Happy Winter Solstice Day everyone here and may the New Year bring good Luck, fortune and many more Birds.
V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry
Dec 21 2016, 03:40 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Happy Winter Solstice Day everyone here and may the New Year bring good Luck, fortune and many more Birds.
Dec 21 2016, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(salangsibutu @ May 17 2016, 01:59 PM) Salam, semua sya dari philippine I have a question, is it advisable to built a BH near the swiftlet cave for about 100 Meters away from the mouth of the cave? I am a newbie to swiftlet farming planning to engage in it, your advised will be really appreciated and helpful. Thanks in advance. In my opinion,there is no incentive to build a BH near swiftlet cave as those there aren't going to migrate to your BH.Like human, city people are city people and kampung guys shall always be anak kampung. Although they seem to communicate similar but not the same wavelenght. My opinion only. Best in swiftlets area or path or where there are many successful birdhouses around to share their babies with you if they breed swiftlets. |
Jul 29 2017, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(lingseng91 @ Jul 26 2017, 08:43 PM) Need not as many sites never give best orice or rather actual honest qoutes. Your fellow birdhouse owners are the most reliable source as they have no reason to lie on the price.I can only tell you this that the last selling price at my place was Rm3900/kg AB and Rm3300 corner 4 days ago but the price will be up in the coming weeks and best price more than 1 month before 15th. Of the 8 month in the Chinese Calender . So, don't sell low, sell at reasonable prive and all be well. The future of the EBN's price depend on how you sell now as if you sell too low, the next round price cannot go up. This is simple common sense if you still dont understand, treat me coffee and I shall gladly explain over a free coffee plus roti bakar n if good, appreciate with extra 2 eggs.😂😂😂😂 |
Jul 29 2017, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(sinfullychocolate @ Jun 30 2017, 01:53 PM) What is the current price for uncleaned Birdnest (AB)now? Are there buyers on this forum? I have only a few kg which i am interested to sell. Any contacts would be appreciated. The best advice is for you to mix around with other BH owners around your area and they shall be your best friends to give you a fair qoute on you RBN. Others sources, 50% T /50%Fake news like Trump says. Make friends n share for mutual better future. All for One and One for All for Fa Cai everyone. |
Jul 29 2017, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Mar 24 2017, 11:34 AM) Anyone have successful BH especially in Oil Palm plantation estate ? Dont build one, buy one to save the industry as there are too many Birdhouses with too little new fledged birds to share as too many greedy BH ownners now who care not the future but see only profit now; myopic I say! Create more breeders to share new hatchlings to spread more new birds ; a win win parnership between farmers and also Men n Swiftlets. I am planning to venture BH , would like to know any owner that have successful BH in Oil Palm plantation estate ? Any Sifu please share your successful venture BHs at estates have better gain of birds but shall lose most to predators and thieves. Town ones, too many harversters n birds migrate. |
Aug 10 2017, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(mois @ Jul 29 2017, 10:10 AM) After prices going up over a year ago. Very less people willing to breed. It is about how fast you harvest now. Cant blame them really. If full breed, can only harvest 3-4 times a year. And cream and yellow color nest, buyer start lowball and quotation price is based on more white color nests. It bring me back to the good old time when EBN was sold at Rm6K and that's was a good time. Best price that I sold was Rm6500 and no one was complaining about brown nests and Red nests were the highest price in China fetching over RMB30K until they found out that the Good Red ones all were created with bird shits. Farmers becoming very greedy and what their initial intention of breeding swiftlets for the nests all gone with the increment of price and later the demand of white nests. Many have forget their promises to me before I taught them the art of BHs farming that I expect them to never destroy bird eggs or to kill a chick. When Money Devil enter their soul, all they can see are money, money and more money...... as one farmer told me then that every harvest mean a new car for him and one more harvest mean another new car........sad and true. Worst iwas when the price crashing down as farmers income becoming less and they harvest more times to gain back the lost. I asked them where shall be our future if all farmers harvest 6 times a year as there will no longer be new fledged bird to fill the population. Sad reply were that others shall breed while the selfish farmers shall share. Initial all well cos there were still alot of breeders around whose Fledged birds did share among all but gradually, greediness enter to all mind when China Men pay good price for white nests and buyers so demand. Just 2 days ago, one farmer came to see and ask why his BHs now have less then 50% of his formal quantity. 1st. question that I asked him was how many times did he harvest a year and quickly he answered "6 Times". Now, I told him that like China, the ageing population has grown but the new Generation becoming lesser and why? There are too few new birds to share as his BH was a very successful BH over 6K birds and over 10 years, now the increment maybe 50 new birds but the dead and the infertile ones maybe 10 times that. Must stop now... |
Oct 23 2017, 12:43 PM
Gong Xi Fa Cai, fellow BH owners.
As predicted by me, price going up Reason no.1: Demand high but supply low. 2. birdnests getting lesser 3. China population getting richer so demand high and can afford for birdnest and 4. More Older population which are best market for birdnests. can give more reasons and all showing possible increment in price. just imagine that even now as EBN off season, price still high but rest assured that buyers shall try hard to pull price down now so that they can have cheaper EBN price for the coming CNY festival when price surely going up. Too high a price then means making lesser profit for EBN collectors. So, don't you worry that price shall drop very low; its going to be up unless experts find that birdnest no longer a health food but worry that your birds are getting lesser and lesser unless you all unite and do something about it. |
May 7 2018, 02:46 PM
HI
This post has been edited by West Wing: May 7 2018, 03:08 PM |
May 7 2018, 03:06 PM
Being sleeping for awhile but now awaken because of ELECTION time and KALI INI LAH!!!!! No lah, because the EBN price is increasing as predicted, now about 4.5K but if high above 5K, I also want to sell so pls provide me with the contact if you can.
Much appreciated . A reminder is never sell low as collection time isn't around yet and festival is coming soon. Be well and take care. Vote for Burung Walit !!!!! This post has been edited by West Wing: May 7 2018, 03:14 PM |
Mar 2 2020, 07:50 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
During monsoon season, all the swiftlets fly away so don't expect swiftlets to lay their eggs. As for time of harvesting, it used to be 3 times a year until the farmers got greedy and harvest before eyggs are lay or throw away eggs before fledgling making harvesting no longer based on the timing but on the availability of birdnests. Many farmers harvest up to 6 times a year wanting the whitest nests getting best price from buyers. Doing so destroy the cycle of production of nests causing serious reduction of nests and Malaysia experiences a huge decline of nests as old birds die without new birds replacing the old birds.
As responsible farmers in the trade, we must be looking for better future and not present gains or demands as thus isn't like cattle farming which we can buy our future stocks and fully depend on God's will and blessings. As birds get lesser due to overharvest and poor weather, swiftlets tend to migrate to better area to build their families especially to remote areas or to neighbouring countries where there, the farmers are doing what we did more than 30 years ago. Then, we were pratically preserving and protector of swiftlets and the responds were very Good to the farmers. We experienced 2 fold of nest in less than a year and a bird house could easily reached 1K nests within 3 years. Those days, I encourage all to build birdhouses but now, I advice all not to waste their money in this industry. We used to have this phase. We take care of our children for 20 years but they cannot take care of us for 10 years. We take care of the birds for 3 years, they take care of us for the rest of our life. This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 2 2020, 07:52 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0599sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:55 AM |