Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

atisha
post Jul 12 2012, 09:58 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 5 2012, 05:28 PM)

What you need to do when you actually moved to your "new" condo ...

1) Get ready a satellite cable (with enough length from 2m to 5m) with male-to-male (I think) head.

2) Connect the satellite cable to your Byond box "SAT-IN" Input.

3) Then connect this sat cable to the condo wall socket (for satellite connection).

4) Connect the Byond to your TV or Amplifier exactly the same way as you had used before you moved to the new condo.

5) Switch on Byond and check signal strength. For Byond (Non PVR), the Signal Level should be about 180 to 205 on a sunny day... hehe... according to my Byond readings.

I believe for condos, it should be lower... mmm... maybe 160 to 185 roughly. I am guessing the numbers here but I think you know what I mean about the lower signal strength.

HDMI cable, Component Video cables, Optical cables, RCA cables are ALL connections between the Byond box AND the HDTV or Amplifier or "Audio/Video Devices"... completely not related and nothing to do with the Byond box connection to the condo installation for satellite reception.

If you use HDMI to connect your Byond box to your HDTV, then use back the same connection so ...hehe... don't change to RCA (yellow) cable or whatever.

Hi there
Recently my condo's TV antenna socket is down. Management has no intention of repairing it as it claims residents use satellite these days. I am happy with just the FOC TV channels. I want to ask if I can connect my TV to the satellite socket provided instead to watch ordinary FOC channels. (The condo wall has three sockets - TV, FM and satellite). If so, what do I need to get apart from satellite cable? Should I get a satellite box as well? If so, where from and how much and which brand? I know from Management that residents are able to subscribe to a few providers, one of which provides fibre optic. I can't remember the exact details nor am I interested apart from able to receive FOC TV channels at set up cost. Please icon_question.gif

atisha
post Jul 14 2012, 01:25 AM

217 posts

THX jamesleetech and others for the wonderful viable solution. Will find out more abt njoi. Update: Spoke to Astro promoter and he seems to be keen to sell me fibre optic solution. Said my condo is reputed to have unclear channels with satellite dish astro. Asked him about njoi and he said pretty similar - high installation cost with no guarantee I can receive channels and said it's meant for kampung use! I looked at the njoi website - it has high set up costs of about RM400, including satellite dish. I don't think I need the satellite dish. just the box and cable are required for my experiment. Will ask the astro webpage how much it costs just for the box, card and cable. ..I will keep you posted. nod.gif

This post has been edited by atisha: Jul 14 2012, 02:05 PM

0.0600sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:44 AM