The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk
gapnap
Jan 21 2012, 03:21 AM
QUOTE(wah chai @ Jan 20 2012, 10:30 PM) hi all, my location nearby sunway giza, kota damansara/ kelana jaya. anyone know where can i buy tissot watch? i only saw 1 watch shop at 1 utama new wing sell Time2Time Ikano Power Center . Few shops beside Crocs .
gapnap
Jan 21 2012, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Jan 21 2012, 08:31 AM) I can find watch shop selling tissot almost everywhere. For good discount, I would personally recommend shop at 1st floor, Jaya 33. Speaking of discount . I know many shops who will throw price if you challenge them , but do not give an official receipt after you purchase (if a shop is caught throwing price , they could lose their dealership) What do you guys think ? Would you rather get it cheap , but it is sort of "undertable" . Or , pay with the standard discount with a proper transaction? This post has been edited by gapnap: Jan 21 2012, 11:33 AM
gapnap
Feb 22 2012, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(lk3 @ Feb 21 2012, 07:14 PM) let us discuss here was wondering wat do you guys tink of the JLC Duomètre à Quantième Lunaire? and anyone care to elaborate more on regulateur watch? thanks This watch is beautiful . The jumping seconds , the display at the bottom . I think the retail price is close to RM120,000 . Starhill boutique left 2 pieces i think .
gapnap
Feb 22 2012, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(lk3 @ Feb 22 2012, 07:21 PM) hmmm normally how much discount will i be able to get for this watch huh? izit a LE? 20-25% for grey dealers - must be their regular lah. Boutique i never ask before . Should be lesser . Unless you're a die hard JLC fan, with that budget IMO better go for a Patek Cala or Lange 1 .
gapnap
Feb 23 2012, 03:14 AM
QUOTE(adkins981 @ Feb 23 2012, 02:02 AM) IMO Patek cala is rather old fashioned... don't u think so compared to JLC JLC's master control series is similiar to Patek Calatrava . And a Patek Calatrava never runs out of fashion . It is more than a watch . It is superior than any fashionable watch .
gapnap
Feb 23 2012, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(adkins981 @ Feb 23 2012, 01:31 PM) thats cool, a few years ago i was fascinated with patek philippe and wanted to buy a piece from them and when i saw their price tag i was turned off (way beyond my budget) and did not do further research on it.. Funny LOL . I have many friends who wants a Patek BECAUSE of their price tag . Not because they are into fine watch making or whatsoever
gapnap
Feb 26 2012, 01:43 AM
I don't have any problems with TAG .
Their new Aquaracer series are retailing around RM5000-RM6000. Generic movements , and you can get a good discount from AD . Its Okayyyy what . C'mon , there MANY other brands who "upgrade" their ETA movement and charge 4 times the price .
Plus , i like Tag's Bracelet more than Omega & Rolex . It has the weight and it feels good . And they are starting to come out with new movements . Nothing to shout about yet , but at least they are on the right path .
Bottom line is , Tag shouldn't be your serious watch . But i think they make good daily beaters .
gapnap
Mar 3 2012, 08:43 AM
Here's mine . Double Jaegers . This post has been edited by gapnap: Mar 3 2012, 08:44 AM
gapnap
Mar 12 2012, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(LOLmama @ Mar 12 2012, 04:49 PM) mind if I ask for a recommendation on a watch with a budget of only RM200?  I'm going to wear it to college and such, so I don't really need to get those really expensive ones.. I prefer those with metal straps and not resin ones, don't want those kind of mat rempit neon ish watches, but prefer those more sleek ones. Frankly speaking , below RM200 . I think i would buy a replica . Open it up , scrap off the brand name and use it . This post has been edited by gapnap: Mar 12 2012, 10:35 PM
gapnap
Mar 13 2012, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(deriku @ Mar 13 2012, 09:34 AM) Come on, you'll only be fueling the replica industry by buying fakes. If you can't afford a Rolex, why buy a fake when you can get an homage for a little more money (but still 20x cheaper than the original). If he wanted a PAM , then he can go for Getat etc. But even then , those are RM300-RM400 . Out of his budget . He wanted a metal bracelet . Then i think for RM200 , the replica watches are the best bet . Anyway , Malaysian market for replica watches isn't that big lor . Now or days , I hardly find people with replicas . Most of my peers play fair and eat the damage . This post has been edited by gapnap: Mar 13 2012, 10:42 PM
gapnap
Mar 17 2012, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 17 2012, 01:56 AM) piaget altiplano next fellas? i have a: rollie daytona (sporty/chrono watch) (check) panerai 312 (errr poseur watch?) (check) am looking for a dress watch to go with a suit.. the piaget altiplano appeals to me... tried a jlc reverso but i dont think i can pull it off...  any other suggestions? 30-50k RM budget Here's my suggestion . Piaget Altiplano Piaget Altiplano Piaget Altiplano You got great taste mate Nice Choice . i would go for a Piaget Altiplano too . The boutique at KLCC - extremely good service . Love them . The other watch i can think of is a Vacheron Constantin Patrimony Grand Taille . This post has been edited by gapnap: Mar 17 2012, 09:15 AM
gapnap
Apr 8 2012, 02:15 AM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 7 2012, 12:20 AM) yea, locally, rm3.2k+. that seiko ventura looks interesting, but got no confidence in the kinetic movement after reading so many issues of the capacitor dying. oi dude , why u suddenly super into watches?
gapnap
Apr 22 2012, 02:02 AM
Hello , world . My latest JLC .
gapnap
May 1 2012, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(cedyy @ Apr 30 2012, 03:02 PM) this is a nice timeless classic watch Thanks Its only 32mm . At first i feel weird cause i am a 37mm-41mm kinda guy . But i am slowly getting used to it already . I am into classic watches now. Something i can wear not just today , but in my 30s ,40s and all the years to come . This post has been edited by gapnap: May 1 2012, 02:31 AM
gapnap
May 1 2012, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(Orias @ May 1 2012, 08:36 PM) hi guys, this is my 1st post ever here.  i need some advice from the watch gurus here. i'm planning to buy a watch in 2-3 months time. my budget would be around 1.5k to 2.5k roughly and most probably i'll be using it on a daily basis. Go to Red Army Watches , check out the stuff by Junkers and Aviator .
gapnap
May 10 2012, 02:13 PM
Playing around with Instagram & my JLC Reserve de Marche
gapnap
Jun 5 2012, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Jun 5 2012, 09:36 AM) A JLC Master Ultra Thin might just be the right watch for you.... Well , i wouldn't wear one for vacations ...or for any outdoor activities . lol . How about a Grand Seiko ? The watch shop in Paradigm Mall has a few ..some of it are quite interesting .
gapnap
Jun 18 2012, 01:40 AM
QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Jun 18 2012, 01:02 AM) Hello everyone, I know I may sound very cheapo here I'm sorry , may I ask is there any nice watch I can buy for around 200-300RM? I've had a timex then I have no idea why it spoilt.. I like the colour orange, so maybe If any know, please reccomend me one  Or u can tell me the product in range.. Thanks Casio G Shock . Maybe need to add a little more la
gapnap
Jun 18 2012, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(shinjun @ Jun 18 2012, 04:06 PM) I already have 2 watches with bracelet. Let compare those watches with my own eye 1st. Finding time to shop around. Any place that carry GS? The new watch shop at Paradigm mall .
gapnap
Jun 27 2012, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Jun 27 2012, 08:33 AM) When i put my comments in a public forum i always hope it can stir some discussions... Here is my take . 20s - JLC , Rolex (Sports) , IWC 30s - Patek , RM , Lange , AP or anything out of the box (Ulysse , Jaquet Droz , MB&F , Urwerk) 40s - VC , Back to Rolex & JLC , Grand Seiko . This post has been edited by gapnap: Jun 27 2012, 06:28 PM