Apr 12 2012, 11:22 PM
20 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hi Philoswiftlet
I used the King Kong brand this time. It took about 4 pieces of bread compressed into separate lumps with the poison to do the job. I used to trap them in my office using toasted bread. But the 2nd time it does not work even after burning the trap to get rid of any scent left behind. This post has been edited by sekosan: Apr 12 2012, 11:38 PM |
Apr 13 2012, 06:06 AM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Hi Sekosan,
Thanks for your reply. I am also using the King Kong brand; the pink type is useless for shrew as my sister had tried a few year back as she reported it only make their excrement pinkish. So I am using the King Kong big blue poison meant for use in oil palm estate against huge rats there. Rats and shrews are mammal and the powerful category III poison should finish it off but I am not sure it did... never found any carcass; I think it stay somewhere else and came to prey from time to time. The snap traps and cage which I had used to catch rats before is not successful; one of the bait was even eaten on the snap trap without triggering it. May have to buy Furudan later to finish the job. |
Apr 13 2012, 07:07 PM
451 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
finally tan sri cheng voiced out for us...lets see how it turn out...
but, even if sai hei also need to say it here... for the future of our kids (including our birds), rm10 is all it takes to help them out : http://www.savemalaysia-stoplynas.blogspot.com/ they need fund for legal action to stop it. |
Apr 14 2012, 12:57 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
A little of the past which I share…….
When I first started swiftlets ranching, the population of swiftlets at cave were getting lesser and lesser………..gone are the millions that we once knew. As we started the BH concept for swiftlets although swiftlets were at town years before we begin BH ranching. The swiftlets were building nests in old shop houses and even the shop owners didn’t know then that those were edible nests and the owners tried so hard to get rid of the swiftlets because of the shit these birds laid usually in the shop upper floor but these stubborn swiftlets still returned (Remembered that I have said that we move, swiftlets never move that the example). Most Chinese allowed Swallow to stay then because the swallows shit at the five foot way as Swallow bring Good Luck according to Chinese belief but never take kindly to swiftlets as the swiftlet always shit in the shop itself. I remembered that one person took some nests to a Chinese medical shop but was told that these nests were of no value and my friend fed the nests to the dogs and the dogs also didn’t like the nests. Then, even medical shop owner didn’t know that these were the same as cave nests that they sold in their shop….which they called “Golden Swiftlets Nests”. To old Chinese, Swiftlets are the same like Swallows as Yen; only golden Yen or Grass Yen. Olden days, they even refer to Swiftlets as Hai Yen "Sea Swiftlet" and Birdnests as Hai yen Wao. When we found that these nests are very valuable, everyone started to protect the swiftlets from harm and once, I told a friend that we treat the swiftlets better than our wife and children but then, cannot blame us cos they are the swiftlets Alias Choy San Yeh that bring us wealth. Some even added Air Condition, fountain and high security system to the BH but only to find out that the swiftlet didn’t like Air Con. With the protection, came the huge increment of swiftlets and in just one BH, 10 nests became hundreds and then thousands but it lasted for many years until problem started again as human greed follow buyers best quote that is the market demand quality white nests and farmers are starting to throw away eggs and chicks and if these continue, or we are already experiencing it; we shall see a huge reduction of swiftlets soon ….as old birds die out without any new generation of swiftlets to replenish. Before, we see at least 3 folds in the increment of nests per year and now, where have all the swiftlets gone……..to heaven as Chinese believe that they are from heaven. Well, we can always blame it on everything but ourself. With the latest requirement in PPM, worst will happen to the population of swiftlets and all ranchers will be require to only produce quality white nests as nitrate or nitrite originate from birds shits and now, swiftlets must be trained to shit outside of the birdhouse and that chicks must learn to ensure no residue shit in nests otherwise, all chicks and eggs must be discarded and remove from the nests to get to the present quality required by the buyers.. As a sanctuary provider for swiftlets, I maybe among the firsts to be in the trade but certainly, I shall be the first to be out of the trade………………. Unless, my BHs be categorize differently from the rest and must be under the wildlife department that no harm should come to the protected species……..including the destruction of chicks and eggs. This post has been edited by West Wing: Apr 14 2012, 04:47 PM |
Apr 14 2012, 03:41 PM
one of my friend cried when he sold his nests to collectors few days ago at average rm1.3k a kilo for corner nests. he asked when all this will goes back to normal.
i told him and everyone is telling all that all these nonsense can stop by only changing the govt this time. i am scare of this going to happen n also my friend too...but then we think....diao....change also die, no change also die.... die die lah!!!...pui!...change. we make our mind to change side every five years then we don't side only to one party, thts what we call 1Malaysia. |
Apr 15 2012, 11:00 AM
57 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(benchai @ Apr 12 2012, 08:53 PM) It's good to have different options to sell nests to China and different route . So it will be hard to create a monopoli . If they those few" selected "companies do not offer a reasonable price. Then sell to ppl who can submarine them to China one way or another . We bh owners have already enjoyed years of tax free business. I am contemplating in getting out of BN business and move to kundasan and plant cabbage, but at last after 3 months of hardworking and input can only get 50 cents per kg . No lah I think I better migrate but don't know where . Seria and Timbatu too dangerous. Middle east too hot , Europe too cold and too expensive. I am going Mad. Come to Thailand for retirement, Ben.Many Japanese, Taiwanese and European have their retirement homes here. You can choose locations from North to South. Food and weather are similar to Malaysia, seafoods are cheap. Our government is so busy dealing with the red and yellow shirts and buy votes, so no time to deal with BH owners. You can also joint venture with me in setting up a construction company to build BH. This post has been edited by Tweeter: Apr 15 2012, 11:05 AM |
Apr 15 2012, 02:36 PM
167 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Good suggestion Nana . When I run out of customers I will think about it. Still have 6 pieces of land for on going program. Two under construction. Fresh area without competitor .will come visit for sure.
Apr 15 2012, 05:24 PM
26 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(ChanK @ Apr 14 2012, 03:41 PM) one of my friend cried when he sold his nests to collectors few days ago at average rm1.3k a kilo for corner nests. he asked when all this will goes back to normal. So, what's current prices? Last post you said price shooting up and now prices tumbling down even further. Can anybody show me market prices in your area? I might have to sell some now; i'm soooo dry up. i told him and everyone is telling all that all these nonsense can stop by only Added on April 15, 2012, 5:36 pm QUOTE(Tweeter @ Apr 15 2012, 11:00 AM) Come to Thailand for retirement, Ben. Thailand is indeed a place for retirement since cost of living is a bit lower than Malaysia and we are friendly and fair to foreigners. But I don't think BH consultant will be such a good business in the future, due to modest birdnest prices and more than a handful of Thai sifus now in the field. Many Japanese, Taiwanese and European have their retirement homes here. You can choose locations from North to South. Food and weather are similar to Malaysia, seafoods are cheap. Our government is so busy dealing with the red and yellow shirts and buy votes, so no time to deal with BH owners. You can also joint venture with me in setting up a construction company to build BH. By the way, busy or not, I don't think any Thai governments, the current and those to come, will be puting anykind of stringent regulations for tax purpose or any environment issues for BHs. One thing to remember, BH business is a domestic self-manufacturing and Export business. Nothing to buy from abroad, nothing to lose, and everything to gain, for the country econ. Long time no see, P'Tweeter. U sure know more ppl in here than me. Still Passionate of building a perfect BH? (Or fish is yr bigger interest now?) I wanted to join yr guppy blog sometimes but with superuser granted, Hehe.. This post has been edited by chitchai: Apr 15 2012, 05:36 PM |
Apr 15 2012, 05:38 PM
Sometime, I really wonder if I did talk too much or rather, over concerned about the future of BHs @ town.
For the past few months, I have been trying hard to convince the YB's secretary that the YB must and should have a dialog with us, the BHs owners on the future of Bhs @ town. I gave many reasons on why he should see us and no one know how hard I tried to convince the secretary to hold this dialog. Reason is that I told her that the BH owners would vote for the opposition not because they are pro opposition but that the BH owners are scare that the BN will demolish the BHs once the election is over. I wanted assurance from the horse mouth that no such thing would happen to the BHs @ town. When the YB called for a dialog, I wasn't inform but on the eve of the meeting, I was informed by a BN leader that the meeting has been cancelled due to the YB unable to attend. Hey, Why wasn't I inform of the meeting and also all the members; reason is because the Committee don't want me there as they don't want the YB to be offended..all because I talk too much!!!!!!! I helped to get the YB to have the meeting with us and yet I was to be excluded!!!! Walau! ini pun boleh!!! A Club that I started but now think that I meddle too much in the affair of the trade but leaving it all to them may kill us all for their "wait and see" altitude. I want to see if Fire start at their BH doors and how are they going to prevent the burning of BHs @ town...I mean demolishing of BHs @ town. Agriland BHs should have no worry but must concern with the licensing fee and condition requirement which I find very unpractical and absurd. Oh GOD...I am giving up for good and wouldn't get involve in the Swifltet matter again even they pay me well to do it again. No problem if my BHs @ town demolish cos all go too to TBT......or all swiftlets to Holland. So, for you elsewhere, never just leave the decision to your Association's BOD, ensure that they take decision and action to protect your BHs now and not to wait until all become a Law and then, you cry and blame the Association but remember, you elected the BODs, if they fail,change the leader. We have members here talking the same," Since we elected the BOD, let them take care of us".........remember, it's your future that they are gambling and not their's only. As always, I may talk too much, listen only to those you think are correct and ignore those you think wrong. |
Apr 15 2012, 10:07 PM
WW we all are very thankful to you for your enormous contribution to swiftlets and birdnests farmers. We appreciate your courage to speak out without fear and not like some ball carriers. Please be assure that we are behind you and need our learship. It's you right to say what you want And feel especially for the good of the BN industry. Sincerely I say thank you .
I have foreseen this serineo playing up several years ago and when my Bh was raided by the Foreaty Dept. and when I protested to the use of words "Raided" they change the wording to "Inspections" I sold two of my BHs and to "took the road that is less travelled by "and turned to Design/built/commission and sell. "and that has made a different" I spoke about this new opportunities and Change of strategies many times . I have since been building in stratgic areas in anticipation that BHs in commocial and residential will be force to close shop one day and I will provide sanctuary for the homeless birds and hence the benefits . I think this night be going in the right directions. Kind regards. |
Apr 15 2012, 11:34 PM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
I do not think all farms in town will be force to close shops... there are townships and even states that are hostile to farms for many reasons but there are also townships that welcome responsible farms as they can add to the coffers quite substantially... I think farms in established areas will faced stricter controls and maybe higher fees for licenses and the matter of sound pollution might be tightened and enforced with summons and fines... think as to whether the authorities can really close down all farms in places like Setiawan and other major farms areas if they by and large adhere to conditions set down by authorities. In my area at least, no new farms are allow in town and license were issued by Majlis and relationship is cordial between association and Majlis.
Apr 16 2012, 12:05 AM
AGREE ! We really hope that there will be as little disruption as possible to the NB industry. The ban from import into China has already done great damage to lots of farmers especially the newcomers who has yet to recoup thir investments.
On the other hand in many areas the unscrupulous BH owners are not cooperative and is damaging And hurting others . In Sarawak it was reported in today's news that many BHs resort to stealing power supply by illegally tapping into SEB lines. Shame,Shame,Shame !! Not even willing to pay RM 20.00 per month. PUI!! Believe me there are more anti BH then Pro BH ppl. Yes lots are due to jealousy but many complains are genuine. I do not areee that BN farming have to pay special fees. It's no different from other farming practices like goat farming ,Fish Farmings ,Chicken and pigs Farmings . so why victimized BN Farmings ? Government is suppose to encourage "Alternatinv Farming " BN farming fits the bill perfect ally . We hope all BN farmers will be decepline and cooperate for the good of fellow BH owners. The recent event shaws that BN business is solely or almostly solely depends on one market , the China Market . Is it wise to be over dependent on BN business and put all the eggs in one bucket? Think ! |
Apr 16 2012, 08:49 AM
124 posts Joined: May 2008 |
someone post something on the swiftlet discussion on FB chinese version...
今天去燕公会开会,燕公会主席说政府要我们安装那个什么Machine的东东!我听了直接不想听马上离开。安装为了什么?为了燕窝出口有保障?还是他们真正目的想控制出口?以后你想进燕屋时被政府监督吗?里面有多少只燕子、燕窝、收成到出口都被他们这般吸血鬼盯着。我想他们为了自己的袋子多过为我们燕农吧!还说这架Machine每个燕农和燕商需要购买,价值RM4千多令吉,可以分期付款。我呸 !!他老母!各位燕农,如果你们真的以为政府的出发点是好的,就自己去安装吧! |
Apr 16 2012, 11:49 AM
416 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(benchai @ Apr 16 2012, 12:05 AM) AGREE ! We really hope that there will be as little disruption as possible to the NB industry. The ban from import into China Ben,» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « There NEVER was a ban, the local Chinese Embassy Trade rep has already reiterated that in our local press. I don't recall any reports of EBN being returned wholesale at their entry point by the CHinese authorities. How it came to a standstill is anybody's guess...my guess is DVS stopped issuing their cert from then on. The MOH cert is a direct result of the nitrite fiasco and thus did not impact the export then. Of course the grey export was still functioning in the midst as someone mentioned. QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Apr 16 2012, 08:49 AM) someone post something on the swiftlet discussion on FB chinese version... The machine doesn't clean EBN» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The machine doesn't reduce nitrite to the required level It just lighten your pocket by RM4K and maybe give you more headaches when it breaks down or you run out of stickers and the supplier is closed and you have to stop your work. Once the machines are forced down our throat, the suggested supply chain process will be implemented! That means the secure box and RFID stickers and the stickers to be read at the processing plant. For the process to work, BH-to-processing plant chain cannot be broken. If they force the machines on us and DON'T implement the process it's an even bigger pile of BS. Guess what will be interrupted and maybe even broken permanently? Independent buyers!!!! No one will be knocking at your door asking for EBN anymore. Without competing buyers...will the price be market driven??? Maybe not a monopoly....but certainly a cartel and prices can be set at their whim. Sigh! For everyone trying to forge ahead there's 1,000 others waiting to leech off you!!! What's worst is...all done in the name of the govt ETP... 2 leeches - crony suppliers and pre-approved processing plants. 1 victim - BH owners. Without considering all the frequent expose of BIG ticket corruption I am already so sick of all these maneuvering in the EBN industry alone.... I am eagerly awaiting the next GE. |
Apr 16 2012, 12:04 PM
124 posts Joined: May 2008 |
do you think next GE will able to change gomen?? with so many dirty tricks.... what 6P thing... and some duplicate names in the voters list... i've lost my hope
This post has been edited by dc_hunter: Apr 16 2012, 12:04 PM |
Apr 16 2012, 12:39 PM
416 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Apr 16 2012, 04:36 PM
663 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Have been searching for ages for good location of agriland, taken into account of calculated risks, tat's incl. potential value of the land appreciate without BH, what can you do with the land if swiftlets colony refuse to co-operate, bare in mind of lower success rate compares with town BHs or in another words, higher risk compares with town BHs. Building a BH in agriland is exactly similar like buying a ghost town like Bukit Beruntung or Lembah Beringin in Selangor whereby many got stuck holding on to their dear asset >10 yrs since last economy crisis, cannot rent, uncomplete, abandoned housing projects, just hoping to breakeven or recoup losses.
Security will be the main issue if you put a farm in the agriland. You might have tip top security BH but so what. How about when you access to you farm, you can always get blocked or stopped in the mid of plantations. Unless you are the estate owner, then different story lah, no need BH already retire. Small farmers probably better get some bodyguards or armed yourself every time you inspect you BH. But how many can afford so? Ecopark fellows will be laughing to the bank if any amendment to the rules and regulation regarding town BHs. Ecopark will certainly be more secure compares with agriland. Many desperate town folks will swift their investment to ecoparks. Ya man, ecopark just like buying a shoplot in Bukit Beruntung, except BB is abandoned project. Ecopark you can't rent to anyone else except swiftlet. You only bet on 1 bullet. ps:- Oh sorry, I'm wrong, some ecopark fellow said ground floor you can rear mushroom, cacing, fishes, crabs, nest processing or may be ghost too This post has been edited by Bobby C: Apr 16 2012, 05:31 PM |
Apr 16 2012, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(philoswiflet @ Apr 15 2012, 11:34 PM) I do not think all farms in town will be force to close shops... there are townships and even states that are hostile to farms for many reasons but there are also townships that welcome responsible farms as they can add to the coffers quite substantially... I think farms in established areas will faced stricter controls and maybe higher fees for licenses and the matter of sound pollution might be tightened and enforced with summons and fines... think as to whether the authorities can really close down all farms in places like Setiawan and other major farms areas if they by and large adhere to conditions set down by authorities. In my area at least, no new farms are allow in town and license were issued by Majlis and relationship is cordial between association and Majlis. Let me say what I think are correct.1. More than 90% of Local Authorities are against the industry @ town. 2. Reasons a. Blame it on the sound disturbance b. Raayat complaints usually on the loud sound, day and night. c. The most importance of all, personal agendas like buying huge land to build swiftlets parks. For this reason, the authorities cooperate with big guys to buy up cheap govt. land under "JV" and build BHs for sale. No birds? what better way is to get the birds from the source i.e the town which are pioneer in the industry and therefore, having the most of birds. Consultants advice the local government to kill all BHs at town to populate the BHs at swiftlets parks. Also, by destroying all Bhs at towns will force the BHs owners to buy BHs at swiftlets parks. Killing 2 birds with one stone. Bright idea but the consultants never told the gmen that by destroying the BH @ town doesn't mean that the birds will fly to the nearest swiftlet park. These birds may either stay put or they may just fly away far even to Thailand or Indonesia. To destroy BHs@town is simple cos there are certainly many reasons for it and we, BHs assisted them in many ways like blasting the sound, days and nights as if we own the whole town..... Alas, we have state MB proudly proclaimed that our state shall be the best Swiftlet region in Malaysia by approving many swiftlets parks all over. Where to get the birds??? Definitely, must from you and me. You all remember that one well known Consultant even boosted that he is able and can assured that the birds move. Words don't mean anything but deed do. Research well in it and proven your theory right and correct before you teach others of your ways, not preaching your ideas and let others be fools to try them for you and when fail, who suffer? The IQ low guys who just follow like sheep and pay for the experiment. Apology if hurt cos I didn't mentioned anyone in particular here. 3. The authorities think that BHs are making alot of money and they all get greedy and want a share of it. Tax this and that on BH owners but why not also tax the Banks, Gold shop and so many that make even more. All because they have the reasons and excuses to do so on us.........and even agriland BHs won't be spare either and I wonder why. Why not also raise taxes on chicken, goat and cow owners plus presently many millionaires from Oil Palm. These industries even get Gmen grants, incentives and even free land. We only ask the Gmen to let us have freedom and that's not much to ask. |
Apr 16 2012, 11:12 PM
When a pioneer told the same story about our present associations problem and never depended on them....but his advices was unpopular to many....orang sudah buat, apa u cakap nih? siapa mau monopoly...mana ada monopoly?.....when winds blow...there is always a reason....and it is all too late to blah here......just prepare to be squeeze n juice out by them..these goes to both town or agriland farms...the nightmares is just baru start nih....
this is why many towns u see no new birds anymore....why? once i approach a farmer n questioned him what he did is wrong, he ask me, so, since u are so compassionate with beings....are u a full vegetarian?..u eat meats or not? u eat eggs or not? ohh....u eat??....so, u are selectively compassionate is it? the birds show u the money so u show humane with them n chicken eggs or meats don't show the money n u can eat them n feel good about it? i shut my mouth....he is right. chitchai, there is no fixed price in bn now....whoever desparate will sell it low, n whoever can hold it will get a better price. if u can hold, u hold...else, expect them to quote u the same old price for old stocks...they know which is old stock n which one is new. got extra money just buy agri land...sure untung one....even bukit also can...( except the govt forcefully take back lah...hehehe). u will be surprise even bukit beruntung land prices are shooting up too...don't play play.. All the local authorities are against town farms for ONE N ONLY REASON....they don't want to receive any complaints about farms from residents...as they need to clear all files n closed it instead...complaints keep coming n piling...what u want them to do? of course they want u down!!....i mau datang pagi, minum teh..10am pergi makan nasi lemak dan teh tarik lagi, petang makan lama sikit...lagi syiok kalau boleh balik rumah tidur sekejab dan tunggu pukul tiga minum teh lagi sama goreng pisang n pukul 5 tepat balik rumah....if u also u want like that lah....don't blame them. so, why the associations refuse to stop all this nonsense? to shut the sound? because some of the committee members have new farms in town that they need to use sound to attract birds loh...who is right? who is wrong? tidur lah... |
| Change to: | 0.0319sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:17 PM |