V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry

BirdNest_Satay
post Oct 2 2012, 12:22 AM

67 posts

Hi seniors,
my first rental JV BH have some improvement on swiftlet droppings in recent months but remain zero-nest after 21months and we might have to end it during year end and exit the rental contract.

Good news I have gotten the keys for another bought shoplot and will begin BH renovation soon for the top floor with metal roof. This is also JV with another family friend.

I have a question, if the wall facing the west evening sun is built with bricks, can the building sustain the weight ?
The wall is facing the wind from the river so I would prefer brickwall that can converse some heat for the night which lightweight bricks cannot.
There is a outer wall with glass windows.

Here is a simple map I've drawn up for reference. My shoplot is highlighted in Red in the middle of the picture.

Thank you for your attention, hope to receive your opinion.

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Oct 2 2012, 12:27 AM
BirdNest_Satay
post Oct 2 2012, 09:58 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Oct 2 2012, 02:43 PM)
After 21 months NO nest, you've seriously got to find someone in your area who can help you. Where are you located?

If you are building your own BH and doing it all by yourself or using the same"Experts" you better think again. There is something fundamentally wrong with the approach.
In johor.
1 of our JV partner have a very successful BH so we just followed his leadership during renovation.
Since the place is rented and now BN price drop until so low, I calculated need to harvest 300 nest to break-even the monthly rental. A very far and unlikely target with risks that the landlord might evict us without proper compensation.
If continue to pump in thousands to paint the walls from pitch-black back to white and build brick wall to replace current "boarded up windows" , I don't think it's a good idea trying to test the bottomless pit.
Ground floor is eatery everyday got smell blow up.
Already come to this stage must accept the failure..... do it without regrets ... we won't be pointing the blame on anybody.

Will be putting what I learned to good use for the second BH. Planning to seek help from a boss in this BN industry to help us do the entry hole and nesting planks while I do the tweeter+wiring and handle all the maintenance over the next 1-2 decade.

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Oct 2 2012, 10:02 PM
BirdNest_Satay
post Nov 28 2012, 09:53 PM

67 posts

My contractor have given me a quote on the cost for top floor shophouse conversion to BH.
Cost nearly but not exceed 40k
Single layer brick wall for front,back, roof entrance.
He said he only use the best timber for all his previous BH.

We intend to let the contractor freely do everything as he design because he is much more experienced.
Only when result not good then we BH owner will DIY improve the tweeter formation with what we learned on the internet.

Any opinion or advice on such planning ?

Late last year we met another BH contractor who quoted us 33-35k but there was no mention of brick wall and the photo he showed us were sun-drying the pale color nesting planks. I really dare not use such planks.

My first JV rented BH would be ending in December after 2yr of failed operation. The landlord is holding our deposit and told us to wait while he find somebody to take over so we don't have to demolish the BH and revert the 2 floor back to empty rentable condition.
This BH did not have any brick wall and we will not repeat this mistake again.

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Nov 28 2012, 09:59 PM
BirdNest_Satay
post Nov 29 2012, 12:54 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Nov 28 2012, 11:45 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, the walls in between shop lots should be double layer according to Malaysia building standards, that should be sufficient insulation from the afternoon heat. However, maybe a lot of small town developers cut corners and use only single layer bricks + cement bricks therefore the insulation drastically decreases. Clay (red) bricks can absorb and store more heat than sand (cement) bricks.

Therefore, only if your shoplot is an end lot or corner lot would you need to add another layer of brick around it to reduce the temperate inside the BH. The most practical thing to do is go to the shoplot you intend to turn into a BH during a hot afternoon and monitor the temperature, shouldn't be more than 30 celcius the best is around 27-28. From experience most of the heat is usually from the roof because very seldom do shoplots have slab roof, mostly zinc roof with just a layer of ceiling therefore you can imagine the heat that irradiates from the roof during a hot day.

As for the price, I donno how big your shoplot is you can actually calculate roughly how many bricks used, how many tons of planks need to use etc and calculate the whether the price quoted by the contractor is reasonable.
Yes, for this shoplot we went to inspect it during construction there are indeed double layer bricks with triple hollow air pockets for the wall between units. Plastering is very smooth before the white paint.

The "rear" or nesting area of the planned BH conversion is directly facing West, taking in all of afternoon sun. At times there will be cooling wind from the river 70m away.
Due to weight, the contractor advised us to go for only a single layer brick wall and place it as close as possible to the beam of the floor below.
This wall will be plastered. If the afternoon sun is too strong we can DIY add styrofoam insulation internally.

Temperature reading of the ceiling board is 31c , foam under zinc roof 36c. This temp was not taken on the hottest time on the hottest day.
Not sure how much temperature will change after the brick walls are built behind the front and back glass windows and airflow reduce.

Thank you for your input.

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Nov 29 2012, 01:20 AM
BirdNest_Satay
post Nov 29 2012, 03:51 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Nov 29 2012, 09:36 AM)
Why are you considering a shop lot conversion in view of all the problems it will invite. Local council will no longer entertain such conversions so you will be illegal from the very start.

Having said that.........there are many methods to insulation. If weight is a consideration, you cannot beat styrofoam and cement board surfacing.  People used to be paranoid about thieves breaking in through the walls but history has shown locks are easy to bypass and in out holes easier to climb in.

Meranti is expensive but costing depends on usage and every conversion is different. I don't know if you'll be using anywhere near 2 tonnes of wood?

You have at your keyboard tips access to so many experienced bh builders in this forum and others. Why not publish your plans and get feedback from them.

Doing your own conversion by supervising your own subcons will save you more than enough to buy us all a big dinner.
We submitted this shoplot's address on a form during a gathering of local town BH owners hosted by Veterinary Dept in August last year.
The shoplot land garant document also did not explicitly forbid any swiftlet related activity.

50% of the earlier completed shoplot on the opposite street had converted their top floor to BH late last year. At first they used roof entrance, early this year 5 of them erected dog kennel made from zinc with the same design. By mid-year all of these DK were removed and the roof was patched back.

We tried cement board + styrofoam method at the previous failed BH.
Strong wind pressure cause the middle of partition wall to flex and require wood to prop against it. Styrofoam panels also pop out at the edges if not secured well.
It does not isolate the outside cooking smell or heavy vehicle road noise to a satisfactory level.

The shoplot is 22x70
After roof entrance is opened, only around half of the area is left suitable for nesting plank.
I cannot estimate the required weight as my previous BH experiences was with lower quality wood which might be more lightweight.

There isn't any plan or drawing to show as we only had some discussion on site with the contractor.
Everything was verbal and plan could subject to change due to difficulty of roof opening and cutting the metal support C beams.

We have hands-on experience with some of the wood work and all the wiring system, but will there be contractor that only open roof, only brick 2 walls, only plank half a floor ?
I assume the revenue would be so small they won't be interested to take it up. Besides that we have limited contacts in this area of expertise.

Thank you for your input. smile.gif

QUOTE(West Wing @ Nov 29 2012, 10:35 AM)
Very good advice..on why build in town when we are expecting alot of negative respond from the local authorities and worst if it rented.

Let me give you a case history when a friend rented a 3rd.floor and converted it into a BH........5 years later, the owner want to increase the rent to a few thousands giving the excuse that the place product alot of nests or alternatively, 50/50 sharing. The tenant obviously refused and willing to pay Rm1200 per month which was rejected by the owner...

Really, what to do with alot of nests when the next door also belong to the same owner still empty and want to rent it out at Rm300 only. The owner now demand the floor tenant to return back the floor and the case will be mentioned in court and we all know why will win; the owner of course as the owner has every right to demand the rent he wants and if the tenant disagree, then move out and I hope your's isn't going to have the same problem later.

Reason that the floor now make alot of profit doesn't hold water as the tenant rented the premise empty and spend so much money and time to perfect it and now, the owner want half the share; where fair or logic lah?

Now, coming back to BH @ town, we are facing so much problems with the authorities when the price of EBN was good and now, no much problem with the local authorities as the price is so low that no one talk about swiftlets anymore and the local authorities also didn't talk about enforcing restrictions and control over the BH@town but once up, all BHs @ towns will face afain storms and what have you and hope that you won't want to join us to go to Hell when the burning start. Best think of building one out of town where no one will bother your or at least you can sleep well every night for the next few years until your BH has alot of nests when predators in human form will arrive and share your EBN.........

BH is a real problematic industry like going into a jungle and you never know what will happen tomorrow, maybe a snake, tiger or even an elephant may just appear front of you...........worst is what you never expected like a shark in the jungle..hahaha.have a nice day
1 to 3 years ago we nearly commit ourselves much more into this BH industry.
We went to the bank and got info a shoplot in the same row was lelong at about 280k but this owner want to sell us at 430k
In the end we rented it the 2 upper floor at 1k monthly with 3yr contract renewing 9 times and some clause to compensate if the owner evict us early.
As months pass we realise this contract doesn't give any protection at all as the landlord's lawyer can easily argue the terms.
When no good result and no sense of long term security, we decided to end it and cut loss.

Another view from this is we avoided buying this overpriced shoplot at the peak before the nest crisis.
My partner was also interested in those 700k standalone BH project and "30year investment scheme" , lucky enough to not invested in them.

The new shoplot we bought is mainly for the ground floor rental purpose.
30-40k for the BH renovation isn't really unaffordable sum and is relatively small compared to other standalone BH projects or buying agricultural land.
We treat it as a one-off investment to run concurrently while we wait for tenant and the commercial area to bloom up. No pressure on calculating any ROI.

Thank you WW for your input.

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Nov 29 2012, 03:54 PM
BirdNest_Satay
post Jan 1 2013, 11:35 PM

67 posts

Happy new year to all. smile.gif

My shoplot BH is under renovation 4th day.
The indo workers from my contractor are very skilled from what I observed.
Now building brick walls and concrete pillars before cutting open the zinc roof.

My contractor suggested that we buy USED planks with nest marking from others who stopped doing BH.
I agreed and requested no poor quality or mold planks. There is no price adjustment for this change as the project sum was previously quoted for good grade planks which he can reserve from the sawmill.

When the planks came I carried them up and visually inspected the estimated 260 planks in total , about 50/50 between "good" and "average"
I don't know how to grade those planks so only can tell by color and how rigid it feels when you carry it.
Length are 1/3 each between medium, medium-long, long .
There are really no "banana flesh" or pale colors planks. Slightly disappointing that only about 10 to 15% of them have nest marking or the harvested mark.

That's it for now, will post more when building progress further.
BirdNest_Satay
post Jan 28 2013, 11:48 AM

67 posts

My shoplot BH renovation nearly complete, remaining works are only timer, amp, external tweeter, door.
Roof entrance 15x9 feet.

For my West facing wall
glass > opaque black paper > few cm of inevitable air gap between window frame > single layer brick wall > plaster with sandy outer surface
Saturday sunny afternoon measured the temperature, outside glass is 54 to 56 celcius , internal side is steady at 29.x to 30.9 celcius, at night drop slightly to 30.5

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Jan 28 2013, 11:49 AM
BirdNest_Satay
post Feb 21 2013, 11:53 PM

67 posts

Honest people like me paid the remainder sum to contractor so to not owe any money over chinese new year.
Now the remainder 15% work delay over 20 days no progress at all because I am at his last priority.
You guys should learn from my experience ...

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Feb 21 2013, 11:54 PM
BirdNest_Satay
post Sep 29 2013, 02:10 PM

67 posts

Discovered that somebody stole the fuse off my electric meter leaving my BH with no sound for few weeks...
Tenant never lock the side door and the 1st floor washing basin was smashed.

Early this year I did ask the contractor who reno my BH to do a metal cage around the 3 electric meter but no more update from him...

Does anybody know where to buy the fuse ???

Thank You.

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Sep 29 2013, 02:15 PM
BirdNest_Satay
post Oct 4 2013, 08:09 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 29 2013, 05:18 PM)
1.You can get them from electrical shop or you may even get it from TNB by complaining that your fuse being missing.....only afew ringgit one.

2.Someone took the fuse and I only hope that's for the fun cos it may mean that the thieves were eyeing your BH for their next project so beware.
There maybe because by removing the fuses first will render your Alarm system batteries out in afew days.
Thank you.

I found the fuse at 3rd shop, 12 ringgit for slim type.
TNB small branch didn't sell this.
The 2nd shop told me the new style fuse is more fat with a cover (still can pull out by hand) while the older style is slim type.

Have given the measurements to a metal workshop for making metal grill box around electric meter.
Currently no nest so no alarm , the row of shops not even 1 year so I didn't think will get "target" so fast.
Have metal partition and locked door so the naughty person didn't enter my BH.

This post has been edited by BirdNest_Satay: Oct 4 2013, 08:12 PM

0.0760sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:26 AM