My Problem with Malaysian e-Sports, Can't brain it lah

MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 22 2013, 01:29 PM

107 posts

You keep telling yourself you need sc2 in tournaments when there is simply nobody left playing the game, the SEA server is nearly empty and compared to what valve has done to DOTA, blizzard shows that they have absolutely no idea how to run the scene and the scene is general is shrinking,just look at how pathetic WCS was compared to TI3. There is simply no reason to launch a local sc2 tournament when nobody is cares about the game anymore.

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 22 2013, 01:29 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 22 2013, 01:44 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Aug 22 2013, 01:33 PM)
Well I still do. If you realize, the players in SEA that do care, already left and played at American region now. That's why SEA server is mostly empty.
Then you gotta ask yourself why they choose to play at American region instead of SEA, simply put there is simply not enough SEA players left and those that remain all went to the NA server instead. Its obvious that SC2 is not doing well worldwide, it barely gets attention at Korea anymore (when Blizzard so naively think they can out muscle KESPA), NA scene is shrinking even though Europe is still doing okay, DOTA and LoL are much much much more popular in all 3 regions for very good reasons and sponsors are willing to put more money into the other 2 MOBA's instead of the RTS that's struggling.

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 22 2013, 01:45 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 22 2013, 09:52 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Aug 22 2013, 09:00 PM)
Starcraft not doing well worldwide? Then you haven't been following the starcraft world championships. Hundreds of thousands game sessions in europe and america. You can see the stats online when you log in.
And here's some from europe.

Well if you followed Ti3 for Dota 2, there was 1.1 million concurrent viewers for the event during the finals (250k in game, 500k+ on streams and 250k+ on china streams) and that was during WCS. Even Teamliquid's boss was at the event instead of WCS, the WCS stream at that period barely had close to 90k -100k views at the peak period and it averaged at 50k viewers (some LoL streamers get that number of viewers at their peak period) at group stages. Hell even our local cybercafes set up projectors to watch our Malaysian team play in Ti3 and there was HUGE crowd watching outside the Cybercafes. There is also a visible number of empty chairs during the WCS event compared to Ti3 and it was obvious Blizzard expected a way bigger crowd and it fell very very short. The way Blizzard planned the event clearly showed how little they understood how esports worked and both GomTV's Mr. Chae and Teamliquid's boss Nazgul had to agree on the stupidity of putting WCS at the same time with Ti3.

As for Starcraft 2 in Asia, you can forget it ever getting big with other titles far exceeding in popularity. Starcraft 2 has not been in the top 10 most played Korean games for at least 3 years already, League of Legends has basically replaced Broodwar as the most popular video game when Blizzard had the biggest and fattest chance to do it, instead they botched everything by releasing a subpar game with a subpar online service and making enemies with Kespa. At China, Dota and LoL are far far popular and Starcraft 2 never stood a chance in even taking a small market share.

At US, the scene is shrinking so fast its not even funny due to the massive popularity of LoL and the rise of American Dota, even the latest MLG has not included SC2 in their events as both Dota and LoL will easily get 3-10X more views compared to the SC2 stream.

I myself lost interest in the game extremely quickly due to how poorly the multiplayer and Battle.net 2.0 was designed, 99% of my friendlist simply stopped playing after the second month. Even I wondered if they could release a title so bad at launch and hype it so much, how awful would Diablo 3 end up during launch and my god was Diablo 3 was awful.
Link to video interview

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 22 2013, 10:13 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 23 2013, 01:29 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(ravenfire @ Aug 23 2013, 12:27 PM)

You dont like sc2? nobody cares... go away and stop bothering our community then... sc2 multiplayer is fine.. just because you might have been a bronze league scrub doesnt mean its *poorly designed* most of SEA especially malaysians are cheapskates so ofc SEA server is almost empty.. doesnt mean the other servers aren't. Even so sc2 is still one of the best esports. If you like dota or LoL go play them.. nobody is stopping you .. just dont come here and preach about how huge those games are... we all know most of the community there is weak minded and cant control more than 1 thing at a time
EDIT: you might wanna change your display picture... you look f***ing retarded smile.gif
Jeez I was a master league and almost grandmasters player for sometime man, not everybody that disliked the game was necessarily bad at it. It's just funny you guys can say the game is growing when the SEA server is empty as hell......and you are bragging about how LoL and Dota players can't control more than 1 unit lol. Funny thing is the thread creator FXOboss just had his NA squad disbanded.

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 23 2013, 01:37 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 23 2013, 02:06 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 23 2013, 01:49 PM)
note: Josh left FXO like almost year ago in case u dunno  doh.gif

and u have good dota2 teams like Kaipi which got fcked up by Valve in TI3 invites and missed out events from the lack of sponsors...
Blizzard outdid Valve in this regards before everyone worship Valve due to a once in a year tournament while they did nothing for smaller tournaments or even funding teams to survive all year long (especially lesser known teams or new bloods)...
look at the NA dota2 scene and how many offline Dota2 events is there...
know more about the dota2 scene b4 making comments about it geez...

sigh at TI3 bandwagons

Riot > Blizzard > Valve as far as eSport contribution goes...
and don't forget half of the TI3 prize pool were funded by the compendium buyers themselves...
Kaipi is not a good dota 2 team, they don't even have solid rooster and players get replaced over and over again. I never once said the NA Dota scene was big in the 1st place, it barely has offline events compared to Europe and Sea, the interview with erik johnson from valve said they would not bother sponsoring teams and hosting events etc as the community has to do it themselves. And yes I know he left the organisation a year ago.
Cultural elements in Malaysia would always be a problem for Pay to play based gaming. This is of course due to the nature of our national financial status within the global economy. RTS games in general for Malaysia have always been very low due to this and the next reason below.

Moreover, RTS games are by default have a lower base population (competitive wise) due to the nature of the genre itself and the learning curve. The big chunk of players are also more casual which the steep learning curve strongly discourages such players from entering such games.
Team games in general also have better population since its after all a team game. I've probably mentioned this once before but people prefer games with more social elements aka teams.

The games being discussed are different genres entirely. Comparison of quantity should be made within the same class ideally. After that, we can put further discussion to this.

Now I need to get back to work lol. Have a good day
Finally somebody that can make a solid argument without insulting somebody else, I guess you do have a point here.

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 23 2013, 02:07 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 23 2013, 02:48 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 23 2013, 02:24 PM)
Kaipi not a good dota2 team? Seriously?
EternalEnvy was the founder and captain of NTH (winner of Dreamhack as well) which became Alliance (aka winner of TI3), Arteezy is known as the best solo mid in the western scene totally dominating Dendi and S4 while having 400 ping, Bone7 is the best batrider in the west while easily the few offlaners who actually stay offlanes, PieLieDie is the best KotL in the west and at that time it was ComeWithMe known as the best Visage in the west...
heck even S4 gave Envy credits for the strats he came up with..

look at their performance going into the TI3 qualifiers which they were deny to even be in the qualifiers: http://wiki.teamliquid.net/dota2/Kaipi
not to mention the star players which comes from the team to join other well established teams...
they replace their players often cause they kept getting the stick by Valve and not being able to grab sponsors with their latest merger with Qpad failed (and SingSing joined KP)...
Arteezy went back to school and not everyone is EternalEnvy who made a bold choice to quit uni and play fulltime on his own...
u cant have stability without sponsors in the first place...

I can make the same case for some other teams who deserve more but never given the chance to...
compared to what Blizzard and Riot is doing for the smaller scene? Valve did a bad job and how they justify it is just bad...
watch other interviews of pros and commentators which said that TI should be scaled down and help fund the smaller scenes a little...
tell that to Pinoy teams with loads of potential but still suffers from exposure...
heck even Zenith disbanded with IceIceIce saying that eSport is not possible in Singapore, looking to leave Singapore to EU or China lolx...
and here we have people like u worshiping Valve for doing a single good event once a year...
Since when was it Valve's job to fund the entire esport scene for Dota, both Dota allstars and BW survived without Blizzard help and Dota 2 will have to do the same if it wants to succeed. And EternalEnvy was kicked from NTH for a damn good reason as he was generally a jackass and I am pretty sure Alliance would never had won TI3 with him in the team. What Valve is supposed to do is a make a damn polished game and make sure that shine stays and unlike Blizzard that promised their god awful Battle.net 2.0 would be the future of gaming.

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 23 2013, 02:57 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 23 2013, 03:13 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 23 2013, 02:55 PM)
we are talking about KP as a team which u said isn't a good dota2 team...
awaiting ur counter argument still on that cause their results say otherwise :3  notworthy.gif

as for Valve, so since u agree with me; in what way Valve is better than Blizzard comparing what they are doing for Dota2 and SC2 now???
so u think Blizzard should nt bother with SC2 now emulating Valve and just hold a Blizzcon WCS finals without the other WCS???  rclxub.gif
i guess u dun even care that Zenith disbanded rite? i mean comeon, Valve is doing such an awesome job... i mean they even made HYHY quit Dota2 just to play LoL for his better future...

ps: Riot got LoL to be recognized as an official sports and their League as a real sporting league recently... all hail Riot!!!

tldr: stop comparing apple with oranges
They disbanded due to their piss poor performance at Ti3 and even before Ti3 they were not performing for a long long time even before that they barely had sponsors. HYHY left Dota 2 for LoL but yet i don't see him leaving Dota 2 for SC2, ever wonder why, he simply left for the money which was at LoL when no other esports (not even SC2) could pay him to even survive. You act as if rooster swaps are a big thing in the Dota scene when players swap around teams they don't like or due to lack of sponsors for a long long time even before Valve made Dota 2, the scene simply goes on since people are interested in the game.

I despise the WCS because how the event gives me the feeling that how Blizzard tosses tons of cash into it like a machine to boost their game that is going to die due to the lack of interest, the entire event feels plastic, artifical and even robotic. At the rate it is going, I expect SC2 to die out in 3-4 years time unless Blizzard figures how to properly make an event or they actually make a game that is well actually good.

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 23 2013, 03:19 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 23 2013, 03:44 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 23 2013, 03:26 PM)
pretty much, i enjoy both games and participate in both events...
was even in Melbourne's pubstomp when I was over there, was at the BurgerLab Ti3 event, was at the Stashden Barcraft...
i dun see the need to compare or finger point cause the more esport exposure, the better...
what more when the genres are different...
the key is, the exposure is slowly making eSport accepted and recognized especially the recent Riot's effort for the US as a sport...
nope, i suggest u reading about the scene more (for Kaipi's case in the qualifiers) and watch some Ice3 streams to know the situation better about Zenith...
better not talk about things u aren't familiar with  thumbup.gif

u hate wcs? good then jz dun watch it, no1's forcing u and while u hate it; others still love it and have barcrafts going around =)
no1's forcing u to and likewise there isn't a reason for ur mass QQ/ hate over here...
there is something called the 'vocal minority' after all  whistling.gif
i think i've heard about sc2 dying too many times till i am immune of it since like the first year it was out (terran killing sc2, patchzergs killing sc2, slayers killing sc2 etc)...
good that it dies in 3-4 years though cause tat's when sc3 should be coming? provided LotV doesnt take forever...
even if it dies, there's other RTS who will take its place  thumbup.gif

and poor blizzard, trying to improve the scene and they got called artificial plastic lolx... #recycleWCS #saynotoplastic
i'll still enjoy WCS and Blizzcon for sure  thumbup.gif
ps: still awaiting the Kaipi is not a team response... guess i'll never get it before #road2ti4
Yet you act like I don't follow what is happening with Zenith, from the way they performed I was more surprised that they did not disband even before Ti3 from how poorly they played at China. Most of my friends expected them and MUFC to be trashed terribly at Ti3 and that was exactly what happened.

You keep suggesting that kaipi is one of the best European teams in the scene from their results they are merely average.
2013-08-20 1st EIZO Cup #7 2 : 1 TTD €1,250 never heard of TTD before
2013-07-28 1st EIZO Cup #6 2 : 1 iCCup €1,250 ICCUP just disbanded
2013-07-24 2nd The Defense Season 4 1 : 3 Natus Vincere $7,000 Well this 1 is not bad the brackets were hard
2013-07-21 1st Bigpoint Battle #6 2 : 1 Fnatic €1,500 not bad also brackets were way easier though
2013-06-28 2nd EIZO Cup #5 0 : 2 Fnatic.EU €500 decent performance
2013-05-12 2nd Bigpoint Battle #4 1 : 2 mousesports €500 mouz is not a very good team at all
2013-05-05 1st EIZO Cup #3 2 : 0 Absolute Legends €1,250 very easy tournament for them
2013-04-18 1st joinDOTA Open VI 2 : 0 4 Friends + Chrillee $1,000 very easy tournament for them also

If they were at Ti3 they would probably reach top 8 at most
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 23 2013, 08:35 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 23 2013, 07:10 PM)
as i said, read/ watch more before responding -.-"
u are losing credibility by a landslide...

why zenith disbanded?
in ice3's own words was cause xy is going to uk for his studies...
and he also said tat there is nothing being done for the eSport scene locally to justify being full time (he is looking to move to China or EU)...
together with the need for NS, being full time in eSport isn't possible...
unlike LoL or WCS, Dota2 doesnt have a stable consistent tournament schedule...
if even Chinese scene with ACE is commenting on not having enough tournaments in China, this void all ur earlier arguments on how Valve need to do nothing...

as for Kaipi?
you have no freaking idea what you are talking about (as i said, read more about the scene b4 making urself look like a fool)...
they were denied a spot in the QUALIFIERS, not into Ti3 itself...
leading to the Ti3 qualifiers, they were on a hot streak as the most improved team beating all the top western teams including EG, Liquid, Mouz, Dignitas etc (which were Ti3 teams)...
look at the brackets and who they have beaten...
if you wanna justify them as a new team, guess what? QPad was in despite being a 'newer' team lolx...

now let us compare this with what Blizzard is doing for WCS...
any player could join any qualifiers for WCS (NA, EU or KR) of your choice and play the qualifiers online...
if u are top16 in the CodeS, u get flown to the offline event...
tat's where u see China and Aus players in in WCS NA...
now what Valve did with Ti3? Invite a number of teams (include MUFC) and the remaining spots through qualifiers which also based on invited teams...
that's when all the smaller teams getting shafted up down left and right despite them having the talent (Kaipi for example)...

TL;DR:
Compared to what Blizzard is doing with WCS and Valve doing with TI, I would say Blizzard is doing a better job...
People need to know the scene enough before jumping into the bandwagon from watching TI3 ffs...
An once in a year exclusive club fancy event is not suitable to grow the scene besides just being a big marketing hoohaa compared to Blizzard who is actually helping fund and sustain the scene...

Sure Blizzard coulda done better but calling WCS plastic is just  doh.gif
i wonder did u even watch Ti1 to know what a freaking mess Valve did
I don't know why you assumed i said they were denied entrance into TI3 when they were denied into the qualifiers which mouz win, stop assuming I'm retarded. I don't see you complaining when how badly the first WCS was organized when chinese players were disqualified.

This post has been edited by MYNAMEISJASON: Aug 23 2013, 10:49 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post Aug 23 2013, 11:22 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 23 2013, 10:59 PM)
no assumption required when that's how u typed it lolx... looked back at what u type
Don't put words in my mouth, I never said anything about Kaipi other than their level of play. I follow the Dota 2 and LoL scene extremely closely and I don't need people to tell obvious facts that happen.

and you actually call that an audience? Seriously?

Dont worry mate... we aren't assuming that you're retarded.... we already know you are

Well thank you very much.

0.0296sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:53 PM