13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Terrarium, Paludarium, Riparium, Vivarium, Half water Half land

kimimaro_kun
post Apr 16 2012, 09:39 AM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Apr 16 2012, 09:02 AM)
i believe most LFS will carry those background.
Dont cut them into half, its much more hassle free if u remove the middle glass bracer and put the background in.
afterwards juz glue back the middle glass bracer with silicone.

however if ur doing riparium, having the middle glass bracer is kinda ugly in my opinion. tongue.gif

ps; remember to silicone the background properly to avoid it coming off after everything been setup.
+1

been there before. have to remove everything..
haish doh.gif
TSbroken_string
post Apr 16 2012, 09:42 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Apr 16 2012, 09:39 AM)
+1

been there before. have to remove everything..
haish  doh.gif
ya, tats damm tedious esp when all the plants already growing nicely.
for the background i dun think u can glue it like spreading kaya on your bread.
u need to silicone it on the edge to secure it on the tanks. biggrin.gif
LuQEE
post Apr 16 2012, 11:02 AM

66 posts

hurm, cutting the brace itself seems hard for me since my razor cant even go through between the glass to cut the silicone glue.
so instead, planning to ditch the background idea for the time being since my 2ft tank is currently not large enuff in width length (30cm).
any comments on my layout test scape? playing with the hard-scape while waiting enough budget to get holland sand and submersible water pump.
*substrate gonna be about 2 inches deep so the scape will look like mini island like in riverside
*on the left side, will topup with amazonia on top of the lava rocks for emmersed plants while output filter will constantly water it there and hopefully the barricade rocks will become mini waterfall ..lol whistling.gif
*branches, some of them will be tied with creep plants like pokok duit2 and btween brances will be T. ionantha's.
*Right side will be the basking spot for turtles, underneath will be placed water pump to regulate flow and redirect them to input filter

TSbroken_string
post Apr 16 2012, 12:00 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

nice design, but the brace will definitely spoil the view lolz..
its there for those ppl to put the power filtration box only.

btw, can i ask how high will the water level be?
and what kinda wood is tat ? will rot or not ??

and what kinda filter will you be using for this setup ?
LuQEE
post Apr 16 2012, 12:17 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Apr 16 2012, 12:00 PM)
btw, can i ask how high will the water level be?
and what kinda wood is tat ? will rot or not ??

and what kinda filter will you be using for this setup ?
after adding the gravel, and the hardscape will be higher, water level i guess must be middle level point of the barricade rocks
the wood planning to change to more hard wood type later when everything is complete, but for now use that first la, also 80-90% of the wood will not not touch water and hopefully it will not rot. but fear the wood will soak the water at the bottom and all those branches will end up wet/damp.

filter, planning to use internal filter, hidden behind the immersed plants or at the back of the woods & rocks.
if not, will use my unused 2213 la.

TSbroken_string
post Apr 16 2012, 01:44 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 16 2012, 12:17 PM)
after adding the gravel, and the hardscape will be higher, water level i guess must be middle level point of the barricade rocks
the wood planning to change to more hard wood type later when everything is complete, but for now use that first la, also 80-90% of the wood will not not touch water and hopefully it will not rot. but fear the wood will soak the water at the bottom and all those branches will end up wet/damp.

filter, planning to use internal filter, hidden behind the immersed plants or at the back of the woods & rocks.
if not, will use my unused 2213 la.

an island with the barricaded rocks rite ?
seems interesting, really looking forward to your completed tank.

something like this rite ?

but to me, 2ft seems abit small to do this kinda scape.
a 3ft should be juz nice.

as for the wood, as long as the bottom is in the water, it will seep into the woods i believe.

if u put internal filter somemore, its goona be quite pack and you will have to consider when u need to clean it next time.

sorry for all the questions, all the best icon_rolleyes.gif
LuQEE
post Apr 16 2012, 01:56 PM

66 posts

thats the one!!! i got that T.Ionathia idea from that scape..love it rclxms.gif and
with the mixture of this idea

want to have that kind of tank, the bottom one but since lack of space, budget and parents permission to keep more than 1 aquarium, have to do this one and put inside my cramped room sweat.gif but i prefer all of them are in my room though. help me relax.

the wood will have to wait till i found a good and cheap replacement, LFS charging them quite expensive for me.
yup, will reconsider on the 2213 filter then, much easier and will not cramped the small tank.

dont care if youre asking me a lot of questions, i prefer it to be that way, easier to improve my skills and helps eliminating careless mistakes which might had been done by previous peers. hehe
thanx anyway rclxms.gif

TSbroken_string
post Apr 16 2012, 02:05 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 16 2012, 01:56 PM)
thats the one!!! i got that T.Ionathia idea from that scape..love it  rclxms.gif  and
with the mixture of this idea

want to have that kind of tank, the bottom one but since lack of space, budget and parents permission to keep more than 1 aquarium, have to do this one and put inside my cramped room  sweat.gif but i prefer all of them are in my room though. help me relax.

the wood will have to wait till i found a good and cheap replacement, LFS charging them quite expensive for me.
yup, will reconsider on the 2213 filter then, much easier and will not cramped the small tank.

dont care if youre asking me a lot of questions, i prefer it to be that way, easier to improve my skills and helps eliminating careless mistakes which might had been done by previous peers. hehe
thanx anyway  rclxms.gif

using canister filter is the best for this kinda setup.
those woods tat looks like tree branch all also damm expensive one sweat.gif

i am also setting up a new paludarium soon, now still cycling the tank.
yweising
post Apr 16 2012, 02:41 PM

658 posts

normally how much is the background cost? n what is the material use?
TSbroken_string
post Apr 16 2012, 02:45 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

20-30 bucks per set, its in polystyrene.
ryj17
post Apr 22 2012, 01:40 AM

Im planning to create something like this for my turtle tank. Half water half land. Maybe ill add some frogs or lizards. but i need help.

1. How do i make sure that the soil doesn't fall into the water and in the end become level throughout the whole terrarium, since my turtles are quite aggressive? should i have a barrier to keep the soil in place?

2. what type of soil should i use if i don't want to cloud my water?

Thanks in advance!
TSbroken_string
post Apr 22 2012, 02:19 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

a tank like tat and turtles juz dun get along. u can hav either one but not both.
LuQEE
post Apr 22 2012, 03:05 AM

66 posts

dont mix turtles with lizs or frogs or newts or salamanders... they will get bitten or worse, eaten.
ryj17
post Apr 22 2012, 12:13 PM

Oic. Thanks for the advice.
beer8bottles
post Apr 22 2012, 10:24 PM

34 posts

My Chinese Fire Bellied Newt tank.

Not sure what kind of tank this is called:

LuQEE
post Apr 22 2012, 10:55 PM

66 posts

^ riparium... and nice one rclxms.gif
im still looking for cheap Cynops orientalis.. used to have lots of them brows.gif since they are quite cheap, RM4-5 in lfs each near my home
nowadays, their price is too high or no stock
hoho
beer8bottles
post Apr 22 2012, 11:44 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 22 2012, 10:55 PM)
^ riparium... and nice one  rclxms.gif
im still looking for cheap Cynops orientalis.. used to have lots of them  brows.gif since they are quite cheap, RM4-5 in lfs each near my home
nowadays, their price is too high or no stock
hoho
Can I ask what type of branch you are using for you tank? I'm refering to the picture in a few replies above. And also, where do you get it from?

I'm using a root of a small tree (dunno what kind of tree) I found near a pond. I washed it and placed it into the tank. Now, there are a few tiny, translucent mushrooms growing on it. So far, everything is okay. The newts don't eat them so I leave the mushrooms alone.
LuQEE
post Apr 23 2012, 12:33 AM

66 posts

well, one advice, before putting any wood into any tank, i usually boil them up to kill those unwanted stuffs.
in my case, since they are too big, i just dumped them in a basin, filled with hot boiling water till it covered all of them, then let them untill water is cool down and dry it right back.

the wood im using is a mixture of cut wood i found along the road by the MPSJ (lol) and my longan tree. i found out, hard wood are better since they take a very long time to rot.
the MPSJ woods already starts to become britte and break easily lol

need to refer to the sifus here la, my method i got them from my planted tank method hehe

genielee_83
post Apr 23 2012, 03:33 PM

120 posts

this power head is actually frm the usual filter we see right?
How to you fix the plants in mid air? I'm tearing dwn my 2ft crooked planted. am thinking of doing a less hassle -rium
TSbroken_string
post Apr 23 2012, 05:26 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Apr 23 2012, 03:33 PM)
this power head is actually frm the usual filter we see right?
How to you fix the plants in mid air? I'm tearing dwn my 2ft crooked planted. am thinking of doing a less hassle -rium
Yes, that is the powerfilter that is available at every LFS.

u have to select the rite choice of plants, not every plants suitable to be planted in a terrarium.
its easier to use nana, microsorium or any plants they sell in lfs that comes with driftwood but they are abit exp.

for economical ways, u can gather those plants tat grow beside the drains biggrin.gif

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:21 AM