RitzyHoke
post Dec 2 2011, 10:07 PM

575 posts

- My Rig: iPhone 4/PC (lol)
- Type of usage: music biggrin.gif
- File format: mp3/m4a
- Music genre: er ... pop ... ? acoustics? rock? mainstream stuff I guess.
- Budget: 200+? Feel free to recommend anything above that budget though, since I don't really know what price should I start with for this 'hobby', lol.
- Headphone/ earphone type: Headphone. Circumaural.
- Other requirements (if any): Best if the headphones feel 'solid' ...

My friend bought a pair of M50's as his very first pair of good headphones ... but considering that it's for monitoring ... I doubt I'll be able to appreciate that level of sound quality. They look sexy though. Very, sexy. Actually thought of testing them out ... but I may just get poisoned.

Also, looking for a pair of cheap and decent in ears. My experience with in ears wasn't really good ... never liked them at all. Thought of giving them another try, probably with something under 100? Any recommendations?

Oh, and is there anything that can be done with the 'body' of the headphone jack? The case for my phone has a very narrow slot for headphones ... and the body of my HD 201 (broken here and there) can't fit unless I remove the case.

Oh ... one last thing. I see most headphone reviews talk about high, mids and lows. Though I can imagine what they mean ... but I don't really know for sure. Any explanation or a good article for me to read up would be good biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RitzyHoke: Dec 2 2011, 10:08 PM
RitzyHoke
post Dec 3 2011, 01:09 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Dec 2 2011, 11:07 PM)
the M50s are not really flat monitoring headphones, they do pack a good bass punch.

nothing beats sitting down and actually listening to iems and headphones. go to jaben or a meet where you can meet and listen to other headphones and you will get an idea of what are the mids, highs and lows.

a good all rounder musical iem would be the DUNU Trident, but its slightly over your budget.
recommended headphones?

RitzyHoke
post Dec 3 2011, 12:29 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(MrAvatar @ Dec 3 2011, 01:58 AM)
M50 is one of the best la  tongue.gif
Not cheap leh ... twl

RitzyHoke
post Dec 10 2011, 06:00 PM

575 posts

- My Rig: iPhone 4
- Type of usage: music
- File format: mp3/m4a
- Music genre: all kinds ...
- Budget: 200
- Headphone/ earphone type: in-ear
- Other requirements (if any): has decent-looking design xD

give me a list of iems around that price that you would recommend (even better with your own comments on it) and i'll do some research ... just don't know where to start from.

ps. I don't really need emphasis on bass ... clarity would be better for me

This post has been edited by RitzyHoke: Dec 10 2011, 06:00 PM
RitzyHoke
post Dec 11 2011, 10:13 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(H3llAng3l @ Dec 11 2011, 12:30 AM)
please recommend me some suggestion on my post at page 14
Not experienced with headphones compared to other members around here, but I had no regrets with my Senn HD201 biggrin.gif (slightly more than 100)

Added on December 11, 2011, 10:19 am
QUOTE(hongrui @ Dec 10 2011, 11:35 PM)
DUNU Trident is within your budget. however it has abit more bass,  but clarity is definitely there. If you can stretch your budget, DUNU Ares would be ideal for you.
How about Crius?

Added on December 11, 2011, 12:59 pmA151 sounds interesting ... but can anyone tell me what's good about balanced armatures? Can't really picture the difference of a BA with a pair of normal dynamic/bass-heavy/high clarity IEMs ...

This post has been edited by RitzyHoke: Dec 11 2011, 12:59 PM
RitzyHoke
post Dec 11 2011, 02:02 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Dec 11 2011, 01:32 PM)
They are both the same in principle, in that both manipulates a membrane or a drum(vibrating them) to make sound waves. However, for a balanced armature, instead of having the magnetic assembly attached rather directly to the drum/membrane there is an arm (the armature) that does the vibrating of the membrane/drum.

The armature construction generally allows for a faster attack (it reacts quickly to frequency changes) than a heavier dynamic construction, but does not move air as much as a dynamic (less bass feel) and cannot go to higher and lower extremes (less freq range than dynamics, or does not behave as well at both ends of the extreme frequencies). Though SQ is supposedly better, it has more accurate production of sound, very good in the mids and less smearing of sounds (happens when there are many sounds playing at different frequencies at the same time or the transition is fast and the music is busy). BAs are also very critical when it comes to seal.

Choose which sound you like. After having tried both types which perform similarly, I have chosen one which suits me best (I'm not gonna tell you, afraid it might cloud your judgement.  laugh.gif  ).
Which ones u tested for comparison?
RitzyHoke
post Dec 12 2011, 02:08 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Axe93 @ Dec 12 2011, 09:49 AM)
Recently,just upgraded my headphone from Sennheiser HD201 to Audio Technica ES7.I think it is my best decision on buying headphone so far,though my real target is its bigger brother,the ESW9.Maybe next time,but to be honest,the Audio Technica vocal signature is the best one for me,maybe listening too much JPop?Got great price for them too,bought it at Jaben Store during recent PCFair.What impressed me the most is how different its sound(maybe my brain?) after 100hrs+ burn in.Its like it couldn't stop getting better each day passed.Never once I think I made a bad choice,though the comfort is really a bit turn off.Though its increase after done a little headband bending mod and leave it to my bear wearing them at night to increase the comfort.Maybe because I am wearing glasses and the supra aural design just a bit irritating to me.Nevertheless,it is the perfect headphone for me,except the comfort,which I am still trying to improve on.  biggrin.gif
Just curious, why didn't you get the M50 instead? Considering that a lot of people recommend it and it isn't a lot more expensive than the ES7. Currently using HD201 as well ... as much as I love to own a pair of M50s (been using my friend's) ... I don't feel the desire to upgrade. Something wrong with me? :/
RitzyHoke
post Mar 7 2012, 08:38 PM

575 posts

- My Rig: iPhone 4, pc
- Type of usage: music. movies too
- File format: mp3, m4a?
- Music genre: mainstream except for hip hop, rap, metal, electro (?)
- Budget: 300~350
- Headphone/ earphone type: circumaural headphones
RitzyHoke
post Mar 24 2012, 04:58 PM

575 posts

What's the most expensive pair of headphones that can perform well without an amp? Rich cousin wants a pair ... haha
RitzyHoke
post Mar 24 2012, 08:57 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(lincm @ Mar 24 2012, 05:52 PM)
Denon D7000 can be driven considerably well without amp smile.gif Good bass like cinema speakers with clarity. Better with a good dac.

Poison your cousin to slowly get an amp for it. Then maybe I can recommend him something under my sleeve tongue.gif

Other than that, depending on how expensive he meant, right? A few thousand is expensive for some, while others not... Else Audio Technica's W series also nice.
I myself can't afford an amp so I don't know how can I possibly poison him xD
Like every person that isn't into the audio world, he has only heard of Beats
He tried my Shure SRH440's the other day and was interested in getting a pair himself
He isn't exactly tech savvy and I doubt he will become a full fledged audiophile, that's the reason why I only consider introducing to him headphones that don't require amps.

not exactly sure how much is he willing to spend ... but judging from the way he spend ... heh

then if he buys something like Denon D700 ... I will be able to use them wub.gif
RitzyHoke
post Jul 11 2012, 07:37 PM

575 posts

- My Rig: iPhone 4
- Type of usage: hands free, maybe music
- File format: mp3
- Music genre: mando pop?
- Budget: 150 and below
- Headphone/ earphone type: earbuds only
- Other requirements (if any): basically same as apple's stock earbuds (i.e. with microphone) but some other brand?

Posting this for my friend, because she wanted to buy another set of apple's earbuds but I was wondering whether are there other alternatives?
RitzyHoke
post Jul 12 2012, 12:26 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Nonilim @ Jul 12 2012, 12:05 PM)
I heard the Klipsch s4i is

http://reviews.cnet.com/headphones/klipsch...7-33577358.html very good for sports. And if has a firm hold on your ears too!

Added on July 12, 2012, 12:06 pm
T jays or Klipsch s3, can give it a try! got demo in Epi Centre
but she wants earbuds @@
RitzyHoke
post Jul 12 2012, 02:18 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jul 12 2012, 12:54 PM)
Hows about a HiSoundAudio PAA-1 Pro? Search for it in Trade zone. Only very slightly higher than what you ask for in price, but praised for its bass quantity and quality amongst earbuds of its price.
Thanks smile.gif
But are there any alternatives that could double as a hands-free?

0.0448sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:53 AM