Cornice removal, T.T

TSntdote
post Nov 16 2011, 02:27 PM, updated 15y ago

324 posts

Hi guys,

My room is fitted with plaster ceiling and cornices all round. But now i wanted to remove the cornice to have a more contemporary feeling.

Roughly 85' of cornices to be remove, can i know roughly the price? or is it even possible to remove? any bad after effects like damaging the existing plaster board?

Thank you.

BR/
Jo_da48
post Nov 16 2011, 02:33 PM

1,529 posts

I guess you will expect see uneven between plaster and the wall, which will cost you addition $$$ to fix it
TSntdote
post Nov 16 2011, 02:41 PM

324 posts

hii thx for reply

yeah i guess it will costs $$$ but i need to know estimated costs to decide whether to go for it.

Any sifu here can help?
kucingfight
post Nov 16 2011, 02:57 PM

5,784 posts

cornice is around rm4-5/pfr . u can actually DIY with ease
TSntdote
post Nov 16 2011, 03:06 PM

324 posts

hi kucingfight,

rm4-5pfr for removal of cornice? what about the after removal touch up?
jforjean
post Nov 16 2011, 03:35 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Nov 16 2011, 03:06 PM)
hi kucingfight,

rm4-5pfr for removal of cornice? what about the after removal touch up?
i think rm4-5pfr should be the price for do the cornice not remove the cornice.

i guess they should lump sum a labour charge instead of count by foot.

TSntdote
post Nov 16 2011, 03:41 PM

324 posts

the rm4-5 to do cornice is including material price? how much roughly material pfr?

if i offer the contractor to take the cornice for them to reuse, will they do for foc?
jforjean
post Nov 16 2011, 03:49 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Nov 16 2011, 03:41 PM)
the rm4-5 to do cornice is including material price? how much roughly material pfr?

if i offer the contractor to take the cornice for them to reuse, will they do for foc?
Not sure the cornice can reuse or not.

i think you have to ask from another Sifus. tongue.gif

But, for me which work in custom make furniture field, i don't think once you can reuse OR recycle the cabinets , because there's will be imperfect and defects, dimension will not be same too. lolz...

kelvyn
post Nov 16 2011, 04:00 PM

3,173 posts

After you remove the cornice, you will need to seal up the gap along the edge of the plaster ceiling and the wall. Unless the cornice was an added one after the ceiling was completed.
Also be ready for any surprises as there could be some wiring, conduits hidden inside the conduits.
leeyung
post Nov 16 2011, 11:16 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

mind to show us some pics of the cornice? I am trying to imagine the contemporary feeling, plaster ceiling without cornice should looks simple and nice smile.gif but all also depends on personal taste biggrin.gif
adrianjc
post Nov 17 2011, 04:58 AM

898 posts

Removing the old cornice should not damage your plaster ceiling much as cornice's are separate pieces to the actual plaster ceiling.

In order to remove and make good your room, you will need to:

a. remove cornice
b. patch holes in plaster ceiling from where cornice was removed.
c. Repaint plaster ceiling
d. Repaint walls in the entire room.

Depending on the size of the room, you could be looking at spending anywhere between RM3k onwards. This is an estimation only yar.

This post has been edited by adrianjc: Nov 17 2011, 04:59 AM

0.0154sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:52 AM