The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

JackLee88
post Dec 1 2011, 10:34 PM

31 posts

Anyone here owns the B&R BR123 or 126 heritage? any comments bout it? looks pretty awesome. Really love the design and colour of it. biggrin.gif
JackLee88
post Mar 15 2012, 01:23 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Mar 15 2012, 09:48 AM)
Haha I'm not too sure tbh. Mum has a quartz Santos which costs less than 10k, but she bought it a long long time ago.

Seeing yonggoh's Daytona reminded me - saw on WUS yesterday, the new rainbow Daytona is gonna cost a shocking 70k Euros apparently!
Also yonggoh, if you don't mind me asking, what credit card company did you redeem it from and for how many points?

Popped by Rolex KLCC to ask about the Tudor Black Bay. The girl there said it should be coming in April (so soon blink.gif) and will cost approx RM10,500 after discounts. Perhaps it is time to add another diver into the collection laugh.gif
Bro, any idea if the pelagos is coming to rolex msia too? Any idea on pricing? looks fantastic drool.gif

This post has been edited by JackLee88: Mar 15 2012, 01:23 PM
JackLee88
post May 29 2012, 08:18 PM

31 posts

Planning to buy a panerai for the first time. I've always like the design of it. I've been looking among all the models and I'm quite keen on getting the Pam312 as my first model. In-house movement, 3 day power reserve, transparent back casing, automatic, it's absolutely perfect for me! The only thing is that it's not COSC.

I know it's mostly for marketing purposes but i'm a little bit disappointed that it's not COSC certified. Any owners here have any comments on this piece, accuracy and the quality of this particular inhouse movement? Also, what is the best price of this piece after discount? Thanks for the replies guys. smile.gif

This post has been edited by JackLee88: May 29 2012, 08:19 PM
JackLee88
post May 30 2012, 07:52 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ May 30 2012, 03:16 PM)
Well..its one of the watches which I had in mind previously but didnt pull the trigger.

Anyways, back to your Q. I think the reason why its not COSC is 3 day power reserve= 72 hours. As the power reserves wind-down to maybe like 20 hours or so, watches with big power reaserve tends to be less accurate as the torque release tends to be less linear. Most of COSC watches power reserve are in the 2 days range. For EG IWC 5001 7 days reserve is also not COSC.

Anyways, as you mentioned COSC is just a marketing tool, some really expensive watches are not COSC, like PP/Hublot/AP/ALS and so on... If COSC is a must, get a Rolex or Omega since mostly COSC. But heck..if accuracy is so important, get a quartz then.

To me PAM is an icon. Easily recognizable, great finish and ahem..not that accurate.smile.gif. But its a great way to start smile.gif. The best thing is the straps. There are plenty of OEM straps around to play which is not too expensive. Where to buy..get from AD since PAM's price is rather standard across and well worth paying extra bit for the peace of mind . Hour-glass or Sincere comes to mind. If you want cheaper options, then grey importers like collector's time or Hang Thai watch shop warrants a look. Or you can look ofor a dealer by the nick of dsiewmy at Malaysianwatch forum for good prices.

Happy hunting
I'm now considering on getting either the Pam 112 and 111 since this will be my first pam. many people recommended to get either of these models as my first one as both of these models are classics. Come to think of it, i really like the simple design of the 112 and 111 without the date. any thoughts on both of these models? And anyone who has information on both of these models regarding their latest prices with discount, please do drop me PM. Thanks!

This post has been edited by JackLee88: May 30 2012, 07:52 PM
JackLee88
post May 31 2012, 09:25 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ May 31 2012, 12:14 AM)
I must say I agree with yonggoh here. Look at this way, the 111 /112 are the base model. Classic Luminors. But its not a in house movement. 15k for a manual wind watch....errrr...if it tickles your fancy, go for it. If you really insist on either both, I'll take the 111 as I find it weird without the seconds hand...as you wont know wheter the watch is ticking or not. Lol

But the flip side of buying these base models is that you can flog it off later without losing much. And yes the straps makes the watch looks different ....its like wearing a different watch each time you change straps which PAM is famous for. Nothing else comes close to PAM on that aspect. As for price, few months ago I was offered a 111 for 15,200 N series (when USD was not so crazy that time). The 112 is slightly cheaper..ooooo..dang I just saw..112 now cost 15k plus. RRP prices for 112 is 17,900 and 111 should be 19,500 thereabouts. You probably can get about 10% off from the ADs. Nego kau-kau lor smile.gif

By the way, have you considered ROLEX?. The SubC is a very nice watch smile.gif
So much poison from the both of you. What you said is true and I think I'm gonna stick with the original plan of getting the 312. I think it's worth it for an inhouse movement plus the 1950's case and date. And also the automatic movement with 3 days power reserve will come in handy compared to the manual wind. laugh.gif I really like the sub C but i think I'm still a little too young to wear one. hehehe. Although I'm very sure I'll get one in the future. Will definitely get a sub if i ever get a Rolex.

Btw, yonggoh, do you mind Pm-ing me where you got your watch from + the discount and price after discount for your 312? really appreciate it. Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
JackLee88
post May 31 2012, 08:02 PM

31 posts

To be really honest, just a few months ago i was seriously considering the sub. its a really classic and iconic timepiece. To me, i believe that every collector should get a sub for their collection. i want both the pam and sub but have to choose only one right now. hmmm, have to think through this thoroughly.
JackLee88
post Jun 2 2012, 11:03 AM

31 posts

Quick question. If you guys were to choose any watch under Rm25k as a daily watch, etc, a watch suitable for shopping, going out, lunch, dinner, work, uni, dates, formal events, parties, vacations, which watch will you all choose? Oh, and it has to look good on a leather strap. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by JackLee88: Jun 2 2012, 11:06 AM
JackLee88
post Aug 24 2012, 03:18 PM

31 posts

hey peeps. Any idea how much a Omega PO8500 is selling for after discount in shops these days?
JackLee88
post Sep 8 2012, 11:27 PM

31 posts

Hi all sifus. What are your guys opinion on the Zenith captain power reserve and moon phase models. Tried looking online for reviews but they were limited. How much are their prices and discounts? Really nice dress watch in my opinion. Any opinions ? Or would you guys get something else for that price?
JackLee88
post Sep 9 2012, 04:09 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 9 2012, 10:15 AM)
Elite movement has been around since ~1990, I own a elite movement.
the pwr res (in steel) maybe ~20K b4 discount, new management maybe ~25%?
moonphase (in steel0 maybe ~22K b4 discount

some comment on Elite movement
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f27/how-does-...nts-482477.html

http://www.worldtempus.com/en/news/top-new...-power-reserve/

Added on September 9, 2012, 10:26 am
fyi ball is working on their inhouse movement.

at ~5k budget can look into the below series, nothing chrono for sure
Fireman series
Engineer I
maybe Engineer Master

Added on September 9, 2012, 10:30 am
@ littleBeettle
    That Ball Engineer Master II is priced at ~12K, far from his 5K budget... unless its 5K in USD or GBP or EUR or AUD or CAD?

@ starwalk2002
    U looking at ~RM5k?? or some other currency?
Thanks patryn. Since you own an elite movement, what are your personal thoughts on it in terms of quality, durability and accuracy? I'm keen on getting a watch similar to the captain moon phase with a leather strap. With a budget of 20k, should I go for it or are there any other watches in that range you would recommend with the similar characteristics as the captain moonphase/ power reserve?

JackLee88
post Sep 9 2012, 10:33 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 9 2012, 07:44 PM)
this watch? yes its reasonable

Added on September 9, 2012, 7:48 pm

Anonimo? good, the company is form by a bunch of Panerai watch makers b4 Pam move their operations out of florence.

Added on September 9, 2012, 8:20 pm

Elite is a well made movement, quality/durability/accuracy are about as as good as Big 'R'

for half the cost can get nomos Tangente Datum Gangreserve, I feel nomos decorate their movement better than Zenith.
http://www.nomos-store.com

or these
- Jaeger LeCoultre Master Reserve De Marche
- Girard-Perregaux Vintage 1945 King Size One
- Dornblueth & Sohn Calibre 99.2
- Maurice Lacroix Masterpiece Double Retrograde
- Maurice Lacroix Masterpiece Phase de Lune
- Maurice Lacroix Masterpiece Lune Retrograde (both pwr res and moonphase)
Thanks for all the recommendations. I find the JLC reserve de marche too small for my liking. However, I stumbled upon the JLC master calendar and it was love at first sight wub.gif how much can I get one of this for after discount? Is it possible below 25k?
JackLee88
post Sep 10 2012, 10:06 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 9 2012, 11:22 PM)
it retails ~35k, not sure can get below 25k. discount of jlc varies from series to series.  maybe ~28k is my guess.
this 40mm model?

Yeah, this is the one. My new target thumbup.gif
JackLee88
post Sep 10 2012, 03:09 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 10 2012, 11:50 AM)
can consider Glashutte Original Senator Panorama Date Moonphase

or the Glashutte Original PanoMaticLunar

JLC movement not as well decorated as GO, I love GO swan-neck regulator, the double swan neck is beautiful!

So much poison! I've checked out the GO panomaticLunar before and I really like it but when I checked the price online, it was way more expensive then the JLC master calendar. And for that price I get so many more complications on the JLC at that price point. But I must say that the GO panomaticLunar has an absolutely stunning movement to look at. Do you know how much that piece costs in the ADs?

0.0612sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:10 AM