Defect rectification -> Renovation -> Move in, Record what happen during the process

TScolinwong86
post Nov 27 2011, 01:49 PM, updated 15y ago

22 posts

Lastly I decide to open this thread to show up the whole process from i buying an subsale unit at Aman Heights. For those want to purchase your dream home, you may taking a look and aware on some problem that you might face to as well. smile.gif

I'm buying a unit at 24th floor, Aman Heights II around Oct due to enviroment around is quiet and greeny. Beside, it's chinese area and now i'm a bit regret on the decision i made to spend 298k to get a unit there.

Milestone of buy my Unit:
1. Choose area you will like to live.
Serdang is still not bad with the price of property around. Beisde, it is chinese area and having most amenities you would like to have.
2. Find your own dream house.
I using iproperty to doing the price survey. Just to notice all guys reading this thread to becareful on property agents since a lot of them keep playing with the price and wash their hand after deal. Besides, some agents i met really having bad attitude, when you see the the property price mark as 280k and contact to him/her(when i contact, i confirm price agains). On same week when you come to view the unit, they will tell you that the unit's price is 300k and no such 280k. They really not profesional and honest enough to provide real information and keep playing with buyer emotion. WTF mad.gif . Do not make your decesion when you cun see clearly on the unit, this is my own mistake that viewing my unit on evening and unit dun hava a lamp pun... When really sign the offer letter and S&P, really detect a lot of defects when i doing checking.
3 Getting Loan.
As many thread commented, you should gettng loan offer before u sign SNP. This will help you to avoid a lot trouble like cun get 90% of loan which valuation price equal to market price as well. State in offer letter that if cun loan 90% to market price then cancel the deal with booking fee refunded (for those dun have budget constraints can ignore lahhh biggrin.gif).
4. Legal procedure and defect retification. i'm here now
Firstly i sign my 1st offer letter for a nice unit at 290k and the property agent tell me the owner dun want to sign the offer letter(he give me reason but i dun 100% buy lohh...try to ask signature of owner in offer letter 1st before you sign, at least you can know owner is agreed with the price, not agent playing something with you). Since i pass the 3% booking fee to him ald and i sign for second offer letter with him also. I use the lawyer he recommended to do S&P and Loan Agreement and for me the lawyer is quite good and Legal fee is reasonable (RM3420+50% discounted stamp duty RM2480). At least my SNP is 27 pages and the contract protect me in defect rectification.

Currently i'm waiting (two months already) developer to come out with confirmation letter(my lawyer cun do anything before getting letter) and i believe developer will only come out with the confirmation letter after the defects being retified. This look good for me since i have more time prepare 'bullets' for my renovation so i just wait icon_rolleyes.gif.(Afterthis i will post up the image of the defects and hope anyone can recommend what else should i take a detail checking.

This post has been edited by colinwong86: Nov 27 2011, 02:27 PM
TScolinwong86
post Nov 27 2011, 02:29 PM

22 posts

4. Renovation plan
------In Progress-----
Hood and Hob Ordered from Builders Hardware(Thanks yahh). Good Price offered, must take a look:

Some tile sample for concrete kitchen table top and wall. Do comment which one is better yah... your comment effect my decision tongue.gif

Kitchen wall tile:

Ordered in PWTC fair, RM580 brand: Piranha

[img][/img]

TScolinwong86
post Nov 27 2011, 02:30 PM

22 posts

Defect Photo:

This post has been edited by colinwong86: Nov 27 2011, 04:13 PM
TScolinwong86
post Nov 27 2011, 02:32 PM

22 posts

This post has been edited by colinwong86: Nov 27 2011, 04:19 PM
TScolinwong86
post Nov 27 2011, 02:32 PM

22 posts

5. Moving In
------Still very far-----

Please do recomend(PM me contact please icon_question.gif ) some reliable contractor & good workmanship with reasonable price. TQ very much yahh...^.^

This post has been edited by colinwong86: Nov 27 2011, 04:26 PM
vectorian
post Nov 27 2011, 03:08 PM

377 posts

Nice share Colin... good to read where new owners like us can get items for renovation.

Btw I also nearly bought Aman Heights III smile.gif
kh8668
post Nov 27 2011, 03:09 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

the sink i bought Fomtano cost me about 800

TScolinwong86
post Nov 27 2011, 03:46 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Nov 27 2011, 03:09 PM)
the sink i bought Fomtano cost me about 800
Nice wohhh.... when i get mine, i'm worry that do the tile able to cut nice curve...^^
Life_House
post Nov 28 2011, 01:23 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(colinwong86 @ Nov 27 2011, 02:29 PM)
4. Renovation plan   

i think for the similar series of tiles like in the pic, u could probably save a great whole lot of $$$ if u spend some time walk around those tile shops in jln Ipoh .. especially in this year end season..

TScolinwong86
post Nov 28 2011, 10:41 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Life_House @ Nov 28 2011, 01:23 AM)
i think for the similar series of tiles like in the pic, u could probably save a great whole lot of $$$ if u spend some time walk around those tile shops in jln Ipoh .. especially in this year end season..
yup, currently juz taking sample and not yet finding best price. Life_House, can you please provide me the exact address so that i can having a look. Thanks thumbup.gif
leeyung
post Nov 30 2011, 01:14 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

woo colinwong86, hw long is ur house built? felt sakit hati when saw the defects sad.gif
TScolinwong86
post Nov 30 2011, 02:29 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 30 2011, 01:14 PM)
woo colinwong86, hw long is ur house built? felt sakit hati when saw the defects sad.gif
This is a subsale unit which till in developer warranty. Previous owner getting key on June 2011. Luckily my SNP with owner state clearly all defect issued must be rectify else i can use my own contractor to do the rectification and claim back to owner. Plan to change all the tile in utilities room, kicthen and kitchen to poceclain. All others must be done by the owner.... brows.gif the current owner is more worry than me. I ald cover kitchen and medium room floor jo. If he dun do his job well the claim back Kau kau

kucingfight
post Nov 30 2011, 04:32 PM

5,784 posts

Congrats on the purchase of your new home. I know the anticipation of renovating and shifting in (if the budget allows)

I see, your are in favour of black concrete tops, which happens to be my taste too.

There are quite a few texture, polished, honed, lappato, matt etc. usually for kitchen, polished/lappato/matt

Personally, having used and seen polished tile top, i would not recommend it as it is harder to maintain the surface (watermarks/oilmarks) . Even the so called anti stain is just a gimmick, and i don buy it. Overtime, polished surface will wear off and scratches are visible. Therefore, i recommend using matt/lappato surface, which i chose for my new top.

For top, it's best to go for full body homogeneous tile, meaning when u grind/chip off the edges, it is still 1 whole piece of color top to bottom. From my experience, if your going for matt surface, it's quite hard to find such tiles (and off course the price ur willing to spend on) compared to polished. For breakfast table i went for feruni MC85. RM30/piece. Even for feruni/niro, it's tough to find full body tiles

All the best in your renovation journey, it's a PITA but when planned & executed properly, it is rewarding and satisfying

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Nov 30 2011, 04:34 PM
Melody 101
post Dec 2 2011, 10:36 PM

Hi, going to renovate a unit at Aman Height Condo, still waiting for the defect work to hand over to owner, the defect is the rain water leak direct from wall into masterbedroom.
TScolinwong86
post Dec 4 2011, 12:37 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Melody 101 @ Dec 2 2011, 10:36 PM)
Hi, going to renovate a unit at Aman Height Condo, still waiting for the defect work to hand over to owner, the defect is the rain water leak direct from wall into masterbedroom.
Hi Melody 101,

May i know do the defect fixed well?? Quite worry with the quality of the rectification. Do your unit have any others similar defect as me??

Life_House
post Dec 4 2011, 02:11 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(colinwong86 @ Nov 28 2011, 10:41 AM)
yup, currently juz taking sample and not yet finding best price. Life_House, can you please provide me the exact address so that i can having a look. Thanks thumbup.gif
try visit website of Super Ceramic ..

http://www.superceramic.com.my/showroom.html

And when u go there, u would see a couple of other shops selling tiles as well.
In fact along that street not only u can find tile stores, u can also get much cheaper electrical appliances, bath room appliances, kitchen appliances etc in that area 'koz during seasons like now there're usually big sales going on.

Lili99
post Dec 5 2011, 05:56 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(colinwong86 @ Dec 4 2011, 12:37 AM)
Hi Melody 101,

May i know do the defect fixed well?? Quite worry with the quality of the rectification. Do your unit have any others similar defect as me??
Hi colin, this is my clients's unit at 22nd floor, he is now waiting for developer to hand over the defect works to him since 3 months ago after the complaint, what i understand from him this leak is the worst part.
TScolinwong86
post Dec 6 2011, 12:52 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Lili99 @ Dec 5 2011, 05:56 PM)
Hi colin, this is my clients's unit at 22nd floor, he is now waiting for developer to hand over the defect works to him since 3 months ago after the complaint, what i understand from him this leak is the worst part.
yup, anyway i hope everything going well. ^^

0.0171sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:53 AM