QUOTE(exkay @ Dec 8 2011, 09:09 PM)
just got into a spending spree for bettas.
Bought about 15 bettas in 3 week's time with some of them belonging to my gf.
being a beginner , i find it very hard to understand all the specific terms that all the sifus are using and what are the difference. if someone would point me to a link for all the HMPK or list it down here with Images, that would be a great help !
btw, plakat and betta, what's the diff?
Added on December 8, 2011, 9:10 pmalso the mask when you guys referring to a betta.. what does it mean ?
When we say HM or HMPK we are refering to its tail typeBought about 15 bettas in 3 week's time with some of them belonging to my gf.
being a beginner , i find it very hard to understand all the specific terms that all the sifus are using and what are the difference. if someone would point me to a link for all the HMPK or list it down here with Images, that would be a great help !
btw, plakat and betta, what's the diff?
Added on December 8, 2011, 9:10 pmalso the mask when you guys referring to a betta.. what does it mean ?
Betta Tail Type
VT- Veiltail
HM- Halfmoon (Longfin wif 180 degree D shaped caudal)
PK/TPK - Plakat / Traditional Plakat (shortfins)
HMPK - Halfmoon Plakat (Short fin with 180degree D shaped caudal)
CT - Crowntail (Longfin with web reductions)
KCT - King Crowntails
CTPK - Crowntail Plakat (Shortfin with web reductions)
OHM/OHMPK - Over Halfmoon/Halfmoon Plakat (Long/shortfin with over 180degree caudal spread)
so far tis are the existing terms for show bettas tail type.. other sifu pls add on if i missed out any
also, when we talk about the masking we are refering to the scale of the fish. Masking is a type of scaling that is very thick and u can see this type of scaling in Black Dragons, Red Dragons, Royal Blue.. tis type of scaling is different from normal betta scaling coz its like a plate of shiny armour that covers the fish body over time
So, when we say the fish has Full Masking it means that the thick scale covers the whole of the betta body, especially the head part
HEre is the comparison between a full mask and a non full mask Black Dragon HMPK (ps: photos belong to lee haur of bettafishmalaysia.blogspot.com)
Non Full Mask HMPK

Full Mask HMPK

This post has been edited by daigoro1990: Dec 9 2011, 08:38 PM
Dec 9 2011, 08:37 PM

0.0494sec