~ Scorpion ~ V1, Any newbies or owner pls post here.

opalish_ice
post May 1 2006, 10:44 AM

72 posts

I'm so happy!! thumbup.gif My asian forest scorpion has given birth! So far two have come out and one is on her back. How long will this process take?

She was so fat and cranky lately. She was already fat when i got her last year.

Well, at least the gender confusion has been settled.
opalish_ice
post May 3 2006, 06:48 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 2 2006, 10:34 AM)
ya got her at what size?
I think she was already full grown. Probably mated with some other male in the tank. wub.gif
opalish_ice
post May 20 2006, 07:52 PM

72 posts

Wow! They're so cute!

My asian forest babies were just born early this month. THey've already molted once.

I have a question though, how often should they be fed?
opalish_ice
post May 21 2006, 10:55 PM

72 posts

I'm really jealous of u people who can keep so many scorpies. My mom cant tolerate more than the mother and baby scorpies i have right now. I can't wait till my asian babies molt to 3rd instar. The pictures of them are so cute!

A pic of Callisto's babies (halfway through being born, there were about 18)

opalish_ice
post May 22 2006, 07:09 PM

72 posts

Eh, the substrate is corncob. Wrong one i noe. Bcuz d pet shop owner say can use that one so i bodoh bodoh n get. Now i change 2 potting soil oledi. I sprinkle a little water here and there to make in moist everday. I think Callisto oledi pregnant when i got her, so fat.

Should d babies be totally removed from the mother at 2nd or 3rd instar ah? (they're already in 2nd instar actually, my camera rosak, cannot take pictures.)

ps.. when i gave my hamsters to investigate the corn cob they tried 2 eat it! LOL
opalish_ice
post May 23 2006, 09:33 PM

72 posts

I remember i read sumwhere on d net that when some scorplings start getting off the mother, must also remove the rest of them on her back(with a spoon).

When d babies started walking around i removed a few of them (that were really active running here and there). the rest of them still with d mother. Even though ther're independant they still like to hide under mama! lol so cute.
opalish_ice
post May 24 2006, 08:20 PM

72 posts

Eww yuck, i just checked under the wood where some of the babies hide and i saw FUNGUS. At least i think it was, it was like powdery stuff stuck under it. Is it bad to the scorps???
opalish_ice
post May 29 2006, 09:26 AM

72 posts

Waah, chinese bark so pretty!!!
opalish_ice
post Jun 25 2006, 05:45 PM

72 posts

Sorry if i sound annoying, but...

Woohoo!!! My AFS babies have molted again!!! *revels in happiness*
opalish_ice
post Jun 28 2006, 06:14 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jun 25 2006, 06:03 PM)
share with us the moment by upload the pciture here lah.
Ok ok

Sorry if they're kinda blur, but i hav no idea how to use a handphone camera.

3rd instar AFS scorplings:

This post has been edited by opalish_ice: Jun 28 2006, 06:15 PM

opalish_ice
post Jul 3 2006, 07:36 PM

72 posts

Umm... sorry about butting in on the conversation.
Recently i noticed that there are some miniscule bugs flying around in the tank. I think they like it in there cuz it's rather humid. They're always flying around in there. Are they bad for the scorpions?
opalish_ice
post Jul 4 2006, 07:01 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Balthasar @ Jul 4 2006, 10:17 AM)
In a way, yes...its because u have uneaten food in there...first there will be flies, then lateru will have mites...so remember to clean up un eaten foodstuff

Thanks yo, but it's kinda hard to tell the remains of the cricket from the soil. They're almost the same colour! sweat.gif
opalish_ice
post Mar 12 2007, 08:36 PM

72 posts

whoa that scorp is stinkin beautiful!

My ASF scorplings have molted to 6th instar now. I'm so happy! They're not even 1 year old yet! They're growing really fast. I'll post sum pics soon.
opalish_ice
post Jul 17 2007, 11:18 PM

72 posts

I have 9 AFS scorplings that I wanna sell. All are still 5th instars but one of them just molted this morning. Can anyone tell me how to sell them? I noticed that the pet shops around my area keep the scorps in corncob bedding, so i'm not too keen on selling my scorps to them.

5th instar next to newly molted 6th instar.

EDIT: sorry, i miscalculated. i wanna sell 8 AFS scorplings, not 9. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by opalish_ice: Jul 19 2007, 10:32 PM
opalish_ice
post Jul 18 2007, 08:42 PM

72 posts

rm 25? willing to negotiate. but how do i sell it 2 u? I live in ipoh.

how do i sell the scorps on LYN? blink.gif

This post has been edited by opalish_ice: Jul 18 2007, 08:48 PM
opalish_ice
post Jul 20 2007, 10:12 PM

72 posts

tat's d prob... lagi more I am minor leh. Hav 2 find ppl in ipoh who are interested, unless d person really desperate until come all d way here lol

edit: cis, my mother just said cannot sell here. Dont trust ppl doh.gif

This post has been edited by opalish_ice: Jul 20 2007, 10:46 PM
opalish_ice
post Jul 22 2007, 03:39 PM

72 posts

now i dono watta do. My mother don let me sell thru LYN n im not eager 2 sell 2 pet shops in my area...

Anyway, i gotta story.
Yesterday(i think) one of d scorps was munching on a cricket n i accidentally scared it away when I was filling the water dish. It dropped d half eaten cricket. I din bother removing it cuz it usually goes back to finish it off. If it doesn't i'll just take it out. But I just peeked in the tank this now and i saw a cricket with 90% of its abdomen gone n with just 1 side of its wings on the brim of my exoterra water dish wiggling its mouthparts around. gross. sweat.gif blink.gif

This post has been edited by opalish_ice: Jul 22 2007, 04:18 PM
opalish_ice
post Aug 2 2007, 10:46 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Balthasar @ Jul 31 2007, 01:30 AM)
Yeah...
I just upped my score on some species...
Tityus serulatus, stigmurus and trinitatis...Babycurus gigas and jacksoni...the latter has not arrived yet...
A few mesobuthus martensii, Parabuthus leiosomas and mossambicensis...

I really have no life right now... sad.gif
*gives Balthasar life*

whoa, you sure have lots of scorps.. notworthy.gif

0.2116sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:38 AM