Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

smileguy
post Apr 11 2012, 06:52 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 10 2012, 11:31 PM)
So, the next question is... Is Astrow beeyond HD channel bitrate as par as India HD channel?

Bigtv HD

Sun DTH

Tatasky HD

Videocon D2H HD

If only we have the tools to analyze b.yond hd channels bitrate... hmm.gif

p.s note: taken from india satforum.
Good job,Good research ! tongue.gif Last time satcodx had the details now the site is gone hmm.gif
Qash-M
post Apr 11 2012, 12:36 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

ABN has targeted 17 prime locations in the next 24 months throughout Malaysia to deliver its digital cable TV network services including major residential areas in the Klang Valley, Northern and Southern regions as well as East Coast. Are you excited about the upcoming services from ABN?

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/index.php?option=...d=6594&Itemid=1

Within the reach, if only... brows.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 11 2012, 03:46 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 11 2012, 12:36 PM)
doh.gif 17 location in 2 years? Freaking kidding me.

They'll need to target whole of Klang Valley and Straits settlement plus other major cities and outskirts in two years if they want to be successful.

Sounds like history is repeating itself. They still haven't figure out why assteruk is so popular (hint: Almost full coverage of Malaysia upon launch).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 11 2012, 03:50 PM
smileguy
post Apr 11 2012, 04:32 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 11 2012, 03:46 PM)
doh.gif 17 location in 2 years? Freaking kidding me.

They'll need to target whole of Klang Valley and Straits settlement plus other major cities and outskirts in two years if they want to be successful.

Sounds like history is repeating itself. They still haven't figure out why assteruk is so popular (hint: Almost full coverage of Malaysia upon launch).
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...83&sec=business
Read this ,its 500,000 targeted first year !!! flex.gif
Reyz
post Apr 11 2012, 07:52 PM

321 posts

guyss...i need to know. my wife already make phone registration with astro without bincang with me even her name is in astro account.is it valid or not coz i dunwan upgrade to beyond.fyi i not sign anything and the contractor not install new beyond setup.im already use old astro pakej.
jamesleetech
post Apr 11 2012, 09:28 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Reyz @ Apr 11 2012, 07:52 PM)
guyss...i need to know. my wife already make phone registration with astro without bincang with me even her name is in astro account.is it valid or not coz i dunwan upgrade to beyond.fyi i not sign anything and the contractor not install new beyond setup.im already use old astro pakej.

Your existing Astro subscriber account is registered under your wife's name. Get ready your wife's Astro account number and her NRIC number too.

You can personally phone to Astro Customer Support, identify your name and as husband to account holder. You will be asked for the a/c number.

Just tell the support person that a mistake have been made and want to cancel the earlier confirmation by your wife. You will be asked to answer verification questions such as your wife NRIC ... or... I repeat.... OR.... may even want to speak to your wife to hear her confirmation to cancel.

There is no binding agreement before the upgrade installation is completed. Only after the installer came, completed upgrade installation and account holder signed a few forms, then the upgrade contract is completed.

New 1 year Byond contract starts from the date that the upgrade installation completed and any change (if got) in subscription fees will be pro-rata charged.

Call Astro Customer Support now or as soon as possible before the installer come to do the upgrade installation.

More than a year ago, I actually have a friend in Jerantut, Pahang who did confirm to upgrade to Byond (before Astro have Superpacks), installer actually came and before starting installation, my friend was informed that there's installation fee RM 100 and HD service monthly fee RM 20. My friend was ignorant and thought that upgrade installation is free and did not know about the additional RM 20 per month for HD service. Immediately, he did not accept it. My friend didn't sign anything, the installer did not do anything and left. Everything remained as before... no additional charges, no penalties... continue with the same usual monthly subscription fee.

ADDITION : Sometimes those Astro support idiots can misunderstand you... clearly tell the person that you "want to cancel the Upgrade to Byond ... NOT totally cancel or terminate your existing Astro account !

Its a bit different when a subscriber phone to confirm adding or changing packages... in such cases, a binding agreement will only start from the date the channels in the packages is unlocked and can be watched.

Example... I did not subscribe to Sports Package and called early to confirm that I wish to subscribe to Sports Pack starting from 1st August 2012... so, Astro did not do anything yet... later in July I called again to cancel my confirmation... so I will not be charged anything. But... IF I called on 01-08-2012 after the sports channels have been unlocked... then I will still be charged at pro-rata of 1 day subscription + service fee of RM 10 for package cancellation.

Recently, there was the Unmissable Promo to subscribe to Sports Pack before 01-04-12 to avoid additional RM 50 charge for Euro Cup 2012 and London Olympics 2012... so if I called on 28-03-12 to confirm subscribing to Sports Pack... within about 1 to 2 hours... all the channels included in the Sports Pack are unlocked and can be watched... so the contract is already completed... and if I called on 02-04-12 to cancel... regretfully I will have to pay the pro-rata 6 days of the monthly fee + RM 10 service fee. So... in such cases, the contract started on the day the channels are unlocked and activated. The same goes for Astro First... you have to pay starting from the time that the channel can be watched.

Oh... in some cases such as for some promos... I will be charged IF Astro clearly stated that there will be a penalty of RM *** for early cancellation... so if I cancelled early before the channels are unlocked, I have to pay the penalty. Such promos may include Early Bird Confirmation for Live Boxing Match and others so I have to check carefully before confirming.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 11 2012, 10:30 PM
HughieRmX
post Apr 11 2012, 10:27 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

A quick question to ASTRO owners here, can I actually make use of my SIM Card that I'm using in KL to fit in to another old decoder in my hometown ?
Will it able to detect the channels that I am subscribed to ? Legal to do such thing ?

Thank you.
jamesleetech
post Apr 11 2012, 10:59 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 11 2012, 10:27 PM)
A quick question to ASTRO owners here, can I actually make use of my SIM Card that I'm using in KL to fit in to another old decoder in my hometown ?
Will it able to detect the channels that I am subscribed to ? Legal to do such thing ?

Thank you.

There are 3 types of decoder boxes in use now.

1) Astro DMT decoder box
2) Byond decoder box
3) Byond PVR decoder box

That SIM card is called SmartCard.

Answer...

For (1), yes you can take the smartcard from one box to another one (1) and use it.

If your old decoder is really very old such as those first generation Philips ones that were used in 1998, you may have problems because of the old software that cannot be updated and not enough internal flash memory to store the new software. Many many years ago, I remember that Astro changed all our older decoders to newer ones which have more internal EEPROM flash memory and different chipset. I am not sure for the 1st generation box because I have already replaced my one to newer generation decoder box.

I am not sure but I think it should be okay if the old decoder box is from later years such as in 2006. Just be careful if you have the old first generation decoder box. I cannot help you much as I don't have photo of the 1st generation box. I am not sure so I may be wrong but I think those old decoder boxes that used the "red coloured" smartcards with the old Astro logo are the ones... I think when Astro change this smartcard, the decoder box was also changed.

For (1) and (2), the answer is 100% NO !

The smartcard for Byond and Byond PVR have unique serial number that is combined and locked to the serial number of the decoder box so you cannot switch and interchange the smartcard on different (1) and (2) boxes.

Also... NEVER take the smartcard from (1) and use on (2) or (3)... of course also must NOT take from (2) or (3) and use on (1) ! You may cause damage to the decoder box or the smartcard.

Edit: Corrected mistake... added "NOT" in blue.

I have both (1) and (2) boxes with active subscriptions. One of my sisters who came to stay with my parents during chinese new year have (1) and took her smartcard and used on my (1) box because she subscribed to Sports Pack and I don't. No problem, can watch.

ADDITION : Legality Of Swapping Smartcard
You asked whether its legal or illegal to swap smartcard on different decoder boxes. I am not a lawyer so I cannot answer this. I don't know but I supposed it should be okay. I am 100% sure Astro knows about this... that people swapped the smartcards between (1) boxes... so far, I am not aware whether Astro took any action by terminating such subscribers and hopefully (touchwood) will not happen to me when my sister came to swap her smartcard... AND I believe that is why Astro locked and fixed permanently the smartcard to one specific Byond or Byond PVR box to stop people swapping smartcards ! Damn !

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 11 2012, 11:36 PM
HughieRmX
post Apr 11 2012, 11:08 PM

3,394 posts

Thanks for the thorough explanation on the ASTRO Decoder compatibility issue. I believe it will be NO answer since the hometown decoder is the 2nd generation model that replaced the Philips Decoder and Satellite to the NOKIA version.

My condition will be the other way round from (2) to (1) - guess it will not be able to recognize new smart card and the firmware version of the software might be older.

jamesleetech
post Apr 11 2012, 11:19 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 11 2012, 11:08 PM)
Thanks for the thorough explanation on the ASTRO Decoder compatibility issue. I believe it will be NO answer since the hometown decoder is the 2nd generation model that replaced the Philips Decoder and Satellite to the NOKIA version.

My condition will be the other way round from (2) to (1) - guess it will not be able to recognize new smart card and the firmware version of the software might be older.

Whatever generation box is used, NEVER try to use smartcard from Byond box to Astro DMT !! The SIM chip on the smartcard used for Byond box is different from the smartcard used for Astro DMT ! Even if I may be wrong, you cannot use the Byond smartcard which is already locked to its own Byond box. Anyway, I am not brave enough to even try using Byond smartcard on Astro DMT !

You can only swap smartcards between one Astro DMT box with another Astro DMT box.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 11 2012, 11:51 PM
HughieRmX
post Apr 11 2012, 11:27 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 11 2012, 11:19 PM)
Whatever generation box is used, NEVER try to use smartcard from Byond box to Astro DMT !! The SIM chip on the smartcard used for Byond box is different from the smartcard used for Astro DMT ! Even if I may be wrong, you cannot use the Byond smartcard which is already locked to its own Byond box. Anyway, I am not brave enough to even try using Byond smartcard on Astro DMT !

You can only swap smartcards between one Astro DMT box with another Astro DMT box.
Noted. How about installing the ASTRO Byond Decoder with the satellite deployed in my hometown ? Will that work ?
Swapping decoder instead of the SMART Card only ..
jamesleetech
post Apr 12 2012, 05:01 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 11 2012, 11:27 PM)
Noted. How about installing the ASTRO Byond Decoder with the satellite deployed in my hometown ? Will that work ?

You mean... take your Byond decoder box + its own smartcard together to another location and use with a different old LNB+old satellite dish which was previously used for the old Astro DMT box.

Honestly, I have not personally tried it myself. From what I have previously read from a few other websites... yes is the answer.

I believe that this question have been asked a few times here before, so I searched Lowyat.net and found these links...
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1442797/+2194 ... refer to post 2195 from rewlie with replies from eMKs and Neb.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1358482/+17 ... refer to post 19 from isma45 and reply from Neb

Neb is right when he mentioned that the old first generation black Philips LNB cannot be used for Byond box. This is similar to what I have told you in my previous reply about the old first generation Philips Astro DMT box which cannot use the new Astro DMT smartcard.

Different LNB (Low Noise Block) have different specifications so not all types can be used for Byond especially when the LNB is very very out-of-date. Technology changes so LNB design and specifications also changes.

Previously, I did read about such questions just like yours from a few other websites but I can't remember which websites. I am a bit lazy to google search again, hehe.

I believe you already knew that using the old LNB and old dish together with old satellite cables can reduce or degrade the signal reception to your Byond box and therefore, may cause some problems to the SD and HD channels reception.

If you have not been using the old LNB+dish for a very long time, maybe the old LNB is out-of-alignment, or LNB is spoilt or loose connection at LNB... so please check and correct this. If the old LNB is spoilt, then you need expert help to get replacement! Oh... due to constant wear from weather, the old satellite cables can also deteriorate after many years so signal loss is greater.

Also, the old light-grey dish (60 cm diameter) is slightly smaller than the new black dish (65 cm diameter) used by the Byond box. Using the old dish can also reduce the reception quality slightly.

Reminder : Cannot use the first generation black colour Philips LNB. If you have it, replace this and keep the old one in your personal museum, hehe.

I hope anyone here (who have actually done it successfully) to post your reply here to add more "yes" confirmation.

Although I have not done it before, this is the best I can do to answer you.

Peace cool.gif

ADDITION
Here are 2 links which tracks the 2 MEASAT satellites orbiting the earth...

MEASAT 3 > http://www.n2yo.com/?s=29648
MEASAT 3A > http://www.n2yo.com/?s=35362

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 12 2012, 05:41 AM
Qash-M
post Apr 12 2012, 11:11 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

It was reported that Astro might be considering a potential relisting, this added with the entrance of Cable pay-TV operator Asian Broadcasting Network (ABN) slated to roll out its service in second quarter of 2012 (2Q2012) to directly compete with Astro adding spice to the cable tv market.

Based on a research report by OSK Research Sdn Bhd (OSK Research), it noted that Astro had been approached by investment bankers on a potential re-listing.

The firm’s sources indicated that relisting plans were being mooted, with timing being a key consideration.

The company was privatised by its major shareholder and Astro’s relisting could take on a similar route with its sister company, Maxis and fast-tracked.

Astro’s subscriber base had surpassed three million as at end-2011, cementing its lion share of the six million pay-TV households in the country.

It added that Astro’s re-listing was timely as it was seeing inbound competition from the telcos, which were offering triple play products amidst rising competition.

In a bid to pre-empt competition and to expand the addressable market of its product and service, Astro unveiled NJOI, a subscription free service.

The research firm also noted that competition was heating up with the entrance of a new digital cable operator, Asian Broadcasting Network (ABN).

ABN was expected to launch its pay-TV service in second quarter 2012 (2Q2012 with a target of 0.5 million subscribers within the first year of rollout and three million subscribers in three years, and would be investing RM2 billion over 10 years to cover six million households.

http://www.theborneopost.com/2012/04/12/as...competitor-abn/
HughieRmX
post Apr 12 2012, 08:00 PM

3,394 posts

Thank you very much for the detailed feedback. Really appreciate it very much .. Perhaps I will give it a try this weekend and see it goes. While posting here, the ASTRO in my hometown is no longer viewable as the signal error message stated on the screen since yesterday till to date.

The satellite dish is powered by NOKIA compare to the very 1st generation - Philips.

Called up the Customer Service, but they required me to be there in front of the TV to work on the troubleshooting. Guess once I am done with this issue, will apply for the new Byond Super Pack combo directly with the HD Channels and AOD.

pokemon
post Apr 12 2012, 10:16 PM

2,717 posts

If the mode of the activation between byond and smartcard is under soft-paired mode, you still can swap the card to non-byond set. When they change it to hard-paired mode then it is permanently married between the byond set and smart card.
ronnie
post Apr 12 2012, 10:26 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Is the current promotion for B.yond PVR installation at RM150 ?
dxjb
post Apr 13 2012, 01:44 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 12 2012, 10:26 PM)
Is the current promotion for B.yond PVR installation at RM150 ?
yes..until January 2013
Deani_77
post Apr 13 2012, 09:04 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Last time I already tried with my byond and it work without problem... Each time when I'm going back to my hometown... i'll bring only decoder to use with old dish... (my set was old byond w/o PVR hard disk)...
HughieRmX
post Apr 13 2012, 03:28 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Apr 13 2012, 09:04 AM)
Last time I already tried with my byond and it work without problem... Each time when I'm going back to my hometown... i'll bring only decoder to use with old dish... (my set was old byond w/o PVR hard disk)...
Thanks for the feedback. Didn't manage to get my decoder back home this time to try out .. miss the opportunity. Sigh .. sweat.gif
chikana
post Apr 13 2012, 05:37 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Apr 12 2012, 10:16 PM)
If the mode of the activation between byond and smartcard is under soft-paired mode, you still can swap the card to non-byond set.  When they change it to hard-paired mode then it is permanently married between the byond set and smart card.
Salah ni.

Added on April 13, 2012, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 12 2012, 08:00 PM)

Thank you very much for the detailed feedback. Really appreciate it very much .. Perhaps I will give it a try this weekend and see it goes. While posting here, the ASTRO in my hometown is no longer viewable as the signal error message stated on the screen since yesterday till to date.

The satellite dish is powered by NOKIA compare to the very 1st generation - Philips.

Called up the Customer Service, but they required me to be there in front of the TV to work on the troubleshooting. Guess once I am done with this issue, will apply for the new Byond Super Pack combo directly with the HD Channels and AOD.
Rasanya tak pernah ada dish jenama Nokia......

Added on April 13, 2012, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 10 2012, 11:31 PM)
So, the next question is... Is Astrow beeyond HD channel bitrate as par as India HD channel?

Bigtv HD

Sun DTH

Tatasky HD

Videocon D2H HD

If only we have the tools to analyze b.yond hd channels bitrate... hmm.gif

p.s note: taken from india satforum.
They using different code rate each, that is why the total mux bitrate is different from each operators. The higher bitrate, the less error correction. Not sure Astro using which code rate.

This post has been edited by chikana: Apr 13 2012, 05:44 PM

125 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:15 PM