house air purifier

ozak
post Feb 28 2014, 11:31 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Feb 28 2014, 11:07 AM)
Seriously I don't think HEPA can last 3 years.
probably you have to vacuum it out every 3 months and change every year.
Make sense?
If buy the machien i think is RM1900 with one year warranty.
If rent then 5 years warranty and RM60 include change the filter every 6 months or 12 months (for certain filter some is 6 months, 12 months or 18 months if not mistaken).

But haven't really decided yet.
I don't run the unit 24hr or 8hr or 6hr. Just need to run 1hr interval or a little longer when the sensor turn green (detect good air). It doesn't have any benefit to keep running for long.

So 3yrs shouldn't be a problem. The main filter is require to clean more. That prolong the Hepa filter lifespan. The sensor will tell when the filter need to replace.

The sharp unit already been 8yrs and change 3x filter only. The Hepa filter cost RM200. If 60/mth x 12mth x 8yrs, I got to pay RM5760. sweat.gif That is a lot to breath a clean air. Just get a reliable brand that last long for your return.
sovietmah
post Feb 28 2014, 11:35 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 28 2014, 11:31 AM)
I don't run the unit 24hr or 8hr or 6hr. Just need to run 1hr interval or a little longer when the sensor turn green (detect good air). It doesn't have any benefit to keep running for long.

So 3yrs shouldn't be a problem. The main filter is require to clean more. That prolong the Hepa filter lifespan. The sensor will tell when the filter need to replace.

The sharp unit already been 8yrs and change 3x filter only. The Hepa filter cost RM200.  If 60/mth x 12mth x 8yrs, I got to pay RM5760.  sweat.gif That is a lot to breath a clean air. Just get a reliable brand that last long for your return.
OK noted. thumbup.gif
wattsivy
post Mar 7 2014, 03:31 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(fa-tin @ Nov 19 2013, 04:58 PM)
1. Toshiba CAF-G31M, RM619, 33m2, 2.2-4.1 m3/min, 14-42 dB
2. Philips AC4012/02, RM588, 30m2, 128 m3/hour, 34-54 dB
3. Panasonic PXF-35A, RM799, 26m2, 1.0-3.5 m3/min, 18-44 dB
4. Sharp FUZ31E, RM569, 21m2, 60-180 m3/hour, 24-44 dB

any recommendation...? in terms of technology, its all the same rite...?
Then cover area is quite small and the CADR rate are low
Shinka
post Mar 13 2014, 04:44 PM

464 posts

any recommendation for an air purifier to place in the living room?

my living room consists of an open kitchen too. I was wondering whether the below RM1000 models listed above are enough?

thanks.
wKkaY
post Mar 14 2014, 12:12 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

We use the Coway units in my office and I just bought one for my house. Here's the before/after photos after running it for a few hours:

ultrageek
post Mar 14 2014, 09:59 AM

342 posts

Guys,
I recently bought the Sharp model 28W which on Lazada costs 360odd.

Got it within 3 days. Was used at full power to clean my master bedroom which is within its maximum coverage. Anyway, after about 2 hours of max power, you can actually smell that the air within the room is totally different from the rest of the house.

My wife commented that it smelled like waterfall/besides a spring/mountain air; I.e. Extremely fresh air.

The only downside is, it's about 60db when at max. At min, it's a quiet whisper. Middle setting is a bit noisy and yesterday night, somehow, the haze smell came into our room even with everything closed, I crank up the Sharp from min to middle, and within 15mins(?), the smell went away...

So, for about 330 (buy on Monday as there is a MasterCard promo with additional 10% off), I think it's an acceptable buy.

sovietmah
post Mar 14 2014, 10:54 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 14 2014, 12:12 AM)
We use the Coway units in my office and I just bought one for my house. Here's the before/after photos after running it for a few hours:

Which model u r using? rent?
Xccess
post Mar 14 2014, 04:57 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

After reading through several pages, it seems Sharp is a good recommendation in terms of pricing, reliability and quality. I may purchase a Sharp plasmacluster for my bedroom, may I know is there any new models in 2014? I saw some models that was listed in US but not in Malaysia, should I wait for those new models?
Shinka
post Mar 14 2014, 11:18 PM

464 posts

Decided to go with Coway Lombok II, their top of the range model.

It costs around RM2480 after discount, and it can cover a huge area. 1600 square feet.

I have done my research on other models, initially wanted to get Sharp. However Sharp's coverage and CADR is still below Coway's. And it costs around RM2000 for the higher end ones.

Anyone have any opinion on whether a humidifier function is necessary in Malaysian weather? Coz the Sharp one offers a humidifier function as well, the Coway does not.
weikee
post Mar 15 2014, 08:47 AM

12,019 posts

Don't get a filter that cover big area, for better efficiency is better to get multiple smaller unit for big area.
Shinka
post Mar 15 2014, 02:55 PM

464 posts

Do you guys turn on your ionizer function all the time?
I heard ionizer might not be so good to our health, might even cause cancer because of the emitting of ozone gas.

So ppl with sharp ion plasmacluster, you guys turn on the ion function all the time?
ozak
post Mar 15 2014, 09:48 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ultrageek @ Mar 14 2014, 09:59 AM)
Guys,
I recently bought the Sharp model 28W which on Lazada costs 360odd.

Got it within 3 days. Was used at full power to clean my master bedroom which is within its maximum coverage. Anyway, after about 2 hours of max power, you can actually smell that the air within the room is totally different from the rest of the house.

My wife commented that it smelled like waterfall/besides a spring/mountain air; I.e. Extremely fresh air.

The only downside is, it's about 60db when at max. At min, it's a quiet whisper. Middle setting is a bit noisy and yesterday night, somehow, the haze smell came into our room even with everything closed, I crank up the Sharp from min to middle, and within 15mins(?), the smell went away...

So, for about 330 (buy on Monday as there is a MasterCard promo with additional 10% off), I think it's an acceptable buy.
The waterfall smell or forest smell is actually come from million of million of ion.
ozak
post Mar 15 2014, 09:49 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Mar 14 2014, 04:57 PM)
After reading through several pages, it seems Sharp is a good recommendation in terms of pricing, reliability and quality. I may purchase a Sharp plasmacluster for my bedroom, may I know is there any new models in 2014? I saw some models that was listed in US but not in Malaysia, should I wait for those new models?
Those KCD is new model. KCA is old model.
ozak
post Mar 15 2014, 09:53 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Mar 14 2014, 11:18 PM)
Decided to go with Coway Lombok II, their top of the range model.

It costs around RM2480 after discount, and it can cover a huge area. 1600 square feet.

I have done my research on other models, initially wanted to get Sharp. However Sharp's coverage and CADR is still below Coway's. And it costs around RM2000 for the higher end ones.

Anyone have any opinion on whether a humidifier function is necessary in Malaysian weather? Coz the Sharp one offers a humidifier function as well, the Coway does not.
Our climate is well humid. Humidifier need probably in aircon room only. If some ppl cannot stand the dryness or aircon set it too low in temp, than humidifier is necessary.
Xccess
post Mar 15 2014, 10:56 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,768 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 15 2014, 09:49 PM)
Those KCD is new model. KCA is old model.
Thanks for the info. Will look out for KCD range.

ozak
post Mar 15 2014, 10:57 PM

17,018 posts

Cannot tahan anymore the haze. Wife also have some eye itchy because of haze. So go and shop for an air purifier. Expecting the price won't be cheap and doesn't have time to search more shop for cheap price.

I have use Sharp air purifier for 8yrs (office). It proof reliable and effective. So I get back another sharp model for my home. Have use other brand before like Philip, Medklin and don't no what brand korea made. All short lifespan or no filter replacement. But the sharp is the longest.

Already have mind to get the Sharp model KCD60EW or KCD40EW. But since the KCD60EW can cover 48m2 which is well over my living and dinner area, target at this model. Price is RM1920 from small electrical appliance shop. Lazada selling at RM1850, but sold out.

Front look

Back and side have 4 filter. Hepa, carbon and general filter. While the side is a humidifier with water container and humidifier filter. All the filter is easy access and clean. The filter can last 10yrs. But very much depend on the usage.

The front panel beside infor and switch also have air flow out. The red light showing some bad air and smell. Left is the ION ON/OFF and right is showing actual humid reading. It have 3 kind of function. Clean air, clean air with humidifier and haze mode. Others, ON/OFF timer, Fan speed, child lock, light off and OFF switch.

Another side have a label that you can write down the start usage date for the 3 filter. So till 2024 only need to change filter. Wonder can last that long. hmm.gif

This big model is not suitable for room. The mid and high fan speed is noisy. Measure with noise meter, the high speed fan can go 100db. Only the low speed is very quiet. Look freaking big also for small room.

My way of best using is
1) put the fan to auto, so the fan will choose itself when speed up.
2) Choose the clean air humid mode. Humidifier will ON when detect low humid. OFF when high enough.(Cannot select). That will save some power and no need everytime top up water.
3) Timer set to 2/4hr. That prolong the filter lifespan and save power. If a room is close, the air purifier don't need to be ON all the time. Once the air is clean detect, is can be switch OFF. Or run interval.
Shinka
post Mar 16 2014, 10:07 AM

464 posts

Hi Ozak, yeah the model above is what I wanted to get initially.

do you turn the ION function on 24/7?

This post has been edited by Shinka: Mar 16 2014, 10:08 AM
ozak
post Mar 16 2014, 10:24 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Mar 16 2014, 10:07 AM)
Hi Ozak, yeah the model above is what I wanted to get initially.

do you turn the ION function on 24/7?
Thought you want to get a Coway?

Yes, I ON the ionizer once the unit is turn ON. But not run 24/7 lah. Once timer up, it will switch OFF everything.
Shinka
post Mar 16 2014, 01:06 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 16 2014, 10:24 AM)
Thought you want to get a Coway?

Yes, I ON the ionizer once the unit is turn ON. But not run 24/7 lah. Once timer up, it will switch OFF everything.
yeah at first thought of getting the sharp, then in the end went for coway instead. coz coway has 6 filters.
where is the best place to put the air purifier?

I put mine near the open window and I dunno whether that's a good place to put it as it always shows red when there's haze.

JinXXX
post Mar 16 2014, 01:27 PM

2,516 posts

hey guys ... is there any guide lines for putting the air purifier ? corner.. middle.. etc etc ? seems like different placement.. affects the air circulation and what not.. u all put where ?

78 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:05 AM