123 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry

ChanK
post Mar 13 2012, 09:43 AM

451 posts

don't be too negative thinking lah, don't worry be happy.

this time around, it will be a long long winter but still ppls eats bird's nest then we still have hope lah.

at least ur farms are doing well n not selling well only. many keepers with farms not doing well n not selling well too....so, they are 200% kena than u.

but....but.....

if u look at the current scenario, on the bright side, this is the golden opportunity for anyone who is been thinking, talking, planning, calculating and still calculating,searching, planning to own a bird house for retirement pasttime...this is once in a lifetime to get one.
the success rate will be much much higher than few years ago due to :

1) no one allow to build new farms in shops.
2) low bird's nests prices.

if u do your new farm now, competition will be low and this translate to higher success rate if u find silver plate or best gold plate.

but, my opinion is we cannot do what we did last time, build farms conventional way that cost easily few hundreds k to build just one and it takes 6 months to get one ready.

by using ready made panels which is low cost and fast track, we can build one farm at 1/3 of what we pay and only take 2 weeks to get one farm build n operate. We can build 3 farms within a month at the same price...this is much better if you are thinking to own farms in agri lands..elese uncle WW suggestion of buying existing farms in town will be an even better suggestion.

but, i think the 100% foam concrete still very very light weight to secure the building (unless they can secure it with more steel bars but they only have steel mesh which is so so wide n thin). if u ever want to build farms in agri land, the buildings must at least can secure it for at least 30 minutes for someone to breakin, and by then, ur police friends woould have arrive to tangkap them.

but most of the time, it is not how u secure the farms but how to secure yrself when u go in or come out from yr farms.

hehe....something to think about to distract from the low low prices of bird nests......news are indicating weak china economy data lately...no surprise as most data are fake anyway...but this will add more salts to us as weak economy translate to low demand of bn too...

satu lombak belum habis, lagi satu lombak hentam lagi...banyak susahlah...

but look at the bright side, we still breathing !!!...yeah!!!
West Wing
post Mar 13 2012, 10:24 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Mar 12 2012, 07:30 PM)
For those of you old sifus whom have been in this industry for >5 years I don't think this hit you hard because most of you have already make back tons of $$$ from your initial investments.

For someone like me whose BH are around 2-4 yrs, just started getting good harvest then this tragedy happen, investment not yet get back and now basically monthly income is 0.

I know in time this will get better, but it is very likely this will take years and not months to resolve. Until then, have to look for other ways to make $$$!!  cry.gif
There are still buyers out there and if Malaysia can no longer export then how come there are buyers out there and the offering price are low and the best I heard is Rm2100/Kg.

Let me tell you a open secret and that is that they smuggled the nests from countries bordering China and that's why I told here that even after 3 years, there still be Malaysia nests in China for sale.

One even told me that we don't need to export directly to China and only to neighbouring China countries and they, the Tai Ko there will do the rest.....so, you are dealing with the Buyers @ these countries. Therefore, you nests will not be wasted but since these market are controlled by afew who know the ways out, we are at their mercy.......unless our Govt. can help solve our problem and we are allow to export our unprocessed nests directly to China without going thru Ministers' friends.

I do appeal to our Govt. to allow free export to China and under the surveillance of one Govt. department to ensure that our nests are pure. What's 1M and 1 everything don't apply here.....we, the raayat also want only satu (1) Agency for convenience sake. If other countries don't required, why do we need to and if other countries smuggle the nests in to China, at least allow us to export legally with least inconveniences....we want to be clean and honest businessmen and not criminals; at least help us to become one.

Allow all certified Lab to approved our nests quality approved by China and with the certification, we hope to be able to export. Don't monopolizes everything that make profit and only allow the rich and influential guys to make money..........also, allow the nests to be exported as it is so that no adulteration or additives added to lower the chemical content of these nests..........making it not original.

We imported alot of tea from China and all of these tea do contain chemical that are harmful to human and we still take the tea as they are as these are natural ingredient in the leave and by artificially removing the harmful substances, the tea will never taste the same and nobody will buy anyway.

Hope that I talk some sense here.

coolandy
post Mar 13 2012, 01:49 PM

314 posts

WW, you always talk sense, that I can assure you. EBN is not the same as tiger parts or ivory.

Sooner or later, things will return to normal. Heard that mixed grade ebn going for RM2000/kg. Below that, not many willing to sell.

aeiou228
post Mar 13 2012, 10:15 PM

5,867 posts

http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/239893?tid=1
http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/239892?tid=1

China ambassador to Malaysia said China never ban BN import from Malaysia. The ban is for bringing in BN individually.
kohloh
post Mar 14 2012, 09:33 AM

142 posts

They didnt ban you.They jus ""禁止"" only ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

http://news.qq.com/a/20120314/000048.htm

aeiou228
post Mar 14 2012, 09:58 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kohloh @ Mar 14 2012, 09:33 AM)
They didnt ban you.They jus ""禁止"" only ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

http://news.qq.com/a/20120314/000048.htm
No la bro, China ban government officials claim bn in their entertainment claims only. Where got mentioned ban bn from Malaysia ?
kohloh
post Mar 14 2012, 10:48 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 14 2012, 09:58 AM)
No la bro, China ban government officials claim bn in their entertainment claims only. Where got mentioned ban bn from Malaysia ?
solly lo,,,wat i mean is gov r educating their people not to eat only ma,,,,,i think hard enough la,,,,

& wat i hear after e Mou is sign,all factory cleaning nest mus hav HACCP standard & Moh frm farmers,fr export to CN,,,
bac to e same old ways la,,,indon here i come.....

3malaysian now wanted person in vietnam fr bring in un declare nest & when custom sized their stock they ran away & now wanted in vietnam,,,,

This post has been edited by kohloh: Mar 14 2012, 11:11 AM
West Wing
post Mar 14 2012, 12:16 PM

1,397 posts

Wish that I have In-Laws bordering China, then I will make my EBN money without investing in BHs.

Most of these countries basically have their people moving in and out like at sungei Golok where people just cross border with motorcycles without any documents. How do I know cos I have been there and the river then was so narrow that just turn the boat and I am in Thailand soil.

I didn't knew then cos I was with my friends for a trip to Golok as I haven't visited Golok then and I have my passport ready but due to the flooding of the monsoon, we were late and the border pass was closed for the night.

My friends took me to the river crossing and there, I was in Golok but I was so worried that the next day, I wanted to have my passport stamp, so early next morning, my friend got me a Thai and off we ride thru the immigration and do a U turn and back to the immigration for the stamping; how foolish of me to worry as I was back to Malaysia on a motorbike and then again to Golok just to get stamping on my passport.....all in less than 20 mins.

So, China having so huge a border and impossible to close all and bordering people can just go in and out without passport and smuggling of goods are normal affair.

Hope you like my Golok trip story as there is nothing new about EBN and BH......just that another buyer came offering Rm2100-Rm2200 and I wasn't interested to recommend sellers to him.
Slowstart
post Mar 15 2012, 12:29 PM

Sifus, any of you know if there are enough swiftlets in Hainan Island so to set up BH here?
West Wing
post Mar 15 2012, 05:16 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Slowstart @ Mar 15 2012, 12:29 PM)
Sifus,  any of you know if there are enough swiftlets in Hainan Island so to set up BH here?
As far as I know, there are no AF in Hainan or any part of China at present. There were consultants from Malaysia that went to Hainan to teach the Chinese there swiftlets farming; Farming to be exact and the Malaysian bought alot of eggs from here to hatch in Hainan and using the Indo's method of hand feeding the swiftlets and hope to help the Hainanese to farm swiftlets to harvest EBN....and I believe making alot of money from the Chinese in Hainan island.

Many years ago, I was in China and a Chinese friend asked me that his village has alot of swiftlets but I told him that those are not edible nest swiftlets but swallow by his description of the specie. I told of a method of trying to breed AF if he is interested.

Maybe some here do have more information to share among fellow forum friends here on it.

philoswiflet
post Mar 19 2012, 03:46 AM

115 posts

I think I saw a documentary about travel in China where there are bird nests swiftlets living in a cave at Yunnan which is the southernmost province in China bordering Myanmar (Burma). But generally speaking, China is like India which is not consider to be a bird nests country although I had also read about a cave there on an island that also have bird nests swiftlets.
northface
post Mar 19 2012, 09:57 AM

359 posts

I read before that there are some AF in southern hainan island, although very little. According to ppl the nests so little therefore price very high sell for hundreds of k for a kilo.

http://news.hainan.net/newshtml/2007w6r13/190660f0.htm
Slowstart
post Mar 19 2012, 02:34 PM

Thanks Sifus for your feedback. Just thinking loud to see if Hainan is a place to venture into since locally we have so many problems. Despite that, those selling BH are not letting go with good buys.
West Wing
post Mar 19 2012, 04:29 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Mar 19 2012, 09:57 AM)
I read before that there are some AF in southern hainan island, although very little. According to ppl the nests so little therefore price very high sell for hundreds of k for a kilo.

http://news.hainan.net/newshtml/2007w6r13/190660f0.htm
Those found in China are of the feather type - Maximus and not Edible-nest Swiftlet (Aerodramus fuciphagus) so there, the people pick the nests out unlike us, we pick up the feather. Their nests consist of more than 90% feathers and only a small percentage edible nests and so, their price is very high consider the danger of climbing up so high to get so little nests.

Oyes! If I am not wrong, India also have the Maximus type of swiftlets and early days, they infact took India's Maximus nests back to China.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 19 2012, 04:36 PM
northface
post Mar 19 2012, 05:14 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Mar 19 2012, 04:29 PM)
Those found in China are of the feather type - Maximus  and not Edible-nest Swiftlet (Aerodramus fuciphagus) so there, the people pick the nests out unlike us, we pick up the feather. Their nests consist of more than 90% feathers and only a small percentage edible nests and so, their price is very high consider the danger of climbing up so high to get so little nests.

Oyes! If I am not wrong, India also have the Maximus type of swiftlets and early days, they infact took India's Maximus nests back to China.
We should export malaysia EBN to hainan sell there locally as hainan EBN for 10x the price. shocking.gif
West Wing
post Mar 19 2012, 05:55 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Mar 19 2012, 05:14 PM)
We should export malaysia EBN to hainan sell there locally as hainan EBN for 10x the price.  shocking.gif
Good thinking but cannot cos if you have seen the feather type of nests then you will know that those nests collected are mostly brownish and can stand boiling for long time unlike our's that will melt easily.

Most of the nests are collected from the edge part sticking to the cave wall and the rest will be removed alittle at a time........very time consuming process.
tuckfook
post Mar 20 2012, 01:32 PM

360 posts

Recent rumors are

Export of EBN to China will resume soon, within April to June.

Neighboring countries are planning to boycott Chinese preserved fruits, vegetables and other condiments.

Several parties hoping to monopolize importation of EBN into China by setting standards that initially few others will be able to attain.

Vast stocks of EBN will ensure the price rebound will be modest until such stocks are depleted. Controlled release will ensure great profits for these people with the stocks.

Would be nice if anyone can confirm the above.
mois
post Mar 20 2012, 01:33 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Mar 20 2012, 01:32 PM)
Recent rumors are

Neighboring countries are planning to boycott Chinese preserved fruits, vegetables and other condiments.

Several parties hoping to monopolize importation of EBN into China by setting standards that initially few others will be able to attain.

Vast stocks of EBN will ensure the price rebound will be modest until such stocks are depleted. Controlled release will ensure great profits for these people with the stocks.

Where do you get these rumors? I havent heard any yet. Some of the local buyers are blur as well.
West Wing
post Mar 20 2012, 05:13 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Mar 20 2012, 01:32 PM)
Recent rumors are

Someone told me that the Indo Govt. told the Chinese that they will also enforce the same PPM on the chinese products if the China insist of so low a PPM on EBN and I believe that will bring the Chinese to understand that the PPM never was and will never be an issue and all are required that the EBN be exported without any additive or chemical added.

If the Indo Govt. really said so, than I shall compliment the Indo Govt. on a job well done cos if you insist on this then we shall also insist on that; fair, right? But our Mal. Govt. are afraid of the Chinese Govt. as we export more to China than import.

So, if the Chinese want 30 PPM than we also insist on 30PPM on the import of chinese products and I assured all here that none of China food export need the requirement or even close.

Like I said, the possibility of " Ada Udang Sebalik Batu" or simply with hidden personal agenda for those who are getting us in these situation to make billions.
ChanK
post Mar 22 2012, 10:29 AM

451 posts

Indonesia is still better positioned to bargain with china as their population is 200 plus millions while we only have 30 plus million...7 times our population....

with us,eur,uk n many big nations now facing bad consumption n low demand for china goods.....china is depending on asia countries and local demands to sell their products....

Malaysia boleh punya...shout boleh, action boleh (lambat sikit lah...tapi action juga mah or actci saja)...tapi ada orang dengar atau tidak....tak tau lah......harap bukan hanya syiok sendiri cukup lah....hahaha...

hai ya.......2.2 lagi....mana 4 .....i want empat lah.....ze better number.....

123 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:07 AM