My plumbing quotation, Do you think it is reasonable?
TSalphayou
Dec 6 2011, 12:52 AM, updated 15y ago

HI Guys Just want you all to see if the below quotation is reasonable. I plan to retile my two bathroom and the plumber came back with the below quotation. Do you think it is reasonable?
1) 1st bathroom -> install water heater tank -> install rain shower with mixer -> hot water piping to my two basins (Johnsson suisse parma 1100)
2) 2nd bathroom -> normal instant shower -> Relocated and Replace pipe to basins
Exclusive of water heaters, faucet and etc.
To supply and running copper piping for rain shower hot and cold water, c/w water tap for washing basin inlet and outlet, hacking, conceal, 20mm, 25mm, 32mm, 40mm UPVC piping copper piping, fitting, pressure testing, and commisioning. Rain shower 1 no 480.00 480.00 Temperature regulated mixing valve 1 no 780.00 780.00 Washing basin inlet ( hot water ) 2 no 650.00 1,300.00 Washing basin inlet 4 nos 180.00 720.00 Washing basin outlet 4 nos 220.00 880.00
Total RM4160 ==========
mav_850
Dec 6 2011, 07:55 AM

ok lah.. thats involve copper pipe.. try nego for lower the price..
wynners22
Dec 6 2011, 08:10 AM
the price is quite high...if u want, u may try my contractor...nice work...pm me if u r interested...
thank you
TSalphayou
Dec 6 2011, 10:43 AM

QUOTE(wynners22 @ Dec 6 2011, 08:10 AM) the price is quite high...if u want, u may try my contractor...nice work...pm me if u r interested... thank you can you pm me the contractor contact? btw i am in Damansara Damai area Added on December 6, 2011, 10:43 amQUOTE(wynners22 @ Dec 6 2011, 08:10 AM) the price is quite high...if u want, u may try my contractor...nice work...pm me if u r interested... thank you can you pm me the contractor contact? btw i am in Damansara Damai area This post has been edited by alphayou: Dec 6 2011, 10:43 AM
kelvyn
Dec 6 2011, 11:12 AM
I would reckon that the price is on the high side. The copper piping required is very short length. Why don't you get a few more quotation for the same scope of work. Then compare.
weikee
Dec 6 2011, 11:59 AM
Always remember cheap does not mean good. But don't get only one quote. Get few more and compare.
phoenix69
Dec 6 2011, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 6 2011, 11:59 AM) Always remember cheap does not mean good. But don't get only one quote. Get few more and compare. I agree. Most important is that you get a good contractor, price is important but secondary, because when the renovation starts, usually many unexpected things will happens and these "unexpected developent" will always have the effect of - "ADD MONEY"
weikee
Dec 6 2011, 02:22 PM
Give you and example.
My plumber and electrician are managed by same boss (but difference contractor). Price wise he is not the cheapest, I would say average price.
When i brought all my lights, and fans. He install all without any additional charges, including open up plaster ceiling.
He use stainless steel angle connector for all the plumbing fitting on taps. Help me put all the toilets accessories like mirror, toilet paper holder, tower, soap holder all no extra charges.
I won't say is best deal, but at least he don't come in ask me money to do this, money to do that, money to add this... bla bla bla.. that make you feel like a water(money) sponge