NightFelix
post Jul 17 2014, 01:17 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 8 2014, 04:03 PM)
Just bought this - Philips AC-4014

Just a pure air filter with no ionizer or humidifier function. Has three stages of filtration - pre-filter (like those in aircon), carbon filter and finally a Hepa filter. Quite solid and thick those filters which is what I like. Filters can tahan 3 years before need to replace. Pre-filter can be cleaned by vacuuming or with water like those found in aircon

Here is what they look like -

Unfortunately, it doesnt come with a remote control like the Hitachi.  Bought at the philips warehouse clearance for Rm729. Very worth it, I feel.

The airflow rate is 237 m³/h and is able to cover a room size of 55m2. That means pretty much a living room

Hitachi also very good but they come with humidifier which adds to the cost. The A6000 series has a heavy duty Hepa filter.
Bro, what is the HEPA micron? and How much is the replacement?
NightFelix
post Jul 17 2014, 02:25 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 17 2014, 01:24 PM)
According to wiki - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HEPA
To qualify as HEPA by US government standards, an air filter must remove (from the air that passes through) 99.97% of 0.3 µm particles

Philips Specs - http://www.philips.com.my/c/air-purifier/a...=specifications

replacement for one set around Rm160-180. you can call philips to find out
Thanks for the info smile.gif
NightFelix
post Jul 11 2020, 11:13 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 25 2020, 12:00 AM)
Anyone know where I can get replacement filter for my Coway Lombok II?
From Coway Rep/Company?
NightFelix
post Aug 19 2020, 02:45 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 19 2020, 12:19 AM)
Thinking of getting the Sharp Air Purifier FPJ60LW. Any thoughts?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sharp-ai...dCMD2P&search=1

It is between that and the KCG60LW which is a purifier + humidifier. Leaning more towards the FPJ60LW due to the particle matter sensor, higher airflow and quieter operation. It has a higher plasmacluster ion count as well (25,000 vs 7,000)

A quick call to the Sharp service centre revealed that for the FPJ60LW, it costs RM350 for the HEPA filter and RM185 for the carbon filter. She mentioned that the HEPA and carbon filters should each last 2-3 years which I find weird because the specifications sheet stated "up to 2 years".

Also, I was reading some earlier discussion that it's not realistic for HEPA filters to last more than 1 year? IMHO, doesn't it depend a lot on the size of the filter itself and its usage? Smaller purifiers have much smaller HEPA filters compared to bigger units and thus, gets clogged up faster and needing a change of filter much faster.

Realistically, how long could the HEPA filter last before needing to change it? Will be regularly cleaning the pre-filter so I hope the HEPA filter could really last for 2 years.
Might as well buy Mi Purifier Pro?
NightFelix
post Aug 19 2020, 11:09 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 19 2020, 09:40 PM)
The Mi Purifier Pro is actually quite a bit noisier at the lowest fan setting (34dB vs Sharp's 15dB) and the highest fan setting (55dB with 500m3/h airflow vs Sharp's 43dB with 400m3/h airflow) and I would be using the purifier throughout the night.

Xiaomi has known issues with its particle matter sensor which cripples the auto mode as well.

Also Xiaomi purifiers lack the ionisation feature which I'm really quite interested to try out.
I'm using the Mi Purifier 3H, spec written noise lowest is 32.1, but I can't heard anything pun. I got another one is Atmosphere Gen 2 lowest is also around 34 iinm. Also not noticeable.

Also, so far I haven't have any issues with the particle sensors since I run manual speed.

Lastly, ionization is just some fancy feature like hot and cold water from water purifier. A proper air purifier must come with True HEPA filter that does the job done.
NightFelix
post Aug 26 2020, 11:48 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 25 2020, 05:31 PM)
https://www.reddit.com/r/Xiaomi/comments/f4...lters_possible/

Hey, just wondering since you're using the 3H. Is it possible to continue using the filter past the "150 days period" ?

Hearing a lot of mixed reviews online saying that the machine keeps giving errors, turns off by itself unless you change the filter. This is mainly due to the RFID chip (?)
I still got 80%/118 days left. So let you know again after end of 150 days. lol

NightFelix
post Aug 28 2020, 10:05 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(brobro @ Aug 27 2020, 09:40 PM)
Im noob in this air filter. I plan to buy min 3 unit, one cover living room, and 2 small unit covers bedroom. Is this excessive?

FYI, i am asthamatic and allergic to dust. And so is my kid. That's why i plan to put one in each bedroom.

So, I need HEPA filter and carbon filter right?

What is the recommended model? I dunt mind spending a little bit for better air quality. I've been suffering long enough.

Thanks sifu.
All you need is a good True HEPA filter that cover your bedroom as you spend 8 hours on your bed.

calculate your bedroom size. Buy Air purifier calculate using the performance are based on CADR (Clean Air Delivery Rate)
Use this for your need calculation
https://reviewsofairpurifiers.com/cadr-calculator/
L x W x H = Room Size

What is your budget?

Let us know more before we can dive deeper into your situation.
1. Calculate your bedroom size
2. Calculate your kids bedroom size
3. Calculate your living room size

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Aug 28 2020, 10:08 AM
NightFelix
post Aug 28 2020, 01:06 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 28 2020, 10:30 AM)
Oh I thought you wanted 2 units to cover 1 bedroom. In that case, one purifier for each room.

Hepa filters work la, regardless of purifier brand, evident when you observe how dirty the filter is after x months.

Other features such as ionisation - Plasmacluster from Sharp, Nanoe from Panasonic or Virus Doctor from Samsung, is optional. I did not read too much into this actually.

Hardly any source that directly compares a certain model from Sharp vs Panasonic vs Samsung vs Xiaomi with detailed stats like a proper noise test, airflow/noise ratio, filter lifespan/price comparisons. Quite a bummer as the tech industry is the total opposite: pc hardware, mobile phones, etc.

Air purifier not a widely searched subject, hence, you don't see much reviews on certain models on the internet or youtube. Manufacturers not providing enough details, for example the noise levels at each fan speed or the minimum/maximum noise level was a little frustrating (Looking at you Samsung and Xiaomi).

This review is not bad though! https://pokde.net/blog/mi-air-purifier-pro-...e-air-purifier/
DO NOT ever recommend an ionizer based air purifier to a person with asthma. Plasmacluster is just an another patented marketing name of ion technology (layman term ionizer) by Sharp.

Medical Center/Hospital wouldn't use ionizer, they use HEPA based technology but not Ion based tecnology for their air filtration system.

Asthma people need to avoid all Ion based tech air-con and/or air purifier.
NightFelix
post Aug 29 2020, 09:55 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(brobro @ Aug 28 2020, 02:16 PM)
What is your budget? Around RM1k - RM2k per air purifier

Let us know more before we can dive deeper into your situation.
1. Calculate your bedroom size : 4.9m L x 3.1m W x 3m H
2. Calculate your kids bedroom size: 3.65m L x 2.9m W x 3m H
3. Calculate your living room size: 6m L x 4.2m W X 3m H
That is your basic guideline where to start searching for.
1. 133CFM / 230m3h
2. 100CFM / 170m3h
3. 233CFM / 400m3h

Try get a Xiaomi Air Purifier 2C/2H/3H. These are using the basic standard affordable HEPA filter with micron size 0.3
Some high-end HEPA filter can go as small as 0.0024 like the one from Amway. Dyson also got as got their HEPA as small as 0.1 microns filter but with 70 CADR.
Coway/Cuckoo also got, but beware avoid ionizer feature, their product outright is not worthy due to spareparts are limited to purchase, while rent monthly option are easy to own but pricey in the long run. (Personally always recommend outright purchase if you can afford)
NightFelix
post Aug 29 2020, 12:38 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(brobro @ Aug 29 2020, 10:09 AM)
Ok noted. Ive been eyeing Xiaomi Air Purifier Pro for living room. For the bedroom, im still thinking whether to try other brand just for comparison.

I heard that Xiaomi product will turn off our manual setting if we set it manually to high mode and go to auto minimum setting after few hours. Is it true? How to rectify this cuz I'll need constant good quality air especially at night.
Since you have estimated RM2,000 for each purifier. Which mean you have RM6,000 budget to buy 3 air purifier.

1. Buy a "USED" Amway Atmosphere Air Purifier (Gen 2 - not the latest one) from Carousell/Facebook - around RM1,500+
- Flagship/Top high end grade air purifier (new one cost at RM4500++)
- Prefiter included (washable like air-con)
- HEPA filter micron 0.009 (everything you need is this filter - replacement cost around RM500, lifespan last around 1-3 years)
- Carbon filter to filter odour (you can skip to replace this filter if want to save budget - cost around RM400)
- CADR 400 m3/h to suit all your room size
- Allergy UK certified, AHAM certified (US standard), Energy Star certified (save electricity)
- Spareparts still sell by Amway in case need repair (Amway have track records sell their parts for more than 10 years after stop selling the model)
PS. I was still using this model for more than 6 years, it solved my nose allergy problem. And I even give my father use during his time resting at home after surgery from cancer. I personally high recommend this due to reputable company and parts availability even it is used model / no longer selling this gen 2 model. You can go to Amway HQ PJ to check this old model see still got display or not.

2. You should be left around RM4,000 budget
Buy a NEW Xiaomi Air Purifier Pro/3H (You can get 2-3 units with these balance of budget)
- all Xiaomi Air Purifier shared the same 0.3 micron size of HEPA filter (min standard for HEPA are 0.3 micron and below)
- Xiaomi should fit all your requirement as well. CADR 300 m3/h to suit all your room size
- The only cons that most people complain is their new generation come with RIFD to detect filter expire to force u replace otherwise not spinning at all (I just use for more than 1 month so no idea)
- and the filter lifespan is shorter than most of the competitor. is cheap to replace but shorter life span compare to those 1 years.
PS. I just bought 3H model, not much to comments, plan to put in baby room few months later. Currently using by me as well. You can walk in any Mi Store or Senheng to check display model.

3. There are some similar price range air purifier from Philip model AC2887. Their HEPA filter are much longer than Xiaomi. around up to 24months claim by them. The machine around RM1400+
PS. I also survey this before but end up I prefer the fancy feature from Xiaomi and cheaper ownership price.

There are still few out there like BlueAir 490i/690i but new one cost like RM3400/4000++ too ( with Hepa and high CADR)
Sharp majority come with Plasmacluster, as I said earlier, asthma must avoid all ionizer
Both Coway/Cuckoo most of the model come with ionizer, low end CADR are low.

Things to consider:
1. Performance (CADR, Technology (HEPA are most important))
2. Initial Price to ownership (outright/rent)
3. Cost of filter replacement (life span and price)
4. Warranty? How long and if not, replacement part / spare part still available?
5. Others certification (AHAM / Allergy UK etc)
6. Other fancy feature (smarthome/nightlight etc)

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Aug 29 2020, 12:46 PM
NightFelix
post Aug 29 2020, 12:46 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(brobro @ Aug 28 2020, 11:42 PM)
Never heard about ULPA filter before. Is it fit for purpose? Dont want to buy something that is overkill and and overdesign but difficult to find spares and services.
There are EPA, HEPA and ULPA. Can google for these info.
ULPA Filter vs. HEPA Filter: What's the Difference & Why Does It Matter?
https://www.hepacart.com/blog/ulpa-filter-v...-does-it-matter

Just like comparing Activated Carbon Filter VS Membrane Filter (or RO filter) for example.
NightFelix
post Aug 31 2020, 12:07 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(skn2u @ Aug 29 2020, 08:45 PM)
its a technology above HEPA filter. you can google it. Its Legit. Air purifier, lebih halus lebih bagus.
How many CADR that the 3 model ULPA can provide in your link earlier?
NightFelix
post Sep 3 2020, 11:59 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(brobro @ Sep 3 2020, 08:50 PM)
Anybody knows if the compact Blueair Joy S is any good? For small room, the CADR spec seems acceptable. Not sure true or not.
Might as well buy 2 units of Xiaomi Mijia Air Purifier 2H for the price. CADR around 50% more than it.
HN selling RM799 for Joy S. 2H selling around RM399 or lesser

Joy S no meter, no app, no remote. use it to believe it work for you. replacement around RM200 for 1 years (assume 12hours daily) - review from Google
2H got app to monitor. filter cheaper but last for 150 days only.
NightFelix
post Sep 4 2020, 12:44 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(brobro @ Sep 4 2020, 08:56 AM)
Yup reason is to try other brand as i have opt for xiaomi for other room.
Since you already aware of the Joy S is inferior to 2H and you wish to try, ain't nobody gonna stop you lol sweat.gif

Can look for used sets from FB/Carousell if want to try for the sake of try, but paying for a new one macam not worth for me. laugh.gif
NightFelix
post Sep 5 2020, 01:13 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(brobro @ Sep 5 2020, 01:05 PM)
Noted..already scraped Blueair joy S in plan..seems like only xiaomi is value for money and has high CADR.

One concern tho, I've read somewhere that Xiaomi air purifier will automatically turned its setting to lowest speed after few hours even after we set the speed manually to maximum, let's say before we go to sleep. There is no overriding this function, not to mention that xiaomi air purifier will stop functioning and force us to change filter after 150 days of usage.

Im researching on phillips now. Any good model u know that can be used for small bedroom? Dont mind the price...
Xiaomi Manual Speed got 1-2-3 only, but you can automate it using app re-set it to max speed if you wish for every hour.
IF: 08.00PM
THEN: Set to MANUAL
IF: 10.00AM
THEN: Set to MANUAL

I have no problem for this since I don't always open turbo 3 speed for more than half hour.

There are model doesn't come with RFID if that is a concern for you but forcing you to change filter is good for our health anyway. We human always have laziness or procrastination to delay our purchase filter.
NightFelix
post Oct 26 2020, 01:31 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(heart strings @ Oct 26 2020, 12:04 PM)
guys, since got so many people recommending Xiaomi, i'm gonna get 1. may i know which model is recommended? There is 3H, PRO and now they even come out with 3C. and which one is True HEPA filter? it seems like 3H and 3C?
i'm confused  rclxub.gif
Seems like you are a person would like a hassle free experience. then just go for latest 3H or Pro (subject to your budget and room size)

Bear in mind, when filter time up (150 days of usage) u need to replace it, due to the purifier will stop working because detected filter expired.
don't worry 150 days is not real time 150 days, is your usage 150 days. (depend fan speed also)
NightFelix
post Jan 16 2021, 11:42 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Aug 26 2020, 11:48 AM)
I still got 80%/118 days left. So let you know again after end of 150 days. lol
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 28 2020, 12:21 AM)
Thanks for the update!

Btw, I just ordered a 2H!
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 29 2020, 05:09 PM)
"Lifespan" is stated as 150 days in the app and you will get a notification to replace it regardless whether the filter really needs to be replaced or not.

Do some read up on reddit where xiaomi purifier 3 onwards and that includes the pro version where there is a RFID chip in the purifier. Mixed reviews on whether you can reuse the filters past 150 days. Some reported the purifier does not turn on as scheduled or gives an error, fake filter or something causing it to be unusable. Some even use aluminium pieces to block the RFID sensor with mixed results.

If you dont mind changing every 150 days, filter replacements will cost RM 250/year (one h13 HEPA filter costs RM125)

Due to the above, for a peace of mind and no risk, I got the Xiaomi Purifier 2H instead which doesn't have a RFID sensor. Then I will use some cotton filters to wrap around thr filter and will try to vacuum the pre filter frequently, say every 2 weeks and hopefully the HEPA filter can last up to 1 year. If so, the cost of changing filters is only RM125/year.
Quick update: my 3H just turn into 0% and I can confirm still can run even without putting the new filter inside.
NightFelix
post Feb 12 2021, 06:35 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Feb 12 2021, 11:19 AM)
Hi, is your air purifier still working now, since the filter "expired" one month already?

I'm considering getting one for my bedroom, not sure 3C or 3H.
Thinking of adding a layer of fine mesh (macam computer casing fan intake mesh) to prolong the life of the hepa filter, but if it has usage-based expiry then the benefit isn't much as I'll still need to replace the filter.
Yes still working, but I just replaced a new HEPA filter yesterday. Bought RM99 from Shopee.
NightFelix
post Mar 25 2021, 01:18 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Mar 22 2021, 08:50 AM)
even if the RFID of xiaomi cartridge reports its expired, still can continue to use?
ya, still can run what. i let run expired for couple of weeks before I bought a new replacement.
NightFelix
post Apr 16 2022, 10:55 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Apr 11 2022, 05:27 AM)
Can advise me which air purifier good?

My house got cat.
Need for 1 living room and 1 bedroom.

Xiaomi , coway?
Why you want a air purifier? there must be a reason behind your intention to get one.

Otherwise, people probably just recommend u either the cheapest or the most expensive one.
and someone even having few cats at home with no air purifier.

0.0751sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:53 AM