SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V2, A Wonder, A Galaxy S+ in disguise

Rolland
post Dec 20 2011, 09:23 PM

214 posts

Hi, guys. Add me pls..New Users..Just swap HD7 with this. Both are also nice phone. Now i try to connect the phone using USB to my PC. It shows unable to install USB driver for it. Anyone encounter this problem before? HELP
Rolland
post Dec 20 2011, 10:38 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Dec 20 2011, 09:29 PM)
install samsung kies or download the usb drivers http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=961956
Thanks for the help. Really appreciates it. I saw from review, there is social hub, game hub etc on the galaxy W..but i can't find it on my phone. Do i need my friend to transfer his ownership then only i can use this function?

thanks again for replying notworthy.gif
Rolland
post Dec 20 2011, 11:22 PM

214 posts

Yikes..the phone do have superuser rights..don't think it has been flash to custom rom , just it has been rooted. Weird... i m not sure if i reset the phone, will i still be able to cover under the samsung warranty cause the phone is register under his name for the warranty..scratching my head here
Rolland
post Dec 21 2011, 10:04 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(jayro_88 @ Dec 21 2011, 01:32 AM)
Factory reset your phone will not unroot your phone. It is still voiding your warranty.

Another way to check whether your phone is rooted out not is by using a terminal app in market.

Added on December 21, 2011, 1:34 am
Offers for 24 months contact
Thanks for the answer smile.gif...i am screw now >.<, voiding the warranty and no samsung game hub for all those free gameloft game. But it is weird, anyone try rooting the phone and found the samsung apps shortcut missing? and all the social hub, music hub and game hub missing all together? Last i rooted my LG optimus one, doesn't have this problem. weird that the rooting process for galaxy W is entirely different cry.gif
Rolland
post Dec 21 2011, 11:41 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 21 2011, 11:08 PM)
someone rooted your phone and removed all the samsung apps. i removed all those stuff too. there are ways to reflash with odin to restore all apps
Thanks for the reply bro smile.gif..wow the super user function is powerful for galaxy W, can't remove preinstall apps last time when i rooted my LG optimus one ( that's another topic )..how do we flash odin? btw, why do u removed those samsung apps? i though can get official free game from gameloft ( samsung paid for those ? ).

Btw, i am from Penang too, hehe, just exchange my HD7 with this Galaxy W, nice guy smile.gif..no complain about rooting the phone...But i like to play game...gameloft game tongue.gif
Rolland
post Dec 22 2011, 12:27 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Dec 22 2011, 12:02 AM)
We bought Androids for a reason, P_Rated stuff!

Kesian those 4S, iPads2 dudes... The device itself already very expensive, still need to fork out money for apps doh.gif
Ah ~ now i get it, they are copying windows phone style, trial play, need pay if ask for more. What the, my friend told me he can get spiderman HD free from samsung apps which lets me want to swap out my HD7..now i start to miss my HD7 tongue.gif ...anyway W is still a great phone ~ FTW ( but it disable the live wallpaper, now i can't have SNSD Yuri wiping my screen...awww man, samsung touch wiz potong stim betoi tongue.gif)
Rolland
post Dec 22 2011, 09:41 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 22 2011, 01:34 PM)
haha. Icic. I also no trust apk outside, especially china 1. but I try look into the permission 1st lo,
some like read and send msg ah, sure won't install.
somemore I don't use phone for e-banking and is prepaid card,
and no money transcation done by phone, so shouldn't be problem.
normally use computer for e-banking, so no worry.
good luck and enjoy.

*btw, just reboot my phone, the media scanner no problem liao. XDDD
rclxms.gif hahahahha happy  ~
=,=" false, can use la. live wallpaper can.
multipicture live wallpaper? mean will auto change wallpaper?
android market got apps for that I think.
live wallpaper eat ram and battery la.
if wan see multipic, use picture frame, SGW got inside.
it constant change photo you select for it, its a widget can place on screen.
and yes, live wallpaper can use, I got the Season Zen live wallpaper.
Hi, may i know how do we use live wallpaper? been holding the screen and doesn't see any live wallpaper option >.<
Rolland
post Dec 22 2011, 09:59 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(mooney @ Dec 22 2011, 09:50 PM)
I think you need the app for it.. tongue.gif
Yup, but what apps? i install multiple picture wallpaper and the Yuri Wipe Glass live wallpaper, just unable to choose it when holding the screen..doesn't seem there is a live wallpaper option other than gallery or phone gallery. rclxub.gif
Rolland
post Dec 23 2011, 10:17 PM

214 posts

Hey, guys..anyone encounter this before? i am downloading let's golf 3 from market since it is free, but the gameloft msg pop up say need to download a 103MB data file and my memory is full, but i still have 690MB in the phone memory and 5.9GB in my memory card. Do we really need to patch all gameloft game?
Rolland
post Dec 24 2011, 12:48 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 23 2011, 10:40 PM)
How much internal memory you still have? Go to Setting, Storage, you should see 3 type of memory:

1. SD Card - 5.9GB
2. USB Storage - 690MB (?)
3. Device memory - ?

If you Device memory is low, try go to Setting, Manage App, and move some App into SD card.

You can avoid problem like this if you chose to install any app to external sd card by default:

If you have Android SDK:

CODE
adb shell pm setInstallLocation 2

If not, just download a Terminal emulator and type:

CODE
pm setInstallLocation 2

Thanks for the reply, Mr cowithgun

I have try install terminal emulator, key in the command stated by it show access denied. i m pretty sure the phone is rooted with superuser access and install battery calibration which is working like wonder. Did i type it incorrectly? is there a space after location rite? set is stick with installlocation?

0.0481sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:50 PM