Official Windows Phone 7 Discussion Thread! V3, Nokia Lumia 900!!

-ahtiang-
post Jan 27 2012, 05:10 PM

435 posts

hmm... i've been using Whatsapp very frequently and messages does comes in... but then off and on there will be some slight delay but it does work...

this new version 1.6 just came in around noon and have it installed... notification works fine as well with this version... by the way i'm on Omnia 7 biggrin.gif

i also noticed that in version 1.6, any new unread message for the contact person will have an unread message count at the contact list of the chats screen and the fonts will be colored in bold..

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jan 27 2012, 10:07 PM
-ahtiang-
post Jan 28 2012, 04:15 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(mixologist84 @ Jan 28 2012, 12:49 PM)
hi folks, i just got myself a HTC Mozart, been eyeing a WP7 for sometime, and finally got it, (Less than 2 hours ago actually)

also managed to get in to marketplace, thanks to marauderz blog!!
hoping to learn more tips and tricks from the sifu's here
welcome on board rclxms.gif

Added on January 28, 2012, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Jan 28 2012, 01:13 PM)
actually is the marketplace already hit malaysia? some say it has some say it hasntĀ  hmm.gif
if not wrong, only the submission of apps for Malaysia is now open... when this happens, it means that Marketplace will soon be available here in Malaysia... this is some sort of early access for developers to submit apps before the region is officially supported so that apps will be available as soon as they flip the switch...

so currently submission of apps is open for Malaysia but Marketplace is not ready for Malaysia yet...

Added on January 28, 2012, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Jan 28 2012, 01:01 PM)
soon bro, it has been said the marketplace will hit malaysia soon.

off topic : my mozart is ready to be taken =D repair liao...  nod.gif
so what's the version your Mozart having now after HTC fix it? did they flash the 8107 for you?

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jan 28 2012, 04:20 PM
-ahtiang-
post Jan 28 2012, 08:25 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jan 28 2012, 07:42 PM)
I'm guessing the market place will be available in end of February, after reading some posts here I think it matches quite well. According to Microsoft Malaysia, students can win away a Nokia Lumia phone (not sure which phone) for the first 30 students who can publish 50 Apps onto the marketplace, which is kinda ridiculous unless you're making crap apps.

Also, today I went to The Gardens to see the Lumia phones, Nokia store was quite empty really, but Samsung and Machine was crowded. :swt:

at least i feel Nokia is the only one pushing out or marketting the Windows Phone platform seriously... before this my opinion is that HTC, Samsung and LG doesn't make any marketting stuff for their Windows Phone shakehead.gif

hopefully when Nokia officially launch Lumia here, those Nokia staff are well trained and equipped to push out those Lumias and Windows Phone platform... rclxm9.gif
-ahtiang-
post Jan 29 2012, 05:24 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jan 29 2012, 12:28 AM)
Lumia is still not on sale yet right?
I see... the competition is run by the student partners... kinda overkill the way they're doing it like this.
Nope, Lumia is not available for sale yet as Nokia will be holding an official launching event here. They only have the demo unit available at the Nokia Store as a run up to the launching event. Even the Price is not set for Lumia 800 at the store when asked, the guy mentioned around RM 1.8k. No news on Lumia 710 when asked, I suspect that 710 perhaps could be a good potential for carrier phone.

cry.gif but sadly not a single carrier here are carrying the 2nd generation of WP7 phone so far...

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jan 29 2012, 05:27 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jan 29 2012, 05:56 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jan 29 2012, 08:40 AM)
Personally I don't see why there's a need for it to be a carrier phone. Its not like the phone would be much more cheaper (from what I can see)

we never relied much on carrier selling phone in Malaysia for a while until iPhone dropped.

Prove me wrong, are phones that are sold by carriers much more cheaper?
Agreed with you... hopefully Nokia can somehow do it with Lumia 710 and make it more affordable to penetrate the market... sigh***

-ahtiang-
post Jan 31 2012, 07:11 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(de-facto-idiot @ Jan 31 2012, 04:33 AM)
My experience of using Nokia Drive on my Lumia 800 in Penang is rather disappointing. Some major routes are missing, incorrect road directions, buggy & laggy route calculation, virtual no offline POIs... Initial lock on is blazing fast & pretty accurate when static (I speculate is due to GLONASS + A-GPS), but when you're moving, it wasn't that good.

Just want to share some thought on Lumia 800. The charging lid, the speaker placement, the curved glass may not suited to everyone taste. It's still a fantastic phone, but do try it out before hand if possible.

If Lumia wasn't your taste, Omnia W has already landed in Singapore. So you might want to wait a while if you're Sammy's fans.
One thing I'm pretty disappointed with Samsung Malaysia is that until today they didn't officially published Omnia 7 on their official Samsung Malaysis Website cry.gif and I have to get my Omnia 7 at Singapore back then (that was before Maxis had it here)... it's almost a year and still the same Samsung Malaysia doesn't even recognize this device on their site here... My feeling is that they will not have Omnia W here as well... sad.gif

They are just too busy with their Galaxy strings of product shakehead.gif
-ahtiang-
post Feb 2 2012, 09:36 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Feb 1 2012, 09:09 PM)
new user all updated
Hi evilpuppy, can you add my name to Omnia 7 owner list too biggrin.gif
-ahtiang-
post Feb 2 2012, 03:01 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Feb 2 2012, 02:58 PM)
yeap read itĀ  but i havent try it yet.
have u try it ?
It mentioned that only Maxis supporting it via carrier billing, is it true? Sadly I am only Celcom and I cannot test sad.gif

the most funny thing is that Maxis has removed Windows Phone from their Devices page sad.gif

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Feb 2 2012, 03:12 PM
-ahtiang-
post Feb 2 2012, 10:04 PM

435 posts

yup. i just tried with my phone region setting changed back to Malaysia and Marketplace is still accessible
-ahtiang-
post Feb 3 2012, 06:58 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Feb 2 2012, 10:30 PM)
Changing that and having your account classed as Malaysia are different things.
I see... but last time I cannot even browse Marketplace at all not even free apps until I change the phone to Singapore region... biggrin.gif

As some had mentioned hopefully they allow to change the Region of our Windows Live account associated with the Xbox...

Btw, some info on Windows Phone 8 (Apollo) here http://www.engadget.com/2012/02/02/windows-phone-8-detailed/

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Feb 3 2012, 07:10 AM
-ahtiang-
post Feb 4 2012, 08:17 AM

435 posts

officially confirms by Microsoft that Malaysia is on..

http://windowsteamblog.com/windows_phone/b...-countries.aspx
-ahtiang-
post Feb 9 2012, 07:24 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Feb 8 2012, 02:34 PM)
that's a good news from DiGi as among the big 3 Telco here, DiGi is the fastest to pull the plug on Windows Phone back then doh.gif

hopefully with Nokia Lumia, things is gonna turn around hehehe... so anyone going for the big launch tomorrow? cool.gif
-ahtiang-
post Feb 10 2012, 08:29 PM

435 posts

OMG! Celcom launched the Lumia 800 without any big advert on their website sad.gif they silently published it when you go deep into Windows Phone page... sad...

http://www.celcom.com.my/smartphones/windows7.php#windows72

and no news on Maxis...

DiGi is the only Telco having the big advert on Lumia 800... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Feb 10 2012, 08:31 PM
-ahtiang-
post Feb 11 2012, 01:37 PM

435 posts

hmm.. i am still thinking if i should reset the device and create a new Malaysia Live user id... perhaps i should wait a little longer...
-ahtiang-
post Feb 15 2012, 06:47 AM

435 posts

the new Facebook app is so much better! biggrin.gif thumbs up Microsoft and you really listening this time wink.gif
-ahtiang-
post Feb 16 2012, 06:46 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Feb 15 2012, 07:48 PM)
i said i was hoping it was possible  cry.gif
i dun like typing in portrait mode... so small the letters...
but in landscape mode the screen view will be too small after the keyboard pops up, no? blink.gif
-ahtiang-
post Feb 17 2012, 02:28 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Feb 17 2012, 08:33 AM)
hi guys wanna confirm something with you regarding Whatsapp on WP, does it work flawlessly to you guys? Cos mine is really slow and the message is not pushing in at all sometimes, not until I open up the app...
sometimes when the notification bar shows the message then I tap and get into the app, the message is not shown. Sometimes the message just missing... Does anyone here experience same issue? Or this is just my case only?

Being wondering why Whatsapp developer can't make it as nice as iOS or Android version of Whatsapp? Maybe they can't handle such a Supreme OS? If only they can make it like native Messaging... then it will be awesome!!
are you running the latest version of Whatsapp at version 1.7? I agreed with you that before this version, Whatsapp sort of inconsistent, sometime you get the message and sometimes you don't... but with the upgrade of version 1.7 it's so much better in terms of performance as well as the unread message counter (I like this feature)... let us know if you're running the latest version of Whatsapp or not ya biggrin.gif
-ahtiang-
post Feb 17 2012, 07:50 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(ask_dino @ Feb 17 2012, 05:33 PM)
emmm...weird not work for me
weird coz Whatsapp version 1.7 has been released back quite some time ago, so it should be there even without the workaround of pressing the Share button... hmm... blink.gif
-ahtiang-
post Feb 18 2012, 11:18 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Feb 17 2012, 10:05 PM)

Added on February 17, 2012, 10:07 pmBTW, Malaysia is now enabled on Windowsphone.com
erm... I could have missed it somewhere but is there a way to change the windowsphone.com site to english mode for Malaysia site lol... hmm.gif can't seems to locate the language option...

Added on February 18, 2012, 11:35 am
QUOTE(pzo @ Feb 17 2012, 11:27 PM)
anyone solve the whatsapp not update to 1.70 issue?
if you access from your phone browser at this URL http://www.whatsapp.com/wp
what is the version it will bring you to?

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Feb 18 2012, 11:35 AM
-ahtiang-
post Feb 18 2012, 02:59 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Feb 18 2012, 01:23 PM)
if you access from your phone browser at this URL http://www.whatsapp.com/wp
what is the version it will bring you to?

tried but it bring u to the Whatsapp Marketplace page but still without upgrade button. Haihhh. Already uninstalled ver. 1.6 then installed back the ver. 1.7 in the marketplace. but when i opened Whatsapp it still appear as ver 1.6.
after reading your entry here once again finally I understood laugh.gif ... mine is also showing 1.6.2 within the Whatsapp application but I'm sure I installed the version 1.7 from the Marketplace... guess it's a bug that they didn't update the About screen on the application itself...

as I recalled, when they initially rollout the 1.6 in the Marketplace, they introduced a bug whereby Pictures sent couldn't be received/viewed, then they quickly comeout with a fix which is the version 1.7 on the Marketplace... this I guess caused the version on the About screen didn't get updated... hmm.gif

okie, just managed to dig up a post here http://www.wpcentral.com/whatsapp-gets-hot...roken-media-v17

"Now, v1.7 (technically v1.6.2) is live in the Marketplace"

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Feb 18 2012, 03:02 PM

0.0198sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:37 AM