QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Apr 5 2013, 08:51 PM)

Sifu2, this is my first betta.
Been a silent reader for the past weeks.
Got this Spartacus(it's name) for rm10 only at the local fish shop. Hehe
Sila tunjuk ajar
Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v4, Beauty in Ferocity!
Apr 7 2013, 03:06 PM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
May 28 2013, 02:01 AM
Can you guys recommend some places where I can get NICE bettas like these? Anywhere in KL/PJ/SJ
May 28 2013, 06:22 PM
May 28 2013, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(infrasonic @ May 28 2013, 07:11 PM) any of u here using filter? starting to feel lazy changing the water every 1-2 weeks xD You would need around 3-4 weeks to get the filter to cultivate bacteria to break down ammonia waste from your fish how much is it for the cheapest filter system? and also when u guys change water, normally full water change or half? no siphon at home so normally do full water change.. p/s: Isn't changing water every 1-2 weeks really long? |
May 29 2013, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(abesabraham @ May 29 2013, 06:03 PM) Better to use a filter, and cycle first, u can set low water outflow if you're scared ur betta dont like the strong current. I'm thinking on whether to use the aquarium water the betta shops use in the container and add fresh water or just use 100% fresh water from the pipe (with a dechlorinator that removes chlorine and chloramine of course). I'm scared that if I use 100% fresh water, it might shock the fish like you said which is kinda true also.By changing every few days, u stress ur betta a lot. Imagine u settle down in ur home, then once every few days, somebody pour u out and then put water again. And a lot of times ppl do 100% water change, which is very bad. U can shock ur fish and ur fish can die. Its a big nono for aquarium keepers. QUOTE(infrasonic @ May 29 2013, 06:16 PM) so filter only can help a little? The most important is the biological filtration as this would help to cultivate bacteria in your filter that helps break down poisonous ammonia gas released by your fish and the fish poop. This is very very poisonous, the one reason why all my goldfish died last time haha sry didn't know that, just saw it on imgur homepage den post here dy xD any recommendations for filter that i can use for small tank like the one i'm having now? Ammonia---> Nitrites----> Nitrates It would take a month or so for bacteria to be able to break down nitrates fully. WC to remove the nitrates.... QUOTE(abesabraham @ May 29 2013, 06:18 PM) Hmm, im not sure, go to the shop and ask for their smallest filter, Hang on back filter. I have a small tank that I bought that comes with the filter and the filter is tiny. I'm still thinking between HOB vs Internal filter for minimum water flow as I know bettas prefer still water...Btw, any idea how much is a good heater (one with temperature control so I can set it to whatever temp I need)? Might need it because I do use AC in my room This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 29 2013, 06:36 PM |
May 29 2013, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(abesabraham @ May 29 2013, 06:52 PM) Better to use fresh water and dechlorinate, but since you are using less water, you can put tap water in a tub and let it aerate for 24 hours to let chlorine to escape. You can also use declorinator too. Shop water can be diseased, thats why when u bring new fish home, you always gotta acclimate and throw away the shop water. Thanks for the info Usually u can do 20-30% water change, once a week, plus a filter, ur betta will be living in the best condition. Also, if you want less water current, you can fill ur tank water up to the filter outlet brim so it doesnt produce a strong current, or DIY with a plastic cup. For heaters, u can get from ebay for less, but takes about 2-3 weeks from CHina/HK. |
Jun 2 2013, 11:26 PM
Hi, want to ask, is it ok to have a Betta tank with some shrimps?
Jun 3 2013, 02:30 PM
Jun 3 2013, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jun 3 2013, 04:37 PM) I see. Was thinking of getting some of those shrimps so that my tank would have more living things instead of just one fish Maybe I'd go with a few cardinal tetras instead |
Jun 3 2013, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jun 3 2013, 04:43 PM) Try getting bottom feeders instead, and leave the upper swimming space for the betta to avoid aggression. They can be territorial so optimise the swimming column and avoid any other fish that would be a 'threat'. Thanks.You can have shrimp but you need a lot of cover like plants for them to hide and survive. Maybe the bigger shrimps too. Bottom feeders such as shrimps? I'm afraid that my tank is only a 1feet tank, so it's kinda small. I'm thinking of getting a driftwood and some java moss as the hiding spots, I don't think it's adequate right? Something similar to this ![]() I don't know why, I find shrimps kinda cute, they way they graze the plants on the ground like those HC or glosse plants and they way the move. Tiny cute little creatures |
Jun 4 2013, 08:54 PM
Thanks for the input guys. Just got this today, not really what I wanted, not even sure if this is halfmoon or not. The other betta shops do not have Halfmoon and one more shop stock ran out
![]() Empty tank with filter and light for now only. Would be getting some soil, driftwood and moss later on |
Jun 5 2013, 09:32 PM
My betta setup is ready. Now only waiting for java moss
![]() |
Jun 5 2013, 10:13 PM
Btw guys, previously in a totally empty tank I notice my betta isn't showing much of its lovely fins but when I added him into a proper environment like the picture above, it is now showing off more of its fins
Jun 6 2013, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jun 6 2013, 12:44 AM) Btw, the betta food I got was a cheap one, RM4.50. When my betta eats it, it then spits out part of it, and then eat it again, then spit out the rest and didn't bother anymore. I think he only ate like 30-40% of it only |
Jun 6 2013, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(ivan92 @ Jun 6 2013, 04:27 AM) 3 gallons...I think roughly 11 litres or so QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jun 6 2013, 12:30 PM) Ahh I see. Btw, I do know that bettas sometimes will follow our fingers when we point around, but mine don't do that at all. In fact, it's a lil scared, it'll back off when I put my finger near it |
Jun 6 2013, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(abesabraham @ Jun 6 2013, 06:58 PM) Thats cause it is in a new environment, imagine somebody scoop u out and put u into an entirely new place. You'll be confused. Give it a few days and it'll get used to its new surroundings. I guess so. Btw, I read just now that Betta spit their food out and eat them back again is because the food is too hard to chew. Better to soak the food in water for 10 minutes first before feeding And like most animals, different individuals different personalities. You may have some bettas that are super aggressive, or even some that are peaceful. Its a hit and miss thing. Btw, here's a video of my betta This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jun 6 2013, 09:12 PM |
Jun 6 2013, 09:26 PM
Jun 7 2013, 10:34 PM
I just got my new and lovely betta. Will post pictures later.
Now selling my current one, just a few days old bought from a shop. PM me if anyone wants it. Very healthy and well fed |
Jun 7 2013, 11:00 PM
My new betta
![]() |
Jun 8 2013, 10:58 PM
It is highly unfortunate my new betta died just today afternoon and I only got it last night. I can't really think of any reason except for SHOCK.
I did soak the plastic it was in for about 10 minutes to equalize the temperature. The water in the tank was changed regularly everyday prior to me putting the new betta inside, therefore I do not think it's due to high levels of ammonia either. When I put the new betta into the tank already, it was still very active, moving around and all but soon later, it suddenly retreated to the hiding spot and stayed there ever since. It was there for a good few hours, I thought it was just exhausted due to it being quite active moments before and thus, was just resting or idling there (I know those active bettas can be quite tired after using up a lot of energy swimming around with their big fins), so I didn't really bother with it. Woke up today morning to go out, it was still hiding between the rocks. When I got back in the evening, it was dead already. I don't know whether it could be due to disease or what. I got the betta last night when the shop just received new shipment from the supplier, I was the first customer and got the new betta. Not sure if this has anything to do with its death or what. OH MY GOD |
| Change to: | 0.0510sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:13 AM |