The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

MeToo
post Apr 16 2012, 02:53 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Apr 16 2012, 02:51 PM)
G-Factories in farenheit 88,or sunway pyramid to start with?
Sunway pyramid sounds great. Thanks mate!
MeToo
post Apr 16 2012, 03:03 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Apr 16 2012, 02:58 PM)
which G-syiok are you eyeing? smile.gif
Likely getting this one for myself.. something not too pricey just to shiok sendiri for a awhile tongue.gif

MeToo
post Apr 19 2012, 03:56 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 19 2012, 03:26 PM)
I believe it'll be single digit as per boutique discount rates?
Um... so more discount with no receipt. Will the lack of receipt affect the warranty issue?
MeToo
post Apr 25 2012, 10:20 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 25 2012, 10:05 AM)
Guys/Gals,

A COSC certified Valjoux 7750 watch sells for RM 2K more than its non COSC couterpart.

Mt question is whether this extra RM 2K is worth it?

Xuzen
I doubt you are talking about 2 exact same watch one with COSC and one without. If you are saying omega Model A comes with cosc is more expensive then a different Model B, then the 2k extra isnt exactly for the COSC alone.

ps : For me, COSC is not a consideration, as I usually have to rewind my watches whenever I wear them anyway...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Apr 25 2012, 10:25 AM
MeToo
post Apr 25 2012, 05:40 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Apr 25 2012, 05:17 PM)
guys, i came across few other brands:

1) Hamilton

2) Invicta

what's ur opinion on these brands?
Haha how can u miss Invicta... that brand is 'huge' tongue.gif
MeToo
post Apr 26 2012, 02:47 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(putterbit @ Apr 26 2012, 02:45 PM)
mate...was the total cost EU303 + 30 to Malaysia? I'm also looking at the steinhart pilots...any wrist shot? I'm a little concern that the 47mm is too large..it's almost going to look too huge for me when I tested the luminox 1879 which is also 47mm...I have a 7.25' wrist...
Or you can buy from here and get a GST refund when you fly back to Msia smile.gif

http://www.gnomonwatches.com/
MeToo
post Apr 26 2012, 10:30 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(putterbit @ Apr 26 2012, 10:23 PM)
Isn't it still cheaper compare to buying from steinhart website directly?
buying direct from steinhart is slightly cheaper... but after factoring your GST refund (not everyone fly into sg) then its more or less the same.

The advantage is i can actually see how the watch look on me etc... rather then just blindly ordering from the web and take all the associated risk
MeToo
post Apr 27 2012, 10:33 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Apr 27 2012, 09:20 AM)
The best bet is to buy from the watch shop since u can try which will suit u! I guess in KL is cheaper compare to Sg.
KL? Got shop sell steinhart in KL?
MeToo
post Apr 28 2012, 11:37 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(putterbit @ Apr 28 2012, 01:39 AM)
I see...pls correct me if I'm wrong so the list price stated in gnomon is including gst? Do you know the percentage of the gst?

Thanks!
7%.

U can claim back at the airport if you fly into SG to buy it. But there are some charges involved and you end up gettign only about 5% back nett.
MeToo
post Apr 30 2012, 11:52 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Mayor @ Apr 30 2012, 09:22 AM)
Hi all,

Need some recommendation, i'm searching a watch for my wife, budget around 700 - 800 ringgit. Here are my list, (using Davis online lelong website)

1) SEIKO SPA809P1 CRITERIA W Retrograde SSB Quartz Black RM753

2)INGERSOLL IN5000RWH Automatic Rebecca Date W-White Leather LE RM755

3) CITIZEN  EW1794-05E  Eco-Drive W Date LSB Black RM700

Or did i miss any other watch ? Have a recommendation ?
The ingersoll looks much more expensive then it actually is. Seiko/Citizen suffers from its brand image... to the mass population anyway.

Added on April 30, 2012, 11:53 am
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 30 2012, 11:26 AM)
talk but cannot buy bored me.
B&R should retail 14K and up to ~30k+. discount depends on your bargaining skills.
+ 1

I prefer more grounded discussions as well...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Apr 30 2012, 11:53 AM
MeToo
post May 1 2012, 07:41 PM

9,333 posts

I saw some Ingersoll being sold in KL and they look pretty good.. infact was surprised as they are so cheap... the models looks easily 5x the actual retail price.

I noticed they were not mentioned in the first page, any comments about this brand? Are they really a waste of time?

Would love ot hear any views/comments from the sifus here nod.gif

Edit : Ahh.. read abit more.. Chinese movement chinese company...

This post has been edited by MeToo: May 1 2012, 07:44 PM
MeToo
post May 4 2012, 02:24 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ May 3 2012, 08:51 PM)
Guys, what do you think of this deal?
Lancaster Status Symbol Stainless Steel Chronograph Men’s Watch for RM799 instead of RM4,059. 2-Year International
You mean this RM4k watch? http://www.overstock.com/Jewelry-Watches/L...58/product.html
MeToo
post May 6 2012, 08:39 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(jinj @ May 6 2012, 12:38 PM)
Eh I was considering longines too, bcoz i thought this brand has more history and 'foundation' in it. Maybe cheaper too? I didnt know it's common in Malaysia though and I am not sure if it is a fashion watch.
Ya I agree that ML watches are more sophisticated.
Longines .... too many quartz in their line up... more then half (and I mean a LOT more) of the models being offered by watch shop in pyramid carrying longines are quartz.
MeToo
post May 7 2012, 05:37 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 7 2012, 05:32 PM)
i will choose omega tongue.gif
IMHO Sexiest omega... ever

MeToo
post May 8 2012, 10:05 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ May 8 2012, 06:58 PM)
Very well said.. haha. Idk why but I kinda tangan gatal want to play around with a fake.. maybe i will join your big boy's circle in the future.. hah
If u like it, then go ahead and get a decent replica. Dont get those that is of low quality lah.

At the end of the day, you are the one wearing it... wear whatever makes u feel good ... be it real or replicas.
MeToo
post May 9 2012, 12:11 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ May 9 2012, 05:45 AM)
it is a quartz, why is watchmaker telling u many parts of rusted?
like TV PCB with electronic components. even not rusted also hard to fix!
quartz, getting a replacement is very cheap.

here are 2 site selling movement, ID the movement and it replaced
http://www.esslinger.com/etawatchmovements.aspx
http://www.ofrei.com/page200.html
Yup.. sounds strange. Just swap out the entire thing. Rusted or not.

Quartz is a case of cheaper to change then to 'fix'.

This post has been edited by MeToo: May 9 2012, 12:12 PM
MeToo
post May 10 2012, 01:43 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(arthur5011 @ May 9 2012, 11:44 PM)
Hi all,  anyone came across this watch? Seamaster 1948

I happen to see this from omega boutique just now and got poisoned straight away by looking at the picture itself.  I dun even dare to ask the salesperson to show me the actual watch. Hahaha. 

I wondering whether it watch has high collection value. Anyone share their thought will be appreciated. Thanks..

Arthur
Think its around 17k, if u can find one... which boutique did u see it in?
MeToo
post Jun 1 2012, 12:59 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(DeLan @ Jun 1 2012, 12:31 PM)
Hello all, trying to start a small time watch business here and am a newbie to this thread, may i post any catalog or watches to be sold here? or this thread is strictly for discussion only...thank you smile.gif
This is mostly a discussion thread bro...

There is a sales section specificially for your needs.
MeToo
post Jun 5 2012, 03:44 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jun 5 2012, 02:40 PM)
GS are great watches... only in WIS community. No lume and lack of presence makes it hard to stand out.
What you mean is that only a watch connoisseur would take a second glance, while the rest of the 99% population would go "Har?! Seiko ah?!"

MeToo
post Jun 23 2012, 09:57 PM

9,333 posts

Finally got a call that the stock came in... so flew down to Singapore to grab it.. hehe

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0523sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:15 PM