De_Cruelz's Living in Australia Gallery, Bondi beach sunrise pics added 30/4/2006

TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 25 2005, 03:39 PM, updated 20y ago

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey guys, decided to start my gallery here for lowyat.net forumers to view. Comments and criticism for all pictures is encouraged as i'm still very much an amateur and would like to learn from you all here.

My inventory list is as follows:

Body:
Canon 350D

Lenses:
Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II
Canon EF-S 10-22mm + lens hood
Canon EF-S 17-85mm IS

Accessories:
Battery Grip BG-E3
Speedlite 430EX + Stofen Omnibounce
Hoya 77mm Cir-Polariser
Manfrotto 190D/141RC
2 X 1GB Sandisk Ultra 2
Lowepro EX 160

Software:
Adobe Photoshop CS2
Adobe Bridge

This post has been edited by De_Cruelz: Apr 30 2006, 10:30 AM
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 25 2005, 03:43 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Following pics were taken at the Sydney fish market. They were all taken handheld with a 17-85IS on a slightly overcast day. Pics here are all a first hand experience at processing B&W.

Tunn
post Oct 25 2005, 04:04 PM

The SadPanda
651 posts

ohhhh...moving on to new hobby iz it??? thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 25 2005, 04:16 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hi Tunn, i've been into photography for quite awhile already but it was only last year that I managed to save enough money to purchase a DSLR smile.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 25 2005, 04:22 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Sydney's star attraction - Harbour Bridge and Opera House

Entrance to Luna Park

This post has been edited by De_Cruelz: Oct 25 2005, 04:22 PM
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 25 2005, 04:26 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

A cold and foggy winter morning

A dead branch during sunset

This post has been edited by De_Cruelz: Oct 25 2005, 04:29 PM
KVReninem
post Oct 25 2005, 04:39 PM

IX
5,369 posts

nice harbour pic! biggrin.gif

babyelf
post Oct 25 2005, 05:15 PM

1,372 posts

yo dude.. long time no see tongue.gif

nice pics wink.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 25 2005, 05:21 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hehe yes, been awhile smile.gif

Thanks for the comment KVReninem and babyelf wink.gif
well2k26
post Oct 25 2005, 05:50 PM

549 posts

[quote=De_Cruelz,Oct 25 2005, 04:26 PM]
A cold and foggy winter morning

i like this most... got warm feel from the sun light.. nice pic guys.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
smellyocheese
post Oct 25 2005, 08:02 PM

Quack
2,599 posts

great pictures! love the dead branch
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 27 2005, 02:50 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks smelly! smile.gif That dead branch pic happens to be the first picture I printed at the labs. Got one printed at 8" X 12" smile.gif
earthkid
post Oct 27 2005, 09:14 AM

muggs rocks
970 posts

gee..the one with the flowers and tree trunks...isn't it just stunning???
dude..how did you manage to get an effect like the flower??u arrange it in such way and then shoot it??
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 27 2005, 10:29 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks earthkid smile.gif

The flower one is actually a bouquet of flowers taken from the top angle. The lighting was just right so only most of the top part was properly exposed. I also cheated a little by using Photoshop to burn out the other parts as I found it quite distracting from the picture.
myqd
post Oct 27 2005, 10:39 AM

2,247 posts

nice shots,De_Cruelz thumbup.gif

personally,i like #5,Harbour Bridge, and "foggy winter morning",dun know how's the "feel" in colour?

Why not try pics taken with ur 10-22mm?Or u save the best for last? drool.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Oct 27 2005, 10:40 AM
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 27 2005, 11:32 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks myqd! Glad you enjoyed the pics smile.gif

The foggy winter morning pic looks almost b&w although taken with color. It lacked the impact so I converted it to b&w and I was really surprised how much it improved.

Now I find that I hardly take pics with the 10-22 as it is often too wide for city or walk about use. Most of the time I have my 17-85 on due to its more usable range. The Harbour Bridge and Luna Park pics were taken with the 10-22 though smile.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 27 2005, 11:37 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Here's one taken with the 10-22 at Watson's Bay overlooking the Sydney CBD. You can see the Harbour Bridge from here smile.gif

D_Y2k.4^
post Oct 30 2005, 12:32 PM

Enriching Your Lifestyle!
2,271 posts

damn!your pics are speechless!Another fellow's gallery that i did not notice until now.I went over Sydney last and it was superb!Nice place for photography:) Btw,got any pic of QVB?You are loaded with ammos and add ons la:P
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 31 2005, 01:03 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey mate! Thanks for the kind comment smile.gif I've been a member for quite awhile but never really hung out at this part of the forum until recently I stumbled upon it. I posted mainly in OC United back then but have stopped spending on computer parts. I think you can guess where the rest of my earnings have gone to recently tongue.gif

Haven't really taken any pics in the city as everytime i'm there i'm either partying or watching a movie. Too lazy to carry around the equipment especially when the crowd can be quite rowdy during the weekends. Never thought of taking pics of QVB but I guess I will soon! Thanks for the suggestion wink.gif

Anyway here's one more pic taken awhile back when I was testing the 10-22 with a Cir-Pol

D_Y2k.4^
post Oct 31 2005, 03:53 PM

2,271 posts

did u adjust hue and saturation?your colours look very vibrant:)
neoro_blitz
post Oct 31 2005, 04:03 PM

492 posts

very nice pics man , especially those taken with the 10-22 tongue.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Oct 31 2005, 09:53 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Oct 31 2005, 05:53 PM)
did u adjust hue and saturation?your colours look very vibrant:)
Yeap, played a little with contrast and saturation to get that vibrant blue. I also used a polarizer to gain more contrast in the sky smile.gif

Thanks neoro_blitz! Unfortunately, I find it quite hard to use the 10-22 at times because its simply too wide. A lot of unwanted stuff is seen in the capture too tongue.gif

SUSTheVoIP
post Oct 31 2005, 10:02 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(De_Cruelz @ Oct 31 2005, 01:03 AM)
Wow... I simply love the sky!!! It is awesome! thumbup.gif

Great Job De_Cruelz!
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 5 2005, 10:36 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey guys, got some new pics up today! thumbup.gif

Been a long hard week for me with 3 assignments due in 2 days and only 5 hours of sleep for 3 days. I felt like I needed a break and so we went up to Hawkesbury where the Scheyville Reserve Park is in Sydney. Got up at 5 am in hopes to get some nice warm sun light but unfortunately it turned out to be the worst day to go out for shooting.

The weather was gloomy and there was a light to moderate drizzle during the whole trip. Naturally the shots I got today were all somewhat boring and mundane due to bad lighting. Here's a few i've processed and I might post a few more later if I think they're good enough. Somehow the colored shots turned out very differently from the original RAW file I took. Anyone got any good workflow tips for processing from RAW to JPG whilst maintaining color integrity?

Anyway as mentioned above, it was a bad day for shooting but I tried salvaging whatever I had and hope you guys will enjoy them

TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 6 2005, 04:36 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Here are somemore I just got to process. I was experimenting with different post processing and I was quite happy with the final products. They weren't processed like I normally do for bright sunny pics so I decided to overdo the contrast and saturation for some of these smile.gif

#10 - I think this is my favourite picture from the whole trip smile.gif
D_Y2k.4^
post Nov 6 2005, 09:04 AM

2,271 posts

wah!top notch quality.I really love your last nd your favourite pic.Good job dude.
torped91
post Nov 6 2005, 09:09 AM

754 posts

Fantastic Equipment!

Awesome pics mate. Keep up with the good work!
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 6 2005, 01:35 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks D_Y2k.4^ and torped91! smile.gif

I was quite dissapointed when I arrived at the park as it way totally deserted and looked very runned down. We were the only people there for a good 3-4km radius. For some reason I think the park isn't visited very often and there's nothing really to see there too. I guess you will need a guide to really bring you around.

Thanks again for looking guys. You make the trip worth it wink.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 7 2005, 11:20 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

I experimented with #10 and processed the background to be B&W. Now I can't really decide which I like better smile.gif

What do you guys think?
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 8 2005, 09:41 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

All shots here taken with the 50mm f1.8 smile.gif They were taken awhile back but I didn't have the gallery here so I never posted them. Anyway, here they are and hope you guys enjoy them wink.gif

KVReninem
post Nov 8 2005, 09:45 PM

IX
5,369 posts

#10 is nice man!
SUSTheVoIP
post Nov 8 2005, 10:38 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(De_Cruelz @ Nov 8 2005, 09:41 PM)
Nice composition... thumbup.gif

But background blur not pretty. It is not your fault... Just get a EF50 f1.4 and see the complete background upgrade! flex.gif

Some prefer to buy the Ziess / Leica 50mm, which I can hardly understand... but I think the Canon EF50 f1.4 is pretty good. Not to mention still enjoy its ultrasonic autofocusing motor. drool.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 8 2005, 11:38 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

I think it might be my fault. The amount and shape of the bokeh depends on the settings too sometimes. I'm not so sure bout this but I think in different lighting conditions you get different effects of bokeh too.

All the shots here were taken within 20 minutes before the sun set for the day. I was pretty much in a rush to try out the new lens as I just got it before I took those photos smile.gif
??!!
post Nov 10 2005, 11:49 AM

2,548 posts

What can I say except W.O.W !

Pictures that move my soul..great shots....

*sighs*...when can i ever get to this level of expertise?
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 10 2005, 12:29 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks ??!! smile.gif

Practice, practice, practice smile.gif It doesn't take much to get good shots. Patience, good lighting and proper technique is all required wink.gif
julianne
post Nov 10 2005, 04:24 PM

185 posts

-applause-

love no 8. the two white furry balls.. lol

-salute-
RAV4
post Nov 10 2005, 05:56 PM

859 posts

Great stuffs De_Cruelz! I love Sydney! I only spent 3 days there but I really like the place! But when you're on holiday, there's not much time to explore the town and take so many shots. Not to mention that I was using a film camera then.

Looking forward to seeing more shots from you. BTW, I think there's not so much difference in image quality between the 350D and 20D. After looking at your shots, I'm inclined to save the difference and get the 350D with a L-series. Thanks for sharing your images dude!
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 10 2005, 06:18 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks for the kind comments Julianne! #8 also happens to be one of my favourite pics smile.gif

Thanks RAV4! I'd like to take more pics but its exam season now for me sad.gif

Hopefully i'll get to go around and take more photos before I fly back to KL for the semester break.

At one point I also felt like replacing the 350D with a 20D instead. After giving it some thought I felt that it wasn't worth it as they are very similar except for the bigger buffer and extra AF points. One other thing is the lesser noise in higher ISO's but they don't really apply to me. I then decided that it would be wiser to stick with the 350D and purchase say a 70-200 f2.8 instead wink.gif

Glad you enjoyed the pics!

EDIT: I actually got quite a few more pics taken at Hawkesbury but I didn't post them as I felt they weren't good enough. Maybe if I have some time i'll post process them and post it up here smile.gif

This post has been edited by De_Cruelz: Nov 10 2005, 06:20 PM
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 10 2005, 09:23 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Here's a pic I just snapped this evening during sunset from my balcony. Nothing really fantastic bout this picture but what I found fascinating was that mass of clouds in the center of the picture. Looks like a tornado doesn't it?

wufei
post Nov 11 2005, 09:36 AM

3,039 posts

Wow Wow.....fantastic. Nice pics... This is the work of pro....
And he has show us the power of DSLR again..... drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by wufei: Nov 11 2005, 09:37 AM
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 11 2005, 04:29 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks for the comments wufei. And no, i'm not a pro although i'd very much like to be smile.gif

A DSLR does gives us the extra advantage and control over the quality of the pictures.

Nice pictures in your gallery btw! I think you would make very good use of a DSLR and macro lens in your hands wink.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 12 2005, 01:06 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Well well, i'm supposed to be studying for my upcoming uni exams but I got bored. It's a really hot day today and my brain decided not to function so I went for a walk with my camera just outside my apartment.

There's nothing really interesting but here are 2 pics I took while I was out smile.gif

Here's the first pic. No idea what flower is that tongue.gif

And here's where I took it. Converted it to B&W to make it more interesting. Contrast was increased intentionally to make the whites blow out.

adwin
post Nov 12 2005, 01:15 PM

pOku
616 posts

OMG ... and you call yourself Amateur .....

:S

I am starting to appreciate the power of DSLR liau .... tongue.gif

TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 14 2005, 06:36 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

I believe I still am very much an amateur. When I can sell photographs which are in the $300-400 range then i'll call myself a PRO wink.gif

TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 22 2005, 09:20 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey guys! Haven't been visiting or taking pics at all lately due to exams sad.gif I still have 1 tomorrow morning and another on Friday then i'm done! thumbup.gif

Anyway, there were some thunderstorms in Sydney and I managed to get some pics. It hasn't been raining with lightning at all for months so this is quite a rare occurance for us Sydney folks. I should be studying for tomorrow's exam but I couldn't resist taking a few shots.

This is my first time ever at taking lightning shots so be nice smile.gif

This post has been edited by De_Cruelz: Nov 22 2005, 09:27 PM
mabul81
post Nov 22 2005, 09:22 PM

244 posts

Good shot and good timing thumbup.gif
Btw, how you managed to get the lighting shot ? long exposure or ?? unsure.gif
LittleLinnet
post Nov 22 2005, 09:23 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

those are really nice one
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 22 2005, 09:31 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hehe thanks guys! Some shots were taken at f/4 4-5 secs exposure. I experimented a little with longer exposures like 10 secs with f/8 to f/10.

The better ones are with shorter exposures so the quick blast of lightning is captured nicely without it being overexposed smile.gif
mabul81
post Nov 22 2005, 09:52 PM

244 posts

tele ?

How lucky was u! haha ... I thnk the tricks is something like shooting fireworks whistling.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Nov 22 2005, 10:16 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

I used my 10-22 for those shots smile.gif. It's hard to provide a scale but those lightning bolts were really bright and spreads out pretty big.

Yea, I think the method is somewhat similar to taking fireworks. I haven't tried yet but i'm guessing fireworks are best shot at 2-3 secs max exposure to get enough detail in the fireworks itself and not too much streaks of light?
mabul81
post Nov 22 2005, 11:52 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(De_Cruelz @ Nov 22 2005, 10:16 PM)
I used my 10-22 for those shots smile.gif. It's hard to provide a scale but those lightning bolts were really bright and spreads out pretty big.

Yea, I think the method is somewhat similar to taking fireworks. I haven't tried yet but i'm guessing fireworks are best shot at 2-3 secs max exposure to  get enough detail in the fireworks itself and not too much streaks of light?
I thnk so, too long exposure might not capture the shape of fire tails properly.. whistling.gif
Not sure, not try b4.... sweat.gif

You try n let me knw nex time..haha laugh.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Dec 2 2005, 06:06 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Yeay, exams are finally over and i'm flying back home tomorrow! smile.gif

Went to Port Stephens a couple of days ago with a few friends. Port Stephens is famous for dolphin and whale watching for those who have not heard of this place. We did see quite a number of dolphins but it was a gloomy day with heavy rain and strong winds during the dolphin watching at sea. Ofcourse, I didn't wanna get my camera wet so there aren't any good shots of the dolphins tongue.gif

Anyway, here are some shots I took when I was on dry land laugh.gif Hope you guys enjoy these smile.gif

D_Y2k.4^
post Dec 2 2005, 06:38 PM

2,271 posts

Hey bro!congratualtions on your examination completion!:D Lovely add ons yo!The clouds have given the beach a very refreshing character
LongExp
post Dec 3 2005, 03:13 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(De_Cruelz @ Dec 2 2005, 06:06 PM)
Yeay, exams are finally over and i'm flying back home tomorrow! smile.gif

Went to Port Stephens a couple of days ago with a few friends. Port Stephens is famous for dolphin and whale watching for those who have not heard of this place. We did see quite a number of dolphins but it was a gloomy day with heavy rain and strong winds during the dolphin watching at sea. Ofcourse, I didn't wanna get my camera wet so there aren't any good shots of the dolphins tongue.gif

Anyway, here are some shots I took when I was on dry land laugh.gif Hope you guys enjoy these smile.gif

I like this one. the blue sky with clouds really show some depth. is amazing..

SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 3 2005, 04:19 AM

Super General
5,793 posts

Wow... you are many great shots! But I simply love your lighting pictures... Really great timing and great location! thumbup.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Dec 3 2005, 10:07 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks for the comments guys, glad you like those pics. Most of them were taken with a Cir-Polarizer hence the nice blue skies and clouds that really stand out.

Weather in Sydney was really weird for the past few days. We had unusually lots of thunderstorms and dark gloomy skies. Maybe the end of the world is coming? tongue.gif
ahpaul82
post Dec 6 2005, 10:02 AM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

All nice pics~ smile.gif

TSDe_Cruelz
post Dec 8 2005, 10:18 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey all, i'm back with more pics. I've been sick for the first few days since I arrived in Singapore. Must be my weak stomach that couldn't take the hawker food.

I visited the Orchid Garden here in Singapore before I got sick but only got to process most of the shots recently. All shots were taken with the 17-85 IS. Some of them may not be as sharp as i'd like them to be as the lighting condition wasn't the easiest to work with without a tripod. All of them were taken handheld and some even as slow as 1/2 sec exposure sweat.gif

Here are some of the shots I took while I was there smile.gif

TSDe_Cruelz
post Dec 8 2005, 10:18 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

TSDe_Cruelz
post Dec 8 2005, 10:20 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

#21: This has got to be my favourite! wink.gif

Thanks for looking guys, hope you all enjoyed them!
RAV4
post Dec 8 2005, 10:59 PM

859 posts

Hey De_Cruelz, welcome back! You're Singaporean?

BTW, those lightning shots were great! I've always wanted to take some of those but our local lightning won't be so consistent to allow any such opportunity.

Port Stephen shots were nice too! Used 10-22 huh? Oh, how do you rate the 17-85 against the 28-135? My friend wanna get an IS lens so I'm helping by checking on user experience. I personally prefer 2.8 lenses. Thanks!
TSDe_Cruelz
post Dec 9 2005, 11:58 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey RAV4, nope i'm not Singaporean. I'm a true blue Malaysian smile.gif

My family moved to Singapore due to my dad's work. So I flew back from Australia to Singapore first then we'll drive back to KL. Can't wait to get some authentic Malaysian food and ofcourse mamak time!!! hehe

Personally I think the 17-85 IS is a very sharp lens. I can't compare with the 28-135 IS because I have never used one but I did had the same problem deciding which to go with while deciding which IS lens to purchase.

17-85 IS has the newer IS technology and allows IIRC 1 or 2 stops lower compared to the 28-135 IS. I also wanted the 17-85 due to its wider range and the fact that it was to replace the stock 18-55 lens. I have it on practically 70% of the time and use it for daily use.

I guess before your friend decides, it is best to see what other lenses he has and what kind of photography he is interested in. If it is gonna be a replacement lens for the stock, i'd say go for the 17-85. You will find yourself in many positions where you wished you had a wider lens smile.gif

RAV4
post Dec 9 2005, 12:11 PM

859 posts

Cool! Drop me a note if u have time to meet up. My office is near a famous Hainanese restaurant. Chicken chop is really good with local coffee and finish off with french toast with home made kaya. wink.gif Crap... I think I'll have that for lunch! laugh.gif

Thanks for all the info! I think he's gonna replace the kit lens coz he was asking if can get body only. Hmm... 17mm does work out to 28, which is just nice. OK, I'll advice him to go 17 then. Thanks bro!
TSDe_Cruelz
post Dec 9 2005, 01:29 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

That sounds like a good idea mate! Where is your office btw?

Yeap, 17-85 is a nice useable range and also covers the range of the kit lens which I find just perfect for my use. I have yet to hear anyone regret getting the 17-85 as a replacement for the kit lens. Plus, the IS really works too! smile.gif
RAV4
post Dec 9 2005, 03:03 PM

859 posts

I'm near Dang Wangi/KL Tower/Maju Junction. And I had exactly what was mentioned above for lunch! wink.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Jan 28 2006, 10:56 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey all! First i'd like to say Happy Chinese New Year to all LowYat.net members! smile.gif

May you all have a prosperous and eventful year ahead of you.

Anyway, i've just returned back to my pad in Sydney. Had a good long holiday back in Malaysia with family and friends. Took almost 20-25GB of pictures during my trips. It's gonna take a long time for me to process them all but i'll start with a few here.

Went to Sekinchan with a few buddies after seeing that PhotoMalaysia fellas had organized a trip there earlier. Too bad I didn't get to join them so I went with my friends instead. Here's a few of them that i've processed.

Hope you guys enjoyed looking. Comments and criticism much appreciated smile.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Feb 1 2006, 11:19 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Been a couple of days since I posted these pics. No comments or criticism at all? sad.gif
smashpOp
post Feb 2 2006, 12:27 AM

smashing pOpstar
2,116 posts

omgggggggggggggg damn nice picsssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
udangstar
post Feb 2 2006, 12:38 AM

148 posts

http://www.justin-oh.com/sekinchan/Sekinchan003.jpg

http://www.justin-oh.com/sekinchan/Sekinchan008.jpg

http://www.justin-oh.com/sekinchan/Sekinchan007.jpg

These above three really captured the mood man, you gotta lemme have them files big size ones.
TSDe_Cruelz
post Feb 3 2006, 12:11 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks for the comments smashpOp and udangstar! Sorry but unfortunately I can't give you the original ones. You're more than welcome to use the ones I posted here though.

Thanks again for looking!
ammar
post Feb 3 2006, 05:41 PM

~:"(1)":~
2,090 posts

de_cruelz gotta say the number 7 pic is very nice biggrin.gif keep up the good work
TSDe_Cruelz
post Feb 4 2006, 11:03 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks for dropping by and commenting ammar smile.gif
RAV4
post Feb 6 2006, 01:48 PM

859 posts

Hey, Happy CNY man!

I like 2 & 7. The wide angle feel is cool.

*Oh, forgot you have the 10-22mm! It's a really awesome lens. Need careful use with contrasty lighting so well taken here.

This post has been edited by RAV4: Feb 6 2006, 01:52 PM
TSDe_Cruelz
post Feb 13 2006, 09:23 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey RAV4! Thanks for dropping by! Have been real busy with uni summer course and other hobbies(aquascaping) that I haven't been visiting this forum for awhile. Now that exams are over i'm free! smile.gif

Hopefully i'll be able to upload the other pics I took during my trip back to KL and Bangkok. There's a couple of hundred more for me to review and process! laugh.gif
shadow_dweller
post Feb 21 2006, 12:33 AM

754 posts

hi. personally i think the pics taken are abit too saturated. or izzit my monitor problem ?

i like pic #7 above, though i feel it's abit underexposed. or izzit my monitor again.

jz my 2 cents.

by the way all the pictures are originally taken from the camera or are they post processed by photoshop ? coz the colors come out abit too saturated for my liking abit "unreal".

no offence. jz my opinion from an amateur.

This post has been edited by shadow_dweller: Feb 21 2006, 12:35 AM
TSDe_Cruelz
post Feb 22 2006, 06:28 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey shadow_dweller, thanks for dropping by!

All of the pictures posted here have been processed in Photoshop. Ofcourse, processing is done to enhance the initial capture to a level where I am happy with the final product. My monitor isn't calibrated too so i'm not sure if that's the cause.

No offence taken at all mate! I for one always prefer honest criticism rather than praise therefore making me a better photographer wink.gif Thanks for commenting!

TSDe_Cruelz
post Feb 24 2006, 02:37 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey guys, summer holiday is about to end here in Sydney. Had a good long holiday back in KL and now its time to hit the books again tongue.gif

I thought it would be a good idea to take some pics now before uni starts to pick up again. Here are 2 shots taken at La Perouse here in Sydney.

2 Fisherman waiting for the day's catch

Such a beautiful end to a long day

And last but not least, a stitch of 2 images of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House

RAV4
post Feb 24 2006, 07:46 PM

859 posts

Oh man!!! I need to find myself a 10-22 quick!!! The 1st and 3rd shot is AWESOME! I guess #1 was cropped to create the panoramic view? Hey, at 10mm, there should be quite some amount of distortion at the edge. Corrected using PS?

Keep it up dude, you're taking great shots!
pizzaboy
post Feb 24 2006, 08:31 PM

9,495 posts

http://www.justin-oh.com/unsorted/_MG_8589.jpg

ouw ouw ouw, bright bright sunlight
ouw..
viper
post Feb 24 2006, 11:52 PM

570 posts

Speechless.... notworthy.gif

All the pix were very beautiful. De_Cruelz, ur da man thumbup.gif

Gotto learn some from ur pix... biggrin.gif
TSDe_Cruelz
post Feb 25 2006, 02:34 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hehe RAV4, I must say that the 10-22 isn't exactly a lens that you'd use very often. At one time I didn't touch that lens for about 2 months as I had my 17-85 IS on most of the time. BUT, when you get that special moment captured using the 10-22, it makes it all worthwhile. It produces beautiful wide angle images that other lenses can't reproduce. Hard to explain but I guess you get the idea smile.gif

Hi pizzaboy! Yeah, the fisherman shot was rather tricky as I couldn't blend the different exposures correctly. Those 2 guys don't sit still long enough to produce a sharp image tongue.gif

Thanks for dropping by viper smile.gif Hope you enjoyed looking at the pics here smile.gif

TSDe_Cruelz
post Apr 30 2006, 10:29 AM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Hey guys, been awhile since i've last posted here in the forums. Uni easter break is coming to an end and luckily I got a chance to at least go out for one photo shoot.

Anyway, here are the pics. Comments and criticism much appreciated smile.gif

Hope you guys enjoy looking smile.gif
richx
post Apr 30 2006, 02:37 PM

Sleeping Member
3,775 posts

Nice landscapes there. How did you get such wide dynamic range on your sunset shots? The foreground stones show great detail, as does the clouds and the cityscape in the distance. Multiple RAW developments and then overlap + blend? It looks surreal.
KVReninem
post Apr 30 2006, 04:31 PM

IX
5,369 posts

i love the #2 pic with stones....the water look like midst ~ nice nice composition + sharpness
TSDe_Cruelz
post May 10 2006, 03:19 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks for the comments guys! smile.gif I apologise for not replying earlier as I haven't been visiting the forums lately.

The first one was a blend of 2 exposures but the 2nd one is from a single image. I did all processing on the original RAW files hence able to maintain most of the detail there.

Just today I was notified of my DPChallenge submission of the 2nd pic. Came in 5th place here for my first attempt smile.gif

http://www.dpchallenge.com/challenge_resul...HALLENGE_ID=488
richx
post May 11 2006, 02:58 AM

Sleeping Member
3,775 posts

Not bad at all! 5th place is _very_ respectable for a first attempt! Congratulations! biggrin.gif
NonBlooD
post May 11 2006, 03:20 AM

800 posts

i enjoy.. biggrin.gif
hungryJack
post May 14 2006, 10:50 PM

272 posts

How about this? taken from Fitzroy Island, Aus
RAV4
post May 18 2006, 08:54 AM

859 posts

Oh wow! Shot #2 is great! I also like #3 for the strong colours and incredible light! Also shot on 10-22?
TSDe_Cruelz
post May 19 2006, 04:13 PM

Pro Warranty Invalidator
1,238 posts

Thanks guys! smile.gif

That's a pretty nice shot hungryJack, although a little over exposed sky. Nice color tones too!

And yes, all shots were taken with the 10-22mm smile.gif
fishbone
post May 20 2006, 08:38 PM

nah...
619 posts

sifus, how do you guys apply multiple images and combine them as a highly dynamic range image? any references that i can refer to?
kshereen
post Feb 21 2007, 07:21 PM

102 posts

Just curious, on an average outing, how many shots would you take? I am planning a trip to Gold Coast & Sydney in March and am thinking how many GBs i need. Comtemplating whether to get extra memory cards or portable drive.
aaeem
post Feb 21 2007, 07:36 PM

289 posts

awesome dynamic range on the 3 top ones... n___n b
cityfish
post Feb 21 2007, 08:09 PM

666 posts

why foreign scenary is much nicer than us? cry.gif
diablo69
post Feb 21 2007, 10:20 PM

Cruel Intention
983 posts

OMG... drool.gif drool.gif da colour... da texture... tooo surreal... 10-22mm ultra wide lense... can we can these bokeh shots?? how much is da difference if taken with RAW n jpeg...
diwant
post Feb 22 2007, 01:12 AM

295 posts

great capture there mate.. i just love the colours and the effect on each of the images

0.0398sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:19 AM