post Nov 16 2011, 07:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Nov 16 2011, 07:46 PM)
Yup. I like it..  rclxm9.gif
btw, does MyBackupPro need root?
Most obvious :If rooted, you can backup all data associated with each app.
If rooted when you select restore app, it will be auto done and not be prompted whether you want it to be installed for each app
benny888
post Nov 16 2011, 08:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ape @ Nov 16 2011, 08:34 PM)
Ask a noob q:  how can I backup my data n apps to external sd using titanium backup? If I install custom ROM, will my backup saved in internal sd be wiped?
Menu/preference set it there
Before that create titaniumbsckup folder in ext card.
benny888
post Nov 16 2011, 11:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(dry75 @ Nov 16 2011, 09:34 PM)
i can use the ipad2 charger which is 2a. but for the micro usb cable ,can i just use the current usb cable come in stock ?
You can use any generic USB-micro USB cable ; infact I am not even using the original cable n desk charger to charge my NOTE. I used a ipad USB desk charger and a old USB-micro USB cable - just a typical cheap generic I bought in lowyat

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 16 2011, 11:26 PM
benny888
post Nov 17 2011, 08:09 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 17 2011, 07:43 AM)
oh i see . can somebody tell me where is this place ? Lot 1.24, First Floor Podium Block Plaza Berjaya, 12, Jalan Imbi, 55100 Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur ..  is this near the monorail at times square ? ? .
Just directly opposite times square.
benny888
post Nov 17 2011, 08:46 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Damonzero @ Nov 17 2011, 08:41 AM)
Guys i'm not using any SP or Pouch, naked now and do u all think the sides, top and bottom grey lining will get scratch easily?
Definately it will get scratches easily. I protect mine in a fully covered case ( bought for my ex Dell Streak ) - perfect fit

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...:EOIBSA:MY:1123
benny888
post Nov 17 2011, 10:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The note beats/thrash my iPad 2 watching videos on YouTube. It is so much smoother with minimal disconnection.
My 32GB class 10 card nearly full with mainly movies I converted directly from dvd
benny888
post Nov 17 2011, 01:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(idioticppl @ Nov 17 2011, 01:31 PM)
to all galaxy note lovers, I am wondering if anybody knows if note can be used on yes 4g?
I used the yes huddle as wifi hotspot
benny888
post Nov 17 2011, 07:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Max204 @ Nov 17 2011, 07:44 PM)
u need to slide the button or something in order to answer/reject?
Go and set home button to take call at settings/call
benny888
post Nov 17 2011, 08:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ Nov 17 2011, 06:43 PM)
anyone can confirm that retail price is now Rm3340 ??
coz now only exclusive for celcom and digi only. After 2 weeks price will be cheaper.

got forummer told me this
That is one crazy high pricing ? where did you hear about this
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 06:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jim8 @ Nov 18 2011, 01:24 AM)
Hellcatdroid thingy is only for s2..not working with note..and I dun understand at all the ADB thingy
Hellcat works very well with the Note. Just execute the apk file
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 07:08 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 18 2011, 12:00 AM)
Bro..CWM dont have icon. You use it by pressing three buttons combo. Use the link that i gave to know about CWM. Busybox mostly auto applied when you're rooted. Without busybox your Titanium Backup wont function
You install chainfire CWM you will get the CWM app auto install. Need not use the 3 buttons to boot to recovery or download mode
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 08:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(aminsa @ Nov 18 2011, 07:45 AM)
Just bought the phone yesterday evening. Now in the process of transfering the apps from Dell streak before passing it to my son. What happened to rooted phone ? No more warranty ? . How to root the phone while mantainning the warranty? Is it OK to root?

Can we have this thread structured like SGII. Easier to find the info for new owner like me.
Root will void warranty
Very easy to root versus streak. If I rate difficulty of 10 to streak it is only 1 for the note
You need root to run certain apps eg adfree,titanium backup, root explorer,market enabler etc n of course to flash certain roms
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 08:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jjamain @ Nov 18 2011, 08:13 AM)
It is hundred times easier just install hellcat APK. Run it few seconds EFS backup and similarly few secs restore back

Added on November 18, 2011, 8:24 am
QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 18 2011, 08:23 AM)
what if the phone is rooted still can backup efs ?
Your phone must be rooted

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 18 2011, 08:24 AM
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 09:26 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(RaplaJingga @ Nov 18 2011, 09:20 AM)
Nandroid backup via cwm to sd card also can aite?
Nandroid will not backup your phone imei/efs stuffs
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 09:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(aminsa @ Nov 18 2011, 09:12 AM)
What a waste, I paid extra to get 2 years warranty because ap set no stock. Hi Benny is there a software that you can unrooting after rooting so that your warranty still ok
If you used Zergrush exploit to root you can use it back with script to unroot
If you have root using others, just flash back stock ROM to unroot
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 09:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 18 2011, 09:36 AM)
How to use hellcat apk? I installed it but i couldnt use it as it said it just for sgs2..
Pm me your email address n I send you the APK file
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 10:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 18 2011, 09:47 AM)
thanks for the info - just checked - mine still not registered yet.  shakehead.gif
if there is an android system partition at the internal SD storage then NO, the hidden android file will not be copied over.

Just curious, why do you want to do this?  to make a backup?  if you want to make a system backup, i dun think simply copy the files to another SD card is the correct way.
Right no purpose unless you just wish to backup certain data files created by certain apps
Just use titanium backup and it will restore your apps n data that is in the internal as card
Most of time even you flash ROM the internal sd is intact. Even if it crash repartition it will restore its original state n one can just copy over the backup if you have a copy. No need concern about hidden files
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 10:36 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Nov 18 2011, 10:11 AM)
Just bought my note ytd , if want to root need to update firmware to KK1 first ? mine is KJ6 now . First time using android , any noobie guide for rooting and what apps to dl ? Thanks smile.gif
Not necessary to upgrade firmware. You can root it using zergrush exploit:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2111529/+560&#entry46812706

His guide also has instruction how to root plus install CWM too - just make sure you download the right kernel matching yours

You can than upgrade your firmware after root ; some users has reported the root will remains with firmware upgrade. If you want to have better assurance, you can upgrade firmware first than root

Refer page 101, post #2001 - I have listed some of the apps I have installed on my note . Use it as a reference guide
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 10:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

This is ROOTING guide for new users to Android ( taken and edited from my SGS II thread posting ): TS please post in page 1 if you deem useful

What is rooting and what are its benefits?

Rooting an Android phone opens its core functions that aren’t available when you buy it. One of the major benefits is the ability to install apps to the SD card, which saves space on the device. Rooting also enables you to install apps that required access to system files, example - titanium backup , root explorer, adfree, voltage control apps, etc . Commonly use of rooting is to allow installation of alternative roms which is faster and better, more features, and reduced bloatware. Some roms will auto root when you flash your phone
Rooting will not remove your 3rd party apps, data/wipe clean your phone. And the chance of bricking the phone during rooting is close to impossible. Just make sure your phone has at least 50% battery charge. Do refer to the specific methods on how to unroot back

Refer below links to understand more about rooting :

http://www.androidpolice.com/2010/04/15/ro...-android-phone/
http://www.androidcentral.com/rooting-it-me-some-qa

QUICKIE Guide to rooting : Read this if you don't know where /how to get started ?

1. Rooting will not spoil your phone. Only an idiot /dumb guy will spoil it by rooting. The chance you spoil it is 1 in a million
2. Rooting means warranty void
3. Rooting will not delete/clean any data - all your 3rd party apps, original apps, data, settings etc remains intact
4. If you just want to root ONLY:
- Easiest use ZergrushExploit : any firmware based

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1329360

This tool with a script allows you to unroot phone

5. If you want root plus clockworkmod recovery: - easiest use Chainfire CF Root v5. Make sure you download the right version to match your firmware. Using this will also auto install a CWM app in your phone - quite convenient as you can use app to boot into recovery, download mode, do backup and restore, flash kernels etc
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1331784

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 18 2011, 11:00 AM
benny888
post Nov 18 2011, 11:05 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 18 2011, 10:32 AM)
i just flashed my note to the new KKA using mobile odin and damn it's so smooth compared to our stock KK1. it's as fast as the HK one but with all the samsung / google apps.
You downloaded it through this link ?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1350960

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:25 AM