Sun/Natural Light, bring it indoor single story house

TSJinXXX
post Nov 25 2011, 12:13 PM, updated 15y ago

2,516 posts

hey guys

want to know if there is a way to "pipe" natural light aka sunlight from the roof

to a inner room of a single story house ?, which is somehow design with very little way for light to enter..

dont want use artificial/lighting to light up the room

something like this

Light tubes or light pipes are used for transporting or distributing natural or artificial light. In their application to daylighting, they are also often called sun pipes, sun scopes, solar light pipes, sky lights or daylight pipes.
Generally speaking, a light pipe or light tube may refer to:
a tube or pipe for transport of light to another location, minimizing the loss of light;
a transparent tube or pipe for distribution of light over its length, either for equidistribution along the entire length (see also sulfur lamp) or for controlled light leakage.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light_tube

Added on November 25, 2011, 12:25 pmanybody know where to buy/find/diy/self-install this kind of system ?

This post has been edited by JinXXX: Nov 25 2011, 12:25 PM
weikee
post Nov 25 2011, 12:28 PM

12,019 posts

Hehe, very thick fiber optic biggrin.gif
mrPOTATO
post Nov 25 2011, 01:07 PM

2,113 posts

Replace some tiles with polycarbonate ?
TSJinXXX
post Nov 25 2011, 01:53 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Nov 25 2011, 01:07 PM)
Replace some tiles with polycarbonate ?
but the light will just spread around in the ceiling space...

weikee
post Nov 25 2011, 02:49 PM

12,019 posts

Something like this biggrin.gif

http://dornob.com/windowless-daylight-fibe...ide/?flyingspaghettimonster=search

http://toolmonger.com/2008/01/28/its-just-...ucent-concrete/

cvshi515
post Nov 25 2011, 05:13 PM

1,188 posts

It is know as the tubular skylight.

http://www.dynaair.com.my/unilite.htm

If you are interested, you can give a call to Wesflo marketing.

http://directory.yellavia.com/wesflo-marketing-30989/

Note: There is a cheaper way by using clear glass roof tiles + polycarbonate in your plaster ceiling smile.gif
phoenix69
post Nov 25 2011, 06:50 PM

1,836 posts

DIY
Recycle PET Bottles rclxms.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t28NY67OPIE
weikee
post Nov 25 2011, 09:09 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 25 2011, 06:50 PM)
This one I really respect, good design and out of the box idea. Better than Iphone, help lots of poor people in India.
zheilwane
post Nov 25 2011, 09:30 PM

4,184 posts

the first time i saw this was in facebook, really respect the person who invented it smile.gif
leeyung
post Nov 25 2011, 10:32 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Nov 25 2011, 09:30 PM)
the first time i saw this was in facebook, really respect the person who invented it smile.gif
Yeah, me 2, watched this at FB, really a very innovative work, and most importantly "green" enough, recycle and make use of natural light notworthy.gif

This is the version I watched, the low income family make use of this to have natural light smile.gif

This post has been edited by leeyung: Nov 25 2011, 10:34 PM
TSJinXXX
post Nov 26 2011, 12:19 AM

2,516 posts

okie so that is for "low-income"

what about those that have "some-income"

any idea/approximation pricing for "http://www.dynaair.com.my/unilite.htm"

sked ill get a heart attack when i ask.. if its something like 100 to 200 then can consider... but anything more its a total waste... rather use a 3watt led lamp...
cvshi515
post Nov 26 2011, 11:31 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Nov 26 2011, 12:19 AM)

sked ill get a heart attack when i ask.. if its something like 100 to 200 then can consider... but anything more its a total waste... rather use a 3watt led lamp...
If im not mistaken, the 8" (or 12"... cant remember) tubular skylight is around RM700++ sweat.gif . But u should try to call them and ask for a propoer qoute.
leeyung
post Nov 26 2011, 11:39 PM

885 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Nov 26 2011, 12:19 AM)

I think should be more than that ler, If 100-200, worth to pasang~
TSJinXXX
post Nov 27 2011, 01:51 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 26 2011, 11:31 PM)
If im not mistaken, the 8" (or 12"... cant remember) tubular skylight is around RM700++  sweat.gif . But u should try to call them and ask for a propoer qoute.
QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 26 2011, 11:39 PM)
I think should be more than that ler, If 100-200, worth to pasang~
700 for that ? can ask them so fucuk themself la..

will ask them for a quote and see how, hope i don't scold them are you crazy.. hahahahaha
weikee
post Nov 27 2011, 07:27 AM

12,019 posts

Non common things are usually more expensive.
ozak
post Nov 27 2011, 01:12 PM

17,024 posts

I m looking this too. It call skylight from others country. It has 2 type. Dome type and square type match your ceiling standard. I saw this before in carefour subang back many yrs ago. If not mistaken selling at rm300-400 that time. Suddenly this product no where can find here.
TSJinXXX
post Nov 27 2011, 03:18 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 27 2011, 01:12 PM)
I m looking this too. It call skylight from others country. It has 2 type. Dome type and square type match your ceiling standard. I saw this before in carefour subang back many yrs ago. If not mistaken selling at rm300-400 that time. Suddenly this product no where can find here.
surprisingly. ebay and lelong turns up no result for skylight...

funny everyone talk abt green and the basic lighting also like not easy to be found...

ozak
post Nov 27 2011, 03:58 PM

17,024 posts

It come with many name. Try like skylight tube. I search before.

My friend did instal 1 in his home oversea. He using square type ceiling std. When morning it light up his hallway. I nearly try to get 1 when he bring me to shop. But too big to bring back. The box like 70cmx70cmx70cm for the dome type.

The square type is more nice. Since it like a normal ceiling light.
cvshi515
post Nov 29 2011, 04:40 PM

1,188 posts

FYI.... whistling.gif

http://www.mediafocus1999.com/Klang/Novemb...o-Marketing.htm

This post has been edited by cvshi515: Nov 29 2011, 04:41 PM
phoenix69
post Nov 29 2011, 06:14 PM

1,836 posts

The price seems to range around RM600+ per piece. hmm.gif
Does not look cheap. shakehead.gif
Looks like JinXXX will have to tell a lot of ppl to fucuk themselves biggrin.gif
ozak
post Nov 29 2011, 09:29 PM

17,024 posts

Rm980 with installation. Damn expensive. Outside Malaysia, this skylight selling for around rm300+.

weikee
post Nov 29 2011, 09:53 PM

12,019 posts

Get a bunch of recycle fiber optic and DIY biggrin.gif

Added on November 29, 2011, 10:18 pmTry this if you have the time biggrin.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RiYOw5NsoKY

This post has been edited by weikee: Nov 29 2011, 10:18 PM
TSJinXXX
post Nov 29 2011, 10:18 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 29 2011, 09:29 PM)
Rm980 with installation. Damn expensive. Outside Malaysia, this skylight selling for around rm300+.
possible to do bulk ? hehehe smile.gif

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 29 2011, 09:53 PM)
you need damn alot of fiber optics
weikee
post Nov 29 2011, 10:24 PM

12,019 posts

Use fiber resin like the video.
ozak
post Nov 29 2011, 11:02 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 29 2011, 09:53 PM)

Added on November 29, 2011, 10:18 pmTry this if you have the time biggrin.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RiYOw5NsoKY
I throw away many fiber optic. Never cross my mind to use it transmit light for my home. Anyway those I throw away are short length which I cut away. The longest I have is just 1-1.5m. Not long enough.

And you really need a lot. Those fiber optic I deal is around 1-1.2mm diameter.

Added on November 29, 2011, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Nov 29 2011, 10:18 PM)
possible to do bulk ? hehehe smile.gif
yeah, why not. If the tax and freight charge is still cheaper than here. We just need DIY.

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 29 2011, 11:05 PM
TSJinXXX
post Nov 29 2011, 11:16 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 29 2011, 06:14 PM)
The price seems to range around RM600+ per piece. hmm.gif
Does not look cheap. shakehead.gif
Looks like JinXXX will have to tell a lot of ppl to fucuk themselves  biggrin.gif
yeah damn ripoff business.. this is called profiteering not business
leeyung
post Nov 30 2011, 01:04 PM

885 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Nov 29 2011, 11:16 PM)
yeah damn ripoff business.. this is called profiteering not business
really pricy to install the skylight in m'sia sad.gif
cvshi515
post Nov 30 2011, 02:03 PM

1,188 posts

As I mentioned, there are cheaper ways to do this.... one of it is to use the glass/polycarbonate type roof tiles, and do some modification on your plaster ceiling (with polycarbonate sheet).

Take a look into this:
http://www.monier.com.my/energy-efficient-...of-windows.html

If im not wrong, the transparent roof tiles is around RM35+ per piece. So you do the math to see how big is the roof windows to be smile.gif

Note: 1 roof tiles is around 1.5sft.

This post has been edited by cvshi515: Nov 30 2011, 02:04 PM
ozak
post Nov 30 2011, 02:39 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 30 2011, 02:03 PM)
As I mentioned, there are cheaper ways to do this.... one of it is to use the glass/polycarbonate type roof tiles, and do some modification on your plaster ceiling (with polycarbonate sheet).

Take a look into this:
http://www.monier.com.my/energy-efficient-...of-windows.html

If im not wrong, the transparent roof tiles is around RM35+ per piece. So you do the math to see how big is the roof windows to be smile.gif

Note: 1 roof tiles is around 1.5sft.
The problem with this kind of skylight is the natural light doesn't concentrate and skater in the roof. What left is not so bright light down from your ceiling. Another is your inside roof will more hot than before.

The dome type have a reflecting ducting which guide the light concentrate down all the way into your indoor area.
Tikietic
post Dec 27 2011, 10:49 PM

339 posts

hi,

was initially thinking of doing something like this too (on the stairwell).. but at rm880/piece.. i may have better idea turning on a 20watt energy saving bulb on the same area for the whole year..

and that probably don't even touch rm800 too.. *sigh*
y u so mahal one..

ozak
post Dec 28 2011, 10:36 AM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Dec 27 2011, 10:49 PM)
hi,

was initially thinking of doing something like this too (on the stairwell).. but at rm880/piece.. i may have better idea turning on a 20watt energy saving bulb on the same area for the whole year..

and that probably don't even touch rm800 too.. *sigh*
y u so mahal one..
Must thing green. Reduce carbon footprint. smile.gif

The cost include installation. Worker need makan also. Makan abalone 1. That is why cost abit. tongue.gif
adrianjc
post Dec 28 2011, 01:18 PM

898 posts

Check out this plaster ceiling done with slits to allow light to come into the home from the roof.

Slits will be covered with a lightly frosted perspex in order to block out the inside look of the roof.
Hornsen
post Dec 28 2011, 01:43 PM

131 posts

@adrianjc
look nice, how big is the slit? and how big is the transparent roof tiles?

adrianjc
post Dec 28 2011, 02:44 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(Hornsen @ Dec 28 2011, 01:43 PM)
@adrianjc
look nice, how big is the slit? and how big is the transparent roof tiles?
Slit is 12" wide and the light coming thru is from transparent Monier roof tiles.
phoenix69
post Dec 28 2011, 06:06 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 28 2011, 02:44 PM)
Slit is 12" wide and the light coming thru is from transparent Monier roof tiles.
how is the insulation with this set-up. House getting hotter ?
ozak
post Dec 28 2011, 07:23 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 28 2011, 01:18 PM)
Check out this plaster ceiling done with slits to allow light to come into the home from the roof.

Slits will be covered with a lightly frosted perspex in order to block out the inside look of the roof.
This look more like decorating than functioning. The roof skylight too small and the light not concentrate enough down to the 3 hole.

And would it increase the temperature in the roof?
adrianjc
post Dec 28 2011, 07:58 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 28 2011, 06:06 PM)
how is the insulation with this set-up. House getting hotter ?
No real changes in temperature as the increase is only marginal.

Added on December 28, 2011, 8:01 pm
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 28 2011, 07:23 PM)
This look more like decorating than functioning. The roof skylight too small and the light not concentrate enough down to the 3 hole.

And would it increase the temperature in the roof?
Ozak... It's actually functional but not to the point of daylight inside. The purpose is to naturally provide light so that a light does not have to be turned on during the day in an otherwise dark section of the house.

This post has been edited by adrianjc: Dec 28 2011, 08:01 PM
Hornsen
post Dec 29 2011, 06:13 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 28 2011, 07:58 PM)
It's actually functional but not to the point of daylight inside. The purpose is to naturally provide light so that a light does not have to be turned on during the day in an otherwise dark section of the house.
would like to see how bright is it when the light enter the room, can share your photo of the entire room?
adrianjc
post Dec 30 2011, 01:02 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(Hornsen @ Dec 29 2011, 06:13 PM)
would like to see how bright is it when the light enter the room, can share your photo of the entire room?
Will take a pic once the ceiling is completed. Will give a better indication on the amount of light.

Added on December 30, 2011, 1:06 pmHere's an interestingly done studio apartment in Italy that harnesses natural sunlight for various spaces while trying to create more livable space.

Habitat-MY: Designing for light & space maximization

Hehehehhehe.... anyone want to try for a studio unit in Malaysia?? Wonder whether can get approval here or not.

This post has been edited by adrianjc: Dec 30 2011, 01:06 PM
firestream
post Mar 11 2012, 05:28 PM

50 posts

Bro,

Can you share the finish photo? Plan to do the same to my house as its dark as well

mkow
post Mar 11 2012, 06:19 PM

261 posts

when I attended a lighting fair back in 2006 in Frankfurt, I saw a technology where natural sunlight is transfered to all corners of the building. but then again, this is not feasible here coz our electricity rates is one of the lowest in the world. Furthermore, our govt don't encourage solar and other energy saving stuff, we all know why lah... if save energy, who gonna pay those IPPs... tongue.gif . These guys from http://solarpower-mart.com/home, even commented abt this, and they are the solar experts. so how? doh.gif
vetkin_gray
post Mar 11 2012, 06:27 PM

766 posts

This is a reli good idea especially for single story terrace houses. Ive seen one at a show house long time ago. Nt only does it look good, its practical as well. People put a skylight to allow ventilation of toilet thats located in the middle of the house as well as septic tank placent if there's one and covering it with decorative stones.
ozak
post Mar 11 2012, 06:48 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(mkow @ Mar 11 2012, 06:19 PM)
when I attended a lighting fair back in 2006 in Frankfurt, I saw a technology where natural sunlight is transfered to all corners of the building. but then again, this is not feasible here coz our electricity rates is one of the lowest in the world. Furthermore, our govt don't encourage solar and other energy saving stuff, we all know why lah... if save energy, who gonna pay those IPPs... tongue.gif . These guys from http://solarpower-mart.com/home, even commented abt this, and they are the solar experts. so how? doh.gif
The FIT already running and tendering. You can check the SEDA website.

And your bill over rm77 or 300kwh/mth, you are subsidying 1% to the FIT. Since last year december.
mkow
post Mar 11 2012, 09:15 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 11 2012, 06:48 PM)
The FIT already running and tendering. You can check the SEDA website.

And your bill over rm77 or 300kwh/mth, you are subsidying 1% to the FIT. Since last year december.
well, this is just another ploy by our govt to suck our $$. so we hv to pay 1%, but where does this go to? what will SEDA do with it?
ozak
post Mar 11 2012, 09:20 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(mkow @ Mar 11 2012, 09:15 PM)
well, this is just another ploy by our govt to suck our $$. so we hv to pay 1%, but where does this go to? what will SEDA do with it?
That is 1% extra on top your normal pay bill. The money will go to subsidy the fit project. Gov won't subsidy this so call renewable energy.
mkow
post Mar 11 2012, 09:31 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 11 2012, 09:20 PM)
That is 1% extra on top your normal pay bill. The money will go to subsidy the fit project. Gov won't subsidy this so call renewable energy.
nowadays, even if any projects meant well for the public, nobody really know. nothing's been said abt this Fit, so the 1% we pay how we know can benefit us? sigh...
ozak
post Mar 11 2012, 09:36 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(mkow @ Mar 11 2012, 09:31 PM)
nowadays, even if any projects meant well for the public, nobody really know. nothing's been said abt this Fit, so the 1% we pay how we know can benefit us? sigh...
It don't benefit you as usual. You are force to pay.

Unless you apply for the fit. Or use less than 300kwh.
mkow
post Mar 11 2012, 09:43 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 11 2012, 09:36 PM)
It don't benefit you as usual. You are force to pay.

Unless you apply for the fit. Or use less than 300kwh.
if any projects that can benefit everyone is being properly relayed, then we know what we pay is worth it. but now, this FIt, we dun even know how to apply, and they never inform properly. only a minority gains. cry.gif yes, they put everything on the web, but then how many can understand their intentions?
ozak
post Mar 11 2012, 09:57 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(mkow @ Mar 11 2012, 09:43 PM)
if any projects that can benefit everyone is being properly relayed, then we know what we pay is worth it. but now, this FIt, we dun even know how to apply, and they never inform properly. only a minority gains. cry.gif yes, they put everything on the web, but then how many can understand their intentions?
This kind of project not for ordinary ppl. To install 1kw of solar panel under fit will cost you rm16k. The return is very long. And you need at least 4kw to get start.

Because we still under subsidy, this thing is not worth. With the high cost instal and difficult to educate ppl RE due to energy subsidy, that is problem gov to implement it. Some more got to subsidy the crony power station.
firestream
post Mar 13 2012, 04:42 PM

50 posts

Anyone can share the overall look in the house ? Planning to do up one
scopolamine
post Apr 18 2012, 06:41 PM

117 posts

Yeah me too. If anyone has had success in bringing natural light into dining room of a double storey house, do share.

I read about this tabular lighting in magazines as well, but dont think that is applicable if you are not on single story house?
GG4you
post Apr 19 2012, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 25 2011, 10:32 PM)
Yeah, me 2, watched this at FB, really a very innovative work, and most importantly "green" enough, recycle and make use of natural light  notworthy.gif

This is the version I watched, the low income family make use of this to have natural light smile.gif
Awesome and very informative.
PJusa
post Apr 19 2012, 04:41 PM

2,034 posts

dunno about the pricing but monier.com.my has such skylights. can call and ask.
mywii
post Apr 20 2012, 04:48 PM

239 posts

I was at pj yesterday and went to a showroom at the road behind jalan kemajuan.. Saw roof tile that is transparent ...... maybe can use this....think should be this http://www.terreal.com.my/roofing.php?id=47

I am now thinking of doing my awning using roof tiles with couple of this transparent tiles and my balcony roof tiles at one section so that can dry clothes without having concern of when it rains...

Not for indoor ...will be hot

This post has been edited by mywii: Apr 20 2012, 04:58 PM
m3mphiz23z
post Apr 20 2012, 05:58 PM

87 posts

Make the light pass through at an ideal location at ideal time
jootat
post Oct 7 2016, 11:53 PM

1,994 posts

hi... i came across this very old topic. i wonder if someone able to share some advice? i need to brighten up my stair case area as mine is terrace house so this is the darkest area in the house during afternoon. thanks.
airwolf2010
post Mar 15 2018, 01:38 PM

188 posts

Anyone installed the tubular skylight in the terrace house?
China is very common nowadays.
I'm very interested on this.
ozak
post Mar 15 2018, 02:17 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(airwolf2010 @ Mar 15 2018, 01:38 PM)
Anyone installed the tubular skylight in the terrace house?
China is very common nowadays.
I'm very interested on this.
If you like the heat into your house also.
airwolf2010
post Mar 15 2018, 05:39 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 15 2018, 02:17 PM)
If you like the heat into your house also.
From the information I searched, they will stop the heat (IR) and only allow the photon to diffuse on the panel.
They claimed the temperature will not be change.
RUL1717 P
post Feb 17 2020, 12:05 AM

Probation

Hi guys, im currently doing research on this light pipe/ tubular light system and very interested about this. anyone had installed this system in their houses? im willing to pay the person whom willing to let me do some measurements/research in their house. thanks smile.gif
MonkeYsua
post Feb 17 2020, 12:14 AM

402 posts

ecogreen la, but practical in msia meh?
heat all came in direct not sure how UV protection, your aircon turn max your TNB bill naik .... u jimat few watts for the light but your aircon might need pay more due to heat issue ?

0.0892sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:41 PM