are freakin hot...  sweat.gif
hmmm.... i using ram divider nw.... possible ram hold back? i currently using water cooling at no-aircond room... load temp when running dual prime is 53c-56c using core temp... it keeps fluctuate around tht temps... btw, nw running 2.6ghz at 1.54v...
lichyetan
post Jan 14 2007, 03:45 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ Jan 14 2007, 01:57 PM)
walah.....170 just can go 2.6ghz??? sweat.gif  sweat.gif
mind share ur pc spec???
should can get higher then this... brows.gif  brows.gif
hmm, my pc spec is following:
Opteron 170, DFI Expert Board, Infineon Ce-5 2gb ram, X1950XT, 3x HDD, 1x DVD Rom, 4x120mm fans 1x80mm fans, 1x mcp650 pump, apogee block, mp-01 block... acbel 550watt ipower series PSU... actually it can go higher but i think its the PSU limitations due to the tri 12v rails are 14A,22A,18A, max ouput for the 12v rails are 360Watt...
but i felt weird for the opty is it need 1.58v to stable at 2.6ghz for prime test... my steppings is CCBWE 0550UPMW which is quite overclockable in ohter forums, but looks like i really lucky enuff to get the worst in these steppings...

* core temp readings for the cores in full load quite high, 53c +- 3c for both core using core temp... with my wc kit... which i think the setup is ok since my gpu are cool enough, but core temp for the cpu is a bit high in my opionion...

This post has been edited by lichyetan: Jan 14 2007, 03:47 PM
lichyetan
post Jan 16 2007, 01:52 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ Jan 15 2007, 02:45 AM)
have u try to play with the RAM timing??

the chipset voltage??

ram voltage??
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 15 2007, 04:13 PM)
if i'm not mistaken, 0550vpmw is d golden batch of 170, doin almost 2.8~2.9GHz on stock voltagem not so sure bout yas.  smile.gif

judgin by d spec u have, i can say ya psu is abit overloaded. too much "burden" ledi. if ur not playin w dual gpu, best bet is to get a psu w single fat rail (+12v). i mite be wrong thou...  tongue.gif
will adding chipset voltages gain overclocking performance? i tried the ram timings, its same, mine is 0550upmw, but dunno y, 1 of the core always fail prime if didnt add voltage. i can boot into windows but the 2nd core always fail prime test... maybe i try to unplug 1 hdd and oso some fan see it helps onot...
lichyetan
post Feb 1 2007, 03:54 AM

2,295 posts

u are lucky, mine 170 maxed out at 2.6ghz, it needs 1.55v+ to reach 2.6ghz
lichyetan
post Feb 1 2007, 03:48 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(flatfinger @ Jan 25 2007, 09:29 AM)
for tempreture the lower the better...vcore is depend on ur proc needed...some proc can oc higher with default vcore only...n some have to give some juice to push it higher...1.5v is quite high already...but if u r on "water"...even can go 1.6v-1.7v....but the main thing is to monitor ur tempreture...make it at the save margin...

mine lastime using opty 165 on 3d galaxy
running at 2.7Ghz@1.47vcore
idle = 31-32
single core load (folding) = 38-40
both core load (folding) = 43-44
hi bro, nice temp u got there, my opty170 with water cooling using swiftech apogee and mcr220 radiator with D4 pump only get idle = 38c load = 48c-50c using coretemp... i run it 2.5ghz.... need 1.57v if wanna go 2.6ghz if wanna pass stress prime... but i think no problem with my loop as my gpu,x1950xt get 40c idle 50c load... juz my cpu temp readig using coretemp quite high.... any idea?
lichyetan
post Feb 2 2007, 05:00 PM

2,295 posts

@rendle,
try use core temp to monitor ur cpu temp, it might be higher since the temp reaches 59c using ASUS software...
lichyetan
post Feb 11 2007, 08:46 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(emubleeeem @ Feb 4 2007, 10:29 PM)
hi
i haf opty 170, mobo asus a8n-e with corsair ddr400 value ram..using big typhoon vx..cpu idle around 32..full load around 40+(coretemp) with stock vcore n clock speed

..any idea of how to overclock it? my target is around 2.8ghz.. fsb/dram 1:1..possible with this chapulang ram? not sure about how much voltage i shud gif this ram oso haha.. it will be great if sum1 can post their settings as reference..thx
to reach 2.8ghz needs luck, depends on steppings, mine reach 2.6ghz only will stable orthos 8 hours prime with 1.57v... currently running 2.5ghz at 1.43v... i cool it using water cooling kit consists of swiftech MCR-220QP and apogee block with D4 pump... and the dual core opty really hot, @1.43v idle 38c load 48c...@1.57v idle 42c load 56-58c... so i am not so lucky cause my steppings is not good... even with proper cooling it cant reach 2.6 and above...
lichyetan
post Jun 12 2007, 05:42 PM

2,295 posts

go refer some K8 overclocking guide, its almost similar
lichyetan
post Jan 16 2008, 10:20 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(lynch @ Jan 15 2008, 03:31 AM)
hey guys, im a noobie in overclocking, haf a opty 170, using DFI LanParty UT  ULTRA-D, with corsair 512 x 2 value rams, the most stable FSB i can get is 10 x 255, which makes is 2.55Ghz, are my rams holding back? i hafto set my rams to run on DDR360 =( to get 2.55. if i get better rams (WHICH COST A BOMB, DDR1), will i be able to hit 3.0Hz ?? im using thermalright xp-90c  btw.
QUOTE(lynch @ Jan 15 2008, 03:53 PM)
nobody answering my post sad.gif
hmm, u need ram dividers to get that fsb as ur ram cannot run at 1:1 ratio, try lower divider and see... and also go googling around about k8 overclocking guide, its not easy to get 3ghz and it also depends on luck to hit 3ghz...

0.0400sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:37 AM