Opteron 939

highland
post Apr 28 2006, 01:01 PM

21 posts

hi,

just another opteron overclocking question

my opteron 165 not be able to hit past 2.6
is it already processor limit or any hardware limitation?
i believe my hardware is capable enough to hit more than that

opteron 165 ( stable at 2.56)
asus a8r32-mvp deluxe
1gb corsair ddr 550 ram
acbel 550w psu
vantec stringray water cooling

voltage is at 1.55
highland
post Apr 28 2006, 04:38 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(fantasy_kenny @ Apr 28 2006, 04:24 PM)
as i think is ur RAM limit...
if Opty 165 go to 2.6Ghz must do 289*9
so the RAM must do DDR578...expect u doing divider....

wat ur RAM timing hit juz now??did u know is using wat chip??
2.5.3.3.8 its using samsung chip,same chip with expert version,

i didnt use divider coz with my other rig,opti 146 its able to run at 295mhz
295*10
already pump the ram voltage to 2.9,but still wont help,

highland
post May 10 2006, 09:57 AM

21 posts

hi
want to ask for opinion,coz cant figure out how to do it.

just got my opteron 175 ccbwe 0550 upmw yesterday.
oc to 2.7 but the problem is:-

core 0 is very very weak but core one is strong
really unbalance there
test with sp 2004
core 1 stable for 5 hours( i stop it )but
core 0 fail within 1 minute

what should i do to balance it out,

heat shouldn be a problem coz using water

highland
post May 10 2006, 11:29 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(fantasy_kenny @ May 10 2006, 11:20 AM)
the problem is..
maybe Core 1 is best than Core 0..
so can stable in 2.7GHz..
try to let down speed at 2.6GHz,try agian....
thanks for reply,
did try at 2.6
as usual core 1 survive
core 0 survive about 1 hour

both core only stable at 2.54
highland
post May 11 2006, 05:33 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(highland @ May 10 2006, 09:57 AM)
hi
want to ask for opinion,coz cant figure out how to do it.

just got my opteron 175 ccbwe 0550 upmw yesterday.
oc to 2.7 but the problem is:-

core 0 is very very weak but core one is strong
really unbalance there
test with sp 2004
core 1 stable for 5 hours( i stop it )but
core 0 fail within 1 minute

what should i do to balance it out,

heat shouldn be a problem coz using water

forget about the 175,anyway thanl for the advise,coz oledi sold off
just bought opteron 170 yesterday from c-zone
currently prime is still running at 2.73 without touching the voltage
ccbwe 0609 fpaw

highland
post May 12 2006, 10:22 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ May 11 2006, 07:24 PM)
wow...nice oc at default voltage bro...hope both core can stand the priming thumbup.gif
actually that opteron bought straight from INTRACO TECHNOLOGY( amd dist)
they just send to czone for collection
highland
post May 12 2006, 01:16 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 12 2006, 10:57 AM)
wahh.. nice ehh
so, how far the achievement so far??
not very good,can only hit 2.75.
i believe can go more than that
i guess the mobo limitation( jetway 939gt)

anyway just cameback from ly and oledi bought new dfi board
cfx3200-dr
will set up this weekend and post the result
highland
post May 12 2006, 03:53 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 12 2006, 02:38 PM)
walao wehh.. izzit the crossfire board??

how much u bought it?
maybe out of forum topic so please excuse

rm 930
initially i went to czone to buy new abit an8-32x but change my mind last minute
just want to try dfi
hopefully i will get what i pay for

highland
post May 15 2006, 09:55 AM

21 posts

Attached Image hi there
just 1st round oc with opty 170
prime is still running

just want to ask, is it the temp so high for this speed?
what about the voltage?

i scared to proceed futher due to the temp

highland
post May 15 2006, 11:45 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(diablo69 @ May 15 2006, 11:29 AM)
wow.... 61 degree and 1.52 vcore sweat.gif  sweat.gif ... r u still using stock cooler....
using vantex stingray water cooling kit

the funny thing, my previous mobo never that high ( jetway 939)

in fact the mobo temp at the beginning also high about 46

but after i put back all the fans then it drops ( 9 fans x 12cm)

highland
post May 15 2006, 11:47 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 15 2006, 11:40 AM)
hi there.. may i know wat ur RAMs brand & wat chipset??  laugh.gif
corsair xms c25pt pc 4400 ddr 550
highland
post May 15 2006, 12:02 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 15 2006, 11:53 AM)
wahh.. damn miss that RAMs..  cry.gif
nice ram,
it can run at 295 stable with my last opty 146

highland
post May 15 2006, 12:23 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ May 15 2006, 12:12 PM)
what abt cl2.5 ?  smile.gif
never try to run at cl 2.5 eventhough i think it can do 2.5-2-2-5
coz using samsung tccd chip same chip with expert version
highland
post May 15 2006, 12:43 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ May 15 2006, 12:37 PM)
what do u mean by same chip with expert version?
corsair pc 3200 xlpt
highland
post May 16 2006, 10:18 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(highland @ May 15 2006, 09:55 AM)
Attached Image hi there
just 1st round oc with opty 170
prime is still running

just want to ask, is it the temp so high for this speed?
what about the voltage?

i scared to proceed futher due to the temp

last night push till 2.88
windows load but i cant restart
to load back window i have to shut down and restart
any idea?
but after it load it run stable at 2.88

highland
post May 22 2006, 10:05 AM

21 posts

Attached Image hi
just another question about temp
currently running opty 170 at 2.6 using dfi cfx3200
cpu,vga and chipset on water

but smart guardian shows a high temp for pwmic and chipset
bios also shown the same temp

is it something wrong with sensor or the mobo itself

highland
post May 22 2006, 12:14 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 22 2006, 10:45 AM)
The chipset temp looks kinda high for watercooling. It's normal for the PWM temp to increase when you use a waterblock for the processor because there's no fan to help move the air around the the area.

Are you using an X1900XTX? What's the full load temp with the stock cooler and the waterblock?
using 1900xt crossfire
full load cpu 45,pwmic 73 chipset 58

0.0376sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:35 PM