Planning to get Astro HD on coming January.
Any good recommendation for LCD/LED/Plasma to enjoy it to the fullest?
Budget say RM4-5k.
Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment
Dec 27 2011, 08:52 AM
10,510 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Atlanta |
Planning to get Astro HD on coming January.
Any good recommendation for LCD/LED/Plasma to enjoy it to the fullest? Budget say RM4-5k. |
Dec 29 2011, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 27 2011, 04:14 PM) Any model will do, i just don't want to see lousy PQ when our TV resolution is too high compare to the source resolution.QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 27 2011, 06:42 PM) View astro ? No problem bro ,u budget is more then enough for a HTS and a branded HDTV which u can get for less then 3K......enjoy ! Less than 3K can get both a home theatre system and HDTV? Branded some more?My concern is i just don't want a TV which is only good for blue ray movie, while watching Astro it gives a crappy PQ on normal channel. |
Dec 30 2011, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 29 2011, 12:25 PM) Its a decided fact astro goes perfectly well on CRT's! No matter how good our tv is Astro's PQ sucks and is crappy so its best dont use astro to compare our tvs! We are not using astro to compare tv.We just wanna make sure what is the resolution of Astro channels, so that we can pair it with a flat tv which can give the best PQ. QUOTE(zeone @ Dec 29 2011, 02:18 PM) Frankly I dun kno why there are users who find Astro SD prgs of crappy PQ. Resolution and size of screen does affect the PQ.Personally, since upgrading to Superpack3 plus Byond PVR, even SD shows appear 2b better than when using old decoder! Those that I watch...on same "HD Ready" 32" LED TV... So possibly shld not use too large displays cos PQ wld b affected? Eg. Play a low resolution source like vcd on a full HD 50" TV, the PQ is very poor for sure. Unless you don't watch it in full screen. |
Jan 3 2012, 10:39 AM
Jan 20 2012, 09:41 AM
Any source to tell Astro CNY special program list for each channel?
Mar 7 2012, 08:31 PM
Since when we had Celestial HD? I'm really a slow poke. Any other new HD channel which I dunno?
And where is WA TV which used to be channel 315. |
Mar 8 2012, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 7 2012, 09:29 PM) Astro launched Celestial HD (channel 309) and Kix HD (channel 729) on 1st March 2012. And on the same day, WaTV channel 315 was discontinued, B4U channel 133 was replaced by Bella channel 133. Thanks for the info.I have phoned Astro Customer Support on 6 March 2012 and was informed that Celestial HD and Kix HD can be watched by ALL subscribers to the HD service, which is not tied to which package is subscribed. Was also informed that there is no time period before these are moved to different packages and any change will be until further notice. Maybe, maybe 1 month or many months later, they may change this and subscribers who did not subscribe to New Emporer package (or a few selected Superpack Packages) may not watch Celestial HD. Hopefully this never happens. For now, all subscribers to the Byond HD service can watch these 2 HD channels. Hehe... maybe I guess that Astro wants to hook subscribers to the HD channels to make more money and when their target is reached, maybe they will lock Celestial HD only for New Emperor package (or a few selected Superpack Packages) subscribers. Of course, for people who did not subscribe to the HD service (such as pay extra RM 20 per month or subscribe to Superpack 3), then they are locked out of all the HD channels, including Celestial HD and Kix HD. QUOTE(neb @ Mar 7 2012, 10:18 PM) wonder why astro took watv off-air, pretty good programming most of it taken from china's provincial FTA satellite TV stations , astro should give us a replacement channel for watv Yeah, why Astro take out WATV as many elders like it ler, Haiz...... |
Mar 8 2012, 11:08 AM
Mar 8 2012, 02:15 PM
Mar 9 2012, 01:58 PM
Jun 2 2012, 06:44 PM
How to check my current firmware version and how to update it?
Mine is internal HDD astro beyond decoder. |
Jun 3 2012, 12:08 PM
Jun 3 2012, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(St3ph @ Jun 3 2012, 02:45 PM) Thanks! i'll try it later. Now latest is 7.0 or 7.2?if you're using the leave astro in standby mode, i'm not really quite sure. but this is what i did though. before i went to sleep, i left the astro b.yond in standby mode by pressing the "power or standby button". and the next morning came, my brother switch on the decoder, and voila~, it's at version 7.0 or 7.2. But if you don't wanna do that, use the method which lowyat member/forumer "chikana" taught us. i've yet to tried that method, but i can confirm it works coz i saw it with my own eyes astro b.yond doing the software updates without waiting for the updates to arrived. hope that helps. |
Jun 4 2012, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jun 3 2012, 11:31 PM) You are welcome. The update is for the usage of ethernet only. I thought also for the astro-on-the goActually, when Chikana mentioned "when you see 'boot' on the front...", it means power is switched off completely and then switched on back again, 'boot' appears and then press standby... which is only necessary when auto-update did not start. When the Byond is switched on (not from standby), usually auto-update will automatically start if an update is available so its not necessary to follow Chikana's method. Just wait when Byond is switched on... 'boot' appears and auto-update will start. If auto-update did not start, then use Chikana's method. FYI... there is NO new update for the normal Byond box at the present time which is still at version 3.0s. Take note... for people with the normal Byond box and the old Astro DMT box... because no update will happen at the present time, eventhough whatever method is used ! ONLY for people with the Byond PVR (with internal harddisk), there is an update to version 7 which also enable use of the ethernet port. If your's is NOT Byond PVR, then no update is available and the version is still 3.0s eventhough you forced update !! For the normal Byond box (non PVR), the ethernet port still cannot be used yet for now. |
Jun 4 2012, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(hawnauk @ Jun 4 2012, 03:19 PM) all sifus, Astro will ask you to return the old dish which should have come together with your decoderI plan to upgrade my normal astro to astro byond and may I know is this FOC provided I return the old decoder, smart card but no satelite dish as I'm living in a condo where centralised dish is provided. arigato! |
Jun 5 2012, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(hawnauk @ Jun 4 2012, 05:16 PM) that's the prob, i don't hv the old dish as i'm using centralised dish all the while, will astro charge me for this? They will intend to charge.But i told them last time when the installer come to install they did not give me the disc, so i don't have it. Finally i think Astro waive the charge on me. (Can't remember as it was long time ago.) |
Jun 5 2012, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jun 5 2012, 11:36 AM) Astro On-The-Go screenshots from computer internet browser... Their website says, only ipad and PC/notebook is available now. Iphone and android phone is on 'coming soon'» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Copyright Notice From Jamesleetech... ALL copyights as shown in all the 8 screenshot images inside spoilers above belong to Astro Malaysia Holdings Sdn Bhd (AMH / ASTRO) and its ASTRO entity, MEASAT and their respective copyright holders. All these captured computer screenshots are displayed here solely for illustration purposes under the doctrine of fair use. Article Reference on the description of fair use : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fair_use. Any complaints from the copyright holder that these images are deemed infringement and not fair use must provide legally justifiable reason, adequate fair notification and time period by sending private message or posting a reply comment in this forum thread. Upon receiving such valid complaints, I will remove/delete these images here within reasonable time period allowed. By the way, they will broadcast all 31 matches of Euro on the go. |
Jun 17 2012, 12:29 PM
Yesterday I recorded astro program via iPhone.
Today come back, I check my PVR not only I failed to record the program. Even all the old records also no longer in the PVR. Worst thing now is, I'm not even able to record anything. 'booking fail' keep pop up whenever I try to record now. Anyone here has the similar experience? |
Jul 1 2012, 11:47 AM
I have set my 16:9 LED to dot to dot.
My PVR setting. TV type : High definition TV aspect ratio : 16:9 Conversion for 4:3 input video : Fit to screen. Is this correct? Or I shall set it to pillar box or LB expand? |
Jul 3 2012, 11:23 AM
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:09 PM |