Table Tennis/Ping Pong V2

thesun
post May 26 2014, 04:13 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(full @ May 26 2014, 03:20 PM)
Speed wise I think they are the same since they have the same type of sponge. But I heard that black rubber is normally more tacky than red rubber for the same model. My friend said so on the DHS Hurricane 3 Province and also the Donic M series.

For me, I'm not that good to feel the difference.  blush.gif  And I'm used to black rubber on my forehand.

Thank you.
Regards,
full
if that is the case, then i think i found out what actually the cause is,

normally after glueing, vega pro rubber tends to get delamination, its only around the edges but not the center,
not only me,but few others at my place who uses this vega pro also facing the same issue,
it seems like no matter what brand of glue is used, will always give the same result.
(tried nittaku finezip, androturbo, xiom ibond and dhs no 15 waterbased glue)

i know this would happen to my new rubber, but i still love vega pro no matter what, i continue using it,
so with that delamination problem in mind, i tried to change my method of glueing, perhaps it would help,
and amazingly, it works!

here is what i did (glue: DHS no.15)
1. apply glue to new sheet of rubber twice (wait till the first layer dry first around 20 minutes)
2. apply one layer to blade
3. wait till tomorrow morning then only proceed the next step (minimum cure time = 10 hours)
4. put rubber on the blade nicely
5. cut rubber to blade size
6. feel the difference in speed!

so it turns out, not only it solves the around the edges delamination issue,
but since the sponge are held much more firmly to the blade, the built in carbo sponge also works better and gives more catapult effect.

before this, i only wait till the white glue dissappear (around 20-30minutes) then i quickly put on blade.
maybe i need to change to this new method. tongue.gif

my black vega pro now feels like my last tenergy 05 fx speed (but with old glue method lah)

i wonder what if i glue tenergy rubber like this, crazy speed for sure, hehe..

thesun
post May 26 2014, 11:21 PM

1,810 posts

All glue i use are waterbased,
I believe the xiom vega pro has too much dome effect from the factory, the dome is too strong for a 20minute let dry waterbased glue to hold firmly, especially near the edge.

Perhaps, the sponge is shrinked after production, so it pulls inwards and become dome shape, and because the sponge quite hard, put waterbased glue oso wont straighten it back when apply on blade.

thesun
post Jun 12 2014, 01:26 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(hihisiew @ Jun 12 2014, 12:41 PM)
Hi All,
I'm using Yasaka Mark V rubber. If i would to change the rubber, what other similar rubber i can buy? Looking for cheaper wan, Yasaka Mark V is a bit expensive...
perhaps tsp grandy, only rm70
thesun
post Jul 17 2014, 06:08 AM

1,810 posts

Hi wanna ask opinion about blade.
What is the pro/con of heavy blade; and lightweight blade?

Usually for shakehand blade, how much (gram) is consider heavy already?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0526sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:39 AM