Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

-kytz-
post Jul 2 2012, 07:25 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jul 2 2012, 06:29 PM)
any KL guys here who hv info on ABN and wat happened to it ?Looks like our dream to see asstro improve its services wl never be reality!
Apa masalahnya?

Added on July 2, 2012, 7:28 pmBtw may I ask what channels are now in HD? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 2 2012, 07:28 PM
-kytz-
post Jul 2 2012, 10:23 PM

12,573 posts

May I ask whether my current subscription just add RM20/month and all the channels I've subscribed too will be changed to the HD version?

notworthy.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 3 2012, 10:08 AM

12,573 posts

One more thing about Astro Beyond HD ah, is there an option to just play stereo 2.1? (turning off 5.1)
-kytz-
post Jul 4 2012, 12:15 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jul 3 2012, 11:28 PM)
the default option is 2.1 stereo

but the sound is clearer and louder (applicable for HD channels only) if you set it in DD5.1, even just using the TV's ordinary speakers, but the thing is must use HDMI cable only, coz the sound signal need to be transmitted in digital form
HDMI from Astro to my BD Home Theatre system boleh kan?
-kytz-
post Jul 4 2012, 01:06 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 4 2012, 12:27 AM)
There is no stereo 2.1 (Dolby Digital 2.1). The ".1" is the LFE channel for very low frequencies to the Sub-Woofer. Actually its Dolby Digital 2.0.

The Byond box output from RCA (red and white) in 2 channel stereo PCM audio BUT the Byond digital audio settings must be changed to "Stereo (Analogue and Digital)".

The Byond box output from RCA (red, white cable) ...
1) When settings to "Stereo (Analogue and Digital)", the RCA audio output will be in 2 channel stereo PCM for ALL HD and SD channels.
2) When settings to "Dolby Digital 5.1 (Digital Only)", the RCA audio output will be in 2 channel stereo PCM for ALL SD channels. Completely no audio for ALL HD channels.

The Byond box output from HDMI ...
1) When settings to "Stereo (Analogue and Digital)", the HDMI audio output will be in 2 channel stereo PCM for ALL HD and SD channels.
2) When settings to "Dolby Digital 5.1 (Digital Only)", the HDMI audio output will be in Dolby Digital 5.1 for HD channels, in PCM stereo 2 channels for the SD channels.

When output in Dolby Digital 5.1, eventhough all the 6 audio channels is active, NOT all channels may be used. Some programs only have 3 channels (main left and right, and centre), some in 2 channels, some in 4 channels and the best when all 6 channels are heard. I used Byond HDMI output connected to my Yamaha AV amplifier so sometimes my sub-woofer is not active, sometimes some programs no audio from my 2 back surround speakers.

For the Byond, you will get better "sound" when Dolby Digital 5.1 is used from HDMI. Analogue stereo 2 channel PCM from RCA (red, white) has lower loudness and poorer sound quality.

To use Dolby Digital audio, must use HDMI connection. Can connect directly to the HD TV using HDMI... most HD TV already have Dolby Digital decoder built-in so it will decode the digital audio to its own TV speakers... which means any 5.1 channels will be decoded into stereo. My Samsung TV have builtin Dolby Digital and DTS built-in decoder.

Well... it depends on what you want to do to play stereo 2 channel audio. Connect by RCA (red, white) cable (which is the lowest audio quality) ? Or do you want to connect by HDMI cable ...
(1) directly to HD TV (better audio quality but only in mixed 2 channel audio from the low quality TV speakers)
(2) to AV Amplifier (best audio quality from maximum 6 channel audio using amplifier to 6 high quality home theatre speakers)

If you use an old AV amplifier without HDMI input, then you have to connect the HDMI cable directly to the HD TV. There are HDMI converter boxes available which can convert the audio from the HDMI into 6 channel RCA output or stereo 2 channel RCA output for connection to old amplifiers but its NOT cheap !! Such boxes must be HDCP compliant for the digital video.

If your AV amplifier got HDMI input, the best audio and video quality is from Byond HDMI >> to AV Amplifier to get the best surround audio to 6 home theatre speakers. Then from amplifier HDMI output connect to HD TV for the video in fantastic HD in 1080i.

cool.gif

Hehe... fully enjoyed the animated movie "Rio" from Fox Movies Premium HD channel 433 in full 5.1 surround which ended now at 12:50 am 04-07-12. Beautiful music and surround effects from the flying birds, good bass from sub-woofer... all the 6 speakers sounds great. Really enjoying the songs from the movie end title now in great surround audio.
Thanks for the detailed reply smile.gif

But unfortunately my BD HT system only has 1 HDMI output/input.

I'm planning to listen watch Astro Beyond HD using my HT system. What do you suggest?

My TV and the Blu Ray player has optical out/in. Does this help?

-kytz-
post Jul 4 2012, 01:23 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 4 2012, 01:16 AM)
How many HDMI you need to connect to your BD HT sys ? Is your system HTIB (Home Theater-In-A-Box) ? IS your blu-ray player joined together to amplifier as 1 unit ?

Please let me know how many HDMI devices you want to connect to your BD HT sys. Byond is one HDMI to be connected to it. Any other ? Also let me know the brand and model number of your "BD HT sys". New Samsung HTIB have Cinavia chip which locks the audio when pirated DVD or Blu-ray is played for new movies that are encrypted.

After your reply, I will reply a bit later... have something urgent to do now.
All I want is Astro HD to play on my HT set. You mentioned this is the best way right:

1) Astro Beyond to BD Home Theatre via HDMI

and

2) BD Home Theatre to HDTV via HDMI

My HT system is this: http://www.sony.com.my/product/bdv-e490

It has only 1 HDMI port and also an optical out/in (not sure)

How about Astro HD to HDTV via HDMI and HDTV to HT system via optical?

Forgive me if what I wrote doesn't make any sense notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 4 2012, 01:24 AM
-kytz-
post Jul 4 2012, 02:00 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 4 2012, 02:46 AM)
I ran a google search to check for more detailed specifications of your HTIB system, the Sony BDV-E490 so here's some specs...

1 x HDMI Output
1 x USB
1 x Composite Video Output
1 x Optical Audio In
1 x Analog Audio In
1 x Ethernet Connection
1 x Infrared In

Mmm... you DO have a problem to connect Byond HDMI to your system.

From your reply, you can only use... (2) BD Home Theatre to HDTV via HDMI for both audio and video without spending extra $$ to purchase converter. Can also use Byond RCA (red, white) to your Sony BDV-E490 but only PCM stereo 2 channel audio.

The Sony BDV-E490 blu-ray player have the amplifier built-in. This stand-alone blu-ray/amp unit is NOT intended for any HDMI devices to be connected to it so ZERO HDMI Input ! Too bad for you.

It also do NOT have any Co-Axial Input. The coaxial cable used is the same as the satellite cable with 75 ohms. The problem for you is that the Byond box have Co-Axial Output BUT NO Optical Output. Your BDV-E490 have 1 Optical Input BUT do NOT have Co-Axial Input.

First, solve the video connection which is easy. I am sure your HD TV have at least 2 HDMI Inputs. You can use the TV HDMI 1 connect to your Sony BDV-E490, and HDMI 2 connect to Byond. Done for video.

For the audio... bad news because you CANNOT use either the HDMI or the Co-Axial outputs from Byond connect directly to your Sony BDV-E490 to get Dolby Digital 5.1 audio.

If you use the Byond RCA (red, white) connection to your Sony BDV-E490 Analog Audio In, then you will NOT get Dolby 5.1 ! If you use your HD TV speakers from the HDMI 2 connection, then the audio is lower quality at only PCM stereo 2 channels.

If you do NOT want to spend $$ any more, then too bad that you have to accept using either the TV speakers sound or your Sony BDV-E490 stereo 2 channels.

IF you really want Dolby 5.1 to your Sony BDV-E490, then I can suggest to purchase a Co-Axial-To-Optical Converter which supports Dolby Digital 5.1 such as the Gefen Digital Audio Translator which costs about US$ 79. Here is the link... "http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=9137". This converter accepts audio signal from 2 channels up to 5.1 channels. Mmm... last year I did phone to a local Malaysian agent in Kelana Jaya or Mid Valley but unfortunately I cannot remember much. Mmm... I think its about RM 300 to 400, not sure now. Anyway, you can search the website from the link I gave here to find the Gefen Malaysian dealers.

Of course, you can use other brand Co-Axial-To-Optical converters as long as its reliable, cheap and have quality and make sure it can output to Optical as Dolby 5.1. I hope others here may be able to recommend other brand converters which are better and cheaper, hehe.

I did not suggest using HDMI to HDMI Video+Optical Audio Output converters because these are usually very expensive, maybe between RM 800 to RM 2000 !

Ok... if can get the Co-Axial-To-Optical Converter (support Dolby 5.1 output), then your problem solved...
1) Byond HDMI Out to HDTV HDMI In 1 for 1080i HD Video.
2) Byond Co-Axial Out to Co-Axial-To-Optical Converter and then optical out to your Sony BDV-E490.

I do NOT know whether the Sony BDV-E490 support or not support Dolby 5.1 from its Optical In. IMPORTANT... if Sony BDV-E490 Optical In do not support Dolby 5.1 then forget about the Converter and too bad you have to accept lower audio quality as I have explained earlier.

I can understand that you are worried that "you did not make sense" in your post. Don't worry, no problem. Not everyone is good in everything. I am a person who seldom lose temper, try to always stay cool and got patience... and very little sleep too blush.gif

EDIT : Oh, I am not a salesman for Gefen products, did not say that its products are suitable, good or bad and did NOT recommend anyone to purchase their products... my suggestion only. You can always choose other brands.
Thank you so much for the detailed explanation smile.gif smile.gif I'd suggest TS to pin this up or something thumbup.gif

Most important now is to get at least 2.1 for Astro Beyond. You mentioned just using the RCA cables which can get PCM 2 channel audio. Is this decent enough? I was using this cable to connect my normal Astro and it didn't seem too bad.

And about the Dolby 5.1 optical in, I've just sent a message to Sony MY and now waiting for an answer smile.gif

For now 5.1 isn't really that important as my dad didn't even plan to use 5.1 due to messy wires but I will show him a full 5.1, 1080p video later on brows.gif brows.gif

Thanks again! Really appreciate your effort to help me out on my question. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 4 2012, 02:41 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 4 2012, 02:35 PM)
You are most welcome.

Sound quality is always subjective which depend on how each person accept as good or bad.

That is why I mentioned that the audio quality from the Byond RCA (red, white) in PCM stereo 2 channels is the lowest when compared to the Byond other audio connections. I did not say its good, bad or decent, only that it has the lowest audio quality when compared to other connections. Mmm.. for you is decent... but its not acceptable for me because I am able to choose a better Dolby 5.1. Unfortunately for you, you cannot choose because of your Sony BDV-E490 system.

Yes, messy cables for the home theatre 6 speakers... BUT for audio/video connections its actually less cables for HDMI connection. Only just 1 HDMI cable is enough because this HDMI cable system supports Dolby 2.0/5.1/7.1, DTS 2.0/5.1/7.1, PCM (48, 192 KHz) 2.0/5.1/7.1, Dolby TrueHD 5.1/7.1, DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1/7.1. Using 6 RCA cables for PCM 5.1 audio is more messy... there are high-end blu-ray players with analogue 5.1/7.1 RCA output.

Well... its ok to use RCA... what is important is that you have accepted the sound quality when you say "didn't seem too bad". Luckily you cannot come to my home to get hooked or addicted to my system 5.1 audio quality from the Byond HD channels, hehe. Better audio quality means spending more $$$ so its not cheap.

Hopefully you will get a reply from Sony MY with proper advice or feedback so best of luck to you.  smile.gif
Is Beyond HD's Sound Quality that good? Let's say how many percent of a blu ray movie...70%?

If lets sat the optical in doesn't support 5.1, can I like buy another blu ray player and connect my speakers to it? Lol

-kytz-
post Jul 5 2012, 01:38 PM

12,573 posts

@jamesleetech: I just got my Astro Beyond just now. I saw a digital audio port. I can get a Co-Axial-To-Optical Converter (like you mentioned) to connect to my BD player to play full 5.1 surround sound?

-kytz-
post Jul 6 2012, 02:36 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 5 2012, 01:38 PM)
@jamesleetech: I just got my Astro Beyond just now. I saw a digital audio port. I can get a Co-Axial-To-Optical Converter (like you mentioned) to connect to my BD player to play full 5.1 surround sound?
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Jul 5 2012, 01:41 PM)
nod.gif Correcto.
Thanks. So all I need is this?

Then what is this?

-kytz-
post Jul 6 2012, 02:05 PM

12,573 posts

Jamesleetech, my friend recommended me to use optical out from my TV and optical in to my BD player?

Can it work this way?

For 5.1 sound:

Beyond --------HDTV via HDMI
HDTV -------HTiB via optical for 5.1

Or

Beyond -------HDTV via HDMI
Beyond coaxial --------- optical HTiB via coaxial-optical converter

icon_question.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 6 2012, 02:25 PM