SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V4, RRP RM2299

moony88
post Dec 1 2011, 02:59 PM

28 posts

is there anyway to send mms without switching on the data network?
moony88
post Dec 4 2011, 01:02 AM

28 posts

hi, anybody care to explain the advantages and disadvantages of;
root only vs root & flashing rom?

and will i be able to use the warranty again if i unroot my phone?

sorry if these questions sound too noob :/
moony88
post Dec 4 2011, 01:35 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Dec 4 2011, 01:17 AM)
look serious... auto brightness problem?
if still happen, send for warranty. If just first day, i think they will allow 1 on 1 exchange
normal... sometime the apps crash on itself  wink.gif  and u just have restart it again. Explanation, not sure. Have to ask developer who created it
root = void warranty. Flashing rom dont say la tongue.gif 

if u dare take the rsik, then go for it
but other user say even if u root, still can claim warranty.
But, they can always void your warranty
thanks but i was trying to figure out what could you not do if you don't flash rom? is root only without cwm sufficient? actually what i meant to say is i don't understand the role of flashing rom.. tried to read up on it for a few days but end up getting confused even more.. too complicated leh :/
moony88
post Dec 4 2011, 01:52 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Dec 4 2011, 01:44 AM)
usually it within one week wink.gif
flashing to new rom, usually want the phone have better performance or better battery life or test new firmware etc etc

cwm usually for rom flasher, if the new rom they flashed fail or they dont like it.  They use cwm to revert back to the rom the originally have. U need to root first then just can install cwm.

Well, do u necessary really need to root? if undecided, try do more research
ahhh.. so flashing rom is for the performance stuff.. actually i want to root not really for the performance sake, but to install apps for rooted phone only.. so if like that means it's enough if i root only without flashing rom?
moony88
post Dec 4 2011, 02:01 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Dec 4 2011, 01:53 AM)
Root Advantage
+ can backup apps you want
+ have privilege in certain apps... some apps use superuser

ROM
+ if you buy new samsung phone, the ROM you use is stock ROM, have touchwiz, ROM like windows we use..

role flashing ROM (use clockworkmod recovery)
+ if you want update you phone manually, like we use windows update manually
+ if you want use any custom ROM, like we use change windows to ubuntu
+ if want to flashing ROM, 1st read carefully and understand what you doing...
dont understand, ASK..but most important is READ first.... because some people like ask like their didnt read anything..
woah! thanks, i think you've clarified most of the big chunk of mess i had in mind!
moony88
post Dec 4 2011, 05:34 PM

28 posts

hi again, i've been trying to root my note since last night but been failing. i'm trying to root only without cwm. i've read and researched about it but still failed.. i've downloaded the v3 zergush root, extracted it into a new folder, opened runme, followed everything as instructed, updated my kies, enabled the usb debugging mode, enabled unknown resources, put my screen timeout to 10 mins, connected the samsung usb cable to the pc but failed.. tried switching off and on and gzillion times but still failed. i cant post to the xda forum as i dont have sufficient privillege to post there so im asking for help here.. all i get when trying to root is this :

---------------------------------------------------------------
Easy rooting toolkit (v3.0)
created by DooMLoRD
using exploit zergRush (Revolutionary Team)
Credits go to all those involved in making this possible!
[*] This script will:
(1) root ur device using latest zergRush exploit (16 Nov)
(2) install Busybox (1.18.4)
(3) install SU files (binary: 3.0.3 and apk: 3.0.6)
[*] Before u begin:
(1) make sure u have installed adb drivers for ur device
(2) enable "USB DEBUGGING"
from (Menu\Settings\Applications\Development)
(3) enable "UNKNOWN SOURCES"
from (Menu\Settings\Applications)
(4) [OPTIONAL] increase screen timeout to 10 minutes
(5) connect USB cable to PHONE and then connect to PC
(6) skip "PC Companion Software" prompt on device
CONFIRM ALL THE ABOVE THEN
Press any key to continue . . .
--- STARTING ----
--- WAITING FOR DEVICE
--- cleaning
--- pushing zergRush"
22 KB/s (23056 bytes in 1.000s)
--- correcting permissions
--- executing zergRush

[**] Zerg rush - Android 2.2/2.3 local root
[**] © 2011 Revolutionary. All rights reserved.

[**] Parts of code from Gingerbreak, © 2010-2011 The Android Exploid Crew.

[+] Found a GingerBread ! 0x0002e118
[+] Found a Samsung, running Samsung mode
[*] Scooting ...
[*] Sleeping a bit (~40s)...
[*] Waking !
[*] Sending 149 zerglings ...
[*] Sleeping a bit (~40s)...
--- WAITING FOR DEVICE TO RECONNECT
if it gets stuck over here for a long time then try:
disconnect usb cable and reconnect it
toggle "USB DEBUGGING" (first disable it then enable it)
--- DEVICE FOUND
--- pushing busybox
2243 KB/s (1075144 bytes in 0.468s)
--- remounting /system
mount: permission denied (are you root?)
--- copying busybox to /system/xbin/
/system/xbin/busybox: cannot open for write: Read-only file system
--- correcting ownership
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
--- installing busybox
/system/xbin/busybox: not found
--- pushing SU binary
failed to copy 'files\su' to '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system
--- correcting ownership
Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
--- correcting symlinks
rm failed for /system/xbin/su, Read-only file system
link failed Read-only file system
--- pushing Superuser app
failed to copy 'files\Superuser.apk' to '/system/app/./Superuser.apk': Read-only
file system
--- cleaning
--- rebooting
ALL DONE!!!
Press any key to continue . . .

pls advise sad.gif
moony88
post Dec 14 2011, 10:55 AM

28 posts

hi, i just realized the note would autoconvert sms to mms if the sms reaches the 4th sms. does anyone how to disable this without using third party app or flashing rom?
beats the purpose of getting thousands of free sms sad.gif
moony88
post Dec 14 2011, 11:10 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 14 2011, 11:01 AM)
Yes this is default feature. Only way is to flash one of those cook rom to have this disabled
that's a weird feature, but thanks for answering. also, i was checking out sygic aura's website for the maps. i noticed there is southeast asia map which retails for 15.99 euro while msia and spore map retails for 19.99 euro. i don't understand why msia n spore map costs more than the other because SEA one also include msia and spore..
moony88
post Dec 18 2011, 06:02 PM

28 posts

my charger also got very faint hissing sound but can only be heard if the room is in complete silence and you literally have to put your ears near the charger to listen to the hissing sound. otherwise the charger works well and doesn't bother me a bit.

0.0344sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:36 AM