SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V2, A Wonder, A Galaxy S+ in disguise

CAC@MBO
post Dec 2 2011, 11:08 AM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(patdidi @ Dec 2 2011, 10:53 AM)
Is there any option to change the keyboard layout in SGW similar to below picture? I'm already used to type using T9 prediction, much faster for me. he..he..
press the setting key, then portrait keypad type , select 3x4 pad.

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Dec 2 2011, 10:56 AM)
how to take screen shot one???
press power and home button at the same time.
CAC@MBO
post Dec 2 2011, 11:15 AM

1,461 posts

long time didn't comment here and see the thread has come to V2. haha. Great. Tonight or tomorrow I will make a video on Galaxy W and put on youtube. Will share here after I did it. =D
hope to ask more people to join the Wonder Family.
It is a wonderful great phone with attractive price. =D
CAC@MBO
post Dec 2 2011, 11:29 AM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 2 2011, 11:23 AM)
Will you be talking in the video? tongue.gif
of course won't. Phone is the main character. haha. tongue.gif
CAC@MBO
post Dec 2 2011, 11:51 AM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(llJasell @ Dec 2 2011, 11:31 AM)
My battery is still showing 99% from 4.30pm yesterday till now in standby mode.
Before this it usually consume 4-6%/12 hours.
Does this means the battery will reach an optimum state after several times of charging???  hmm.gif Hmm... hmm.gif
You sure? I use BAttery Monitor Widget Pro 1.9.6.
Sometime it don't really "update" the %. when see is 80% on the widget, but when I click in it become 79 or less than 80% of figure. kinda "slow update" on widget about the battery state.
Tonight will install BAttery Monitor Widget Pro 2.0.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 2 2011, 11:47 AM)
hahaha you're right tongue.gif

Btw, I don't like Samsung's layout of the text messaging page at all.

http://www.gsmarena.com/showpic.php3?sImg=...ew=597&idPage=7

I kinda like this type:

http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/reviewsimg/nokia...smarena_022.jpg
Use GO SMS PRO. I just install yesterday. and The themes is beautiful.
you can even find nokia or iphone themes. Look alike and beautiful.
just wait for the video I'll show you. haha biggrin.gif
CAC@MBO
post Dec 2 2011, 12:12 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(llJasell @ Dec 2 2011, 11:57 AM)
I don't use widget. I only use battery state code. Just key in "*#0228#"...
Then I have no idea. Sometime its just delay update to the battery status that we saw.
If no big difference its ok 1.

for your case. you might got a extra great battery, since never decrease. biggrin.gif lol
CAC@MBO
post Dec 2 2011, 03:30 PM

1,461 posts

Gain Superuser to modify system files and install certain apps that will modify system files. System = android system.

with root you can delete those useless bloatware, prevent them auto restart when you task kill them. totally change icon, apps and system stuff.

but I don't root my SGW cause no need so many stuff. lol.
somemore I'm not pro in system. haha
CAC@MBO
post Dec 5 2011, 04:48 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(KTChu2001 @ Dec 5 2011, 03:17 PM)
New W user here. Can anyone advise how to change Files Storage Location to External SD memory when taking photo or video ? The Storage Loc Icon seems not selectable on the Camera screen ?
shocking.gif Oh god. zz
just click camera. then when in camera or video mode, click the setting, then scroll to the bottom, 2nd last is the storage choice. click memory card. If not working then you have to go back the place where you buy the phone.

*make sure you have memory card inside. zzzZ
CAC@MBO
post Dec 5 2011, 05:15 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 5 2011, 05:06 PM)
A MUCH better approach by CAC@MBO:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47227561

Paishe, I also didn't know that.  doh.gif
haha. no man. cause you too pro and too advance. rclxms.gif haha
about your way is totally out of my idea ><. only pro know your way man.
CAC@MBO
post Dec 5 2011, 05:20 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(KTChu2001 @ Dec 5 2011, 05:18 PM)
TQ ! THere's no "Memory Card" in the Settings List... 2nd last is Exposure Value and Last is Focus mode... The "memory Card" option missing  ??? When I pressed Settings for long time, the shortcut will appear will many icons, there's one "storage", but I can't change it.
oh man. Please scroll down.
when you click setting, then you saw last is focus mode? then scroll down.
Scroll down .... >,< 滑下去 ~
scroll down ... scroll down ... scroll down ...
until bottom, 2nd last is storage. >,<
please try it.

This post has been edited by CAC@MBO: Dec 5 2011, 05:21 PM
CAC@MBO
post Dec 6 2011, 12:05 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Dec 6 2011, 11:11 AM)
Did you notice the users who post most here are the ones who don't own the phone?  Just an observation...
Agree.

and I do not think manufacture in Korea and finish in China indicate fake.
My Battery also is finish in China. But phone is not.
and now a day many phone's accessories are finish in china 1.
As if finish in Korea mean good? Never "rosak"? or at least better?
Its actually depend on the QC and the "fail rate"/"wastage report".
they even use the same machine to produce in China just different country as lower production cost to hire people in China.

So? As long your SME inside system match the sticker behind and get the SEP sms warranty from Samsung Malaysia. Then that's mean ORI phone.

Even fully manufacture in Korea also got some/minor unit got problems.
Some AP phone even last better and longer than ORI phone.So is see your luck.
as long as phone is ORI, battery finish in China the phone also ori pun.
Only if you take finish in China as fake/AP. Then that's in your mind. Your Choice.

If ORI Samsung phones in malaysia all phones are ori make in korea but battery is finish in china,
I don't think you can find fully make in korea (include battery) one in malaysia.

Good Luck to you.

CAC@MBO
post Dec 6 2011, 02:01 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Dec 6 2011, 01:49 PM)
That is true. What is a person's personal perception is different from the real facts. Altho china is the biggest manufacturer for fake stuffs, most of our stuffs are made in china. My n8 previously made in china oso. Nokia warranty.. no prob at al. Problem?

Ap set stands for approved permit. If its fake, they would havr another name to it. Just happens that phone dealers dare to mess with ap cos it doesn't have original warranty. So pls, mindset is not equivalent to the real facts.
Ya. and @ngkhanmein, I never said I can't accept.
It's your own opinion but just worry it might mislead other people.
Some people might interpret your statement wrongly and misunderstood.
As opinion is different with fact.
That's all. Don't so angry. >,<
CAC@MBO
post Dec 6 2011, 02:14 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Dec 6 2011, 02:12 PM)
+1. Iphones are also fake cos they're made in China by foxconn.
+2. Ipad 2 also made in China. 1 of the facts that cause unemployment problem in US. (additional fact. tongue.gif )
CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 08:34 AM

1,461 posts

LOL. Saw many questions and answers which are so ... well.

Hope my answer can help. Lazy to Quote again.

1- For 16GB microSD and 32GB micro SD, it does not cause lag if it's in the same class. Or technically slower in showing files and content. But comes to extracting, reading and writing, it's the same.
As after media scanning, it keep the cache file in reading. When loading content (in file manager),
what people say lag it's actually 32GB have more files to load (perharps 1-5secs if full 16GB and 32GB is used), but comes to read and write (capture pic, watch hd video, playing apps and games),the phone choose the content that you click and read and write in at the speed of the class of your micro SD.it still the same speed as 16GB as long it's the same class.
Except you compare different class of microSD.

2- HD GAMES in SD card. = You can play those HD GAmes, as when you play those games, android system will automatic turn off other "non-current-using" apps such as laucher and others, in order to get enough ram for your games. after you finish the games, it automatic regain back ram, and will extract back those apps such as laucher and etc. So for Gameloft HD games, it's playable. For myself, i got several games. See photo I attach below.

Additional information,
You must bear in mind that new phone from Samsung and LG offer 3 layers memory for phone which is internal memory, internal SD (/mnt/sdcard) and external SD (/mnt/sdcard/external_sd).
where other or old phone have 2 layers which is internal memory and external SD (/mnt/sdcard).

when download gameloft games, data file is save at default directory ( /mnt/sdcard/),
it is save to external sd card for 2 layers memory phone but comes to 3 layers phones (SGS,SGS2 and SGW),
it save to internal sd, so only 2GB can use for games. ( For us the SGW users)

must root to use 3rd party apps to mount or patch ur games apk file (change the default data directory save to mnt/sdcard/external_sd) only can move data files to external sd in SGW.
bear in mind. >,<

(I think this should include to the detail of the phones in top post, some people might don't know about this information.) ( Repeat this for 3rd times) LOLZ shakehead.gif

3 - No matter what laucher you use, when too many content and background services, it still cause lag or slowdown. It's normal in android. I got laucher 7, icecream laucher and twlaucher, switch to any other for fun.
and sometimes it lag after you play HD games or some apps that ate many ram.
so have to wait, and clear ram and also kill some background tasks.

I got 56 games, 20 HD games (actually just big files games and some gameloft games), and some add-on widgets and it slightly lag after games.

I just make a flick account and upload some screenshot.
Hope you guys can see it.

*btw, sorry that I can't make a video about SGW yet, as my bad "aunty" don't want borrow me her BRAND NEW camera. lolz.

SC20111207-081013 by andrew_wang916, on Flickr

SC20111207-081005 by andrew_wang916, on Flickr

SC20111119-212033 by andrew_wang916, on Flickr

SC20111119-211959 by andrew_wang916, on Flickr

Just Sharing. ;D and not showoff. ( a bit la. biggrin.gif ) haha
And if install too many files, might have some slightly lag when play games too long,
or finish a apps or games. need to wait it to load back your laucher and other setting.

This post has been edited by CAC@MBO: Dec 7 2011, 09:59 AM
CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 09:50 AM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(psYCHopath @ Dec 7 2011, 09:36 AM)
mind to guide us how to do this? notworthy.gif
Eh. This 1 we talk about it in Thread v1 dy.
and not allow to discuss about crack file. Well,
I patch my apk files. (only gameloft files works)
to patch, google search "patch gameloft apk file", and download Samsung 1,
As got LG and Samsung 2 version.
@Cow use mount ( require root) , and this 1 I don't know.

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Dec 7 2011, 09:39 AM)
did u swap your sdcard with usb storage?
nope. cry.gif internal and sd left 200mb and 300 mb nia.
Where my external sd got more left. (16GB), and use to keep gameloft data files.
even apps2sd for those small games, it's actually move to internal SD,
so it's sxxk. only gameloft files I able to patch and data all in external sd.

If anyone have better recommmendation of software better than app2sd which actually "apps 2 external sd",
please share. smile.gif Thanks in advance.
CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 10:00 AM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 7 2011, 09:56 AM)
so many apps.. did u really buy those games? hmm
most are free. biggrin.gif

Added on December 7, 2011, 10:02 amBtw, there are very little games from gameloft offer to SGW now.
So have to wait for longer times for those latest games ( such as backstab and shadow guardian). T_T so wanted to play.

Added on December 7, 2011, 10:07 am
QUOTE(bsvanan @ Dec 6 2011, 06:09 PM)
in browser, go to Menu>more>settings>auto fit to screen

this will help.

Added on December 6, 2011, 6:10 pm

tQ...

jz a tech questn, can i replace the 512mb memory chip to a 1GB chip ?
Wow. Is this really capable to do it?
I wish to change the ram to 1GB too. tongue.gif haha

This post has been edited by CAC@MBO: Dec 7 2011, 10:07 AM
CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 10:11 AM

1,461 posts

it's actually active your sms services, call services and etc.
I think.

correct me if I'm wrong.

Like Go sms PRO, it's a messaging apps so it also have this "Services that cost you money (directly call phone numbers, send messages)".

try wait others reply see how. wink.gif

This post has been edited by CAC@MBO: Dec 7 2011, 10:11 AM
CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 12:23 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(nic_doggy @ Dec 7 2011, 11:36 AM)
A Speed up your gps APK SHARE TO U GUYS !!! cool2.gif

A MUST HAVE IN OUR ANDROID PHONE!!!! brows.gif  brows.gif
IT UNLOCK THE GPS SUPER FAST !!!! DAMN!!! I THINK JUST WITHIN 10S SOMETHINGS!!!
BTW, IM USING SYGIC GPS!!!  drool.gif
IF U GUYS TESTED OK THEN I THINK SHOULD PUT IT TO THE 1ST POST !!!  thumbup.gif
AFTER INSTALLED , CHOOSE MALAYSIA
fASTER FIX
need rooted access. ><

QUOTE(psYCHopath @ Dec 7 2011, 11:48 AM)
yeah i need teh list xD
isit the same as tihs?
http://samsunggalaxysforums.com/showthread...plications-list
@CAC@MBO,
yeah i know it was discuss in v1, but only for gameloft games. i thought you found a way for application. unsure.gif
Paise. only gameloft games. >,<

QUOTE(ahchong04 @ Dec 7 2011, 12:13 PM)
anyone have Sleep-Of-Death (SOD) problem on SGW...TQ
Yes, I do sometimes. After games quit.
around 2-3 times after I bought this SGW for a month.
ntg so bad.

CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 01:33 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Dec 7 2011, 12:52 PM)
i swapped my memory already.but i dont know why.. when i use app2sd, it somehow transfer it to my external sd.
that's the thing. app2sd is actually move to "mnt/sdcard",
so for us, it move to internal sd.
but as your swap memory,
initially mnt/sd = internal sd, mnt/sd/external_sd = external sd,
after swap, mnt/sd = external sd , mnt/sd/external_sd=internal sd.
so when app2sd, data is move to mnt/sd = external sd ( as you swap already).

it's good for you. thumbup.gif
btw, swap need root access right?? blink.gif

Added on December 7, 2011, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(nic_doggy @ Dec 7 2011, 12:36 PM)
Rooot lahhhh ROOOT dy can DO ANYTHING !!!!!
Example: Unlock GPS within 10Second!!! brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  biggrin.gif
too bad I don't know root. and not free to root.
maybe after I graduate only learn la. busy for final year report. haha.

QUOTE(ery234 @ Dec 7 2011, 01:31 PM)
guide me plz cz i edy root the phone
using link2sd n app2sd  for install app to sd
but game still cant play if i put data to external sweat.gif
since you rooted, can either mount or swap your memory.
ask @msn83235502 for swap. his work. =D

This post has been edited by CAC@MBO: Dec 7 2011, 01:36 PM
CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 01:41 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Dec 7 2011, 01:36 PM)
You can try Zedge. They have wallpapers and ringtones smile.gif

Added on December 7, 2011, 1:39 pmUhh guys, does installing many games make your Galaxy W i8150 lag?
not really. only some games they have background services runnning.
Those games might cause lag as some ram is used by them.
For example, my SGW install "My Country", when I check background process and services,
got one "my country" runnning and ate around 2-3mb. LOL
it's a games like sim city, so it run to calculate the times for collecting profit and upgrade building, I guess.

CAC@MBO
post Dec 7 2011, 01:55 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Dec 7 2011, 01:44 PM)
Oh, okay. Thanks for the info man biggrin.gif Umm, you know any HD Games ? I really wanna install good games on my device but have no idea what games  sad.gif
Spiderman Total Mayhem HD
Dungeon Hunter
Splinter Cell Conviction HD
Assassin Creed
Real Football 2011 HD
Fishing Kings
Uno HD
Exitium HD
Destinia
*Not all games are HD, but these are those I recommend and is in my SGW. Personally I like action,adventure, rpg games. LOLZ. Exitium HD and Destinia is free in market if not mistake.
There are a lot others HD games in market, search and see.
Recommend Gameloft games, but not many games available for SGW yet. check it out.

QUOTE(ery234 @ Dec 7 2011, 01:49 PM)
if i unroot u can teach me?? rolleyes.gif
eh... I only know patch gameloft apk. others I don't know.
And after root, it's better as you can mount or swap your memory,
you could ask from @COW and @msn83235502 ,
trust me, it's better than patch.
*coz i noob don't know root, so I patch. cry.gif
plus, no dare to root, Scare spoil my phone and warranty. >,<

Added on December 7, 2011, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(ery234 @ Dec 7 2011, 01:49 PM)
if i unroot u can teach me?? rolleyes.gif

Added on December 7, 2011, 1:51 pm
i try play need for speed hotpursuit but....
get bugs cz car,road,tree all white colour sweat.gif
I think is not bug, you install 1 is not compatible for SGW, that's why.
Some games I also get blur graphic and white colour , it is because those are not for our processor and GPU.

This post has been edited by CAC@MBO: Dec 7 2011, 01:56 PM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0450sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:07 AM