10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Lowyat.Net Watercooling Club V3, Setup photos, screenshots, discussion

sam sam
post Mar 30 2012, 06:34 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Mar 30 2012, 05:52 PM)
maybe yes
thinking of buying GT but i need 12 units
rm5xx for fans is too much for 'unemployed' guy like me.
i think it would be better to use more rads than add more fans or better fans.
also RX360 is made for low speed so as long as a cheap fan there running low speed, the performance is good already. Actually once the fans are above 1000rpm many other rads start to be competitive as the RX
you can always use AC PWM fans, may not be so good as GT in rad position but at RM19 each now who cares. With GT the difference is around 1-2C. are you willing to pay additional rm37 each to get a marginal improvement. there is a thermal headroom for a single rad. GOing faster speeds would not be so beneficiary then
sam sam
post Mar 30 2012, 07:36 PM

814 posts

i do feel doing a single loop in your case would be better use of the both rads more efficiently
using a 480 for cpu would have some extra thermal headroom to spare for the gpu

well i guess you need to go for GT or delta fans with headphones and the air con

sam sam
post Apr 15 2012, 09:24 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 15 2012, 06:33 PM)
Basically I need everything to be uv reactive and extend my water cooling on my gpu. Gpu type: Asus gtx 560 ti.
i think it would be better if u ask for feedback here, people will respond. This way you can learn and continue your watercooling journey

based on my experience with the rasa kit, the pump is weak. You should have cut the tubing going back to the pump

you can get the waterblock for the 560 from either ezzy or jibek. after the cpu block, route the tubing into the gpu block.
You would need to change to a better pump and put in more rads though. I think you should get the mcp655 low noise and high reliability
on a single rad the heat from cpu and gpu would be too hot even for a rx240
what chassis are you using?
sam sam
post Apr 16 2012, 09:13 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Apr 16 2012, 03:03 AM)
guys..i wonder if i can any great improvement if i upgrade my pump

currently using stock rasa kit reservoir + pump combo

my loop res/pump+ rx 240 +xt240 + cpu block + gpu block

cancel on adding another gtx580..since tried it and doesn't see any noticeable difference except in fps figure..and cancel on mobo block..since i can achieve 5ghz @ 1.45v

current temp @ normal ambient local room temp no ac at noon:

both gpu oc +cpu oc 5ghz

idle:
cpu: 38c
gpu: 37c

full load using p95 and furmark 1hr:
cpu: 69c max
gpu: 70 max

btw this is on i5 system..not the 3930k
changing to a d5 would be better compared to the stock rasa pump. Based on my experience. But using more than a d5 would not do much for now.
Too many restrictions for the rasa pump.

sam sam
post Apr 17 2012, 08:17 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Apr 17 2012, 07:35 AM)
additional -1'c max
maybe the same too because of mcp355 heat dump
655 has last of an issue with heat dump

what you did not mention is your fittings is how many 90 an 45 degree fittings you are using
if there is it would reduce the pressure
sam sam
post Apr 17 2012, 10:16 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Apr 17 2012, 09:42 AM)
your current setup temp is consider good. if gpu maintain 70c ok dy since the stock kit can do the job although dah reach limit. if you not intend to buy new pump, you can slowly hunt for 2nd pump until the stock pump die. i suggest you slowly convert to custom wc or direct sell the stock kit rclxms.gif

my gtx480 idle 4xc and load <60c
i still think its hot, for my CF 7970 i can get 50C running uniengine with fans at 500rpm, idle is around 32C with 30% oc. Perhaps you need more fans and rad.
At one time i did stock rasa pump and a 655 running in series, like backup pump plus higher pressure too. Works really well. In case the rasa pump fails the 655 is there.

anyway just buy the mcp355 and try, i hear the rasa pump can fail under a year perhaps being overstress.
sam sam
post Apr 17 2012, 01:03 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Apr 17 2012, 11:19 AM)
lol. you comparing 7970 with nvidia bro. he using MSI GTX580 OC with ek block based on his siggy.
i read
he is using 1 pc of gtx580 while i am using 2 pcs of 7970
so it cant be that far off
sam sam
post Apr 17 2012, 09:50 PM

814 posts

for mine the furmark was around 48C for 1 card

did not read on how to do 2 cards to work with furmark
sam sam
post Apr 20 2012, 09:34 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(lengchai86 @ Apr 20 2012, 09:11 PM)
newbie setup a WC..

looks good, that is our i am mounting my 2pcs of 480 rads
i guess you will be changing to a full length chassis soon

sam sam
post Apr 20 2012, 11:25 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(lengchai86 @ Apr 20 2012, 09:44 PM)
cannot afford la.. this chassis just use less than 2 weeks  sweat.gif
Aren't the fans noisy i see you hook them up to the PSU without a fan controller
Looks like a feser rad
sam sam
post Apr 23 2012, 05:09 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Apr 23 2012, 11:01 AM)
u wont see any different between low and high rpm fan. tri radiator is more than enuf for a cpu alone. maybe there's a tolerance of +- 1'c .
I think ek is mid to high fpi
It would benefit from delta just the noise level is high

sam sam
post Apr 24 2012, 08:06 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 24 2012, 07:03 AM)
Guys I wanna ask is it true that a thinner 360 rad (RS360) will win a thick 240? (RX 240) Provided that the ambient temp and fans used are same.

Thanks notworthy.gif
Based on theory the rs360 should be better as it has more surface to radiate the heat as its thermal capacity is higher.
Rs has high fpi so with most fans working around 1500 rpm it would be better

This post has been edited by sam sam: Apr 24 2012, 09:15 AM
sam sam
post Apr 24 2012, 09:19 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 24 2012, 08:51 AM)
So the bigger the rad the faster it can dissipate heat compared to a smaller bit thicker one? (Provided that the ambient temp and fans used are same.)

You said something about the fans...you mean big but slim rad must use faster fans? :star:

Anyways thanks notworthy.gif
More surface area for the fans to blow thru. Normally slim rads needs to use fans that are high rpm. Slim rads have more fpi so the fans needs to be faster to generate high static pressure
sam sam
post Apr 24 2012, 11:00 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 24 2012, 10:56 AM)
I see.
So rads that have more FPI need faster fans?  hmm.gif

notworthy.gif
Yes because the higher fpi increases air resistance which needs to be overcome with static pressure
sam sam
post Apr 24 2012, 10:11 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Apr 24 2012, 09:27 PM)
Preview:
Looks good, i think the bitspower fittings looks nicer for the 90 degrees

sam sam
post Apr 25 2012, 08:02 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Apr 24 2012, 11:19 PM)
Extreme - LN2
WC != Extreme

I wonder if anybody noticed what pump setup is used here biggrin.gif
It's 2 pieces of mcp355 with xspc top. Can see on the left and you have mention you will be using.
Seems to be fitting for a test bench.

I use a dual mcp35x to make waterfall in the loop
sam sam
post Apr 25 2012, 09:40 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Apr 24 2012, 10:55 PM)
for passive cooling for the mb heatsink since i do oc and same goes to ram?..just my POV..correct me if im wrong..
to 5p3ak:

warning..wc is very very addictive..i started from 500 till now 1.5k and increasing sweat.gif
actually you should borrow a lamptron insert in the temp sensor at your mosfet heatsinks
mine in between the fins shows 48C during prime 4.9Ghz. using a haf912 chassis
so the mosfets should be about 55-58C then.
this was the hottest mosfet bridge

MB heatsink not much use to watercooling unless you chassis has not enough air flow

but watercool looks good like pro
sam sam
post Apr 25 2012, 10:12 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Apr 25 2012, 09:56 AM)
Pretty true but it doesn help on the socket 2011 if u watercool those vrms. Downside is there is so many tubings if u have ram cpu mb blocks it makes me wanna throw up looking at it.....  sad.gif
yes that too, i think if you are going to cool the mother board may have to use the d-plug. Looks nicer than tubing.
I think the cooling for motherboard and ram is the least return in investment
unlike gpu and cpu where the heat level is much higher
sam sam
post Apr 25 2012, 04:59 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 25 2012, 04:53 PM)
First and foremost I'm sorry if I've spammed but IIRC isn't the purpose of thread is to discuss about WC?  hmm.gif I've done my research but just need more clarification form sifus like you guys.  notworthy.gif

Once again I'm sorry if I've spammed I just wanna gain knowledge and double check what the knowledge that I've learn from google whether or not it's inferior.
Interesting bench looking forward to it's completion.
I see, will try my best to restrict my spending if not later... moneyflies.gif too much.

Sometimes in review say this product better like CPU block
Ray storm being better than rasa for instance but when you try both products end up the same temp
So it's good to discuss the findings.

So ask away would be beneficial anyway

This post has been edited by sam sam: Apr 25 2012, 05:00 PM
sam sam
post Apr 26 2012, 02:22 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Apr 26 2012, 01:50 PM)
Correct. It doesn't even matter if you have over 10000X radiators. It will not go below ambient temperature.

Added on April 26, 2012, 1:51 pmIf your water is below ambient (using chiller), you will get condensation and without proper insulation, you will kill your MB.
normally for any heatsink design the formula is
Temperature=Ambient Temp + (Watt * Heatsink Resistance)

MOst the of the rads are like 0.08 C/W means for every 100 Watt of heat the temp goes up by 8C . Add it to the ambient temp and that is the device temp. Too see the rad resistance some of the review sites do post it
To be below room temp need to use peltier cooling system

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0439sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:22 AM